都市生活

新加坡擺脫沉穩形象

蟄伏多年,獅城變得多姿多采,不再被定型為正經八百的「Singa-bore」

安全、乾淨、沉悶,只有氣候是火辣的;這就是新加坡長久以來的形象,而新加坡的英文名字「Singapore」亦因此被喚作「Singa-bore」,意即沉悶的新加坡。

1993年,科幻作家William Gibson在《Wired》雜誌如此形容這個熱帶城邦:「這個地方沉悶至極,氣氛刻板又壓抑,就像一間公司,容不下半絲幽默感。」

時至今日,新加坡依然是個對罪犯毫不手軟,而且極度整潔的國家,但早已跟Gibson於90年代初到訪時截然不同,尤其是經歷過去十年的轉變,獅城現已成為亞洲最有活力的地方之一。

Kapi Ng / Shutterstock

其實真正成功讓獅城開始轉型,可算是2008年首次舉辦的新加坡一級方程式大賽,至今它依然是當地最刺激的年度盛事。這個夜間賽事將中央商業區改造為賽道,沿途經過新加坡一眾最著名的景點,並成功將全球目光聚焦獅城,名副其實是舉世矚目。

雖然未必每個人都愛看刺激澎湃的一級方程式賽事,但同場加演的音樂會定能令場地人氣更加鼎盛。多年來,搖滾勁旅Queen、小天后Ariana Grande及天后Rihanna等巨星均曾擔任音樂會的表演嘉賓。當格子旗落下之後,不少名人及頂級車手均會到Podium Lounge等夜店出席餘興派對,與一眾型男美女盡情狂歡,通宵達旦。

Steven Tee / LAT Images

Robbie Hoyes-Cock是新加坡土生土長的夜店業巨子,亦是Podium Lounge的創辦人。他表示:「一級方程式賽事被直播至世界各地,同時向全球展示新加坡瞬息萬變的城市面貌。摩納哥與阿布扎比的大獎賽成功吸引歐洲及中東富豪名人的注視,同樣地,新加坡方程式大賽也演變成亞洲社交名人必到的活動。」

他另一家高級夜店The Monarchy最近才開幕,與去年9月慶祝開業十周年的Podium Lounge一樣,以高消費的名人客戶為對象。儘管有人抱怨今日的新加坡沉悶非常,他並不認同,更斥之為「一派胡言」。他認為自從十年前首次舉辦一級方程式大賽開始,新加坡已變得無比精采:「新加坡的蛻變是明顯的,而遊客數目的增長也是有目共睹。」

Lauryn Ishak

瑞士酒店旗下的The Stamford酒店(設有不能缺少的空調)可謂觀賽的理想地點。它樓高73層,是新加坡最高的酒店,即使沒有賽事,住客也可在此俯瞰市內的地標建築,例如唐人街的傳統店屋、充滿殖民色彩的萊佛士酒店舊議會大樓、外型像榴槤的濱海藝術中心、福斯特建築事務所旗下呈流線型的Southbeach發展項目、貝聿銘的OCBC銀行大廈、金融區的摩天大樓,以及大型溫室濱海灣花園。我敢說:新加坡的城市風景絕不沉悶。

至於新加坡的美食同樣精采絕倫。已故名廚及電視節目主持Anthony Bourdain曾讚譽新加坡為「美食天堂」,連在前文嫌棄新加坡的作家Gibson也不得不在文中表示:「新加坡的美食選擇繁多,尤其是小販熟食中心,值得向大眾推介。」

The Monarchy

遠離街頭,Stamford酒店位於70樓的米芝蓮星級餐廳Jaan,由各地名廚輪流坐鎮,當中包括鼎鼎大名的江振誠及Julien Royer,以及現時掌廚的Kirk Westaway,為城中的高級餐飲訂定新標準。在這裡品嚐創意媲美城中新建築的佳餚,你的目光定會被窗外代表「嶄新新加坡」的地標濱海灣金沙娛樂城所吸引。

濱海灣金沙娛樂城建於填海用地上,不但改變了新加坡的天際線及地貌,更為該國的發展掀開新一章。新加坡曾禁賭近半個世紀,濱海灣金沙及聖淘沙名勝世界兩大娛樂城接連開幕,證明當地政府及人民的心態逐漸轉變。

Courtesy of Singapore Art Museum

盧立平是當地的餐飲業大亨,經營城中多間一流餐廳,更於倫敦及悉尼開設酒店。他表示:「我認為新加坡社會在近年愈趨開放和國際化。我們適應力強,能將很多全球各地的文化共冶一爐。娛樂場所的開幕與此有莫大關係,就像提醒人們在新加坡也能夜夜笙歌;李光耀時期的嚴肅風氣已逐漸消散。」

