餐飲美食

東南亞特色美饌

以下介紹的亞洲美饌,無論是街頭小吃,還是星級佳餚,都充滿地方特色風味,甚至是不朽的經典美食,不但滿足本地的好吃之士,也吸引老饕不惜千里親臨品味

印尼

峇里燒乳豬飯

印尼是全球最多回教徒的國家,因此吃豬肉的人不多。但峇里則以印度教為主,當地人最喜歡吃燒乳豬飯,更愈來愈受遊客歡迎,開懷大嚼。根據傳統,當地只會在婚禮或重大的慶典才吃烤乳豬飯,以人手在戶外烤爐轉動乳豬燒烤,爐火劈啪作響,香氣四溢。峇里很多露天餐廳均有供應烤乳豬飯,其中登巴薩Babi Guling Candra餐廳的「全豬飯」最受老饕追捧,包括豬腸和豬舌,別具風味。

峇里印尼炒麵

位於水明漾的Warung Aneka Rasa餐廳室內裝潢樸實,供應簡單美食,卻有峇里最出色的炒麵和咖哩菜式。到最多本地人光顧的食肆一直是在外地覓食的金科玉律,在這裡更證明並非虛言,食客從數十款本土美食中揀選了菜式後,便一起共坐餐桌上吃得津津有味。當中最受歡迎的是當地簡單的招牌美食炒麵,以甜豉油和蠔油調味,佐以雜菜和自選肉類同炒,火候十足,再自行添加適量辣椒油,更是色香味俱全。

.

雅加達印尼炒飯

印尼炒飯的材料很簡單,一般以肉、蝦或蔬菜拌飯同炒,雖然當地美食紛陳,但這道家常炒飯卻被譽為是印尼的代表菜式。印尼炒飯勝於其他炒飯之處,在於加入各式香料,包括羅望子、薑黃、辣椒、蒜頭,還有蝦膏和甜豉油,令人無法抗拒,從路邊攤檔到高級餐廳也有供應。雅加達的Kwetiau Akang Muara Karang餐廳更在炒飯上綴以豐美的蟹鉗,把這道平常美食提升至更高層次;其他餐廳則分別加上雞肝、新鮮吞拿魚片、鵝片和墨汁等,各具特色。

馬來西亞

吉隆坡肉骨茶

顧名思義,肉骨茶就是以帶胡椒的香料肉排熬煮的濃湯,是早年鶴佬和潮州人從南中國移居馬來西亞傳入的菜式。肉骨茶其實並沒有茶葉成分,但通常會以香濃的烏龍茶解膩。這是當地人的日常早點,一般佐以油條蘸湯同吃。如果想體驗真正的本土風味,可到已開業逾30年的盛發肉骨茶店,品嚐味道適中可口的正宗滋味。

檳城炒粿條

Getty Images/iStockphoto

馬拉人嗜吃麵食,相信炒粿條功勞不少。當地人以豉油和辣椒醬為麵條調味,伴以蝦和魚餅快炒,再以香蕉葉呈上,增添清香的滋味。這道菜當初只是為勞動工人提供高熱量的食物,而且成本低廉,後來則成為甚受歡迎的美食。亞龍炒粿條在檳城享負盛名,是全市唯一一家採用四隻彈牙虎蝦或瀨尿蝦為佐料,惹人垂涎。

緬甸

仰光茶葉沙律

這道菜選用採收期品質最上等的茶葉,加以發酵醃製以減少苦澀味。發酵時首先把茶葉放於竹桶內,然後藏於坑洞,再以石頭壓去多餘水分,整個過程約需四個月。很多餐廳在上菜時會加入不同的材料,以仰光最時尚的Rangoon Tea House茶室為例,便會混合花生、蒜頭、芝麻、番茄、辣椒、洋蔥和生菜,令這道經典小吃的口感更豐富。

