新加坡

嶄新型格消閒熱點:Robertson Quay碼頭

Robertson Quay碼頭一直被視為新加坡河上三個碼頭中最不起眼的成員,現在終於準備突圍而出。撰文 Anshel Ma

要是向任何新加坡人提起Robertson Quay碼頭,他們大概仍然會說那個濱水區只有公寓大廈,還有那些寥寥可數,為區內以外籍人士為主的居民服務的本地餐廳罷了。正如我在某個星期六晚上乘的士前往該區時,司機劈頭就問:「想找樂子何不直接去Clarke Quay碼頭?」

我跟他說,Clarke Quay和毗鄰的Boat Quay兩個碼頭已經變得太過喧囂了。那裡太多遊客、太多人買醉、太多播放球賽的酒吧,而這個晚上,我更看到有一名醉酒漢爬上燈柱,讓人哭笑不得;我相信應該還有一處更有氣派的地方讓我享受美好時光吧。

而位於Robertson Quay碼頭的Quayside就是我在尋找的目的地了。這個簇新的發展項目剛於今年7月開幕,連當地人也是近期才留意到其存在。幕後推手是30來歲的地產大亨Kishin RK,他把古舊的購物中心和酒店翻新成設計流麗的綜合大樓,20多間各具特色和個性的露天餐廳和前臨新加坡河的酒吧均在此營業,而全新的洲際酒店更預計於本月稍後開幕。

Kishin說:「我覺得該區從來沒有完全善用位處河邊的優勢,締造獨有的生活方式。活化新加坡河這段是一個機遇,我想把它構築成跟Clarke Quay和Boat Quay碼頭匹敵的第三大碼頭。」

其實他並不是第一個積極發展Robertson Quay碼頭的發展商。夜店Filter Club早於2010年在此開幕,當時吸引多間酒吧在附近落戶,令該區在繼後幾年成為城中消閒熱點。可惜這盛況只是曇花一現,Filter Club隨後結業,碼頭又再沉寂下來,縱使毗鄰核心商業區,這一帶卻熱鬧不起來,顯得暮氣沉沉。

後來直至Kishin決定翻新整個區域,這裡才迎接真正的曙光。早於重建開始之前,型格餐廳便急不及待紛紛開幕,最早問世的是於2014年開業、色彩繽紛的墨西哥餐館Superloco。接著本土咖哩餐廳The Curry Culture亦趁機重塑形象,改造成別致的Dabbawalla餐廳,供應來自印度不同地區的街頭小吃。餐廳經理Prabha指出:「我們留意到Quayside改頭換面,並且相信Kishin的遠見有發展潛力,因此決定試試在這裡做生意。」

的而且確,這裡所有人都把Kishin的名字掛在嘴邊,教人以為他正為社區施行奇蹟。他確保該區不會引進任何大型連鎖餐廳,而且每家餐廳都能夠展現自身特色。其中一個最佳例子Summerlong,是新加坡極少數的地中海餐廳,裝潢平實,前臨河景,供應可口的地中海風味菜式,洋溢海灘風情。餐廳創辦人Rohit Roopchand表示:「獅城的餐廳多在百貨公司內,Quayside的露天餐飲則令人耳目一新,教人真切感受到這裡本身就是一個景點。」

這裡的餐飲選擇是Kishin團隊悉心挑選的成果。Kishin表示:「最大的挑戰是找到最好的租戶組合。我們身為Quayside的業主,可以掌握整個區域的發展;其他區域則可能有多個業主,他們可能只求得到最高的租金,而不理會租戶的性質。相反我們能一手一腳營造這區的氣氛,把它變成具啟發性、優越但毫不做作的地區。我們花了一年多時間研究市況,討論過不同餐廳和酒吧的選擇,最後才決定Quayside接納什麼租戶組合。」

