首爾

首爾建築

在首爾市內,新建築相繼湧現,MARK JONES從五種不同的建築中探索首爾不斷變遷的身份

黃昏時分,我乘坐機場巴士返回仁川國際機場,嘗試整理一下自己對首爾的印象。巴士車窗有如影院的大銀幕,正在放映夕陽西下的漢江景致。大自然有如隱形攝影師,忙著營造一幕幕壯麗的畫面,在灰紅色的晚霞映照下,青草地綠得發亮,最後一絲餘暉,正悄然輕撫一座座山嶺和高樓。

我驟然發現,首爾其實是個美不勝收的城市,但其他遊客似乎未有察覺。

Left: Kim Yong Kwan; Right: Sim Youn Suk

同時,這個城市也難以解讀。香港以「亞洲國際都會」自居,而首爾卻似乎把全球多個國際城市共冶一爐。在過去幾天的旅程,我在這個人口近千萬的都會圈內看到不同地方的面貌:紐約的第五大道和布魯克林區、倫敦某個村莊及德國的近郊風景。此外,還理所當然地有其他亞洲芳鄰的剪影,包括東京的小街、台北的型格建築,以及新加坡的公園等。

這個城市創意無限,加上社會各階層的互動,首爾正不斷出現變化。也許要深入細看,才能得悉全局。來自首爾、現居本港的傳訊專家Fiona Bae帶領我由北至南走訪五地,讓我在緊湊的行程中了解市內的新舊變遷。

北村傳統韓屋

讓我們由淺入深認識韓式美學吧。室內設計師Teo Yang住在山巒起伏的北村,這條充滿藝術氣息的村莊是我最喜愛的首爾景點。探訪當天,他開放自己建於1920年代的居所,讓室內設計雜誌的讀者(其實可說 是朝聖者)登堂入室參觀。Teo的房子就如他本人一樣深受傳統韓屋文化影響,但由於他愛四處遊歷,也曾赴芝加哥及加州的帕薩迪納修讀設計,所以家中藏有不少珍品。最貴重的,要數他放在玻璃罩內的首對名牌球鞋、一系列畫稿,以及開放式廚房,今天有一家高級燈具公司正在裡面展出其產品。

Teo有靈活的生意頭腦,熱心保留古蹟,敢以韓學為體、西學為用,是當代首爾設計師的代表。

Left and right: Sim Youn Suk

Ryse酒店的酒廊

Isaac Maiselman

Ryse是弘大區最時髦的酒店。品嚐過口味清新,由番薯烈酒配意式白蘭地、柚子、少許海鹽及橙花水調配的雞尾酒SwindlerSour之後,我們到一個有如夜店般迷幻的地方閒逛,然後來到裡面擺滿小眾雜誌和藝術品、位於角落的酒廊Print Culture Lounge。

在亞洲,似乎愈往東走,當地居民便有愈濃厚的書卷氣息,無論台北、東京和首爾亦如是,人們到人氣書店並非只為拍照在社交媒體上分享,而是真的會在書架尋找心愛的書本。

Kim Yong Kwan

Ryse的後勤辦公室並非真的隱身人前,而是位於公共空間的當眼處。它採用了四面玻璃幕牆設計,擺放大量情緒板和可任意調校角度的機械臂燈。幾年前,餐廳設置開放式廚房成為一股新潮流。而在首爾,酒店設計師和市場部人員在開放式辦公室內工作,亦為大眾完全接受。

外型酷似八爪魚的銀行總部

Kim Chan-joong是畢業於哈佛大學的學者,也是首爾一間大學的訪問教授。他的建築傑作The Systems Lab,堪稱南韓最富玩味的設計。他利用薄如威化紙的水泥膜創出新意,實驗作品包括建於鬱陵島這個火山島上、外形優雅脫俗的Kosmos酒店,以及可能是世界上外貌最奇形怪狀的銀行大樓KEB Hana Bank Place 1

大樓外牆鑲滿一個個向外凸出的變色舷窗,酷似八爪魚觸鬚上的吸盤,難怪被人暱稱為八爪魚。如果你有密集恐懼症(害怕看到大量密密麻麻的細孔)的話,可能需要迴避。

大樓的室內裝潢同樣與一般金融機構截然不同。地下停車場滿佈藝術家的塗鴉傑作,可充當會所和活動場地。這裡有多間專為此地而設的商舖,還有環境舒適的圖書館及咖啡館,供人休憩和閱讀。

