新加坡

新加坡:全球規劃最佳的城市

經過數十年的周詳規劃,新加坡成為了完美城市的楷模嗎?撰文:伍永仁

1965年9月12日,新加坡被逐出剛成立不久的馬來亞聯合邦。宣佈獨立未幾,總理李光耀站在大會堂,向大群支持者說︰「我們從零開始、從這片泥灘建設起這個國家!十年後,這裡將成為國際大都會,我們沒什麼好怕的!」

這番預言,怎麼說都是大膽之言,甚至是目中無人的妄語。雖說新加坡受英國殖民統治150年,將港口附近打造成繁榮的轉口港,公務員系統運作暢順,島國南端盡是新古典主義和裝飾藝術風格的建築物,景色壯闊迷人,然而中心商業區以外的地區就盡是泥灘、沼澤及窮鄉僻壤。國內人口大多擠在骯髒的廉價套房內,食水供應不穩。事實上,1959年的新加坡百姓,生活水平猶如1860年一般的美國人般貧苦。

在如此嚴峻的形勢下,豪言十年內躍升為國際都會談何容易!不過歷史已告訴我們,李光耀的大膽設想實現了,而且更不止於此。

圖片: Idroneman

今天,新加坡是璀璨的未來之都,亦是全球金融中心。這個廣植樹木的都會內,擠滿了令人目眩的建築大師傑作,貝聿銘、丹下健三、Paul Rudolf、Zaha Hadid、Ole Scheeren、Norman Foster、Richard Meier及Moshe Safdie的作品毗鄰而立,蔚為奇觀。新加坡的公共基建規劃齊備,包括完善的交通網絡、教育制度及寬闊平坦的道路,在僅710平方公里的彈丸之地服務約580萬人口。

新加坡仰賴長遠規劃才能擁有今天的成就。這個國家面積細小,島國四面環海,更顯寸金尺土。規劃的大原則包括多建高樓以善用空間、細心調度各建築物的功能以平衡發展、引入大量綠化帶、有策略地在中心商業區外發展市鎮,以及透過填海擴闊土地面積。當中更重要的,是確保房屋供應充足。

李光耀為人津津樂道的政策成果,是逾九成新加坡人及永久居民擁有自置物業,全因他確信,自置居所是建立國民身份認同及累積財富的不二法門。他深信物業擁有權令星洲人落地生根,留在國內工作,組織家庭,扎根社區之中。

圖片: Idroneman

宜居城市研發中心諮詢委員會主席劉太格表示︰「早於1985年,我們已擁有一切所需基建。」他認為新加坡城市規劃之所以如此成功,應歸功於政府領導有方和政治局勢穩定。他解釋道︰「我們透過可負擔的資助公營房屋,徹底解決住屋供應不足的問題。當時地下鐵路首階段工程業已展開。我們早已快人一步,考慮到全球暖化的影響,引進相應的建築標準,減低大樓吸收的熱力。我們積極綠化公共空間,特別著重於道路沿線廣植樹木。國內大小基建都經過精心規劃,連行人路和公共建築物的有蓋通道也沒有遺漏。」

在2010年威尼斯國際建築雙年展中,名為「1000個新加坡:小巧緊密的城市典範」的新加坡館,展示了一個驚為天人的構想:那就是如果沿用星洲的都市規劃模式,只需1000個新加坡(大小約相等於地球陸地面積的0.5%,或美國德克薩斯州的面積),已能從容地容納全球人口。

圖片: offstone/Getty Images

新加坡交通安排暢順,基建完備,人民一般生活無憂,實在毋庸置疑。但另一方面,儘管周遭不乏大範圍經規劃的叢林綠化空間,但高密度居住模式未必適合所有人的口味。有輿論指,其人工規劃缺乏隨機的發展,過分約束的都市規劃,令城市變得枯燥乏味。李光耀亦於1990年代承認,國家發展初期急於拆卸市內歷史建築,是過於倉促的錯誤決定。

定居新加坡20年的城市設計師Peter Barrett卻反指輿論未有考慮星洲歷史和背景。他強調︰「每個城市都需要演化,尋找自己的發展方向。新加坡脫離馬來亞聯合邦獨立的初期,經過一段動盪時期,因此必須小心調配資源,包括土地發展,畢竟國家土地供應非常有限。故此,商業及社會遵從可持續及均衡的城市發展方向,亦促使政府鉅細靡遺地規劃土地應用。」

Richard Hassell的建築公司WOHA在行內獨占鰲頭,是新加坡多個著名建築項目的幕後旗手。他同樣對新加坡的城市規劃模式引以為傲︰「一個城市怎可能完美無瑕?新加坡以驚人速度晉身國際都會行列,生活水平甚高。政府更不斷改善及優化基建設施,不論交通、各行各業,以至商業區都發展蓬勃,成績有目共睹。加上規劃當局目標清晰明確,旨在把新加坡建設成生活、工作及娛樂皆宜的活力都會,配合綠意盎然的熱帶景致;凡此種種,有關當局皆一一實現。新加坡的整體發展可謂優秀非常:食水供應、廢物處理、排污系統等等,水準皆為全球之冠。」

圖片: Marcus Mok/Getty Images

難怪近日一批接一批城市規劃專家和政府官員,自中國、東南亞、南美洲及非洲遠道而來,負笈南洋理工大學、李光耀公共政策學院及宜居城市研發中心,入讀為官拜至市長級的海外官員而設的城市管理及規劃、由專家教授的領袖及其他實用課程。

對劉太格來說,新加坡城市規劃的成功之道,在於膽色、努力、卓越的政策領導才能,及以社會共同福祉為本的抱負。他說︰「你希望人民安居樂業,但要在新加坡這樣的城市締造傳奇,單憑僥倖豈能成事。」

圖片: Idroneman

國泰航空設有由香港飛往新加坡的航班,每周有63班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Singapore

Singapore: the best-planned city in the world

After decades of meticulously considered development, is Singapore a model for the perfect city? By DAVEN WU

On 12 September 1965, shortly after Singapore had been cast out of the recently formed Malayan federation and had subsequently declared its own independence, Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew stood before a crowd of town hall supporters and said, ‘We made this country from nothing, from mudflats! Ten years from now, this will be a metropolis. Never fear!’

