餐飲美食

新加坡最佳餐廳和酒吧(2019年)

獅城的廚師和調酒師發揮高超的技巧與創意,將這個花園城市塑造成誘人的餐飲勝地

蕞爾島國新加坡的小販中心一向馳名,近年來,水準卓越的高級餐廳陸續成立,勢頭一時無兩,與香港或東京互別苗頭。

米芝蓮一星餐廳Nouri的主廚兼老闆Ivan Brehm說:「我七年前在這裡落腳,親眼見證了新加坡的餐飲界起了翻天覆地的變化。」

在「亞洲50大最佳餐廳」榜單名列第九的Odette,老闆兼主廚Julien Royer表示同意:「本地文化非常多元,融合了不同的國籍、宗教、文化及民族,成為一個引人入勝的大熔爐。新加坡的美食界近年突飛猛進,酒吧亦非常出色。」

換句話說,如果新加坡司令仍是你第一個想到的本地雞尾酒,那麼你大概有一段時間沒造訪獅城了,而Native就是你應該第一時間去朝聖的酒吧。Vijay Mudaliar以創意雞尾酒向本地的峇峇娘惹文化致敬,他用大樹菠蘿浸泡的冧酒為基底,加上叻沙葉、班蘭、羊奶,以及傳統上用來作為食物及布料染色劑的蝶豆花。

從左至右: Odette的祖傳甜菜根, Nouri的茭白筍和 Jaan by Kirk Westaway的比目魚配青豆

而這只是新加坡啟發廚師、調酒師及餐廳老闆衝破界限,讓創意源源不絕流露的一個好例子。Rishi Naleendra於2019年年初關閉了Cheek by Jowl,另起爐灶再開兩家新餐廳;新加坡萊佛士酒店也即將迎來Alain Ducasse和Anne-Sophie Pic這兩位名廚。

Atlas的首席調酒師Jesse Vidas說:「水漲船高。」他認同業內人士的看法,認為新加坡的餐廳與酒吧在世界舞台曝光愈多,愈能推動業界的水準。

事實上,「世界50大最佳餐廳」頒獎典禮首次移師亞洲,於2019年6月25日在新加坡舉行。今年還有另一個創舉,就是男女專業評審的比例平分秋色,以示性別平等。2019年和2020年的「亞洲50大最佳酒吧」,以及2021年的「世界50大最佳酒吧」亦將於新加坡舉辦頒獎典禮。

知名廚師Kirk Westaway認為場地的選擇確認了「我們這個地圖上的小紅點,已經成為餐飲概念百花齊放的象徵,尤其在高級餐飲方面的地位。」

那麼,如何才能躋身新加坡的最佳餐廳和酒吧,他們有何過人之處? 讓我們一起來看看吧。

新加坡最佳餐廳

小康和

這間新加坡唯一的米芝蓮二星日本餐廳,供應以頂級食材製作的精緻壽司,讓有幸成為座上客的美食愛好者大飽口福。小康和裝潢簡潔雅緻,以日本扁柏製作的壽司吧僅設八個座位, 廚師以熟練的手法,在現場處理各式佳餚,如肥美的對馬島紅喉海鱸魚、帶有辛香味的北海道松茸,以及牛奶般嫩滑的河豚白子等特定季節才有的珍品。再來一杯澤屋松本、伯樂星及滿壽泉等酒造出品的頂級純米大吟釀,完美絕配令人再三回味。

Odette

位於新加坡國家美術館,以粉紅色和黃銅粉飾的Odette於2015年開幕,僅僅一年便已榮獲米芝蓮二星,更在2019年登上「亞洲50大最佳餐廳」的榜首位置,爆紅速度驚人。如此成就,必須歸功主廚Julien Royer及幾位與他長期合作的副主廚,集眾人之力炮製現代佳餚,完美演繹了他童年時在法國南部獲得的烹飪靈感。這位主廚擅長以新鮮的時令食材入饌,招牌菜包括迷迭香燻蛋、祖傳甜菜根及嫩布列塔尼乳鴿等。Julien Royer說:「我在亞洲生活了十多年,所以雖然我煮的是法國菜,卻已經慢慢融入了亞洲的特色。」

Jaan by Kirk Westaway

坐落在史丹福瑞士酒店70樓,Jaan坐擁無與倫比的絕佳景觀,不讓室內的精緻裝潢專美於前。自2015年開幕以來,在英國德文郡出生的主廚Westaway就專注烹調現代化的英式美饌。他為經典菜式注入清新細膩的風韻,以一碗溫熱的烤薯仔湯揭開每一餐的序幕。本季新菜單加入Westaway最喜愛的春季佳餚,包括白蘆筍生牛肉片、藏紅花黑松露意粉,並且配上蘇格蘭的海帶和德文郡切達芝士等小食。

