健康與保健

機上保健錦囊

在機上如何調適我們的身體,減少不適

健康養生近年成為人們出外旅行度假的其中一個重要考慮因素,本期《Discovery》亦有文章探討這個趨勢。對大多數人來說,出門旅行就要乘搭飛機,而飛行可能會令我們的身體感到不適,常見的徵狀包括因時差令生理節奏失調、脫水和暈機等,還有可能會出現更嚴重的深層靜脈血栓,幸好這情況極其罕見。

隨著搭飛機的人數不斷上升,全球不少衛生組織也愈來愈重視如何在空中保持健康。世界衛生組織(WHO)的網站特別為此開闢一個環節,專門提供航空旅遊的健康資訊,由機艙減壓以至宇宙輻射等事項均包括在內。網頁上說:「航空旅行,特別是長途旅行,乘客的身心健康可能會受到多種因素的影響。」

國泰航空「翱翔人生」的品牌承諾涵蓋旅遊的所有範疇,當然少不了健康養生訊息。乘客可以在國泰航空的網站及本雜誌內找到旅遊健康與安全的資訊。

國泰航空本月與建基於香港的亞洲頂尖瑜伽中心PureYoga展開全新的合作計劃,目前已經製作了一系列六集的影片《瑜伽伴你同行》,並備有英語、粵語、普通話及日語版本,供乘客透過機上娛樂系統觀看。影片內容是示範一些簡單的瑜伽式子及冥想技巧,由PureYoga的資深瑜伽導師如創校老師PatrickCreelman和資深瑜伽導師及創辦人黃佩霞(上圖)示範一系列式子,再由國泰航空機組人員作旁白解說。乘客可以跟隨影片在機上做瑜伽,以此保持健康,令自己輕鬆自在。

馬可孛羅會的會員還可享有額外的夥伴機構禮遇。會員於重新簽約並升級至12個月全港通行PureYogaFitness套餐時,可享免費升級至全亞洲通行的會籍,亦可於入會時享有五折的會費優惠。

國泰機上娛樂內容及平台、無線網絡服務經理Simon Cuthbert表示:「我們都知道,久坐不動會危害健康,因此在機上應該不時站起來,活動一下身體,讓血液流通。瑜伽就是一種可以達到這個目的的新穎方式。即使坐在經濟艙的座位上,也可以輕而易舉完成導師建議的動作;此外,影片內還提供其他適合下機後在酒店房間內練習的動作。」

LaraMurison是國泰航空企業醫療團隊的職業健康專家,為航空公司的員工和乘客提供各種與健康養生相關的建議。

她的團隊提供各種如何舒適飛行的建議,以及搭機前的準備和下機後恢復體力的方法。

這些建議因飛行時間長短而不盡相同,但一般來說,乘客應該定時補充水分(最好選擇清水和不含咖啡因的飲料),每隔數小時伸展身體,或起身步行,以減輕肌肉疼痛和僵硬,並盡量讓自己放鬆。

此外,建議亦包括進食適合的食物。應避免容易在腸胃內產生氣體的食物和飲料;如果希望幫助入睡,可選擇有豐富碳水化合物的餐膳,避免含咖啡因的飲料,否則令你驅走睡意。酒精或許會令人感到昏昏沉沉,即使只喝一杯也會影響睡眠質素。不過,如果你想保持清醒,那麼最好選擇含有豐富蛋白質的餐膳。

至於永遠令人困擾的睡眠問題,Murison說:「盡量在搭機前一晚有足夠休息,以避免持續睡眠不足。自備旅行枕、眼罩及耳塞,睡覺時用旅行枕支撐頸部、用眼罩遮擋光線,並且用耳塞隔絕聲音。」

