韓國

首爾周邊遊:到江陵享受迎風假期

江陵是南韓東北地區的新星熱點,而這個距離繁華首都不遠的海灘小鎮,亦正開始意識到其備受注意的新定位

沿岸的松樹林保育完好,一路從江門海灘向南延伸至熱鬧的安木海灘。近百年前,為保護城中居民免受刺骨海風之苦,沙灘上遍植高大的松樹,為蔚藍的太平洋添上一片翠綠作點綴,成為江陵一道悅目的風景。這裡距離首爾僅個多小時火車車程,與首都的華燈璀璨和明快的韓國流行音樂節奏相比,江陵是一卷寧靜的田園畫軸,鮮明的對比產生令人愉悅的衝擊。

Myung No-hoon說:「江陵擁有美麗的大自然和豐富文化。」他是新落成豪華酒店St John’s的總裁,酒店位於海邊,是市內的新地標。他續道:「這裡有韓國最好的水上運動勝地,適合衝浪和揚帆出海,而且交通便利,是一個逃離鬧市繁囂,舒展身心的好地方。」

江陵本是南韓東北部一個沉寂的沿海小鎮,但自從鄰近的平昌因為去年舉辦冬季奧運會而家傳戶曉,連帶江陵亦人氣急升。儘管平昌在冬天可滑雪,夏天又宜遠足,許多遊客仍然被江陵更豐富的活動和便捷交通所吸引,而轉投它的懷抱。

江陵在冬奧協辦冰壺、溜冰及曲棍球等室內競賽項目,新火車站剛好於2017年趕及在冬奧前啟用,令它的對外交通變得更方便,遊客往返當地亦更輕鬆。為了迎接蜂擁而至的遊客,市內進行了零星的改造工程,指示牌和菜單備有英文和中文翻譯,而各大商店和餐廳皆接受海外信用卡消費。江陵沿岸建起一座座擁有無邊際泳池的摩天酒店,而周遭盡是秀麗的沙灘及樹林景致、擁有近1,100間客房的St John’s酒店剛好趕及冬奧前開業,供各國際奧委會代表下榻。

Valery SharifulinTASS via Getty Images

如果你置身江門海灘,定能見證江陵正值轉變:部分海灘依然寧靜怡人,而其他地方則擠滿手執煙花棒自拍留念的遊客。吸引他們的除了自然風景,還有古今文化。目前當地最著名及最大規模的文化景點是烏竹軒,這座偌大的傳統韓屋身兼博物館,紀念韓國鈔票上的兩位偉人:哲學家李珥,以及作家兼藝術家申師任堂(亦是李珥的母親)。此外,鏡浦湖上有一個粉雕玉砌的園景公園,公園內的鏡浦臺是春天的賞櫻勝地。

江陵以咖啡之城自居,Terarosa烘焙工房近年打響名堂,更逐漸發展成連鎖咖啡館。其總部是一座巨型的紅磚建築,開放予公眾參觀,遊人可在那裡品嚐上乘咖啡和新鮮出爐的烘烤美食。市內亦不乏其他特色咖啡館,其中一座咖啡博物館讓人一探咖啡豆從種植到沖泡的過程,而年中最大型的咖啡盛事是10月舉行的江陵咖啡節,以表揚城中著名的咖啡師和烘豆師。

除了各個著名旅遊景點外,江陵正努力發展成一個與大自然共融的現代城市,塑造獨一無二的個性特色,給予遊客一個更悠閒自在的體驗,與浮華璀璨的首爾相映成趣。

年輕企業家Jun Eun-kyung充分利用了江陵作為新興城市的地利,開設了Budnamu啤酒廠,他在釀製啤酒時混入松樹和野花,反映江陵沿海的自然色彩。Jun表示:「江陵擁有新舊交融的胸襟;時髦的咖啡店和酒店餐廳,與傳統的豆腐飯店和露天市場和諧共存。這裡的消費非常平易近人,任何人都可以在此盡興。」

Ed Jones / AFP

Budnamu啤酒廠位於江陵新建的Wolhwa Street大街附近,這條特別為冬奧建造的行人道,兩旁是簇新的商店。行人道一直延伸至江陵的中央市場,而這個令人眼花繚亂的迷宮盡是新鮮農產品和地道食店,亦是韓國少數能嚐到江原道地道料理馬鈴薯湯圓的地方之一。

Beautiful Korea / Shutterstock
Ramil Sitdikov/Sputnik/AFP

回到江門海灘,St John’s酒店的公關負責人Heo Sae-rom正觀看一隊年輕樂隊高唱他們最愛的韓流音樂。她一邊品嚐Budnamu黑啤,一邊聊著江陵的發展潛力及有別於首爾的獨特魅力。她說:「這裡寧靜得讓我可以打坐冥想,一覺醒來,更有松濤和海洋滋養我的心靈。」

國泰航空設有由香港飛往首爾的航班,每周有27班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

South Korea

Seoul’s Breezy Escape

The star of South Korea’s northeast region is Gangneung, a beach town not far from the buzzing capital that’s waking up to its newfound attention

A seaside pine forest stretches from Gangmun beach to the busier Anmok beach to its south. Planted nearly a century ago to shield the city’s residents from the ocean’s biting winter wind, tall pines grow from the sand and cascade along an azure patch of the Pacific. It is easily the top highlight of Gangneung, located under two hours by train from Seoul. Compared with the bright lights and K-pop beats of the capital, Gangneung is bucolic and serene – a contrast so stark that it’s a bit of a shock to the system.