Waku Ghin

這是悉尼名廚和久田哲也唯一的海外據點,所以你可能會在濱海灣金沙酒店的Waku Ghin看到這位低調、不愛出風頭的主廚。醃漬牡丹蝦伴以赭色的海膽和份量十足的Oscietra魚子醬,以及外熟內嫩,肉質粉紅多汁的烤近江和牛都是吸引客人再度上門的招牌菜。和久田主廚親自挑選餐廳的許多食物,從清酒到外表平平無奇,但清新美味的哈密瓜,唯有Waku Ghin的客人及日本王室才有機會享用。

Corner House

米芝蓮一星餐廳Corner House以新加坡植物園為家,由被譽為「花卉草本料理大師」的名廚陳日鋥主理。他的菜式以蔬菜為主,尤以Cévennes洋蔥炮製的四款佳餚,以及變化萬千的番茄套餐最為人津津樂道。雖然他曾表明自己的料理並非以賣相取勝,但是餐廳的客人樂此不疲地拍照及上載他的招牌菜,證明色香味俱全。

Nouri

擁有巴西及歐洲血統的Ivan Brehm開設餐廳Nouri,以他稱做「十字路料理」的烹調理念打響知名度,更在2019年榮登「亞洲50大最佳餐廳」。在充滿歡樂氣氛的開放式廚房中,廚師混合常見的與稀有的食材,烹調出層次豐富的料理,例如以紅色的西班牙野生大蝦、意大利的carnaroli舊米,加上日本特產的kanzuri雪漬辣椒醬。另一道不容錯過的佳餚是茭白筍淋上香料調味的白脱奶,這道菜古時曾在諾曼第和中東流行一時。

Les Amis

1994年開業的Les Amis當年是新加坡第一間正宗的法國餐廳,使用來自法國的食材與配料,並以正宗的法式烹調手法而為人稱道,多年來培養了不少廚藝界的人才,包括現在赫赫有名的郭文秀、陳日鋥及黃慧嫻等知名廚師。豐富多元的酒單,細心周到的服務態度,以及高尚雅緻的裝潢,使餐廳成為商界人士公務洽商的理想地點。行政主廚Sebastien Lepinoy說:「我們希望這間餐廳就像一件筆挺的白襯衫,低調,但呈現出永恆雋永的精緻質感。」餐廳供應的甜品精緻可口、惹人垂涎,由兼掌Tarte by Cheryl Koh的糕點與甜品部主廚許惠玲負責。

新加坡最佳酒吧

Atlas

室內佈置金碧輝煌,有如一間以裝飾藝術為主題的宮殿,Atlas展示了一座高達八米的酒櫃,裡面存放的氈酒種類超過1,200種,令人眼花繚亂。你可以在這裡品嚐到各式各樣氈酒,從鮮為人知(如Moldovan氈酒)到陳年(如一款1910年代的London Dry Gin),總有一款符合心意。不過,你可能因為氈酒而上門,卻會為了20種輕井澤單一麥芽威士忌威士忌,以及多達250個品牌的香檳在Atlas流連忘返。酒吧供應一款從沉在波羅的海海底的鐵達尼號打撈上來的Heidsieck & Co Monopole香檳,由於數量稀少因此身價不凡,一瓶要價190,700新加坡元(1,090,000港元)。

Native

雞尾酒吧Native初期因為一款加入螞蟻的雞尾酒(調和了冧酒、木薯粉和椰子乳酪)而聲名大噪。酒吧老闆兼調酒師Vijay Mudaliar最新推出一款創意雞尾酒向本地的峇峇娘惹文化致敬,以大樹菠蘿浸泡的冧酒,加上叻沙葉、馬六甲椰糖、羊奶,以及班蘭葉和蝶豆花製成的啫哩。新的酒單亦用上了芒果、薑黃、桂皮等多種本地食材。想體驗真正的異國風味,試試以火龍果調製的雞尾酒Red Light District,加入盛產於新加坡芽籠區的特殊植物東革阿里,據說其根部具有滋陰補陽的藥效。

