華盛頓州

西雅圖: 城裡城外

Lotte Jeffs初次踏足這個西岸城市,而熟悉當地的Kate Appleton則往城外走

初到貴境:Lotte

提起美國之旅,我總會聯想起洛杉磯和紐約的浮華世界:人人都穿得衣冠楚楚,滿臉自信;不停參加賓客如雲的派對,品嚐花巧的雞尾酒……置身這些城市令人疲累不堪,回程時往往感到心力交瘁。

因此,上次我到洛杉磯公幹時,決定回程時在西雅圖逗留四晚,放下工作,好好休息充電。這裡崇尚戶外生活,還有獨特而多姿多采的非主流文化,定能令我在回程時重拾活力,神采飛揚地回家。

這個城市果然沒有令我失望,跟美式咖啡一樣醒腦提神,而這裡正好是咖啡連鎖店星巴克的發源地。我住在市中心的Ace Hotel酒店,氣氛親切舒適,提供簡樸而基本的設施。我入住的是一間連浴室的房間,但大部分住客均需共用衛浴設施。不必像身處五星級酒店般造作,讓我更直接地體驗地道的西雅圖。這裡就像昔日洋溢波希米亞氣息的紐約東村和洛杉磯嬉皮海灘城市威尼斯,尚未被Instagram的濾鏡加工,變成色調偏黃的圖片而失去原貌。這裡帶著質樸而毫無修飾的味道,我知道這就是西雅圖的本來面目。

Left: Vincent Camacho/Unsplash

在酒店幾條街之外,就是西雅圖著名的Pike Place Market市集,這個全國歷史最悠久的農夫市場臨海而建,盡覽艾略特灣的如畫風光。市集內有不少可讓你快速填飽肚子的美食,還可觀看當地漁販把冰塊上的鮮魚拋給拍檔的傳統習慣。

西雅圖現在是新興科技重鎮,這傳統習慣愈發令人覺得古色古香。Microsoft、無數初創公司和Amazon的總部均設於這裡;後者的總部規模龐大,位於市中心,裡面設有由三個玻璃球體建築組成的The Spheres,裡面種了逾400種來自生長於全球各地雲霧林內的植物,將花園與辦公室二合為一。這裡設有導賞團,歡迎訪客入內參觀。

不少科技巨富,包括Bill及Melinda Gates夫婦等,大多住在以橋樑與西雅圖相連的Medina市。他們的財富加起來數以百億元計,對當地經濟有舉足輕重的影響。

西雅圖以往是邊陲城鎮,於1851年開埠(儘管美洲原住民在更早以前已經在此定居),並成為伐木業的重鎮。華盛頓大學將「邊陲」的概念闡釋為「介乎已知與未知領域之間,接連有人居住的地方與荒野……也就是孤身處於一個並無既定規矩的地方」。從西雅圖的發展過程中,一直保持著某種邊陲意識:例如1962年為世界博覽會而興建的創意建築太空針塔,以及波音公司於1966年在此開設廠房,以至在太空競賽中擔當關鍵重任,甚至合法使用大麻煙(華盛頓是美國首個將大麻作消遣用途合法化的州份)等,說明即使科技進步,亦並未將這種精神掩蓋掉。

市內有多家Amazon Go商店,在店內購買雜貨,會在你的Amazon帳戶內自動結帳,無須經過收銀處,開創嶄新的未來零售模式。

1869年,一場大火幾乎把西雅圖夷為平地,整個商業區被焚毀,後來在原址上再建設新基建。因此,當地有人舉辦「地下城之旅」,帶人參觀荒廢的街道和店舖遺
址。我在想,若某天發生了破壞力驚人的數碼大災難,數百年之後,遊客會否像如今一樣,前往參觀人去樓空的Amazon總部?