‘Gangneung has beautiful nature and so much culture,’ says Myung No-hoon, chief executive of the new St John’s Hotel, a luxury oceanfront establishment that’s become a city icon. ‘There’s easy access to the country’s best watersports, such as surfing and sailing, making Gangneung a great place to escape the city and get refreshed.’

Korea, Gangneung

Long a sleepy town in Gangwon province – on South Korea’s northeastern coast – Gangneung is now growing in stature, thanks to neighbouring Pyeongchang, which became a household name around the world last year as the host of the Winter Olympics. But while Pyeongchang has ski slopes in winter and hiking in summer, many visitors opt for Gangneung for its more well-rounded activities and accessibility.

It’s easier than ever to get to Gangneung – which had its own role during the Olympics, hosting indoor events curling, skating and hockey – thanks to a new train station that was unveiled in 2017, ahead of the Games. The city underwent a mini transformation to welcome the anticipated influx of tourists, with signage and menus translated into English and Chinese, and shops and restaurants accepting foreign credit cards. High-rise hotels with infinity pools were built on its coast, with the nearly 1,100-room St John’s hotel, which opened its doors just in time to host the International Olympic Committee delegates, perched imposingly amid the sand and trees.

GANGNEUNG, SOUTH KOREA
Valery SharifulinTASS via Getty Images

On Gangmun beach, you’ll see the town as one in transition: some of the beach is blissfully quiet, while other parts are raucous with selfie-taking tourists holding sparklers. They come for the natural attractions, but also the culture, both ancient and modern. The best and by far the largest cultural attraction is Ojukheon House, a vast, traditional Korean home combined with a museum. It pays homage to two figures featured on the country’s banknotes: the philosopher Yulgok and his writer-artist mother, Shin Saimdang. There’s also the Gyeongpo Pavilion, located in a flawlessly landscaped park perched over Gyeongpo Lake – a prime spot to admire cherry blossoms in spring.

Korea, Gangneung

Gangneung also promotes itself as a city of coffee, featuring the roasting factory of Terarosa, a brand that’s expanded into a chain of cafes. Its headquarters, a cavernous red-brick building, is open to visitors, who get to enjoy great brews and fresh baked goods. Numerous other character-filled cafes line its streets, and a coffee museum displays the process from bean growing to brewing. The biggest celebration of the town’s acclaimed baristas and roasters happens every year in October at the Gangneung Coffee Festival.

But beyond its signature tourist draws, Gangneung is developing into a city with its own modern identity, one at ease with nature, offering a vastly more relaxing experience than the ever-buzzing, LED-soaked alleyways of Seoul.

Gangneung, Korea
Ed Jones / AFP

Young entrepreneur Jun Eun-kyung took advantage of the city’s new accessibility to open Budnamu Brewery. Here, his beers reflect the coast’s natural characteristics with infusions of pine and wildflower. ‘Gangneung has such a unique mix of old and new; fancy cafes and hotel restaurants are finding harmony with traditional tofu restaurants and open-air markets,’ says Jun. ‘Gangneung is also extremely affordable, which means it’s opening up to everyone.’

Here, his beers reflect the coast’s natural characteristics with infusions of pine and wildflower. ‘Gangneung has such a unique mix of old and new; fancy cafes and hotel restaurants are finding harmony with traditional tofu restaurants and open-air markets,’ says Jun. ‘Gangneung is also extremely affordable, which means it’s opening up to everyone.’

Korea, Gangneung
Beautiful Korea / Shutterstock
Gyeongpo Beach, Gangneung, Korea, South Korea
Ramil Sitdikov/Sputnik/AFP

Budnamu is near Gangneung’s new Wolhwa Street, a long pedestrian walkway built for the Olympics and lined with newly constructed shops. The street ends at the city’s Central Market, a dizzying maze of fresh produce and hole-in-the-wall restaurants. It’s one of the only places in South Korea where you can find gamja ongsimi, a savoury potato dough soup from Gangwon province.

Back on Gangmun beach, Heo Sae-rom, who runs public relations for St John’s, watches a young band belt out their favourite K-pop songs. While sipping on an amber bottle of Budnamu stout, she says she believes in the potential of Gangneung and its undeniable charm that’s lacking in the grind of Seoul. ‘I can actually meditate here,’ she says. ‘I can wake up to pine trees and the ocean and heal my mind.’

Cathay Pacific flies to Seoul from Hong Kong 27 times a week