單獨旅行

一個人在途上:5條精選獨遊路線

誰說旅行必須有人作伴? TAMSIN COCKS認為,獨自出遊不是形單隻影的苦旅,而是獨立自主的象徵

單身人士從來也不覺得情人節有何值得高興之處。每到2月,到處只見成雙成對的場合:餐廳紛紛點起浪漫洋燭,為客人奉上心形甜點;就連酒店亦在客房的床上鋪滿玫瑰花瓣,實在令人受不了!

這個2月,我們反其道而行,為讀者推介逍遙自在的個人遊。我們這樣做,並非因為對天下有情人懷著酸葡萄的心態。現時很多旅行社均發現單人獨遊的旅客數目不斷上升,而查詢的人士以女性為主:根據Google Trends顯示,「女性獨遊」這個關鍵詞的搜尋次數於過去12個月上升超過一倍;根據住宿網站Hostelworld的報告,由2015年至2017年,單身女性訂房的比例上升45%。另一住宿網站Airbnb表示,在整體訂房人數中,獨遊旅客現時佔27%。

有些人對於獨自出遊感到卻步,不過亦有愈來愈多人懂得享受獨遊的樂趣;例如增加自信,並且讓你可更無拘無束地隨意做自己想做的事,不必兼顧旅伴的喜好。

博客Alice Teacake喜愛獨遊,她曾於旅途中在上海當歌舞女郎,亦曾騎電單車環遊孟加拉,對她而言,獨自旅遊是促進個人成長的終極途徑。她說:「踏上旅途之前,我以為自己無法應付。單人匹馬出門,令我面對自己的恐懼。若你不斷讓自己置身於感到不自在的環境裡,需要自行下決定,你會漸漸變得自信十足、處變不驚、懂得自愛、心境豁達。」

旅行社Adventure Women的合夥人Judi Wineland表示,由於現在的人經濟較以往獨立,加上智能電話普及,可以全天候與其他人保持溝通聯繫,而交通模式亦日益安全,要安排獨遊行程,也變得比以往更容易。

Azlan Baharudin/Unsplash

我們所說的並非只如電影《再單身遊記》般到瑜伽勝地來一趟探索心靈之旅,或是與陌生的意國俊男相戀(雖然這兩件亦不失為美事)。2019年,我們昂首闊步,踏上獨遊的旅途,前往外地探索荒野生態、翻山越嶺、深入了解陌生的文化。以下是五趟「我伴我前行」的單身歷奇之旅,讓你盡情享受獨遊之樂。

日本

日本奪得2018年度馬可孛羅會「會員優選大獎」多個獎項,無疑是最受歡迎的旅遊熱點。東京更是獨遊旅客的天堂,膠囊酒店多不勝數,你不用再因一人入住而被酒店徵收附加費;還有大量動物咖啡店(可以摟著貓咪或刺蝟作伴,誰還需要旅伴呢?),以及無數供單人使用的卡拉OK房,讓你盡情吼出搖滾飲歌而無人會對你的歌喉說三道四。日本人禮讓好客的文化,令女性可安心地到處暢遊,而東京更設有女性專用的地鐵車卡和旅遊巴士,有些酒店亦備有女賓樓層,周全保障女遊客的安全。獨遊的饕客在這裡亦不會因獨自用餐而感到尷尬,因為這個城市對單身的顧客提供了貼心的照顧:不少壽司、天婦羅及拉麵店都設有單人座位和一人套餐,人氣拉麵連鎖店一蘭更設有獨立間隔的單人座位。在首都東京以外,悠閒寫意、文化氣息濃厚的京都充滿大大小小寧靜的枯山水庭園和佛寺,讓你沉思默想、自省人生。當地有大量專為單身客而設的旅舍,而當你想與人為伴時,又可以參加單車觀光團和到公共溫泉去,結交新朋友。