菲律賓

達沃吞拿魚生

Yasuhiroamano / Getty Images

一如墨西哥的酸汁醃魚和意大利的生吃食物,菲律賓也有自己的招牌菜式醃魚生「kinilaw」。這個名字源於米沙鄢語的「kilaw」,意思就是生吃,只是以柑橘汁或醋「烹調」鮮魚。南部的海濱城市達沃擁有大量新鮮吞拿魚,因此正好以吞拿魚為醃魚生的主要食材。達沃市的Luz Kinilaw Place餐廳環境輕鬆自在,吸引不少本地人和遊客到此享受各式鮮美的醃魚生。

新加坡

黑胡椒蟹

新加坡長堤海鮮樓擁有的多間分店,外觀看來就像1960年代的快餐連鎖店,只怪店舖閃爍的霓虹招牌,但可別因此而卻步。這裡是獅城最受歡迎代表菜式黑胡椒蟹的發源地,店家早於超過半世紀前已獨創,可說是辣蟹的輕辣版。海鮮樓的五間分店一共呈奉33種不同款式的螃蟹菜式,味道、烹調方法及醬料各異,但也同樣滋味出色。

Rob Shaw / Bauer Syndication

叻沙

Great Stock / StockFood/ Argusphoto

328加東叻沙位於新加坡東海岸路,是一間老派小店,店家一直沿用家族世代相傳的叻沙食譜,滋味冠絕獅城。他們將麵條剪成小段,吃的時候要用湯匙舀起來,每口伴著香辣的椰奶咖哩湯底同吃。叻沙味道濃郁,全賴上等的湯頭,吃罷仍齒頰留香,在口腔中的餘韻久久不散,令人回味無窮。其香濃風味甚至啟發了香港Caprice的蟹肉叻沙,因為主廚的太太正是新加坡人。詳看內容>

撈起

Credit: Jonathan Maloney

撈起也稱為七彩魚生,帶有「風生水起,愈撈愈旺」的意思。在新加坡、馬來西亞和印尼的華人社區,每到農曆新年必定以撈起慶祝,是一道賀年特色美食。大家圍坐一桌,一邊逐一添加不同的材料,一邊說著同音的吉祥賀詞,例如魚寓意年年有餘,祝願生活富足,豐收有餘,喜氣洋洋。大家不妨到新加坡香格里拉酒店的香宮,在雅致舒適的環境享受豐富的撈起魚生。詳看內容> 

泰國

曼谷冬蔭功湯麵

最隱世難尋的小店,往往總是美味之源。位於曼谷中部Petchaburi Soi 5的P’Aor,陳設簡單,卻有全城最著名的冬蔭功湯麵。當麵端上後,可見湯底香滑,上面放了超大的新鮮蝦,再灑上芫荽、香茅、青檸葉,佐以米粉。湯粉味道甜酸濃稠,而且價格非常相宜,教人實在忍不住要再來一碗!

布吉咖哩蟹

這道菜以新鮮及肥美的本地蟹,配上各式各樣的香料和辣椒,有別於一般泰菜,令人既垂涎又興奮。咖哩蟹在亞洲堪稱經典菜,不同地方各師各法,風味各異,布吉則佐以青咖哩汁,當中含大量辣椒、味帶甜香的金不換和椰奶等,別具特色。Raya House餐廳隱身於一條小巷後,保留了原有的懷舊裝潢和古董,是布吉最著名的餐廳之一,其招牌咖哩蟹毫不吝嗇地用上大量蟹肉,並以店方秘製方式烹調,滋味無窮。 

布吉芒果糯米飯

泰國的芒果糯米飯風靡全球,鮮有其他甜點足可比擬。這款泰式甜品以糯米飯配上新鮮芒果、少量鹽和棕櫚糖,再淋上幼滑的椰漿,入口香綿黏稠,軟糯不膩。Absolute Mango Café咖啡店的芒果糯米飯在甜度和黏度方面完美平衡,贏盡口碑,被譽為是全市最佳選擇。如果感到欲罷不能,不妨再來一客椰子雪糕,肯定胃口大滿足。