這幢大廈掀起了一股新潮流。據說現時連南韓作風最保守的企業,都希望擁有一座「八爪魚」大樓。

聖水洞S Factory

Zinoo剛參加過女兒的洗禮儀式回來。他身穿白色恤衫和靛藍色雨衣,打黑色領帶,配搭黑色短褲和白色運動鞋,頭戴紅色棒球帽;對這位普普藝術家來說,這就是隆重的打扮。

我們在漢江以北、市中心以東的聖水洞區。過去七年,這一區經歷翻天覆地的變化,過去倉庫和車廠林立,現已化作城中的潮人勝地

Zinoo因為其普普藝術風格和高調的社交生活,贏得「首爾安迪.華荷」的稱號,發展商以低廉的租金出租地方供他使用,讓他舉辦大型派對,邀請富巧思的創作人和企業家共用他旗下的工作室,類似的交換和合作在今天首爾屢見不鮮。

Zinoo帶我們欣賞過各個展覽和工作坊後,我們在聖水洞區四處閒逛,不久便發現,壁畫和舊建築的外露磚牆幾乎到處可見。在Café Onion咖啡店或類似的地方,你可於戶外坐在從廢物堆內找來的舊辦公椅上,細呷一口香濃咖啡;愛喝手工啤酒的話,可像我們一樣光顧Co:lumn,這裡由倉庫改建,餐桌上高掛用椰子纖維織成的傘型裝飾。

這裡是布魯克林區嗎?非也,是帶有地道南韓特色的布魯克林風格。

超巨型書架

Jihun Sim / Shutterstock

若各位像我一樣,因逛街過度、光顧太多名店而雙腿痠痛,舉步維艱的話,就切勿踏足COEX。這個地下商場面積達1,776,000平方呎,店舖之多足以奪去你下肢的活動能力,令你無法離開這個招牌燈飾奪目耀眼,櫥窗商品琳瑯滿目,品牌推廣活動層出不窮的浮華世界。

我開始感到下肢乏力,甚至懷疑自己能否重見天日的時候,一座圖書館突然出現在我的眼前。這是非比尋常的Starfield Library圖書館,屹立於以消費掛帥的商場內,有如一座專為書本而設的宏偉廟宇。

眼前所見,有如在一個龐大的鐵路車站內,擺滿大小和形狀可媲美小型遠洋客輪的書架。這裡有50,000本藏書,只要你伸手拿到,即可隨意借閱。而的確亦有不少人這樣做,因瘋狂購物而暈頭轉向的顧客和用功的學生在此共享開卷之樂,沒有人來這裡只是為了自拍分享。

我離開商場,走上陽光充沛的街道,然後再鑽入地下,乘搭我最喜愛的都市地下鐵路。不到一小時,我登上了那輛可飽覽醉人日落風光的巴士。

整趟旅程中,我由位於山間的摩登村落,走進全球最大的地下購物商場。雖然首爾讓我們見識豪氣的「江南style」和韓流巨星的標緻臉孔,不過若你以為這地方徒具光鮮外表的話,請找個安靜的地方閱讀再說吧!在首爾市內,這樣的好去處多的是。

作者下榻於Ryse酒店。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往首爾的航班, 每周有42班

Architecture

Seoul’s Evolving Cityscape

Seoul's new breed of architects and designers point us to five places that reveal the capital’s changing identity

sat on the airport bus heading back to Incheon International Airport, trying to make sense of Seoul. It was sunset. The Han riverside was framed in the windows of the coach like a widescreen movie. An invisible cinematographer was busy creating an epic vision of rose-grey skies and fluorescent green meadows while the last of the sunlight caressed the mountain peaks and tower blocks.

Something struck me that doesn’t seem to strike visitors to Seoul very often: it really is a beautiful city.

Left: Kim Yong Kwan; Right: Sim Youn Suk

It’s also a hard one to work out. I know Hong Kong calls itself Asia’s World City; but Seoul is like several dozen world cities in one. In the past few days, this single conurbation of nearly 10 million people has felt like New York’s Fifth Avenue and Brooklyn, a London village and a German suburb in addition to the more expected geographic allusions: a Tokyo sidestreet, a hip Taipei block, a Singaporean park.

This evolving cityscape can be seen as the result of creative energy mixed with changing social dynamics. Maybe close-up is the best view. With the help of Seoul and Hong Kong-based communications expert Fiona Bae, we went to five places in one slightly mad north-to-south trip which tell us something about Seoul old, new and shifting.

A traditional house in Bukchon

Seoul architecture

Let’s start with a gentler side to Seoul’s aesthetic. Interior designer Teo Yang lives in my favourite part of Seoul, the hilly, arty village of Bukchon. Today he’s opening his 1920s house to readers – pilgrims, really – of an interiors magazine. Teo’s house, like Teo, is rooted in the traditions of the hanok (traditional Korean house). But as a traveller who studied design in Chicago and Pasadena, he also has a den of treasures. Pride of place: his first pair of designer trainers in a glass bell jar, a collection of art manuscripts and a showhome kitchen where, today, an upmarket lighting company is showing off its wares.