從左至右: Native的峇峇娘惹雞尾酒, Atlas的氈酒櫃和Manhattan的Rusty Nail雞尾酒

Operation Dagger

地下酒吧Operation Dagger室內設計走工業風格,吧台後面的牆壁安裝多個層架,上面放滿了各種藥瓶,上方則是以數千個燈泡組合而成、形狀恍似雲朵的裝置,點亮燈泡時宛如閃電的風暴雲。酒吧老闆Luke Whearty在這一方天地肆意創作,不斷推陳出新,調配出的雞尾酒有的會噴出煙霧,有的以自家配方調色,有的完全超乎想像。例如鹹蛋黃甜酒調製的Egg,或是冰涼的菠蘿味龍舌蘭,加上暖朱古力和椰子泡沫的hot+cold。聽起來匪夷所思,不過喝起來卻令人喜出望外。

28 HongKong Street

酒吧28HKS人氣不墜,絕非一時風尚。隱藏在一間毫不起眼的1960年代店屋內,不靠在社交媒體上炒作,而是藉由手工精釀烈酒贏得聲譽。這裡的酒單只有25款嚴選的酒精飲料,另有一些未納入的經典雞尾酒,再加上數款美式下酒菜,如炸芝士通粉球。雞尾酒品質之佳不在話下,播放的嘻哈音樂就跟服務一樣率直,而且越夜越響亮,使這裡成為夜間小酌的最佳場所之一。

Gibson

把上乘的雞尾酒加入幽默感,攪拌均勻,就成了Gibson,只要看一眼吧台後面,你就會發現穿西裝打領帶的調酒師,竟然襯上一條短褲。這裡的雞尾酒採用本地食材調製,例如以菲律賓芒果自製的Pedro Ximénez雪莉甜酒調成的Mango PX;加入馬來西亞番石榴、龍舌蘭和藥用植物帝皇烏藍的威士忌調酒;或是椰子味氈酒雪芭與清酒調配而成的Always Summer。千萬不要錯過名為Gibson的雞尾酒,材料包括由關西一家清酒廠特別釀製的苦艾酒,以及醃漬的珍珠洋蔥、芥末葉和煙燻鵪鶉蛋。

Manhattan

位於新加坡麗晶酒店的Manhattan是2018年「亞洲50大最佳酒吧」的榜首,擁有全世界第一間設於酒店的釀酒室,裡面共有100多個橡木桶,用於陳釀威士忌和其他烈酒。名為America Whiskey Embassy的項目涵蓋了200種威士忌,其中包括一些值得收藏的罕見佳釀,如Pappy van Winkle Family Reserve 20 Years。混合不同年份佳釀調製的Negroni一向是酒吧最暢銷的經典雞尾酒,但酒吧的新推車服務,由員工在客人桌旁現場調製雞尾酒,以及僅供成人享用的周日雞尾酒早午餐,亦是吸引客人的一大賣點。

Tippling Club

自從英籍的廚師兼老闆Ryan Clift於2008年進駐新加坡以來,Tippling Club已在當地為創意雞尾酒開闢了一條康莊大道。酒吧於2018年名列「亞洲50大最佳酒吧」第七位。Clift與首席調酒師Andrew Loudon合作,構思了充滿趣味概念的酒單,如「香水」系列,Clift說:「我們專注研究如何觸動人類的感官知覺。」酒吧與香水品牌International Flavors & Fragrances一起開發雞尾酒,融合了玫瑰、桂花和檀木的香味,並根據經典香氛的前調、中調及後調等結構而設計。2019年7月,兩人將推出新的酒單,靈感源於上世紀法國名廚Auguste Escoffier的著名菜式,如蜜桃梅爾芭。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Singapore’s Best Restaurants and Bars of 2019

Chefs and bartenders are shaking things up in Singapore, which has become one of the most intoxicating destinations for dining and drinking

The tiny island nation of Singapore is famous for its hawker centres and, more recently, temples of haute cuisine rivalling those of Hong Kong or Tokyo.

‘Singapore’s restaurant landscape has transformed dramatically since my first days here seven years ago,’ says Ivan Brehm, chef of one-Michelin-starred Nouri.

Julien Royer of Odette, ninth on the list of Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants, agrees. ‘We have so many different nationalities, religions, cultures and people; it makes it a very interesting melting pot, he says. ‘The food scene has improved a lot, and the bar scene in Singapore is crazy good.’

In other words, if the Singapore Sling is still the first local cocktail that comes to mind, you’re overdue a visit – and one of your first bar-hopping stops should be Native. The most creative of Vijay Mudaliar’s cocktails pays tribute to local Peranakan culture by featuring a jackfruit rum infusion, laksa leaves, pandan, goat’s milk and blue pea flowers, traditionally used as a food and cloth dye.