越南

峴港米紙卷

位於越南中部的繁盛城市峴港、以越式春卷享負盛譽的Tran餐廳共有四間分店。其獨門配方是以切幼的豬肉條,蘸上號稱峴港最出色的香辣魚露,由食客自行以米紙包捲而吃,或加入其他材料如豆芽、香草、生菜絲和香脆米餅,倍添風味。這款本土小吃最講究清香純粹的味道和質感,加上令人回味不已的蘸汁,把味道升華至另一層次。

 

河內烤肉檬米

Thanh Berthou

由早上10時開始,遍佈整個越南首都的小攤檔就會生起小火爐煎煙肉。走過舊城區時,明火烤豬肉的香味總讓人不由自主地停下腳步,在攤檔旁拉張紅色小凳坐下來。烤肉檬粉是百分百的道地河內美食,並沒有受任何中國或法國菜的影響。這道菜清香四溢,只有白色的檬粉、越南香草、經明火香燒的豬肉餅和煙肉,放入清甜的魚露清湯內,簡單而美味。只要再配上一碟炸春卷,就是正宗的河內食法了。詳看內容>

河內春卷

Quan Nem餐廳的蟹肉春卷飽滿美味,做出名堂,難怪分店愈開愈多。這間家族經營的小店獨沽一味,專注保持這款源於北部港口海防市傳統小吃的質素。豐盛的春卷除了塞滿鮮味的蟹肉外,還配上木耳、豆芽和冬粉,滋味而飽足,特別是蘸上店家以魚露、蒜頭和辣椒調製的招牌醬料,更是風味絕佳。

胡志明越式法包

這款經典的越式三明治,是以法式長包填滿各式各樣美味的材料,深得已故美食家Anthony Bourdain的鍾愛。各式餡料包括剛燒過的烤肉或自製肝醬、帶酸的越式醃香菜或新鮮芫荽,甚至是四種材料齊全。越南人一般會以此作早餐,現在已成為甚受歡迎的小吃,可以隨時品嚐。Banh Mi Huynh Hoa麵包店是長龍店,門前經常泊滿數百輛輕型摩托車和長長的人龍,但絕對值得耐心等候。切勿錯過一嚐店內馳名的雜錦法包,以凍肉片和豬肉條作餡料,味道豐腴可口。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

South East Asia’s Classic Dishes

From street food snacks to celebratory treats, these South East Asian dishes are steeped in a sense of place. They satisfy local cravings and will tempt foodies to book a flight

Indonesia

Bali: Babi Guling

Eating pork is a rarity in Indonesia, as it’s the country with the world’s largest Muslim population. Bali, however, is primarily Hindu, so babi guling is a favourite local delicacy at the table – and an increasingly big hit with visitors. The suckling pig is roasted on a hand-turned spit over an open fire and is traditionally served as part of a wedding or other celebratory feast. There are plenty of options to sample the dish in open-air restaurants across the island and one standout is Denpasar’s Babi Guling Candra, known for serving the whole hog, including intestines and tongue.

Bali: Mie Goreng

Don’t be fooled by its modest interior and menu – Seminyak’s Warung Aneka Rasa offers some of Bali’s best stir-fried noodles and curry dishes. The old standard of eating somewhere packed with locals has never been truer than here as communal tables are filled with happy diners choosing from dozens of authentic dishes. One of the most popular is fried noodles or mie goreng, a simple classic that features wheat noodles tossed in the sweet and savoury soy sauce kecap manis, oyster sauce, sautéed vegetables and your choice of protein. Spice it up to your preference with extra chilli as required.