Entrepreneurialism, heritage and the confidence to take what you want from the West and leave the rest: Teo’s is a very contemporary Seoul mindset.

Left and right: Sim Youn Suk

A lounge at Ryse hotel

Seoul architecture
Isaac Maiselman

Ryse is the hippest hotel in hip Hongdae. After a bracing Swindler Sour (sweet potato spirit, grappa, yuzu, sea salt tincture, orange flower water) we tour a place that seems ephemeral and clubby until we happen across the Print Culture Lounge, a corner full of niche magazines and art.

It seems the further east you go in Asia, the more bookish people become. In Taipei, Tokyo and Seoul, the bookshops are real meeting places, not mere Instagrammable backdrops.

RYSE, seoul architecture
Kim Yong Kwan

The Ryse backroom office isn’t in a backroom at all, but right in the public area. It’s a glass-panelled space full of moodboards and anglepoise lamps. A few years back, it became fashionable to put the restaurant kitchen on display. In Seoul, it seems entirely appropriate that the hotel designers and marketing people are also on public view.

A bank HQ that looks like an octopus

Seoul architecture

Kim Chan-joong is an academic – graduate of Harvard, visiting professor at Seoul – and his architectural practice, The Systems Lab, is maybe the most interesting in South Korea. His experiments with wafer-thin concrete membranes include the graceful, ethereal Kosmos hotel on the volcanic island of Ulleungdo – and this, perhaps the world’s strangest bank building.

The exterior of KEB Hana Bank Place 1 is covered with protruding, colour-changing portholes which so much resemble tentacle suckers that the building’s nickname was inevitable. It’s not an ideal spot for the trypophobic (those who fear clusters of small holes).

Inside, it continues to be unlike any financial institution you’ve ever seen. The underground car park has been decorated by a graffiti artist and doubles as a club and events space. There are bespoke retailers and a wonderful library and cafe.

This building changes things. Word has it that the country’s conservative corporations now all want an ‘octopus’ of their own.

S factory, Seongsu-dong

S Factory-Seoul architecture

Zinoo has just come from his daughter’s christening. He’s wearing a white shirt, black tie, indigo raincoat, short black trousers, white trainers and a red baseball cap: it’s very much a pop artist’s idea of formal dressing.

We are in Seongsu-dong on the north bank of the Han, east of the city centre. For the past seven years, it’s been busy turning itself from a place of old warehouses and auto workshops into the hippest ’hood in town.

Zinoo, sometimes called The Andy Warhol of Seoul thanks to his pop art leanings and publicity panache, has come up with a very contemporary Seoul deal: in return for cheap rent from the developer, Zinoo throws epic parties and invites interesting creators and entrepreneurs to share his warren of studios.

After Zinoo has shown us around the exhibitions and workshops, we walk around Seongsu. It’s soon apparent that you’re never more than a minute from a mural. There’s not an inch of finished plaster in the place. It has places like Café Onion, where you sip your brew outside on an office chair salvaged from a scrap heap, or Co:lumn, where we drank craft beer under a coconut-matting umbrella in a warehouse. Brooklyn? No. Brooklyn style with South Korean characteristics.

A very big bookcase

Seoul architecture
Jihun Sim / Shutterstock

COEX is not the place to visit if, like me, you suffer from ‘shopping legs’, a condition where over-exposure to retail outlets can rob the lower limbs of their usual locomotive function. There are 1,776,000 square feet of shops and it’s underground, adding to the creeping feeling that you may be doomed to spend the rest of your days in a prison of fluorescent lights, window displays and brand promotions.

The first jelly-like symptoms of shopping legs were just beginning to manifest, and I was wondering if I’d ever see daylight again, when there appeared – a library. Not just any library, but the Starfield library, an insanely grandiloquent temple to the written word in a complex otherwise devoted to the consumer dollar.

Imagine an airy railway station taken over by bookshelves the size and shape of small ocean liners. There are 50,000 volumes here: and if you can reach it, you can read it. People do. It’s a place where lost shoppers and intense students mingle and no one is there just for the selfie.

I emerged into the sunlight and descended again into my favourite urban underground train system. Within the hour, I was on that sublime sunset bus.

So that was a tour: from an urban village nestled in the mountains to the world’s largest underground mall. Seoul has given us Gangnam style and chiselled K pop star cheeks; but if you ever think it’s just a place of surfaces and gloss – take yourself into a quiet corner and read a book. There are plenty of places to do that.

The writer stayed at Ryse. 

Cathay Pacific flies to Seoul from Hong Kong 42 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book