不過,西雅圖洋溢一片積極樂觀的氣氛,很難令人聯想到反烏托邦。而西雅圖的樂觀氛圍,並非荷李活電影般浮誇造作,反而像在尋常的下午玩彈珠遊戲或來一杯pickleback般怡然自得。事實上,無論任何年紀,也能在彈珠博物館自得其樂,不妨玩玩懷舊的Buckaroo牛仔遊戲,考驗一下你的指頭是否靈活。至於pickleback,是指在喝完一杯威士忌後再佐以一杯醃酸瓜汁,這種飲品美味與否,根本沒有人在乎。

在西雅圖,幾乎每間商店出售的都是與戶外活動相關的用品。Mount Rainier山和Cascades山脈就在城外不遠處,當地人順理成章愛在周末滑雪和登山。我與大自然最親近的接觸,是租用Lime電動單車(只需下載Lime的應用程式,然後隨意在旗下數千個地點取車),在奧林匹克雕塑公園到處暢遊;這是西雅圖市中心最大的綠化空間,有彎彎曲曲的小徑,從涼亭一直伸展至海旁,園內還有一個細小石灘。

Cameron Zegers

我沒有足夠時間前往附近風光秀麗的山間一行,於是改往Capitol Hill區一帶閒逛。這裡有不少如Totokaelo等高級又新潮的店舖,出售設計獨特的服飾和家品,令我感覺親切。我在Oddfellows餐廳以潮人身份象徵的mason jar玻璃罐喝啤酒,再吃同樣時髦的「穀物碗」,然後到Elliott Bay Book Company書店翻一陣書,再到貓咪咖啡店Neko喝咖啡。即使來到此地,你仍會不斷被提醒,這裡是與主流文化抗衡的西雅圖,因為連雪糕店也在櫥窗豎起標語,宣稱店裡是「安全空間」──「任何種族、性別和性取向的人士均無任歡迎」。

這個城市開放包容,廣納各地文化和飲食口味,將之共冶一爐。自從1860年代首批東亞新移民乘汽船和火車抵埗後,這股外來文化一直深深影響著當地。位於Pike Place Market市集的Tenzing Momo,是西岸最古老、最大型的藥妝店,由中草藥以至香水一應俱全。Uwajimaya是西雅圖最大規模的亞洲雜貨店,是選購禮品、包裝精美的零食或吃快餐的好去處。不過,亞裔美國人社群對當地的影響深遠,例如武打巨星李小龍,就曾經在西雅圖居住和求學。想深入認識這個社群,就要到陸榮昌亞洲博物館去參觀。

我在美國旅行,總喜歡光顧一些帶懷舊風味的餐廳;因此在離開之前,我到24小時營業的西雅圖酒吧餐廳The 5 Point Café,吃了一份素菜煎餅配雞蛋的早餐。早上7時半,我在這裡喝咖啡,附近坐著多位各自埋首於手提電腦打理業務的科技企業家,而前一晚通宵暢飲的酒客,仍在酒吧另一端猛灌威士忌。這間充滿搖滾氣息的食肆,正好體現西雅圖的地道風情:古靈精怪、活力十足,既有點離經叛道,又教人難以捉摸。餐牌上數行小字寫道:「我們歡迎任何人士光臨,不管你是否爛醉如泥,有否抱持極端分歧的政治、宗教和社會意識形態……這樣說多有得罪,還請見諒,但這些是我們的市民,我們愛護他們,所以也請你愛護他們,否則請你離開」。只有西雅圖人才會這樣做。

局內人語: Kate

小時候每逢夏天,我就嚷著要去西岸。整整兩個星期,我們會離開炎熱的紐約石屎森林,前往父親的家鄉華盛頓州,在那裡享受清爽的天氣。十歲時,我第一次自己搭飛機參加「Margi夏令營」——我們總愛這樣戲稱Margi阿姨在西雅圖Madison Park區的家。在那裡我會與兩位表兄弟Jimmy和Chris一起游泳、揚帆出海,玩遍各種各樣的戶外活動。