Jakarta: Nasi Goreng

Nasi goreng literally means fried rice, and is usually served with meat, prawns or vegetables. Although there are dozens of other contenders, many view it as Indonesia’s national dish. This stir-fried staple is distinguished from other rice recipes by the use of spices including tamarind, turmeric, chilli and garlic, as well as shrimp paste and sweet soy sauce. Its universal appeal has led the dish to grace everywhere from roadside stalls to top-class restaurants. In Jakarta, Kwetiau Akang Muara Karang upgrades nasi goreng by topping it with crab claws, while it is served round the country with everything from chicken liver to fresh tuna, goat meat and squid ink.

Malaysia

Kuala Lumpur: Bak Kut Teh

Bak kut teh – pork ribs simmered in a spicy, often peppery broth – is a staple of the Hoklo and Teochew communities who emigrated to Malaysia from southern China. The name literally means ‘meat bone tea’ in reference to the oolong tea served alongside the soup; it’s believed to help dilute the fat consumed in the broth. It’s considered a breakfast dish and often paired with traditional Chinese youtiao, fried dough strips. To start your day as a local might, head to Restoran Seng Huat, which has been serving its mild take on bak kut teh for more than three decades.

Penang: Char Kway Teow

Getty Images/iStockphoto

When Malaysians crave noodles, chances are it’s a big helping of char kway teow. These noodles are stir-fried with soy sauce and chilli, accompanied by prawns and fishcakes, and commonly served on a banana leaf, enhancing the aroma. The dish was invented to cater to labourers who appreciated both the high fat content and low cost. You can try it at Ah Leng, which prepares char kway teow with a choice of four tiger prawns or mantis shrimp – a treat found nowhere else in Penang.

Myanmar

Yangon: Laphet Thoke

Commonly known as ‘tea leaf salad’, this dish uses the best tea leaves during harvest, fermenting them to reduce any bitterness. The fermentation consists of packing the leaves into bamboo vats and placing them in pits while being weighed down by rocks. The whole process takes four months. Many restaurants add different ingredients afterwards. At Yangon’s most stylish diner – Rangoon Tea House – the classic dish is mixed with peanuts, garlic, sesame, tomatoes, chilli, onions and lettuce.

The Philippines

Davao: Kinilaw Na Tuna

Yasuhiroamano / Getty Images

Just as Mexico has ceviche and Italy crudo, so the Philippines has its marinated fish dish called kinilaw. The name comes from the Visayan word kilaw, which translates as ‘eating raw’, as the fish is only ‘cooked’ by adding calamansi juice or vinegar. In Davao, in the south of the country, plentiful fresh tuna has made it the fish of choice and Luz Kinilaw Place in Davao City is a casual spot that attracts both locals and visitors in need of a kinilaw fix.

Singapore

Black Pepper Crab

The Long Beach chain of seafood restaurants might look like 1960s-style fast food joints. Blame the neon lights. But don’t be put off: this is the birthplace of the city’s most popular dish, black pepper crab, invented more than five decades ago as a toned-down version of chilli crab. Its five locations serve up 33 variations of cooked crabs, each with its own taste, cooking styles and sauces.

Rob Shaw / Bauer Syndication

Laksa

Great Stock / StockFood/ Argusphoto

328 Katong Laksa, a small place on Singapore’s East Coast Road, is very old-school and still adheres to a generations-old family recipe for its laksa – the best in Singapore. They cut the noodles so that you eat the spicy coconut-milk curry soup with a spoon. The dish is delicious, and that’s down to the quality of the laksa gravy, which has a nice long finish in the mouth. It even inspired the crab laksa on the menu at Hong Kong’s Caprice (the chef de cuisine’s wife is Singaporean). Read more>

Lo Hei

Jonathan Maloney

Lo hei, also known as yee sang or ‘prosperity toss’, is a raw fish salad eaten during Chinese New Year, popular among Chinese communities in Singapore, Malaysia and Indonesia. Everyone gathers around the table as ingredients are added one by one, while saying auspicious greetings. Each ingredient is usually a homonym of a word in a classic New Year saying. For instance, in nin nin yau yu (‘let there be abundance every year’), yu is the pronunciation for both ‘abundance’ and ‘fish’. One of the most decadent restaurant versions is found at Shang Palace, in the Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore. Read more>