國泰航空每周有56班飛往東京的航班,有36班飛往大阪的航班;從大阪只需乘搭短程火車即可抵達京都

冰島

澳洲智庫Institute for Economics and Peace指出,這個北歐小國已連續11年獲選為世上最安全地方,獨遊旅客大可安心前往暢遊。不過,這個冰火相容的國度擁有壯麗的野外奇景,會令你意亂情迷。不妨租一輛車,沿著海邊的環島公路作自駕遊,前往南部欣賞Seljalandsfoss及Skógafoss等地氣勢磅礡的瀑布,也可到北部的Mývatn浸火山溫泉。你亦可穿上爬山鞋徒步遠足:Laugavegur遠足徑是冰島高地夏日的遠足熱點,全程需時六天,途經七彩斑斕的流紋岩山坡、烏黑的熔岩地、天然溫泉及壯闊冰川。從首都雷克雅維克自駕或乘旅遊巴出發,三小時便能到達Landmannalaugar山,你可從這裡遠足前往位於Eyjafjallajökull火山山腳的ValleyofThor山谷。Eyjafjallajökull火山的名稱發音拗口,山頂上有冰川覆蓋,2010年爆發時,導致航空交通停頓,經過數星期才回復正常。那次爆發形成兩個新火山口,分別以雷神之子Magni及Modi命名,為登山人士增添觀光選擇。沿路有宿舍形式的山邊小屋供人下榻,絕對是勇敢獨行俠的不二之選。

尼泊爾

Pawan Kawan/Unsplash

有些人認為,真正的冒險精神不只是走出原有的舒適天地,還要進行艱辛的體能挑戰。Whoa Travel(Women High on Adventure,意思是於高處歷奇的女性)旅行社的聯合創辦人Danielle Thornton及Allison Fleece表示:「攀上乞力馬扎羅山厄爾布魯士山珠穆朗瑪峰登山基地這些難度極高的體驗,也是我們最受歡迎的行程。參加Whoa行程的女性希望透過艱鉅的冒險旅程挑戰身心,因為她們明白,這才是旅程最大的收獲。」而世上還有什麼考驗能與珠穆朗瑪峰相比?除了可欣賞喜瑪拉雅山的壯麗景致,你還可在這趟高海拔之旅參觀佛寺,接受當地雪巴人殷勤的款待,品嚐傳統尼泊爾菜式,令自己有足夠氣力完成艱苦的攀山行程。旅行團由Whoa與志願組織Take on Nepal合辦,因此腳夫和導遊全由女性包辦,打破由男性壟斷這些行業的局面。攀上世界之巔無疑是一生中難能可貴的體驗,但Thornton和Fleece表示,旅程還另有得著;「在高山上會與人建立起緊密深厚的關係。當你和其他陌生人一同努力克服如此巨大的體能挑戰時,很自然會產生出可維繫一生的情誼。看著這種友情建立起來,實在教人感動。」

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往加德滿都的航班,每周有五班

都柏林

Luke Tanis/Unsplash

世上有不少人跡罕至的偏遠角落,可是你總會在那些地方找到愛爾蘭酒吧,皆因與人結伴暢飲是愛爾蘭人的天性,而一家擠滿親切友善的都柏林人的酒吧,定會令獨遊人感到賓至如歸。與其前往Temple Bar酒吧這類遊客熱點,不妨到一些擁有地道愛爾蘭風味的酒吧去,例如位於Dawson Street街上的Café en Seine,那是一家以裝飾藝術風格全新裝修的酒吧;此外,位於Francis Street街的Drop Dead Twice最近擴充店面,地方更寬敞;還有全新開業的The Lucky Duck,位於Aungier Street街上,是一家洋溢街坊風味的酒吧。下月是紀念守護愛爾蘭的聖人StPatrick的日子,3月14至18日舉行St Patrick’s Day Festival節慶,節目包括大型的巡遊及音樂會等,而城中的地標亦會髹上綠色,以示慶祝。如果你喜歡較文靜的文化活動,都柏林是個豐富的歷史寶庫,可讓你盡情暢遊。不可錯過的地點包括建於13世紀的都柏林城堡,還有Kilmainham Gaol監獄,可藉自助錄音導賞上一堂歷史課。如果你是愛書人,就非要往三一學院圖書館去不可了。

馬爾代夫

雖然克服體能考驗或接受文化啟迪,能令你的人生改變,但據酒店預訂網站Agoda的「2018年獨遊行趨勢」調查報告指出,六成一受訪者(即大部分人)認為獨自出行的誘因,在於能享受「一個人獨處的時光」。但這不代表我們非去東南亞的瑜伽度假勝地不可。愈來愈多追求健康之道的單身一族喜歡勇闖新婚夫婦的蜜月勝地馬爾代夫旅行。

