購物

上海型格手工藝市集

金融中心的購物體驗一向與奢華掛勾,但現在隨著限定市場興起,手工藝變得大行其道。撰文 葉玲

在十月最後一個周末,位於上海市中心外圍的宏慧視界BOX卸下平日的商業氛圍,搖身一變成為凡幾創意市集的根據地。這個戶外市集坐擁不下80個售賣藝術及特色產品的攤位,為該處帶來一班潮流稀客穿梭其中。

現代嬉皮士在墨西哥風味餐廳大快朵頤,而白領人士則於雞尾酒吧呷著富創意的雞尾酒歡聚一堂。此外,琳瑯滿目的珠寶首飾設計、風格獨特的手繪工作坊和時尚設計品牌,更備受把頭髮染成不同顏色的藝術設計學生歡迎。潮流達人在播放著現場音樂的市集內漫步,這道風景令人聯想到倫敦的舊斯皮塔佛德市場,或紐約布魯克林的跳蚤市場,而事實上,創意市集的潮流亦漸漸成為上海周末的常態。

Common Rare - Sweet & Salty Dessert Fest, Shanghai market

其實市集文化在上海並不是新鮮概念,多年來,東台路古玩市場和安西路古著市場都曾是受歡迎的購物天堂,只是它們在去年已被拆除。銷售眾多模仿高級品牌產品的贗品市場雖然已經成為這城市的特色之一,可幸一班年輕海歸利用他們對專注原創的手工藝品市場和博覽會的認識,帶頭凝聚創意市集潮流新勢力。

其中一位是凡幾市集創始人之一的設計師汪軒宏。她以從前居於洛杉磯時經常參與的市集Unique USARenegade Craft Fair為藍本,建立一個屬於上海的文青新據地。

當她剛回上海時,對露天市場的產品質素深感驚訝,她說:「市集大多充斥仿冒和從淘寶購入的產品,完全沒有創意的感覺,令我生出創辦市集的念頭。我希望能透過市集,讓大家能放慢生活步伐,感受平凡而珍貴的小確幸,因此凡幾市集致力整合跨領域的活動,讓訪客能從中探索屬於自己的生活方式。」

凡幾市集每次舉行都會有不同主題及活動,無論是環境、入場票及小冊子都是由零開始重新設計。

而正是這些獨特元素,吸引了於2015年創立自家首飾品牌AWÜ的吳珮青參與其中。她道:「這兩年來我已參加過不下100多場的市集,不過它們愈來愈變得一式一樣,所以我現在會懂得挑選市集。我十分欣賞凡幾市集著重品牌的原創性,以及當中的氛圍佈置和設計。」

另一帶動創意市集潮流的鸚鵡螺市集,則致力扶助初創設計師品牌成長,不但幫助搭建市集,更提供渠道做市場推廣、寄售和付款等多種服務,是中國的商品展售與初創孵化平台。它們的服務現已遍佈中國,為創意市集潮流出力。

Jonathan Browning

市集負責人張珺宇道:「近年大家愈來愈接受原創品牌,人們樂意掏腰包之餘,對手工和原創品牌的審美要求也愈來愈高,這正好讓我們反思及成長;我們希望能不斷提供新點子,吸引攤主和訪客加入我們的大家庭。」

主辦單位對吸引消費者到訪無疑感到壓力,亦意味著他們必須發揮創意和創業技能,打造多元化和具競爭力的市集。汪軒宏表示:「我每次舉辦市集,都能在挑戰中找到樂趣,更可趁機跟攤主們成為好朋友,我每次因應主題跟不同創意單位合作時,更常啟發出一些新靈感呢!」

Jonathan Browning

美食也是市集的吸引之處。2012年成立的嘉善集市以農夫市場的形式落戶上海。市集組織人及攤主之一的David Henry說:「我們支持銷售富特色和罕見的食品、飲料和農產品的本地商戶。」他認為,社區市集面臨的其中一個難題是形似神不似的仿製市集,現在不少商場都設有期間限定市集,雖然有大量的人流,但攤位租金昂貴,獨立品牌根本無法負擔。

