餐飲美食

正宗北韓美食盡在首爾

未有機會遊覽平壤,仍可在南韓首爾找到多間正宗北韓風味餐廳,他們傳承北韓美食如正方形餃子(pyeonsu)和蕎麥水冷麵

這次踏足首爾,遠方的南部正在舉行大邱炸雞啤酒節。非韓劇迷如我所認識的韓國美食,除了炸雞配啤酒,便僅只泡菜、燒肉、年糕和韓國濃湯火鍋「部隊鍋」,是一片辛辣的鮮紅色世界。

直至我跟韓國朋友貞彬同遊首爾,我才拋開對韓國料理那一片紅色的印象。貞彬在首爾出生成長,她帶我到付岩洞、創自1993年的紫霞手工餃子館進晚膳。我們挑了一道餃子配米丸子湯,口味清淡的餃子被天然植物染成粉紅色、淺綠色和淡黃色,賣相獨特。我們還點了香濃的豆漿冷麵和脆而不膩的綠豆煎餅,桌子上所有菜式均是素淨的顏色,進食時也不用忙於抹汗。

Credit: Dylan Goldby Jaha Mandu, Seoul, Korea

紫霞手工餃子館還有一道非常特別的正方形蒸餃子,貞彬即說:「這款餃子是北韓食品的一大代表,餡料是包得滿滿的清淡蔬菜和肉。」然後她提起自己的祖母是在二戰後從北韓走難而來的移民,所以她對北韓風味菜式略有認識。「南韓食品所用的醬汁比北韓濃、鹹和辣。」這種正方形餃子是當年朝鮮皇朝(公元1392至1897年)的宮廷名貴食品,以北韓開城(曾是皇朝首都)的餃子最正宗和聞名。她續說:「韓國人專門在夏天時吃冰凍的正方形餃子,點上豉油和醋來吃更美味。」

我請教繼承祖母真傳秘方的店主朴惠瓊女士,她解釋兩地餃子的分別:「北韓版本的餃子一般較大,餡料種類亦較簡單;我們賣的餃子是傳統的首爾風格,會將餃子包得更花巧細緻。」

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Euljiro area, Seoul

那晚後,我和貞彬決定在首爾展開北韓美食之旅,沒想過,我竟因而訪問了一位脫北者。搜尋各區的北韓料理時,我們來到市中心鐘路三街地鐵站附近的北韓傳統食物學院暨Neungra餐廳,點了綠豆餅和小薯球年糕湯,創辦者李安然教授堅定地說:「這味年糕湯在首爾只此一家。」

李教授於1997年成功逃離北韓,其後在南韓修讀食物及營養學,終成為第一位取得博士學位的脫北女性。2010年,她更在美國前國務卿希拉莉與前第一夫人米歇爾手上獲得「國際婦女勇氣獎」。她成立學院並在2012年開辦這所餐廳,目的是傳承北韓烹飪秘方和地道食品,同時為其他脫北者提供在職培訓,幫助他們融入南韓。「家母是位廚師,教曉我烹調不少地道菜。來這裡進餐的人,不知不覺對北韓文化認識更深。」

Credit: Dylan Goldby Jaha Mandu, Seoul, Korea

當李教授為我介紹餐廳的名菜時,我感受到她對自家製菜式深感光榮。「這道燉豬前腿是我精心調製的新菜式,傳統上北韓高官幹部以豬腿作下酒菜。」她又推介了平壤溫飯、糯米腸和開城燉蘿蔔,還說北韓上下人民都愛喝湯補身。我好奇地問,當年在北韓生活艱苦,當地的家常便飯是什麼。「溫麵是當時北韓人民的主食,各家各戶以泡菜湯、豆漿、綠豆湯等來盛麵,而我最愛吃的則是年糕和泡菜餃子。」

