中國內地

8個中國風光最優美的水鄉

中國人擅於利用自然環境來建造風光如畫的家園,不但歷史悠久,而且聞名於世,撰文:Caspar Li

以下幾個中國城鎮將河道及各種水道與日常生活結合,成為別有風味的水鄉。

1. 周莊古鎮

最佳遊覽季節: 全年

View Stock RM/Getty Images

周莊位於蘇州崑山市的西南面,有中國第一水鄉的美譽,同時亦獲評為國家5A級旅遊景區,表示這是個保存得非常完好的景點。在全球最美麗小鎮的排行榜上,亦會經常見到周莊名列其上。最好坐在用漿划的船上,在這個古鎮的河道上漫遊,讓自己沉醉於優美如畫的風光中。

不可錯過: 雙橋、沈廳、逸飛之家

2. 朱家角古鎮

最佳遊覽季節: 4月至11月

這個古鎮有1,700年歷史,位於澱山湖畔,有上海威尼斯之稱。鎮上到處可見古橋、古色古香的街巷、明代遺留至今的建築,以及多處佛寺與道觀等。

不可錯過:建於1571年的放生橋,是拍照的上佳地點

3. 同里古鎮

最佳遊覽季節: 全年

Zharov Pavel / Shutterstock

沿著長江有六大古鎮,同里是其中之一。鎮內的河道上都有古老的石橋,還有許多宋、元、明、清四朝保留至今的建築物。這個古鎮仍有不少居民在其間生活,散發活潑的江南民間氣息。

不可錯過: 退思園、耕樂堂、珍珠塔

4. 西塘古鎮

最佳遊覽季節: 4月至5月 ,9月至11月

跟其他水鄉不同,西塘鎮並非一個人來人往的繁忙小鎮。這也是個歷史悠久的古鎮,居民向來生活悠閒恬靜。鎮上有九條河道縱橫交錯,分為八個部分,以104條古舊的石橋相連,鎮上有還有122條古老的小巷。

不可錯過: 細味簡樸悠閒的氣氛

5. 甪直

最佳遊覽季節: 3月至5月,9月至11月

Zhang Peng/LightRocket via Getty Images

有2,500年歷史的甪直鎮位於江蘇省,距離蘇州市約25公里,有中國「橋鄉」之稱。鎮上有72座古橋,將鎮上各個部分連接起來,這些橋建造的年代可以追溯至宋、元、明及清代。這個古鎮保存得十分完好,於2003年被列入「中國歷史文化名鎮」,並於2004年獲聯合國教科文組織頒發文化遺產保護傑出成就獎。

不可錯過:保聖寺、沈伯寒宅、葉聖陶紀念館

6. 宏村

最佳遊覽季節: 3月至4月,11月 上旬

位於安徽省南部黃山腳 下的宏村背山面水,被視為風水寶地。春季時整個村莊遍佈黃澄澄的油菜花,秋天則滿眼紅葉。鄰近的黃山以風景優美而名聞天下,吸引不少熱愛大自然的人及行山客前來。

不可錯過:承志堂、南湖書院

7. 台兒莊古城

最佳遊覽季節: 全年

VCG via Getty Images

台兒莊位於京杭大運河上,於1900年代初是中國和日本之間的貿易樞紐。台兒莊曾因戰爭遭受嚴重破壞,2008年經重新復修,工程耗資7.44億美元,許多當年被摧毀的建築因此得以再現眼前。

不可錯過: 京杭大運河 — 這是棗莊縣內唯一保持京杭大運河原貌的地方

8. 鳳凰古城

最佳遊覽季節: 7月至9月

Cultura Exclusive/Gu/Getty Images

傳說有兩雙鳳凰飛過這座小城的上空,被迷人的風景吸引,從此不肯離開,於是這裡就稱作鳳凰城。這座古城有300年歷史,昔日的環境和建築許多都被保留至今。古城部分有不少觀光景點,新城部分則是當地人居住的地方。梯田、薑糖和傳統苗族與土家族文化都是古城的特色。

不可錯過:沱江、楊家祠堂、沈從文故居

Mainland China

See the pics! 8 of China’s most photogenic ‘water towns’

Instagrammers, get set ... For centuries, the Chinese have created homes that utilise and complement the natural surroundings beautifully. These towns do it best of all. Words by CASPAR LI

Here are just a few of the Chinese towns that have adapted rivers and other watercourses into their daily lives.