不過對Henry來說,辦市集的回報並不只為賺錢。Henry說:「我覺得市集日當天才是最大的樂趣所在。當我看到訪客們因為商戶提供的產品及服務而玩得不亦樂乎,我就會十分感動,畢竟大家都是為了同一個目標而同心協力,我們都想讓創意市集發揚光大。」

上海最佳社區市集

出色的市集如雨後春筍,但舉辦日期並非固定;請查看其網站和社交媒體專頁了解最新情況

嘉善集市

這裡是城中少數由商戶自發組織的社區活動,於每月第一和第三個星期六舉辦,除了售賣精緻的手工製品與美酒佳餚,還有現場音樂供訪客欣賞。

常駐地址: 徐匯區陝西南路550弄37號

康民市集

Jonathan Browning

這個不定期舉行的市集,匯聚本地設計師作品,並提供音樂、雞尾酒、美食、兒童專區。

設計師集市

這個限定市集位於上海商業中心,為獨立設計師提供售賣家品和首飾等平台。

常駐地址: 靜安區南京西路1376號上海商城

凡幾市集

Jonathan Browning

儘管沒有固定場地或時間表,但憑藉別出心裁的主題和時尚設置,凡幾市集擁有一流的聲譽。市集的攤主精挑細選不同的原創品牌,貨品範疇涵蓋美酒佳餚、旅遊、健身、音樂及服裝。

鸚鵡螺市集

這個流動市集專門售賣獨立設計師和工匠的文化和創意產品、古著、古董和工藝品。這個市集組織在中國多個城市均有舉辦活動,範圍廣泛。

紅因果市集

Wechat: 15900585559

這個市集在喜馬拉雅中心不定期舉行,出售手工藝品和紀念品等不同精品,種類包羅萬有。

常駐地址: 浦東新區方甸路1188號喜馬拉雅中心

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Shopping

Shanghai’s Coolest Craft Markets

Shopping in the financial centre has long been about glitz and glam. But now, things are getting craftier with the rise of pop-up community markets. By YE LING

During the last weekend of October, Rising Stars Box, a sprawling office complex at the edge of Shanghai’s downtown, shook off its business air to take on a different form. It became The Uncommon Market, an outdoor fair hosting some 80 stalls of arty, indie wares and drawing a whole new set of visitors.

There were the modern-day hippies sampling Mexican fare and the sophisticates socialising over inventive cocktails. Art and design students – recognisable by their artificial hair colours – checked out the market’s quirky jewellery, independent-label clothing and crafty workshops. The scene of fashionable people in an open space filled with live music recalled Old Spitalfields Market in London, or flea markets in New York’s Brooklyn. In fact, community markets such as this one are becoming a fixture in Shanghai.

Common Rare - Sweet & Salty Dessert Fest, shanghai market

Market culture itself is nothing new in Shanghai. The antiques market on Dongtai Lu and the vintage clothing market on Anxi Lu were popular before being demolished last year. ‘Fake’ markets selling endless rows of fashion that imitate high-end brands have become a distinctive phenomenon of the city. But a new market scene has emerged in the past few years, spearheaded by young overseas-educated entrepreneurs who have experienced craft markets and fairs focused on independent makers.

One of them is Tiffany Wong, a designer and co-founder of Common Rare, an events organiser that created The Uncommon Market. She took her cues from Unique USA and Renegade Craft Fair, which she frequented while living in Los Angeles, to establish a new kind of creative hub in Shanghai.

When Wong first returned to Shanghai, she was disappointed by the quality of products found in outdoor markets. ‘They were predominantly counterfeits and items bought from Taobao, and the settings had no creative vibe whatsoever,’ she says. ‘That spurred me on to bring an authentic market experience, offering a space where people can unwind and savour the small pleasures in life. The Uncommon Market strives to organise multifaceted events for visitors to explore and create their own lifestyle.’