Credit: Dylan Goldby Jaha Mandu, Seoul, Korea

今天,李教授藉著她創立的自由和統一中心以不同形式幫助脫北者,也期望用美食來推動統一。「要在北韓品嚐到正宗菜式反而愈來愈難,如源自北韓開城的朝鮮宮廷宴。」原因是,北韓人面對持續糧食短缺的問題,當年她選修食物及營養,也是本於幫助處於饑荒或捱餓的人。對旅客而言,要遊覽北韓已非易事,更別說到訪當地餐廳。

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Neungra Table; Seoul, Korea

的而且確,在首爾能夠品嚐北韓菜式的機會比想像中多。又來屋餐廳憑北韓首都的平壤冷麵而聲名遠播,創辦人張氏一家在二戰後離鄉別井,於1946年在南韓創業,多年後更在美國開了分店,連美國前總統奧巴馬也到訪過他們的店。

2018年4月南北韓首腦會談,北韓領袖金正恩在會上對南韓總統文在寅說「請享用我大老遠帶過來的平壤冷麵」,令平壤冷麵成為北韓美食的代名詞。麵雖冰冷,卻有助暖化兩韓關係。

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Woolaeok, Seoul, Korea

我們在滿座的又來屋點了最多人捧場的平壤冷麵和韓式烤牛肉。店員迅速端上一碟切得薄薄的優質牛肩肉和牛腱肉,並在燒烤桌代勞烤製。問店經理南、北韓燒烤最明顯的分別,她說:「北方在烤肉時不放蔬菜。」貞彬教我用鮮生菜包著肉再沾一點豆瓣醬來吃,牛肉「入口即融」,肉汁鮮甜。在首爾數天嚐過多間店的冷麵後,我認為又來屋的平壤冷麵最優質美味,蕎麥味重,麵質軟硬適中而爽口,肉湯的味道雖淡但清甜。

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Woolaeok, Seoul, Korea

除了平壤冷麵,北韓還出產了咸興冷麵,是一種用馬鈴薯粉或蕃薯粉製成再加入辣椒醬的「拌冷麵」,麵質煙韌似粉絲,貞彬說韓國人吃時愛加醋。

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Banryongsan, Seoul, Korea

要吃正宗的咸興冷麵,可以到首爾江南區的盤龍山餐廳。盤龍山其實是在北韓東海岸城市咸興的一座山,而咸興則是店主鄭相爀(Raymond)母親的家鄉,因此店內牆上掛了一些她的童年照和咸興的風景照,其餘裝飾也充滿地道小店的風情,令我不其然幻想自己到了真正的北韓一趟。一頭銀髮的Raymond露出慈祥笑容感謝我們光臨,他說:「本店開業已逾40年,我們的菜單始終如一。」盤龍山的招牌咸興料理還有豆腐牛肉湯飯和醃鹹辣比目魚。

捧著肚子回到我入住的首爾新羅酒店,我翻閱南韓的《中央日報》,看到聯合國的報告指出,北韓有1,220萬的人民(即近一半總人口)於2016至2018年因長期捱餓而營養不足。畢竟,食得是福。我想起李教授的話,祈願和平的日子降臨,人人有機會享受美食。

傳譯員:Eden Jang 及 Eim Hui-Yeon

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Banryongsan, Seoul, Korea

米芝蓮大廚金成一推介傳統韓食

今次下榻時尚的首爾新羅酒店,因為它位於首爾中區,要前往市內各區的北韓及傳統韓菜餐館相當方便。酒店內的高級韓國餐廳「羅宴」是首家連續三年獲《米芝蓮指南》三星殊榮的韓式餐館,以精緻考究的摩登手法呈獻經典傳統韓國菜。我訪問行政總廚金成一。

Credit: The Shilia Hotel Chef Kim Sung

羅宴如何詮釋傳統韓食?

我們菜式的靈感源自有500年歷史的韓 國宮廷食譜《Sooeunjapbang》,融合民間流傳下來的古老秘方後,再以創意和現代的烹飪手法演繹,終帶來有十道菜的嚐味餐單,令人認識耳目一新的古老菜式。

哪一道傳統韓食是值得所有人認識?