她補充道:「搭機時最好穿著以天然纖維布料製成、剪裁寬鬆而舒適的衣服;久坐可能會令雙腳腫脹,因此要挑選舒適、較為寬鬆的鞋或靴。」

「記得在肌膚和嘴唇塗抹潤膚產品防止乾燥,攜帶眼藥水以備眼睛過乾,並可預防雙眼不適。長途飛行的環境可能比較乾燥,可考慮在機艙內除下隱形眼鏡,換戴普通眼鏡。」

國泰航空「翱翔人生」理念還提供其他有助旅途上保持身心康泰的措施,包括採用空中巴士A350客機往返多條最受歡迎的航線,包括倫敦蓋特威克、奧克蘭及三藩市等。這款高規格型號的客機機艙更寧靜,機艙壓力令人更感舒適,以及空間更寬敞,讓乘客下機後精力充沛、精神爽利。此外,國泰航空飛行網絡內的機場貴賓室亦可讓乘客在搭機前放鬆身心,「玉衡堂」頭等貴賓室提供按摩服務,並備有寧靜的私人空間。最近,公司更宣佈在部分航線的商務客艙試行提供床墊,令乘客有更舒適、質量更佳的睡眠。

如果你在過去幾分鐘一直坐著閱讀這篇文章,現在不妨播放一集Pure Yoga的瑜伽影片,讓身體活動一下,促進血液循環。

Cuthbert表示:「藉著這些影片,我們想讓大家知道,無論任何地方,只要有個座位或一堵牆,就可以做這些動作。我們也希望透過影片讓乘客感覺平靜和放鬆。國泰航空對乘客的其中一個承諾,就是讓他們享受舒適寫意的旅程,而在空中和地面均保持身心康泰,正是承諾中的重要部分。」

在地面保持健康

國泰航空的職業健康專家Lara Murison提出以下建議,讓你在搭機前做好準備,以及下機後依然保持體力充沛。

搭機前:

「將一件沉重的寄艙行李分成兩件較輕的行李來託運比較理想,因為搬運行李可能導致受傷。
搭機前一晚盡量讓自己睡眠充足,這樣有助避免時差帶來的額外不適感覺。
起飛前不要吃得太飽,避免消化不良。
起飛前、在機上及落機後都應多飲水,避免飲用太多可能導致脫水的咖啡因飲料。」

下機後:

「多喝水,使用潤膚液和潤唇膏以防止脫水和皮膚乾燥。
如果想盡快適應新時區,盡量在白天有陽光時待在戶外,而且要多活動筋骨,消除身體僵硬的感覺。
此外,使用褪黑激素亦有助適應新時區的作息。」

關於飛行途中在機上保健的詳情,請瀏覽cathaypacific.com

MyPureYoga.com網上平台提供不同程度的中英雙語瑜伽影片,讓大眾可以隨時隨地得到優質的瑜伽練習

請在互動選單的電視(時尚姿采)及探索(養生堂)觀看Pure Yoga瑜伽中心製作的《瑜伽伴你同行》

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Health and wellness

Stay healthy onboard: Hydrate, stretch, relax

How to manage an important piece of equipment onboard – your body

In this month’s issue of Discovery we looked at how pursuing wellbeing has become a big factor in people’s travel and holiday choices. But for most of us, travelling means flying – and flying takes its toll on our bodies. Jetlag, dehydration and motion sickness are common afflictions; a much more serious condition, deep vein thrombosis, is thankfully extremely rare.

As the number of people flying continues to rise, staying healthy in the air is taken increasingly seriously by the world’s wellbeing bodies. The World Health Organisation has a special section dedicated to air travel on its website, advising on everything from a decrease in cabin pressure to cosmic radiation. ‘Air travel, particularly over long distances, exposes passengers to a number of factors that may have an effect on their health and wellbeing,’ it says.

For Cathay Pacific, the idea that wellbeing permeates every area of travel is encapsulated in the Life Well Travelled brand promise. Passengers can find more information on the dedicated health and safety pages on Cathay Pacific’s website – and within this magazine.

Wellbeing on plane

This month, Cathay Pacific kicks off a new partnership with Pure Yoga, a leading yoga studio in Asia. It has produced six videos, available in English, Cantonese, Mandarin and Japanese on the inflight entertainment system, which teach some simple yoga poses and meditation techniques. Pure Yoga’s experienced teachers – like founding teachers Patrick Creelman and Almen Wong (above) – take passengers through a series of animated poses, with voiceover from members of Cathay Pacific’s cabin crew, for them to do onboard to stay healthy and relaxed.

There’s an added benefit for Marco Polo Club members thanks to the partnership. They benefit from a complimentary upgrade to an all-Asia pass when re-signing and upgrading to a 12-month Hong Kong All Locations Pure Yoga Fitness Package, as well as a 50 per cent discount on the joining fee.