From left: Odette’s heirloom beetroots, Nouri’s wild rice stem and Jaan by Kirk Westaway’s halibut and peas

It’s just one example of how Singapore inspires its chefs, bartenders and restaurateurs to push boundaries and, as a result, offer a steady stream of exciting concepts. Rishi Naleendra closed Cheek by Jowl in early 2019 to open two fresh restaurants, and anticipated debuts are on the way from Alain Ducasse and Anne-Sophie Pic (both within the Raffles Singapore hotel).

‘The high tide raises all ships,’ says Atlas’ head bartender Jesse Vidas, echoing industry sentiments that greater exposure on the world stage only strengthens Singapore’s restaurant and bar offerings.

Indeed, for the first time, the World’s 50 Best Restaurants award ceremony is being held in Asia – and Singapore will play host on 25 June 2019. (In another win for inclusivity, this is the first time there will be an even split of male/female industry voters.) The Asia’s 50 Best Bars awards for 2019 and 2020 will also take place in Singapore, as will the World’s 50 Best Bars awards in 2021.

Chef Kirk Westaway sees the choice as validation that ‘our little red dot on the map has really cemented its position as a fertile landscape for all F&B concepts, especially fine-dining ones’.

What does it take to be among Singapore’s best restaurants and bars? Let’s dig in.

Singapore’s Best Restaurants

Shoukouwa

Singapore’s only Japanese restaurant with two Michelin stars, Shoukouwa serves refined sushi to those lucky enough to snag one of eight seats at its hinoki wood counter. From there, chefs expertly prepare fatty blackthroat sea perch from Tsushima; spicy, earthy matsutake mushrooms from Hokkaido; and rare, seasonal delicacies such as silky, milky fugu shirako (puffer fish milt). Premium junmai daiginjo sakes from breweries such as Sawaya Matsumoto, Hakurakusei and Masuizumi are the perfect pairing.

Odette

It’s been a meteoric rise for Odette, a blush-pink and brass-accented space in Singapore’s National Gallery which captured two Michelin stars within a year of opening in 2015 as well as the top spot on Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants 2019 list. Credit goes to Julien Royer – and his long-time sous chefs – for modern cooking inspired by his childhood in the south of France. What’s fresh and seasonal shines, whether it’s rosemary smoked egg, heirloom beetroots or tender Brittany pigeon. ‘Because I’ve been in Asia for more than 10 years, it is French cooking in its DNA, but we slowly have incorporated Asian influences,’ says Royer.

Jaan by Kirk Westaway

On the 70th floor of Swissôtel The Stamford, this restaurant’s killer views are rivalled only by the exquisite decor. Since 2015, Jaan has shifted its culinary focus to modern British cooking, as interpreted by Devon-born Westaway. He gives the classics a light, refined take and starts every meal with a cup of warm, roasted potato soup. A new menu showcases Westaway’s favourite springtime dishes – white asparagus carpaccio and saffron and black truffle pasta – along with delights such as a Scottish kombu (seaweed) and Devon cheddar cheese.

Waku Ghin

Waku Ghin is Sydney-based Tetsuya Wakuda’s only international outpost. This means you’ll see the self-effacing Wakuda regularly at the Marina Bay Sands restaurant. Botan shrimp served with ochre tongues of sea urchin and a lavish dollop of Oscietra caviar; and pink-centred cuboids of seared Omi A5 wagyu beef are among the faithfully rendered specialities. Wakuda sources many products himself, from the sake to the seemingly simple, yet unforgettably flavoursome muskmelon that only Waku Ghin’s diners – and Japan’s royal family – get to enjoy.

Corner House

The Botanic Gardens make an apt setting for one-Michelin-starred Corner House, whose chef Jason Tan embraces ‘gastro-botanica’ cuisine. What that means is an unabashedly vegetable-focused menu, including his signature Cévennes onion dish (where he interprets the allium four ways) or his ever-evolving Variation of Tomato course. While he asserts that ‘prettiness’ in his presentation is not a priority, diners faithfully photographing every plate suggest otherwise.

Nouri

Ivan Brehm, of Brazilian and European heritage, specialises in what he calls ‘crossroads cuisine’ at Nouri, which made its Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants debut in 2019. In the convivial open kitchen, chefs prep the ‘familiar mixed with the unfamiliar’ to create dishes like vermilion carabinero prawns and aged carnaroli rice accented with kanzuri (snow-fermented Japanese red chilli peppers). A must-try is the wild rice stem, dressed in a spiced buttermilk that has analogues in Normandy and the Middle East.