Each edition of The Uncommon Market has a different theme and different activities. The setting, its entrance tickets and its pamphlets are all designed from scratch each time.

Commune Market, shanghai market

These details appeal to Angie Wu, who founded her own jewellery label AWÜ in 2015. ‘I’ve sold my brand’s products at more than 100 market events over two years, but they all began to look alike after a while – so I started to be more selective,’ she says. ‘I like the way The Uncommon Market emphasises original design, as well as the overall atmosphere.’

The Nautilus Fair has been another driving force behind the community market trend. Dedicated to start-up designer brands, it sets up markets while handling promotion, consignment and payment services. It’s an incubator of sorts for designers, with a network that spans across China.

Commune Market, Yongjia Road, Shanghai, China, Shanghai market
Jonathan Browning

‘In the past few years there’s been growing interest in original designs,’ says Zhang Junyu, an organiser for Nautilus Fair. ‘While shoppers are willing to spend more, they have also become more discerning when it comes to craft items and indie brands. This has given us the challenge of rethinking our concept and growing. We want to constantly give new reasons for vendors and visitors to join us.’

Organisers are under pressure to attract shoppers, but this means flexing their creativity and entrepreneurial skills to offer diverse and competitive markets. ‘Setting up each market is challenging but fun, and I get to make friends with vendors,’ says Wong. ‘And it is always inspiring to work with different creative individuals on new campaigns.’

Jiashan Market. Near Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China.,shanghai market
Jonathan Browning

Food is also an attraction. Jiashan Market is a farmers’ market that’s been around since 2012. ‘We support local enterprises who provide enticing and rare food, beverages and produce,’ says organiser and vendor David Henry. He says one danger that community markets face is, ironically, poor imitations of the concept: pop-up markets are appearing in shopping malls, where there’s plenty of foot traffic but the stalls are too expensive for indie brands to rent.

But for Henry, the rewards are more than monetary. ‘The most delightful and touching moments on a market day are when visitors delight in the products and services offered by our vendors,’ says Henry. ‘After all, everyone is working towards one goal: to make the market great.’ 

Shanghai’s top community markets

Cool markets are booming, but they’re not permanent events. Dates can be irregular, so check their websites and social media pages for the latest

Jiashan Market

A rare example of a community market organised by vendors, Jiashan Market is held on the first and the third Saturday of every month. It offers handicrafts and fresh produce, with live music performances.

Usual venue: No. 37, Lane 550, Shaanxi Road South, Xuhui district

Commune Market

Commune Market, Yongjia Road, Shanghai, China, shanghai market
Jonathan Browning

With no fixed venue, this market dedicated to promoting local designers always offers a lively atmosphere with music, cocktails, good eats and a children’s area.

The Designer Market

SH Creative, Shanghai market

With a prime location in Shanghai’s business district, this pop-up market is a platform for independent designers to sell their homewares, jewellery and more.

Usual venue: The Shanghai Centre, 1376 Nanjing Road West, Jing’an district

The Uncommon Market

Commune Market, Yongjia Road, Shanghai, China, Shanghai market
Jonathan Browning

Despite having no fixed venue or schedule, The Uncommon Market has a stellar reputation thanks to its thoughtful themes and stylish setups. It hand-picks original brands spanning gourmet food, fine wines, travel, fitness, music and fashion.

Nautilus Fair

Nautilus Fair, Shanghai market

This roving market features cultural and creative products, vintage clothing, antiques and crafts by independent designers and artisans. It’s a wide-reaching operation, with events held in cities across China. 

Hongyinguo Market

Wechat: 15900585559

This market pops up at Himalayas Art Center to showcase a comprehensive array of goodies ranging from handicrafts to souvenirs.

Usual venue: Himalayas Art Center, 1188 Fangdian Road, Pudong New Area

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific fly to Shanghai from Hong Kong 114 times a week