‘We all know that sitting still for a long period of time can be dangerous to your health. The need to get up, move and get your blood pumping is important during a flight,’ says Simon Cuthbert, entertainment, platforms and connectivity manager at Cathay Pacific. ‘Yoga is an innovative way to do this. Even inflight, the exercises can easily be done from an economy seat while other moves are best saved for after the flight in your hotel.’

Lara Murison is an occupational health specialist in Cathay Pacific’s corporate medical team, which advises the airline’s employees and passengers on everything heath and wellbeing related.

Her team oversees the guidance on how to enjoy your flight – and how to both prepare and wind down from it.

Wellbeing on plane

While guidance varies depending on the duration of the flight, the general advice is to stay hydrated (choosing water and decaffeinated drinks) and stretch or walk every few hours to relieve muscle ache and stiffness. Most importantly: try to relax.

This guidance includes the food we should (and shouldn’t) eat. Avoid ‘gas-forming’ food and drinks – and if you want to sleep, choose a carbohydrate-loaded meal and avoid caffeinated drinks, which make us feel more awake. Alcohol might make us feel drowsy, but even one glass can lead to disrupted sleep. And if you want to stay awake, choose protein-rich meals.

How about the eternal question of sleep? ‘Try to get a good night’s rest the day before your flight to avoid accumulation of being sleep deprived,’ says Murison. ‘Bring along a travel pillow to support your neck during sleep, an eye mask to block out light and ear plugs to block out sound.’

Wellbeing on plane

Murison adds: ‘It is better to wear generously cut, comfortable clothes made from natural fibres for air travel and comfortable shoes or boots with sufficient room to accommodate a small amount of swelling which may occur after long periods of sitting.

‘Use moisturiser on your skin and lips to prevent dehydration, and pack eye drops to treat dry eyes and prevent eye irritation. Consider removing your contact lenses and using glasses inflight, as the air could be dry during long flights,’ she adds.

There are other wellbeing initiatives as part of the Life Well Travelled promise – starting with the introduction of the Airbus A350 aircraft that has been rolled out to the airline’s most popular routes including London Gatwick, Auckland and San Francisco. The high-spec aircraft is quieter, has better cabin pressure and offers more room, meaning passengers disembark feeling healthier and more refreshed. In addition, Cathay Pacific’s airport lounges across the network encourage pre-flight wellbeing, with massages in the first class lounges and dedicated quiet zones. More recently, the airline announced it is trialling a new mattress topper in business class on some routes in an effort to improve the comfort and sleep quality of passengers.

If you’ve been sitting still and reading this article for the past few minutes, watch one of the Pure Yoga videos to get your blood pumping.

Wellbeing on plane Pure Yoga

‘The intention is to show these moves can be done anywhere just with a seat or a wall,’ says Cuthbert. ‘We also wanted the videos to be calming and relaxing. It’s all part of Cathay Pacific’s commitment to help passengers live a Life Well Travelled. Staying healthy both in the air and on ground is an important component of that.’

Staying healthy on the ground

Lara Murison, an occupational health specialist at Cathay Pacific, advises on how to prepare for your flight – and how to stay healthy when you disembark.

Before your flight:

‘It is better to pack two lighter items of check-in baggage rather than one very heavy bag, which could cause injury when handled.

Try to get a good night’s sleepbefore your flight as this helps avoid additional problems with jetlag.

Eat lightly before your flight toavoid indigestion.

Keep hydrated before, during and after the flight by drinking water and limit your intake of caffeine-containing drinks, which are dehydrating.’

After the flight:

‘Drink plenty of water and apply moisturiser and lip balm to prevent dehydration and dry skin.

If you want to adapt to your new timezone, try to spend as much time
as possible outdoors in the daylightand exercise when possible. This will also assist in combating stiffness.

Use melatonin to help adjust to the new timezone.’

For more information on how to stay healthy onboard, visit cathaypacific.com

MyPureYoga.com is an online yoga video platform that offers a library of hundreds of yoga videos in English and Chinese

Find the Pure Yoga videos in TV (lifestyle) and Explore (Well Being) on the interactive menu

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book