古代韓國宮廷料理「九節板」,將由八個省份進貢的當地豐收名產放入八邊形攢盒,象徵朝鮮皇朝的和平盛世。品嚐時,以蕎麥薄餅miljeonbyeong包裹來吃。羅宴的薄餅以Solomon’s seal麥蕎茶隔夜風乾,口感上佳。

詳情及預訂:shilla.net

本文原於2019年10月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

In Search of Seoul’s Most Authentic North Korean Dishes

Some Seoul restaurateurs are preserving the culinary heritage of North Korea by serving delicacies such as pyeonsu (dumplings) and naengmyeon (cold buckwheat noodles)

I never felt Korea was calling. I’m not a fan of Korean pop culture, and my knowledge of Korean cuisine had always been limited – to kimchi, fried chicken and beer (chimaek), barbecue, stir-fried rice cakes (tteokbokki) and army stew (budae jjigae) – basically bright red-hued dishes that will set your mouth on fire on impact.

But I change my tune on a recent trip to Seoul, where I reconnect with my friend Kyung-bin, who was born and raised in the South Korean capital. We meet for dinner at Jaha Son Mandu, a restaurant which has been serving up its mandu dumplings since 1993. I order a bowl – colourful, naturally dyed dumplings swimming in a light meat broth. But what really intrigues me are the pyeonsu, square-shaped meat or vegetable dumplings served chilled. They have their roots in North Korea, as my dining companion informs me.

Credit: Dylan Goldby Jaha Mandu, Seoul, Korea

‘In general, many North Korean dishes are lighter in flavour compared to their spice-forward, sauce-heavy southern counterparts,’ Kyung-bin says. As it turns out, her grandmother was originally from the north but fled to the south after the Second World War. Pyeonsu, she tells me, was once an imperial dish during the Joseon dynasty (1392-1897), and the North Korean city – and former capital – of Kaesong is home to some of the best renditions of this staple. ‘This cold dish is extremely popular during the summer; we usually just dip them in some soy sauce or vinegar,’ she adds.

They’re not identical to their northern cousins, says Park Hye-kyoung, owner of Jaha Son Mandu and a third-generation restaurateur whose signature dishes adhere to her grandmother’s recipes. ‘North Korean dumplings are larger than the South Korean ones. Ours are modified slightly for the audience in Seoul – we fold ours in a more delicate way and spend more time thinking about the presentation,’ she adds.

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Euljiro area, Seoul

Inspired by the meal, Kyung-bin and I set out in search of the most authentic North Korean dishes that Seoul has to offer. First stop – the North Korean Traditional Food Institute in Jongno-gu. Here we meet its founder Dr Lee Ae-ran, who treats us to a meal that includes mung bean pancakes and rice cake soup with potatoes, dishes that ‘can’t be had anywhere else in Seoul’, she tells us.

After escaping from North Korea in 1997, Lee went on to study food and nutrition and became the first female North Korean defector to earn a doctorate. In 2010, she received the International Women of Courage award from Hillary Clinton and Michelle Obama. In 2012, her institute opened a restaurant, Neungra Table, with the combined aim of preserving and passing on the culinary heritage of North Korea while helping other defectors assimilate into South Korean society by offering them proper training and job opportunities. Through the Center for Liberty & Unification, another organisation Lee founded, she promotes Korean reunification through the soft power of her culinary tradition.

Credit: Dylan Goldby Jaha Mandu, Seoul, Korea

‘I’d like our guests to get a betterunderstanding of North Korean culture after dining with us,’ she says.

Lee learned most of her knowledge of North Korean cuisine from her mother, and is proud of the dishes she serves. A recent addition to the menu is a braised pork shank, traditionally accompanied by alcohol and eaten by high-ranking officials in North Korea. Pyongyang hot rice, glutinous rice-stuffed Korean sausage and Kaesong steamed turnip are some of her other favourites.