COMO Maalifushi度假村總經理Pietro Addis說:「馬爾代夫一直是蜜月天堂,但此地的無人沙灘、清澈見底的海水和寧靜致遠的環境,同樣適合渴望養精蓄銳,重新面對世界的旅客。」

「過去幾年,追求健康的單身遊客人數緩緩上升。他們尋找全面的養生之道,喜歡將運動課,健康食療與冥想等活動加入行程之中。」

Mohamed Ajufaan/Unsplash

有見及此,這座豪華度假村今年推出一系列專為獨行客而設的養生活動,包括以瑜伽和普拉提為主的靜修活動,為期一周。風光如畫的水上別墅、潔白純淨的沙灘、令人舒筋活絡的按摩和充裕的休憩時間,或許能讓害怕獨自外遊的人敞開心扉,踏出個人之旅的第一步。說到底,為什麼孤家寡人就不能在度假天堂裡好好享受一番?

國泰航空每周有四班由香港飛往都柏林及馬爾代夫的航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Solo travel

Solitary Refinement: 5 Solo Trips

Who says you need a travel partner? Solo travel has shed the label of sad singleton and embraced an empowering expression of independence, writes TAMSIN COCKS

‘Isn’t Valentine’s Day the best?’ – said no single person ever. Each February, the world becomes a two-person zone: restaurants whip out romantic candles and heart-shaped desserts, while hotels come with rose petals sprinkled on the bed. Ugh.

Well, this February, we’re bucking the trend to celebrate the fabulousness of solo travel. And not just because we’re bitter. Travel companies across the board are reporting a boom in solo travellers, with women leading the vanguard: Google Trends reveals the search term ‘solo female travel’ has doubled in the past 12 months and Hostelworld reported a 45 per cent increase in solo female bookings between 2015 and 2017. Meanwhile Airbnb says solo travellers now account for up to 27 per cent of its bookings.

Travelling alone can seem daunting, but more of us are starting to embrace the benefits, such as an increased sense of confidence and unbridled freedom to do exactly what you want, when you want, without having to compromise for others.

For solo travel blogger Alice Teacake, who’s adventures have seen her performing burlesque in Shanghai and riding motorbikes across Bangladesh, travelling alone has been the ultimate source of personal development. ‘Before I travelled, I didn’t understand what I was fully capable of. Solo travel has allowed me to face my fears,’ she says. ‘If you repeatedly put yourself into situations that make you uncomfortable and force you to make decisions solo, you’ll transform into a very confident, flexible, self-loving and open-minded person.’

Solo travels
Azlan Baharudin/Unsplash

And with greater financial independence, smartphones, 24/7 communication and increasingly safe modes of transport and travelling, it’s never been easier to organise and take a trip alone, says Judi Wineland, co-owner of travel company Adventure Women.

We’re not just talking about the Eat, Pray, Love variety of spiritual yoga retreats or falling in love with handsome Italian strangers, either (though, neither of these things sound terrible). In 2019, we’re striking out alone to explore the wilderness, scale mountains and delve into new cultures. Here are five ‘me, myself and I’ adventures to embark on.

Japan

Sweeping the board in the 2018 Marco Polo Club Members’ Choice Awards, Japan is unquestionably one of the most popular places to visit. And for solo travellers, Tokyo has plenty of additional perks: capsule hotels (say goodbye to accommodation penalties), animal cafes (who needs a fellow traveller when you can cuddle a cat – or a hedgehog?) and karaoke booths built for one (live out your rockstar dreams with zero judgement). The respectful, welcoming culture is also a safe haven for women, and Tokyo takes female traveller safety to the next level with women-only carriages on the subway, women-only coach journeys and women-only floors in many hotels. Foodies flying solo will also find that dining alone is an awkward-free experience thanks to the city being well geared up for single diners: there are plenty of sushi, tempura and ramen joints with individual counters and set meals, while popular ramen chain Ichiran even has individual booths. Beyond the capital, Kyoto is a relaxed, cultural city full of tranquil zen gardens and Buddhist temples for you to practise some self-reflection. Numerous guesthouses are styled for individuals, while organised cycling tours and public onsen are popular ways to socialise if you’re craving a little company.