即使現在,每當我降落西雅圖機場,看見機場四周都是高大的冷杉樹,還有遠處白雪皚皚的Mount Rainier山,我都會隱隱然有種歷險的感覺。是的,雖然現在西雅圖是個大都會,輕軌鐵路四通八達,到處都有玻璃幕牆的辦公大樓,還有大量受科技產業吸引而來的新居民,我仍有這種感覺。後來我再細想,西雅圖還有一件事是別處無可比擬的:這裡有海灘、水道和原始森林,有很多天然美景,絕對能引發你對大自然的熱愛。

Center for Wooden Boats是其中一個親近大自然的好去處。這是個海事博物館,位於South Lake Union區的碼頭旁邊,距離Amazon新總部不遠。雖說是博物館,但這裡可以租用木船,還會舉辦工作坊,星期日是公眾免費划船日,這是一項有40年傳統的活動。訪客可以四至15人一組,坐上傳統木船上,由義工充當船長,駛出湖上遊覽。早上10時開始,訪客可以前去選擇喜歡的時段和船的種類(蒸氣、帆船或電動均可),全部先到先得。

西雅圖有水上的士隊,並有全國最完善的渡輪網絡。你只需坐在船上,讓髮絲隨海風飛揚,就能在不同地點之間來去自如。我與丈夫和女兒一起,只花了十分鐘就由Elliott Bay灣到達西雅圖西區。喜歡玩Instagram的人不妨留意,水上的士啟航時,可以捕捉到廣闊的城市全景,包括一座摩天輪,那是21世紀大都會的身份象徵。

我們離開渡輪,走進碼頭旁邊的Marination Ma Kai,這間主打夏威夷及韓國fusion菜的餐廳,原為流動美食車,售賣辛辣開胃的小食,包括韓式泡菜豬肉墨西哥烤餅、日式炸豬扒三文治及韓式燒牛肉墨西哥卷等。吃飽午餐後,我們精神奕奕地出發,展開半小時徒步前往Alki Beach海灘的行程,沿著兩旁滿佈海濱小屋的小徑行走,擦肩而過的都是來享受明媚陽光的遊人:有人慢跑、有人騎單車,也有人在玩滾軸溜冰。若你覺得此情此景有如身處南加州,也不足為奇,因為這裡還有沙灘排球、直立式滑浪板租賃店及棕櫚處處的景色。

但Bainbridge Island島的常綠山丘和嶙峋的海岸,卻是徹頭徹尾的太平洋西北岸景致。乘坐渡輪前往這個多姿多采的小島,需時35分鐘。這裡有Bainbridge Island Museum of Art藝術博物館,可在這裡欣賞當代本土藝術家的作品;你亦可在佔地 60公頃的Bloedel Reserve自然保護區內的森林和花園漫步;又或租一輛單車,前往Mora Iced Creamery享受以當地黑莓鮮製的雪糕。

有一年的8月,我在妹妹婚禮上當伴娘,趁著中間的空檔暢遊了Bainbridge一遍,然後返回市中心的Hotel Sorrento酒店,趕及在時尚的爐邊酒吧享用迎賓飲品。婚禮前的綵排晚宴在Margi姨姨家的後花園舉行,親友共聚一堂,氣氛溫馨親切,有位表親忽發奇想,說要從東岸搬到西雅圖來;另一位居於亞利桑拿的叔叔亦嚷著要在退休後多點來這裡小住。我們身處的Madison Park區綠意盎然,鄰近華盛頓湖一個公眾海灘和植物園,環境優美怡人,自然讓人想多加親近。

那次婚宴之行,有個早上可以自由活動,於是我到Ballard Locks水閘一行。這個工程浩大的水閘讓船隻和在交配季節遷徙的三文魚在鹹水的Puget Sound海灣和淡水的華盛頓湖和聯合湖之間暢行無阻。帝王或紅三文魚在夏季會游經這條水道,吸引大量遊人前來觀看。