Thailand

Bangkok: Tom Yum Goong Noodles

The most difficult-to-find restaurants often serve the best food. Consider P’Aor, a simple shop on Petchaburi Soi 5 in central Bangkok that has the best kuay teow tom yum goong nam khon, or tom yum goong noodles for short. When the dish arrives, it is creamy and packed with jumbo-sized fresh prawns, coriander, lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves and a large helping of rice noodles. The flavour is intensely sweet and sour, and it’s so reasonably priced that you’ll be tempted to order a second bowl.

Phuket: Crab Curry

It’s a heady combination: the freshest, most succulent local crab and the myriad spices and heat which distinguish Thai cuisine. Crab curry is a righteous classic in different forms around Asia, but Phuket’s version serves it in a green curry rich with chilli, aromatic sweet basil, coconut milk and more. Tucked behind an alley, Raya House reveals a charming original decor complete with antiques. It’s become one of the island’s most famous restaurants thanks largely to the generous chunks of crabmeat in its own secret recipe.

Phuket: Mango Sticky Rice

There are few desserts from Asia as beloved around the world as Thailand’s mango sticky rice. It’s a winning combination of glutinous rice (which gives it that gloriously sticky texture), the freshest mango, a touch of salt and palm sugar and smooth, creamy coconut milk. There’s no doubting what’s the most popular sweet treat at Absolute Mango Café, famed for how it balances that sweetness and stickiness in its version of the Thai dessert. For even more decadence, try pairing it with coconut ice cream.

Vietnam

Da Nang: Rice Paper Rolls

In the bustling central Vietnamese city of Da Nang, Tran now operates four locations, and the recipe for this success lies with goi cuon. Tran’s version of these make-your-own rice paper rolls come with thin slices of pork and arguably Da Nang’s best spicy fish sauce. Bean sprouts, herbs, lettuce and rice crackers are just some of the ingredients that also figure in this local speciality, where clean and fresh flavours and textures are lifted by an addictive dipping sauce.

Hanoi: Bun Cha

Thanh Berthou

From 10am, vendors across Vietnam’s capital begin sizzling bacon strips on small streetside fires. As you walk through the Old Quarter, the smell of flame-grilled pork will stop you in your tracks and persuade you to pull up a tiny red stool. Directly translated as ‘vermicelli grilled meat’, the purely Hanoian recipe – it has no Chinese or French influences – is a fragrant, tasty combo of sticky white noodles, Vietnamese herbs, barbecued pork burgers and bacon, straight off the flame and into a sweet fish-sauce broth. Add a plate of deep-fried spring rolls to do it the real Hanoian way. Read more>

Hanoi: Spring Rolls

The growing chain Quan Nem has made a name for itself thanks to spring rolls with generous filling of crab meat. The family-owned business focuses squarely on the quality of the traditional dish that originated in the northern port city of Haiphong. Alongside the crab in the enormous deep-fried rolls sit wood-ear mushrooms, bean sprouts and glass noodles, making for a delicious and filling snack, especially when dunked in its signature sauce featuring fish sauce, garlic, chilli and more.

Ho Chi Minh City: Banh Mi

This classic Vietnamese sandwich, especially beloved by the late Anthony Bourdain, is a small baguette filled with a brilliant array of ingredients. It could be barbecued pork fresh from the grill or homemade pâté, sharp Vietnamese pickles or fresh coriander – or all four together. Traditionally enjoyed at breakfast, today it’s popular as a snack any time of the day. Banh Mi Huynh Hoa is an institution, as hundreds of mopeds and long queues prove, but it’s absolutely worth the wait, especially for the signature banh mi thap cam filled with cold cuts and pork roll.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book