Cathay Pacific flies to Tokyo 56 times a week and Osaka, a short train ride away from Kyoto, 36 times a week

Iceland

Solo travels
Nick Decorte/Unsplash

The tiny northern European country has been crowned the safest in the world for the 11th year in a row by Australian think tank the Institute for Economics and Peace – a reassuring bonus for solo travellers. But its otherworldly landscape of ice and fire offers a stunning wilderness to get lost in your thoughts. Hire a car to navigate the coastal ring road, stopping off at thundering waterfalls like Seljalandsfoss and Skógafoss in the south and the Mývatn volcanic thermal baths in the north. Or grab your boots and set out on foot: the Laugavegur trek is a popular six-day summer trek in the Icelandic highlands that winds through rainbow-coloured rhyolite mountains, black lava fields, natural hot springs and vast glaciers. A three-hour drive or bus journey from the capital Reykjavik brings you to Landmannalaugar, a mountain from where you’ll hike to the Valley of Thor at the foot of Eyjafjallajökull – the unpronounceable glacier-capped volcano that grounded air travel for weeks when it erupted in 2010. Post-eruption, trekkers can visit Magni and Modi, the two new craters (named after the sons of Thor). Accommodation along the way is dormitory-style mountain huts – perfect for the intrepid solo traveller.

Nepal

Solo travels
Pawan Kawan/Unsplash

For some, the true spirit of adventure lies not just in stepping outside your comfort zone, but in pushing through gruelling physical challenges. Whoa Travel (Women High on Adventure) co-founders Danielle Thornton and Allison Fleece say: ‘Our most challenging experiences, like hiking Mount Kilimanjaro, Elbrus or to Everest Base Camp, are also our most popular. Whoa women are looking for big adventures that will push them physically and mentally because they know that’s where the biggest rewards lie.’ And what bigger challenge is there than Everest? Aside from the Himalayan scenery, this high-altitude adventure will see you visiting Buddhist monasteries, experiencing the hospitality of the local Sherpas and dining on traditional Nepalese cuisine to fuel you for the punishing climb. Thanks to a partnership with volunteer organisation Take on Nepal, this itinerary is also guided exclusively by female porters and guides, an occupation usually reserved for men. Reaching the top of the world is undoubtedly a once-in-a-lifetime experience, but according to Thornton and Fleece, this experience has another high point: ‘There’s a deep and profound connection that happens on these mountains. When you take on such a physical challenge together, as strangers, it can bond you with each other for a lifetime. It’s really amazing to see those friendships and bonds develop.’

Cathay Dragon flies to Kathmandu from Hong Kong five times a week

Dublin

Solo travels
Luke Tanis/Unsplash

There’s a reason an Irish bar appears in every far-flung corner of the world: drinking with company is part of the national DNA, and a pub full of friendly Dubliners is ideal for the solo traveller. Instead of heading to touristy Temple Bar, though, you’ll find more authentic Irish charm at newly renovated art deco bar Café en Seine on Dawson Street; the recently expanded Drop Dead Twice taproom on Francis Street; or newly-opened The Lucky Duck neighbourhood bar on Aungier Street. Next month, of course, the whole city will be in full party mode to celebrate Ireland’s patron saint. The St Patrick’s Day Festival runs from 14-18 March, with parades, concerts and city landmarks doused in green. If more sedate cultural activities are more your style, the Emerald Isle’s capital is full of historical treasures to delve into. Head to the 13th century Dublin Castle or the Kilmainham Gaol, with self-guided audio tours to enjoy a gritty history lesson, while a visit to the stunning Trinity College Library is an absolute must for bibliophiles.

The Maldives

In response, the luxury resort has launched a range of wellness programmes specifically tailored to solo travellers this year, including week-long yoga and pilates-focused retreats. For those nervous about committing to flying solo: the temptation of stunning overwater villas, unblemished white sand beaches, soothing massages and guaranteed rest and relaxation might just convince you to try your first solo adventure. And after all, why shouldn’t singles get to experience paradise on Earth, too?

Cathay Pacific flies to Dublin and the Maldives from Hong Kong four times a week