Les Amis

The list of chefs to emerge from Les Amis – Justin Quek, Jason Tan and Janice Wong to name just three – is a veritable who’s who of Singapore greats. The first standalone French restaurant when it opened in 1994, it showcases ingredients sourced from France and prepared with exacting Gallic techniques. An epic wine list, discreet service and elegant interior have paved the way for many business deals. ‘We aim to be like a crisp white shirt,’ says executive chef Sebastien Lepinoy, ‘understated, but oozing sophistication that will never go out of style.’ Last but not least come the desserts, created by Cheryl Koh, who also oversees Tarte by Cheryl Koh.

Singapore’s Best Bars

Atlas

Atlas is a gilded, art-deco fantasy with an equally eye-popping collection of gin: more than 1,200 varieties, displayed in an eight-metre-tall tower. You can sample the obscure (Moldovan gins) and the aged (a London dry gin dating to the 1910s). Come for the gin, stay for the prestige whiskies (20 Karuizawa single malts) or 250-label-strong champagne collection, which includes Heidsieck & Co Monopole. The same as that served onboard the Titanic, this champagne was salvaged from the Baltic Sea and requires abyss-depth pockets at S$190,700 (HK$1,090,000) a bottle.  

Native

Native became infamous as the bar that got Singaporeans to swallow foraged weaver ants (combined with rum, tapioca and coconut yoghurt). Vijay Mudaliar’s newest standout cocktail also celebrates what’s native, namely Peranakan culture, which inspired a jackfruit rum infusion with laksa leaves, palm sugar, goat’s milk and a jelly of coconut pandan and blue pea flowers. Local ingredients like mango, turmeric and cinnamon also pop up on the new menu. To really mix things up, try the Red Light District, a dragon fruit libation with tongkat ali, a (ahem) performance-enhancing medicinal root popular in Singapore’s notorious Geylang area.

From left: Native’s Peranakan cocktail, Atlas’s gin tower and Manhattan’s Rusty Nail cocktail

Operation Dagger

Subterranean bar Operation Dagger’s industrial interiors, anchored by a bar fronting pharmaceutical bottles and an installation of thousands of bulbs lit up like a glowering storm cloud, are the backdrop for founder Luke Whearty’s ever-changing inventory of smoke-emitting, homemade-tinctured, sometimes downright wacky creations. Try the Egg, with salted egg yolk liqueur; or hot+cold, comprising cold pineapple-accented tequila blanco topped with warm chocolate and coconut foam. Some things shouldn’t work, but they just do.

28 HongKong Street

Fads don’t fly with 28HKS. Hidden behind a nondescript 1960s shophouse facade, it bucks trends by eschewing social media and relies instead on the reputation of its artisanal spirits, a rigorous 25-drink menu, plus off-menu classics and American comfort food like deep-fried mac and cheese balls. The drinks are top shelf while the hip-hop soundtrack is like its service – genuinely forthright and louder as it gets later, making this one of the best places for a nightcap.

Gibson

Gibson mixes up seriously good cocktails with a sense of humour – look behind the bar and you’ll see that the jacket and bowtie-clad bartenders also wear shorts. Cocktails draw on regional ingredients like the homemade Philippine mango fermented in the style of a Pedro Ximénez sherry (Mango PX); Malaysian white guava paired with tequila and ulam raja (a local medicinal plant); and a coconut-infused Botanist gin sorbet with sparkling sake (Always Summer). Be sure to try the Gibson, which features a specially commissioned vermouth from a Kansai sake brewery, and the piquant condiments: a pickled pearl onion, pickled wasabi leaves and smoked quail egg.

Manhattan

Hailed Best Bar in Asia at 2018’s World’s 50 Best Bars, the Manhattan at the Regent Singapore hotel can also boast of having the world’s first in-hotel rickhouse, where more than 100 oak barrels age whiskies and other spirits. The America Whiskey Embassy programme features 200 varieties, including rare collectibles like Pappy van Winkle’s Family Reserve 20 Years. The solera-aged Negroni has traditionally been a top seller, though the bar’s new trolley service (where staff mix a punchbowl tableside) and the adults-only Sunday Cocktail Brunch (featuring Thai sticky rice in liquid form) are also top draws.  

Tippling Club

Tippling Club has forged a path for inventive cocktail pairing since its British chef-owner Ryan Clift’s 2008 arrival and it now ranks seventh among Asia’s 50 Best Bars. Clift works with head bartender Andrew Loudon on entertaining concepts such as a ‘perfume’ menu, which Clift says ‘focuses on igniting one’s senses’. Developed with perfume house International Flavours and Fragrances, the cocktails are a mashup of rose, osmanthus and sandalwood flavours, designed with the top, middle and basenote structure of a classic fragrance. July 2019 will see the duo launch a new madcap menu inspired by the peach melba dessert and other renowned dishes from chef Auguste Escoffier.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book