Credit: Dylan Goldby Jaha Mandu, Seoul, Korea

‘North Koreans love soup, so hot noodles had always been our staple,’ says Lee when I ask her to describe her daily diet back in North Korea. ‘I remember eating them with kimchi soup, soy milk or mung bean soup. My favourites, though, were rice cake and kimchi dumplings. However, nowadays there aren’t many opportunities to try authentic North Korean cuisine at its place of origin,’ she says. For visitors, the country is all but closed off. And for North Koreans, there are continual food shortages. ‘Pansanggi, or the North Korean-style traditional multi-course meal, is now rarely available to locals.’

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Neungra Table; Seoul, Korea

Woo Lae Oak (literally ‘House of Return’), is known for its signature Pyongyang-style naengmyeon, or cold buckwheat noodles. The restaurant was founded in 1946 by the Jang family, who fled to South Korea after the Second World War. The family has since grown the brand and expanded internationally, opening a branch in the US that has received esteemed diners including Barack Obama.

Pyongyang naengmyeon is a dish with a long history, and it became world-famous after being put on the menu for North Korean leader Kim Jong-un and South Korean President Moon Jae-in at the April 2018 Inter-Korean Summit. Since then, naengmyeon has become the face of North Korean cuisine, cold noodles which have perhaps become a symbol of warming diplomatic relations between the two sides.

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Woolaeok, Seoul, Korea

After sampling a number of renditions of Pyongyang naengmyeon, Woo Lae Oak’s is the best I taste – the noodles are springy, and the rich and nutty flavour of buckwheat pairs perfectly with its light yet umami-heavy meat broth. Besides this signature dish, Kyung-bin and I are tempted by Woo Lae Oak’s delicious beef bulgogi (grilled marinated beef). ‘The most obvious differences between North and South Korean-style barbecue is that we don’t grill vegetables with the meat in the north,’ the manager explains as she cooks succulent pieces of beef shoulder and shank for us.

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Woolaeok, Seoul, Korea

Another popular North Korean cold noodle dish is the Hamheung naengmyeon, named after North Korea’s second-largest city. This version is prepared like a pasta dish – using noodles made from potato or sweet potato flour, tossed in a chilli sauce and served with some vinegar on the side. One of the most authentic renditions is found at Banryongsan in Gangnam-gu, which also serves other Hamheung classics like garit gukbap (tofu and beef rice soup) and gajami sikhae (spicy pickled sole).

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Banryongsan, Seoul, Korea

According to owner Jeong Sang-hyeok, the restaurant is a tribute to his mother’s hometown, and has been serving the same menu for more than 40 years.

Returning to me my hotel with a full stomach, I leaf through the Korea Joongang Daily and come across a reference to a UN report that says as many as 12.2 million North Koreans – almost half of the population – were undernourished between 2016 and 2018 due to chronic food shortages. It makes me think of something Dr Lee said, when I asked her about her hopes for the future of her homeland: ‘I hope everyone will be able to enjoy peace and plenty of good meals in my lifetime.’ I can’t think of a more worthwhile dream.

Credit: DYLAN GOLDBY Banryongsan, Seoul, Korea

Michelin-starred chef Kim Sung-il on inspirations for his haute Korean cuisine

Centrally located in Jung-gu, the Shilla Seoul is the perfect base for any food expedition around the South Korean capital. The hotel’s La Yeon restaurant is the first-ever Korean restaurant to earn three Michelin stars. We talk to executive chef Kim Sung-il about putting a modern spin on classic cuisine.

Credit: The Shilia Hotel Chef Kim Sung

How are the traditions of Korean cuisine reflected at La Yeon?

My team and I take cues from recipes and techniques in the Sooeunjapbang, a cookbook that was written more than 500 years ago, to come up with new ideas. For instance, we have a 10-course tasting menu that features modern interpretations of these age-old recipes.

What’s one traditional Korean dish that everyone should know about?

Gujeolpan, the platter of nine delicacies, once symbolized harmony in the kingdom. The eight provinces of Korea contributed produce to the court, and in this dish they were wrapped in miljeonbyeong (buckwheat pancake roll). At La Yeon we age our pancakes overnight with Solomon’s seal tea.

This story was originally published in October 2019 and updated in September 2020

Interpreters: Eden Jang and Eim Hui-Yeon

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book