他提及的已故新加坡首任總理李光耀,領導新加坡於1965年建國,並成功將當地從第三世界國家迅速發展成世界樞紐。李光耀總理早年在大學演講時曾言道:「詩詞是我們無法承擔的奢侈。」這種務實的哲學意味著國家以商業發展為先,文化為次,切合當時正積極轉型的新加坡。但今天的新加坡已成為亞洲經濟強國之一,而藝術的社會地位終於獲得平反,更被視為值得投資的產業。

Lauryn Ishak

新加坡著名男裝設計師及訂製裁縫Kevin Seah表示:「新加坡政府終於發現,發展均衡而熱鬧的藝術產業是新加坡躋身一線國家的關鍵之一。為培育創意思維,我們的領袖將更多資金投進大型文化、藝術及基建項目中。」他以新加坡國家美術館為例,美術館斥資達5億新加坡元(約29億港元)建造,擁有全球頂級亞洲藝術館藏,他續說:「我經常到訪藝術館,以尋求創作靈感。」

陳金良是新加坡國家藝術理事會的副理事長,他認為新加坡的藝術風氣在過去十年日漸盛行,成功吸引更多受眾,並道:「藝術發展有賴政府對藝術及主要藝術機構的投資,以及是否懷有以藝術造福大眾的雄心。」

Lauryn Ishak

為照顧新加坡的多元社區以及世界各地遊客,他如數家珍:「我們籌辦多個大型節慶活動,如新加坡國際藝術節新加坡雙年展Writers Festival文學節、光影璀璨的仲夏夜空藝術節,以及展示新加坡多元種族傳統的Heritage Festival文化節。」

若這些色彩繽紛的文化、建築、美食及娛樂節目也不能消除遊客對新加坡的嚴肅印象,陳金良還有一個建議:「我會直接帶他們到芽籠(新加坡紅燈區,同時不乏草根美食),我肯定他們再不會喊悶。」

國泰航空設有由香港飛往新加坡的航班,每周有56班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Singapore Shakes Off Its Staid Reputation

Awakening from a long slumber, this city-state has transformed from buttoned-down 'Singa-bore' to a multifaceted gem

Safe, sanitary, snoozy. Sultry in climate alone. For the longest time, this has been Singapore’s reputation – and the root of one of its less flattering nicknames, Singa-bore.

In 1993, sci-fi author William Gibson described in Wired magazine life in the equatorial city-state as ‘a relentlessly G-rated experience… There’s a certain white-shirted constraint, an absolute humourlessness in the way Singapore Ltd operates’.

Singapore remains notoriously tough on crime and is still one of the tidiest countries you’ll ever visit, but much has changed since Gibson’s early-’90s stay. Over the past decade in particular, the city has evolved into one of Asia’s most vibrant places.

Singapore
Kapi Ng / Shutterstock

The change of pace really began with the 2008 debut of the Singapore Formula 1 Grand Prix, which is still without question the most exciting event on the Singaporean calendar. Transforming the central business district into a track that wends its way past a checklist of Singapore’s most iconic sights, the night-time race does a fantastic job of focusing the world’s attention on the city by literally putting it in the spotlight.

The high-octane racing of Formula 1 isn’t for everyone, of course. But even those with zero interest in motorsport might be drawn trackside by the musical entertainment offered in tandem with the race. Over the years, acts including Queen, Ariana Grande and Rihanna have performed during the F1 festivities. After the chequered flag falls, many of the star acts and top drivers turn up at glamorous after-parties hosted by venues such as Podium Lounge, where the beautiful people get down until the sun comes up.

Singapore
Steven Tee / LAT Images

‘The live telecast of the Grand Prix is watched all over the globe and offers a magnificent overview of Singapore’s ever-changing cityscape,’ says Robbie Hoyes-Cock, the Singapore born-and-bred nightlife entrepreneur behind Podium Lounge. ‘Just as the Monaco and Abu Dhabi Grand Prix have become beacons for the rich and famous in Europe and the Middle East respectively, the Singapore Grand Prix has become a bucket-list destination for the who’s who of Asia’s jet-setting party elite.’

Hoyes-Cock has just opened a luxe new nightclub, The Monarchy, catering to this same glamorous clientele as Podium Lounge, which celebrated its 10th anniversary in September. To suggest contemporary Singapore is boring, Hoyes-Cock scoffs, would be ‘wildly untrue’, considering all that’s happened since the arrival of the Grand Prix a decade ago: ‘The metamorphosis of Singapore that has taken place is very obvious, and the increase in tourism during this time has been well-documented.’