By any yardstick, this was a bold, even hubristic prediction to make. Granted, 150 years of British colonial rule had created a thriving entrepôt based around the port, a well-oiled civil service and a rather picturesque skyline of neoclassical and art deco piles clustered around the southern tip of the island. But outside the central business district were mudflats and swamps, and dirt-poor kampong villages. Most of the population lived in squalid, crowded tenements. There was no reliable water supply. In real terms, the average Singaporean in 1959 was as poor as the average American in 1860.

Against this sobering background – a metropolis in a decade? But as history shows, Lee’s bold prediction came true. And then some.

Credit: Idroneman

Today, Singapore is a gleaming city of the future, a global financial centre. Framed by lush, leafy greenery at every turn, its skyline features a dizzying collection of designs by the likes of IM Pei, Kenzo Tange, Paul Rudolf, Zaha Hadid, Ole Scheeren, Norman Foster, Richard Meier and Moshe Safdie. Its public infrastructure – comprising a comprehensive transportation network, education system and superb roads – serves a population of about 5.8 million in a landmass that clocks in at barely 710 square kilometres.

Singapore got here via long-term planning. Its small size and confinement as an island mean every square metre matters. The broad planning principles include building mostly high-rises to save space, carefully considering the balance of buildings’ functions, incorporating plenty of greenery, strategically developing towns outside the CBD, creating more land through reclamation and, critically, ensuring enough housing.

Over 90 percent of Singaporeans and permanent residents own their homes – a remarkable accomplishment that owes much to Lee’s conviction that the surest way to create a sense of identity and to accumulate wealth was to give Singaporeans homes of their own. Home ownership, he believed, grounded people, and made them stay and work and build families and links to the community.

Credit: Idroneman

‘By 1985, we had all the necessary infrastructure in place,’ says Liu Thai Ker, chairman of the Centre for Liveable Cities’ advisory board, who credits Singapore’s successful urban planning to political leadership and stability.

‘We had broken the backbone of the housing shortage with affordable, subsidised public housing. The first phase of the underground trains was underway. We were ahead of the times in worrying about global warming when we introduced building standards that minimised the amount of heat absorbed. We emphasised greenery in public spaces, especially along our roads. It was all planned, even our pavements and the covered walkways around public buildings.’

At the 2010 Venice Architecture Biennale, the Singapore Pavilion, 1000 Singapores: A Model of a Compact City, made waves for its astonishing conclusion that by using its urban planning model, a thousand Singapores – roughly 0.5 percent of the Earth’s landmass, or an area the size of Texas – could comfortably hold the world’s population.

Credit: offstone/Getty Images

Singapore’s smooth traffic, comprehensive infrastructure and general ease of living are hard to argue against. But at the same time, its model of high-density living, albeit one punctured by vast interior swathes of secondary-growth jungle, is not to everyone’s tastes. Critics say it’s an artificial construct devoid of spontaneous, organic growth; that the emphasis on a controlled urban plan has resulted in a sterile city. In the 1990s Lee also acknowledged the mistakes of demolishing heritage buildings in the city’s early rush to rebuild.

But Peter Barrett, an urban designer who has lived in Singapore for 20 years, says the criticisms ignore both history and context. ‘Every city needs to evolve and find its own way,’ he insists. ‘In the beginning, Singapore was coming out of a turbulent independence period from Malaya. It needed to carefully control its resources, including land development. It had limited land. This is why sustainable and balanced development from a commercial and community point of view drove the government’s controlled land development.’

Richard Hassell, whose firm WOHA has worked on some of Singapore’s most striking projects, is equally bullish about its urban planning model. ‘How can a city be perfect?’ he says. ‘Singapore has transformed at an unbelievable speed into a world city with an amazing quality of life. And it works superbly with continuous improvements and unceasing upgrades of infrastructure. Transport works, industry works, commercial areas work, and the planning authorities have a clear vision of a live-work-play vibrant city in a tropical garden, which is exactly what is being delivered. Singapore is really good at the big picture. Water, waste, sewerage – all these things are the best in the world.’

Credit: Marcus Mok / Getty Images

So much so that, these days, a steady stream of city planners and government officials from China, Southeast Asia, South America and Africa come calling on Singapore, where the Nanyang Technological University, the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy and the Centre for Liveable Cities offer practical courses taught by practitioners for overseas officials up to the mayoral level, including leadership courses in urban governance and planning.

To Liu, Singapore’s successful urban planning story is about grit, hard work, inspired political leadership and an uncommon regard for the good of the greater community. ‘You want people to live in a good environment,’ he says. ‘But nothing you want to achieve in a city like Singapore happens by accident.’

Credit: Idroneman

Cathay Pacific flies to Singapore from Hong Kong 63 times a week