餐飲美食

Ian Botham爵士最喜愛的美酒勝地

Ian Botham爵士從板球健將變身品酒專家,細說幾個在澳洲、新西蘭及英國幾個對他品酒有深遠影響的地方

Ian Botham在1974至1993年間於板球場上叱吒風雲,不但贏得舉國球迷愛戴,更榮獲爵士勳銜。

他跟許多球壇健將一樣,退休後成為賽事評述員。可是除了評述球員在比賽時的表現之外,他對新世界的葡萄酒亦別具慧眼,有自己的一番見解。

他最近推出自家出品的The Botham Series葡萄酒系列,以親切溫文的態度向人講述對葡萄酒的熱愛。可是如果有人表示他是「明星釀酒師」時,昔日球壇猛將的火氣就會再次爆發,他會說:「這件事跟板球完全無關,千萬記住。」

不過,他以chardonnay及cabernet sauvignon兩種葡萄為初入門者釀製的葡萄酒系列The All-Rounder,就是暗示他是昔日球場上的「萬能球員」。他出品的葡萄酒,不可能與板球完全無關。為了發掘佳釀,他亦全力以赴,走遍澳洲及新西蘭,每天試飲多達150款葡萄酒。推廣新品牌時,更要面對一大群挑剔的買家和難以應付的記者。

Julian Finney/Getty Images

我們請來Ian Botham爵士介紹美酒之旅途中幾個令他印象難忘的地方。

海峽群島阿爾得尼島

VFKA / Getty Images

這個小島位於英國及法國之間,身兼板球評述員、詩人及酒評家的John Arlott曾在島上居住多年。他曾勸說年輕的Botham從飲用家鄉森麻實郡的蘋果酒改為品嚐高級葡萄酒。現在Botham亦在阿爾得尼島上擁有一座房子,每年他都會在Arlott的墳前獨酌,並將酒瓶的軟木塞留下致意,紀念這位啟蒙恩師。

澳洲Woodcroft區

Botham與另一位板球員Bob Willis於澳洲旅行期間,在酒吧認識當地釀酒師Geoff Merrill,因為這個機緣,三人於2001年合作推出Botham Merrill Willis葡萄酒系列。這系列的葡萄酒風味獨特,與瓶身標籤上羅列的名字同樣令人印象難忘。Merrill於阿德萊德南部設有酒莊,Botham是酒莊的常客。他們的cabernet sauvignon獲推許為「Merrill的巔峰之作」,亦屬品質頂級的Sir Ian Botham Collection系列成員。

澳洲Georges on Waymouth餐廳

這間位於阿德萊德市中心的地中海菜餐廳是Botham的至愛食堂,店主是George及Voula Kasimatis夫婦。Botham說道:「George總愛備下一瓶酒,邀我品嚐一番。」Botham很喜歡阿德萊德這個「大型鄉鎮」,他表示:「我不熱衷都市生活。在這裡,你只需從市中心商業區步行十分鐘,就能抵達阿德萊德山,那裡遍佈精品酒莊。」

新西蘭皇后鎮

皇后鎮位於瓦卡蒂普湖畔,是著名旅遊勝地。Botham表示:「我喜歡這裡的一切。如果我沒有選擇板球的話,就會長居此地。這裡距離吉布斯頓山谷遍植pinot noir黑葡萄的美麗葡萄園只不過是五分鐘路程。」

英國南唐斯

Sean Gladwell / Moment RF / Getty Images

對Ian Botham爵士來說,釀製The Botham Series葡萄酒系列讓他有個出門旅行的好理由。阿根廷是他極感興趣的地方,高踞他的旅遊選擇之首。「門多薩地區出產在高地上種植的malbec葡萄,品質極佳,我希望作更深入的探索。此外,我亦對英國的氣泡酒十分感興趣。」Botham如此愛國,說不定有一天會用在家鄉南唐斯的白堊土種植的葡萄,釀出以Botham命名的美酒。

Food and drink

Sir Ian Botham’s Favourite Wine Destinations

Cricketer turned oenophile Sir Ian Botham decants a list of places in Australia, New Zealand and England that shaped his love of wine

Ian Botham won the hearts of his countrymen and a knighthood for his barnstorming exploits on the cricket pitch between 1974 and 1993.

In retirement, he followed the tried and trusted route from the crease to the commentary box. But in his latest venture he is back out in the field: not testing batsmen but challenging the winemakers of the New World.

He recently launched The Botham Series, his own range of bespoke wines. He talks affably about his passion for the grape, but some of the old Botham fire comes out at any suggestion he’s a ‘celebrity winemaker’. ‘This is nothing to do with cricket – underline that,’ he says.

Still, his old career has more than an aftertaste with names like The All-Rounder: his entry-level chardonnays and cabernet sauvignons. But he has certainly put in the hard yards, travelling the length and breadth of Australia and New Zealand, trying up to 150 blends a day, then facing a tough crowd of buyers and journalists to promote the new brand.

Sir Ian Botham, Cape Town, Food and wine
Julian Finney/Getty Images

We asked Sir Ian to choose an over’s worth of memorable places he’s known on his viticultural travels.

Alderney, The Channel Islands

Corblets Beach, Fort Corblets, Alderney, Guernsey, Channel Islands
VFKA / Getty Images

For many years, the tiny island between Britain and France was the home of John Arlott: cricket commentator, poet and wine writer. It was he who persuaded a young Botham to exchange the cider of his native Somerset for fine wines. Now Botham, too, has a house on Alderney, and every year he drinks a bottle in Arlott’s memory and leaves the cork at his graveside.

Geoff Merrill Wines, food and wine

Woodcroft, Australia

Botham and his fellow cricketer Bob Willis were on tour and in a pub when they met the Aussie winemaker Geoff Merrill. That encounter ultimately led to the trio collaborating on the Botham Merrill Willis range in 2001. The wine in the bottle is as upfront in character as the names on the label. Merrill’s winery in Woodcroft, south of Adelaide, is always on Botham’s itinerary. Their cabernet sauvignon (‘the best Merrill has ever made’) is part of the premium Sir Ian Botham Collection.

Georges on Waymouth, Australia

The Mediterranean restaurant in the heart of Adelaide run by George and Voula Kasimatis is one of Botham’s favourites. ‘George always has an extra bottle he wants me to try,’ says Botham, who loves the ‘big country town’ that is the city of Adelaide. ‘I’m not a city boy. And 10 minutes’ away from the CBD you have the Adelaide Hills and boutique wineries everywhere.’

Queenstown, New Zealand

‘I love everything about the place. If I didn’t have cricket I’d spend all my time here,’ says Botham of the renowned tourist hub set on the banks of Lake Wakatipu. ‘You’re also five minutes’ from some fantastic vineyards and pinot noirs in the Gibbston Valley.’

Mornington Peninsula, Australia

Paringa Estate, food and wine
Les Hallack

Botham has long gone to bat for the quality of New World pinot noirs over their Burgundy rivals. His search for a partner to co-produce a pinot for his new series ended at Lindsay McCall’s Paringa Estate, set in the sunny hills and cool breezes of Victoria’s Mornington Peninsula, just south of Melbourne.

The South Downs, England

Food and wine, valley landscape
Sean Gladwell / Moment RF / Getty Images

For Sir Ian, The Botham Series is a reason to travel. High – literally – on the list is Argentina: ‘I really want to explore the hidden gems of the Mendoza region and its great high-altitude malbecs. I’m also really interested in English sparkling wine.’ So for this most patriotic of Englishmen, maybe a bottle from the chalky soil of his home country will bear the Botham name one day. 

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book