Ballard Locks水閘範圍內還包括一個英式植物園,修剪得美輪美奐的植物跟附近野趣盎然的Discovery Park公園截然不同。後者由軍事設施改建而成,根據2011年的數字,是西雅圖佔地共2,595公頃的綠化地帶當中,面積最大的公園,內裡有野生樹林、滿佈浮木的沙灘和草地,步行小徑蜿蜒其中,更有歷史悠久的古蹟地標,包括一座維多利亞時代的燈塔及 Fort Lawton堡壘。根據紀錄,這裡有超過270種鳥類出沒,亦有海豹和海獅,偶爾更可見野狼的蹤影。

即使我是西雅圖常客,仍有好些地方是我不曾踏足的,包括Golden Gardens花園,它位於Puget Sound灣北端充滿藝術氣息的Ballard區內,還有在華盛頓湖區內形如豎起的大姆指的Seward Park公園。在天朗氣清的日子,你可以沿著四公里長的環迴徑漫步,不斷重複欣賞市中心全景,以及I-90浮橋、Mercer Island島和Mount Rainier山的壯麗景色。公園長滿老樹,包括冷杉、紅雪松和草莓樹,是美國鷹的棲息地。

我的朋友JD大約於一年前搬到西雅圖,Seward Park公園成為她逃避煩囂的世外桃源。當我請她推薦好去處時,她立時將哥倫比亞市內值得一遊的地方統統告訴我。這個位於西雅圖南部的恬靜小區未有遊客入侵,在JD眼中媲美布魯克林。她特別推薦La Medusa餐廳的西西里家常菜、Empire Espresso咖啡室的咖啡和周末窩夫吧、Lottie’s Lounge酒廊的手工雞尾酒和Royal Room餐廳酒廊的現場音樂演奏。

不久之前,這裡仍是個鄉下地方,最聞名的是讓外來人感到冷冰冰的「西雅圖寒風」。從JD的言談之間,我感到她已經對這個地方產生歸屬感,令我感到高興。也許這是西雅圖經濟蓬勃發展帶來的好處:變得溫暖的氣候令當地人和遊客同樣受惠。

國泰航空於2019年3月31日推出由香港飛往西雅圖的航線,每周有四班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Washington State

Seattle: Inside Out

LOTTE JEFFS visits the West Coast city for the first time, while insider KATE APPLETON heads for the outdoors

The outsider’s view : Lotte

normally associate trips to the US with the glamour of Los Angeles and New York. There it’s all power-dressing, firm handshakes, guest lists and complicated cocktails. These cities are exhaustingly ‘on’ and I’ll often leave feeling depleted.

So last time I was in LA, I decided to bookend a work trip with a four-night wind down in Seattle, where an off-duty, outdoorsy lifestyle and quirky counter-culture vibe would send me home energised for a change.

The city certainly delivered: stimulating as a venti Americano, which is no surprise given that it is, of course, the home of Starbucks. I stayed downtown at the Ace Hotel – warm and welcoming if somewhat no frills (I booked a room with an ensuite bathroom, though most have shared facilities). Dropping my five-star pretensions felt the right way to do Seattle, which is like New York’s bohemian East Village and LA’s hippie beach town Venice before Instagram turned these pockets of authenticity into Valencia-filtered pastiches of themselves. There’s a rawness and unpretentious edge that I found entirely convincing.

Left: Vincent Camacho/Unsplash

The Ace is a few blocks from Seattle’s landmark Pike Place Market, which runs adjacent to the water and offers some scenic vantage points over Elliot Bay. The country’s oldest farmers’ market is a great place for a quick meal, or to watch the Seattle tradition of fish throwing, where your fresh salmon is chucked from the ice to the fishmonger.

Such historic practices feel quaint compared to the city’s current status as a burgeoning technopolis, home to Microsoft, countless start-ups and Amazon’s sprawling downtown HQ complete with The Spheres – three plant-filled glass pods functioning as indoor gardens-cum-offices. Visitors can enjoy a guided tour of these offices, if you can call them that, which house more than 400 different species of cloud forest plants from all over the world.