Quayside Singapore

酒店也如雨後春筍般湧現,其中潮人聖地Warehouse Hotel就體現了該區的歷史。酒店建於1895年,最初為釀酒廠和鴉片館,1980年代蛻變成Warehouse Disco的士高。今年再開業時,已是一家擁有37間客房的精品酒店,成為全城其中最時尚的住宿選擇。酒店餐廳Po同樣糅合今昔風貌,呈奉的經典新加坡菜式雖在熟食中心常見,卻注入了高雅的現代格調。總經理Tarun Karla表示:「這裡是唯一一個獲市區重建局評為歷史文物的倉庫,更是新加坡為數不多的文物酒店。我們處處保留本土面貌,而且獨立經營,是我們引以為傲之處。」

至於將在本月開幕的新加坡羅伯遜碼頭洲際酒店,則是Robertson Quay碼頭發展的最後一位新成員。它並不囿於為碼頭帶來五星級的奢華,反而矢志營造跟Quayside一樣講究但不失輕鬆的氣氛。其總經理Mark Winterton表示,賓客酒店稱呼為「住客」)可隨意穿著便服,更無需刻意打扮:「我們鼓勵住客展現真我,享受賓至如歸的舒適氣氛。這個精心策劃的空間與周邊區域融為一體,而所有新加坡缺乏的事物都可在這裡找到。Quayside是一個講究而不失休閒和個性的社區,我們志不在充當第二個Clarke Quay碼頭。」

ICH Quayside Singapore

1880是洲際酒店附設的私人會員制俱樂部,可謂雲集了Robertson Quay碼頭的玩味、時尚和創意於一身。室內設計由著名家具品牌設計師Timothy Oulton操刀,並網羅水療中心、共享工作空間、戲院、餐廳和酒吧。創辦人Marc Nicholson擁有宏大的願景:「我希望創造一個能夠啟發對話和改變世界的空間。我們將會主辦不同的活動,讓會員能夠彼此認識。」

Decker Barbecue是一家位於Quayside的美國德州風味燒烤餐廳,其東主兼經營者Min Chan可謂對這區形容得最為貼切:「這裡所有人都是朋友,更擁有強烈的社群意識,完全實現了Kishin的理想。我們並不視彼此為競爭者,反而是一個互相扶持的大家庭。我期望早日看到Quayside和Robertson Quay碼頭發展成熟的一天。」

國泰航空設有由香港飛往新加坡的航班,每周有63班。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Singapore

Singapore’s newest life enhancer: Robertson Quay

Long known as the quietest of Singapore River’s three quays, Robertson Quay is finally ready to outshine its siblings. By ANSHEL MA

Ask Singaporeans about Robertson Quay and they’ll likely still tell you the waterside district only has condominiums, with a handful of local restaurants serving the area’s predominantly expat residents. Take my taxi driver, for example, as I’m heading down there on a Saturday evening. ‘Why not go to Clarke Quay if you want some fun?’ he asks.

My response: Clarke Quay and the neighbouring Boat Quay are a bit much for me these days. Lots of tourists. Lots of drinking. Lots of sports bars. And on this evening, a man climbing a lamppost. No, there must be somewhere classier to have a good time.

Enter Quayside at Robertson Quay, a development so new that even locals are just starting to discover it. In July, it finally opened, after years of renovation that transformed an old retail centre and hotel into a sleekly designed complex. Opened by Kishin RK, a property mogul in his 30s, the complex now includes some 20 alfresco restaurants and bars facing the Singapore River, each with its own vibe and personality. A new InterContinental hotel is scheduled to open later this month.

‘I never felt that the area fully embraced a riverside lifestyle, and I saw this as an opportunity to revitalise this part of the Singapore River – the third quay after Clarke Quay and Boat Quay,’ says Kishin.

ICH Quayside Singapore

This isn’t exactly the first exciting development to come to Robertson Quay. In 2010, Filter Club opened here and was the place to be seen for several years, with bars cropping up around it. But this proved to be a false start. Filter Club closed, and the area reverted to a sleepy pocket of the city, finding itself suddenly unfashionable despite its close proximity to the CBD.