Lauryn Ishak

An outstanding (and blessedly air-conditioned) vantage point for viewing the race is Swissôtel The Stamford. Rising 73 storeys, the tallest hotel in Singapore is also a perfect perch year-round to admire the rest of Singapore’s array of architectural landmarks. Just to name a few: the heritage shophouses of Chinatown, the colonial classics such as Raffles Hotel and Old Parliament House, the durian-shaped Esplanade theatres, Foster + Partners’ undulating Southbeach development, IM Pei’s OCBC bank building, the equally imposing skyscrapers of the financial district that surround it and the gargantuan greenhouse that is Gardens by the Bay. One thing’s for certain: Singapore’s built environment is anything but tedious.

Nor could the culinary scene be described as dozy. The late chef and TV personality Anthony Bourdain called this country ‘a wonderland of food’, and even the naysaying Gibson begrudgingly remarked in his article, ‘The food in Singapore, particularly the endless variety of street snacks in the hawker centres, is something to write home about.’

Singapore
The Monarchy

Far above the streets, meanwhile, at the Michelin-starred Jaan restaurant on the Stamford’s 70th floor, a succession of incredible chefs – including illustrious alumni Andre Chiang and Julien Royer, and talented incumbent Kirk Westaway – have set the standard for haute cuisine in this food-obsessed city. Here, while sampling dishes just as surprising and inventive as any of the architecture in your frame of view, your focus will doubtless fall on a building that’s come to be emblematic of the new Singapore: Marina Bay Sands.

Built on reclaimed land, this distinctive development didn’t just reshape Singapore’s skyline and landmass; it changed the national outlook. After nearly half a century when most gambling was strictly prohibited, the opening of Marina Bay Sands and a second casino complex, Resorts World Sentosa, suggested a shift in the mindset of the country’s people and leadership.

Courtesy of Singapore Art Museum

‘I think Singapore has grown more international and more open as a society,’ says leading local hospitality player Loh Lik Peng, who owns several of the city’s premier restaurants (as well as hotels in London and Sydney). ‘There are so many outside influences from all over the world, and in Singapore we are fast adapters. I think the casinos opening also had quite a lot to do with this, because it seemed to signal to people that Singapore was prepared for some naughty activities to take place here. Some of the strictures of the Lee Kuan Yew era had been shaken off.’

Loh is referring to Singapore’s late founding father, who presided over Singapore’s birth as a republic in 1965 and steered the nation’s remarkably rapid rise from third world to first. Speaking to university students during his early years as prime minister, Lee famously remarked, ‘Poetry is a luxury we cannot afford.’ This pragmatic philosophy – of culture taking a back seat to commerce – made perfect sense during Singapore’s scrappy transitional period. But now that the country is comfortably positioned among Asia’s wealthiest, the role of the arts in society has been reappraised and deemed worthy of investment.

Lauryn Ishak

‘The government has realised that for our country to be truly first world, it needs a balanced, vibrant arts scene,’ says prominent Singaporean menswear designer and bespoke tailor Kevin Seah. ‘To help nurture more creative thinking, Singapore’s leaders are now allocating funds to major cultural and arts projects and infrastructure.’ He cites the new National Gallery, developed at a cost of over S$500 million (HK$2.9 billion) and home to one of the world’s top collections of Asian art. ‘I often visit the gallery in search of inspiration.’

Paul Tan, the deputy CEO of Singapore’s National Arts Council, says the cultural scene has begun to flourish over the past decade, with audience sizes swelling. ‘This growth has come from the government’s investment in the arts, including its iconic cultural institutions, and the desire to see the arts benefitting everyone,’ says Tan.

Singapore Formula 1 Grand Prix
Lauryn Ishak

Today, catering to Singapore’s diverse communities and cosmopolitan mix of international visitors, Tan says, ‘there are significant festivals in our bustling calendar such as the Singapore International Festival of the Arts, the Singapore Biennale, the Writers Festival, the Night Festival, where illumination takes centre stage, and the Heritage Festival, which spotlights Singapore’s rich ethnic heritage.’

But if all these rich cultural, architectural, culinary and entertainment attractions weren’t enough to convince a visitor that the ‘Singa-bore’ appellation has had its day, Seah has a solution. ‘I’d just take them to Geylang,’ he says, referring to the city’s gritty red-light district – also home to some of the best down-and-dirty dining in town. ‘I assure you, they will not be bored.’ 

Cathay Pacific flies to Singapore from Hong Kong 56 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book