Many tech billionaires, including Bill and Melinda Gates, live in nearby Medina which is connected to Seattle by bridge – their combined worth reaching into the tens of billions of dollars and their impact on the local economy felt throughout the city.

Seattle was originally a frontier town, settled in 1851 (though Native American tribes had lived there much longer) and it became the forefront of the lumber industry. The University of Washington describes the idea of a ‘frontier’ as ‘an edge between the known and the unknown, the settled and the wild… a frontier is where you are on your own, where the rules are not yet made.’ This frontier spirit certainly survives in the city, from the innovative Space Needle built for the 1962 World’s Fair to the establishment of the Boeing factory in 1966 and its pivotal role in the space race, through to today where the chilled out, legal pot-smoking vibe (Washington became the first US state to legalise recreational use of marijuana) belies frenetic advancements in tech.

Visit the clutch of Amazon Go shops where your groceries are automatically charged to your Amazon account – no cash desks needed – for a vision of the future of retail.

In 1869, a fire ravaged the city, burning much of it to the ground – the entire business district was destroyed and new infrastructure was built on top. As a result, there’s a great subterranean tour that leads you through entombed streets and shopfronts. I wonder if in another few hundred years, after an equivalently catastrophic digital crash, tourists will be taken through the abandoned Amazon office complex in the same way.

But it’s hard to be dystopian when Seattle is just so upbeat. Not in an annoying or fake Hollywood way though, but in a pinball and picklebacks at 4pm on a Thursday kind of way. The pinball museum is the most fun you can have – as an adult or child; try your thumbs at retro games like Buckaroo. And a pickleback, for the uninitiated, is a shot of whiskey and a shot of pickle brine. Delicious? Who cares!

Every other shop in Seattle seems to cater to a rugged, adventurous life. With Mount Rainer and the Cascades close by, skiing and hiking are how locals spend their weekends. The closest I got to nature was a cycle on a Lime electric bike (download the app and pick one up wherever you spot one – there are thousands) around Olympic Sculpture Park, downtown Seattle’s largest green space, which zigzags from the pavilion to the water’s edge. There’s even a tiny rocky beach.

Cameron Zegers

I didn’t have enough time to go fully off-grid and into the beautiful surrounding mountains. Instead I trekked up Capitol Hill, which was the area in which I felt most at home, with its chic, upmarket shops such as Totokaelo selling designer clothes and home accessories. I drank a beer from a mason jar – the universal symbol of hipsterism – and ate a ‘grain bowl’ (ditto) at Oddfellows cafe. I browsed Elliott Bay Book Company and had a coffee at the Neko cat cafe. Even here, you can’t forget you’re in counter-cultural Seattle: ice cream shops have window displays declaring themselves Safe Spaces – ‘all ethnicities, genders, sexualities and everyone in between are welcome’.

The city has benefited from this welcoming spirit and has been a melting pot of cultural and culinary influences, particularly from East Asia, since the 1860s, when the first immigrants arrived by steamship and rail. In Pike Place Market, Tenzing Momo is the West Coast’s oldest and largest herbal apothecary and perfumery. Seattle’s most spectacular Asian grocer, Uwajimaya, is a great place for gifts, fantastic packaged snacks or a quick meal. But it’s at the Wing Luke Museum where you get a real sense of the impact of the Asian American community, which includes martial arts actor Bruce Lee, who lived and studied here.

I can’t visit anywhere in the US without seeking out a retro diner. So before leaving I had a breakfast of veggie hash and eggs at The 5 Point Cafe. This Seattle institution is open 24 hours a day. As I drank coffee at 7:30am, alongside the techpreneurs tapping away on their laptops, the previous night’s revellers were still knocking back whisky on the other side of the bar. This rock’n’roll diner encapsulates the spirit of the city: quirky, stimulating, a little edgy and unexpected. A note on the menu reads: ‘We welcome all types of people including those in various states of inebriation, and with sometimes extremely different political, religious and social ideologies… we are sorry if you are offended but these are our people and we love them, so love them too or leave’. How very Seattle.