It wasn’t until Kishin decided to revamp the entire area that Robertson Quay began to see real change. Trendy restaurants started to arrive even before the refurbishment began. The first, in 2014, was Superloco, a colourful Mexican joint. Then, a local curry house called The Curry Culture took the opportunity to reinvent itself and transformed into Dabbawalla, a fun restaurant serving street eats from different Indian regions. ‘We were aware of the Quayside revamp and we saw potential in Kishin’s vision,’ says restaurant manager Prabha. ‘This is why we decided to give it a try.’

Indeed, Kishin’s name is on the lips of everyone here; you’d think he were performing a miracle for the neighbourhood. He made sure that there wouldn’t be any large chain restaurants entering the area and that every restaurant would be able to bring its own distinctiveness to the table.

Robertson Quay, Singapore.

Summerlong, one of Singapore’s very few Mediterranean restaurants, is a prime example, channeling earthy decor, river views, delicious Med-influenced dishes and a general beachy vibe. ‘The alfresco experience in Quayside is a departure from the department store norm that is Singapore,’ says Summerlong’s founder, Rohit Roopchand. ‘You really feel the sense that this place is a destination in itself.’

The cuisines offered here were very deliberate choices by Kishin’s team.

‘The biggest challenge was finding the right mix of tenants,’ he says. ‘As the landlord of Quayside, we’ve had the opportunity to take control of the whole neighbourhood. Other neighbourhoods often have multiple landlords who are looking for the best rent regardless of the tenants, but we could really shape the vibe and district into something inspiring and high-quality yet unpretentious. We spent over a year researching the market and debating various restaurant and bar options before deciding on the final tenant mix at Quayside.’

Singapore, The Quayside

Hotels have sprung up, too. There’s hipster haven Warehouse Hotel, which embodies the area’s past. Built in 1895, it was first a distillery and then an opium den, before becoming the Warehouse Disco in the 1980s. This year, it opened as a boutique 37-room hotel, which may just be the coolest bolthole in the city. The hotel’s restaurant, Po, fuses past with present, too, specialising in classic Singapore dishes often enjoyed in hawker centres but with an elegant and modern twist. ‘We are the only warehouse to be given heritage status by the Urban Redevelopment Authority, and one of very few heritage hotels in Singapore,’ says Tarun Karla, the general manager. ‘We pride ourselves on keeping everything local and being independently run.’

The opening of InterContinental Singapore Robertson Quay, scheduled for this month, is the final part of the area’s transformation. But rather than bringing opulent five-star luxury to the quay, the hotel is looking to capture the same ‘sophisticated yet relaxed’ atmosphere of the Quayside. General Manager Mark Winterton says this is a place where guests – or ‘residents’, as the hotel calls them – can feel free to dress down. ‘We encourage our residents to be themselves and enjoy the homey vibe. This is a curated space that morphs into the surrounding area, and everything that’s been missing in Singapore can be found here. Quayside is a sophisticated but casual, unspoilt community. The last thing we want is to create Clarke Quay 2.0.’

ICH Quayside Singapore

1880, a private members’ club situated inside the InterContinental, encapsulates all that’s fun, modern and innovative about Robertson Quay. Consisting of a spa, a co-working space, a cinema, a restaurant and a bar, this club is designed by furniture maker Timothy Oulton. Founder Marc Nicholson has lofty goals in mind: ‘I want to create a space that can inspire conversations and transform the world. We will be hosting different events and get our members acquainted with each other.’

Min Chan, the owner-operator of Decker Barbecue, a Texan barbecue restaurant at Quayside, puts it best: ‘Everyone here is friends with one another, and the community sense is strong, just the way Kishin wanted it. We do not see ourselves as competition but as a big family who helps each other out. I am so excited to see what Quayside and Robertson Quay will become – I can’t wait.’ 

Cathay Pacific flies to Singapore from Hong Kong 63 times a week.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book