1. Zhouzhuang Water Town

Best time: Year around

Zhouzhuang town, watertown
View Stock RM/Getty Images

Located in the southwest of Kunshan City, Suzhou, Xhouzhaung is often called the No. 1 Water Town in China. A “5A Tourist Attraction” – a rating given to the best maintained attractions in China – it often makes lists of the world’s most beautiful towns. Best experienced via sculling boat, you’ll soon be lost in the postcard-perfect channels and canals full of historic charm.

Don’t miss: Double Bridge, Shen’s House and the House of Yifei.

2. Zhujiajiao Ancient Town

Best time: April to November

Zhujiajiao, watertown

Around 1,700 years old, Zhujiajiao is regarded as the Venice of Shanghai, an historic pearl situated next to Dianshan Lake. It’s full of old bridges, old streets, Ming-qing dynasy architecture and Buddhist and Taoist sites.

Don’t miss: Fangsheng bridge, rebuilt in 1571 and the perfect spot for photos.

3. Tongli Water Town

Best time: Year round

Tongli, watertown
Zharov Pavel / Shutterstock

Ranked as one of the top six ancient towns on the Yangtze River, this town is known for the old stone bridges that connect it all up and is a great example of a vibrant and functional water town filled with structures built in the Song, Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties (960-1911).

Don’t miss: Retreat & Reflection Garden, Gengle Hall, the Pearl Tower.

4. Xitang Water Town

Best time: April to May, September to November

Xitan, watertown

Unlike other water towns, Xitang is not a busy village, but offers a glimpse at a more easygoing and peaceful lifestyle that has been adopted by residents here  for centuries. Criss-crossed by nine rivers, it’s divided into eight sections linked by a total of 104 old-fashioned stone bridges and 122 old lanes.

Don’t miss: The mood of simplicity and leisure.

5. Luzhi Water Town

Best time: March to May, September to November

Suzhou, watertown
Zhang Peng/LightRocket via Getty Images

About 25 kilometres from Suzhou City in Jiangsu Province, the 2,500-year-old town of Luzhi is known as China’s “Capital of Bridges”. There are 72 ancient bridges linking sections of the village, with some dating back to the Song, Yuan, Ming and Quing dynasties. This well-preserved town was named one of the “10 Famous Chinese Historical townships” in 2003 and granted a township preservation Award by UNESCO in 2004.

Don’t miss: Baosheng Temple, Shen’s House, Ye Shengtao’s Memorial Hall.

6. Hongcun Ancient Village

Best time: March to April, Early November

Hongun, watertown

With its back to the mountains and its front to the water, Hongcun is believed to have great feng shui. The village gets filled with yellow rape field flowers in the spring, and red leaves in the fall. The gorgeous scenery around the Yellow Mountains is a boon for nature lovers and hikers

Don’t miss:  Chengzhi Hall , Southern Lake Academy.

7. Tai’erzhuang Ancient Town

Best time: Year round

Taierzhuang ancient town, watertown
VCG via Getty Images

Located on the Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal, this former early 1900s trading hub between China and Japan was restored in 2008, to the tune of US$743.54 million. That astonishing amount means much of the architecture that was destroyed during the battle of Tai’erzhuang is now visible again.

Don’t miss: The Grand Canal – this is the only place in Zaozhuang Prefecture that displays the Grand Canal in its original form.

8. Fenghuang Ancient Town/ Phoenix Ancient Town

Best time: July – September

Fenghuang, Hunan, China
Cultura Exclusive/Gu/Getty Images

Named after two phoenixes that legend says flew over the town, saw its breathtaking views and refused to leave, this 300-year-old town has retained much of its original architecture and setting. The old town offers tourist attractions, while the new town is the residential area for the local villagers.

It’s best known for its rice terraces, ginger candies, and traditional Miao and Tujia cultures.

Don’t miss: Tuojiang River, Yang Ancestral Memorial, Former residence of Shen Congwen

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book