The insider’s view : Kate

Go west: that was the rallying cry of my childhood summers. For two glorious weeks, we’d trade New York’s concrete heat for the crisp air of my father’s native Washington state. At 10, I took my first solo flight to attend what we jokingly called ‘Camp Margi’, a stay at my aunt’s house in Seattle’s Madison Park, where I brushed up on swimming, sailing and all things outdoorsy with my cousins Jimmy and Chris.

Even now, whenever I land at Seattle’s airport, surrounded by towering firs and distant snowcapped Mount Rainier, I feel the tingle of adventure. Sure, it looks more like a true city these days – with an expanding light rail system, glass office towers and an influx of new residents lured by tech dollars. But amid the ensuing soul-searching, one thing remains uncontested: Seattle is a remarkably green place whose beaches, waterways and forests will bring out your inner nature lover.

A good place to start is the Center for Wooden Boats, a hands-on maritime museum on the docks of South Lake Union, not far from Amazon’s new campus. It offers rentals, workshops and free sailings on Sunday, a tradition going back 40 years. Volunteer skippers take groups of four to 15 out on antique vessels; show up by 10am to get a first come, first served timeslot on your preferred boat (steam, sail or electric).

A fleet of water taxis and the country’s most extensive ferry network make it easy to continue zipping around with a sea breeze in your hair. I caught the 10-minute ride across Elliott Bay to West Seattle with my husband and daughter. Instagrammers, take note: as it pulls away, the taxi leaves in its wake a skyline panorama, including a Ferris wheel, the 21st century’s improbable big-city status symbol.

We spilled out of the ferry and onto the dockside patio of Marination Ma Kai. The Hawaiian-Korean fusion spot, which began as a roving food truck, serves piquant combinations such as kimchi pork quesadillas, pork katsu sandwiches and kalbi beef tacos. Lunch fortified us for the 30-minute walk to Alki Beach along a bungalow-lined waterfront path that we shared with joggers, cyclists and rollerbladers enjoying the brilliant sunshine. If you think it sounds like a scene out of Southern California, you’re right – complete with beach volleyball, stand-up paddleboard rentals and palm trees.

Bainbridge Island, however, feels thoroughly Pacific Northwest, with its evergreen hills and rocky shorelines. It’s a 35-minute outing by ferry and entices with a mix of pursuits: get to know local talents at the contemporary Bainbridge Island of Art; stroll the forests and gardens of the 60-hectare Bloedel Reserve; rent a bike and then treat yourself to a scoop of Mora Iced Creamery’s blackberry flavour made from local berries.

I explored Bainbridge between bridesmaid duties for my sister’s wedding one August, making it back downtown in time for welcome drinks at Hotel Sorrento’s swanky fireside bar. The rehearsal dinner was an intimate evening reunited in Aunt Margi’s backyard garden: one cousin floated the idea of ditching the East Coast for Seattle while an uncle in Arizona shared plans to split his retirement there. It was easy to appreciate the appeal from our setting in the bucolic Madison Park area, close to a public beach on Lake Washington and an arboretum.

Another morning was spent at Ballard Locks, an engineering feat that allows ships – and migrating salmon – to move from the salty Puget Sound to the freshwater Washington and Union Lakes. Summer is the peak season to come face to face with chinook or sockeye salmon.

An English-style botanical garden is part of the Ballard Locks complex, and it makes a manicured contrast to the untamed woods, driftwood-strewn beaches and meadows of nearby Discovery Park. A former military installation, as of 2011 it’s the largest park within Seattle’s 2,595-hectare system – laced with trails and a few historic landmarks (a Victorian-era lighthouse and Fort Lawton). More than 270 bird species have been documented here, along with seals, sea lions and the occasional coyote.

Even with all my time in Seattle, there are still wild corners that I’ve yet to experience. Take Golden Gardens on the Puget Sound, in the north end of artsy Ballard. Or Seward Park, which juts into Lake Washington in the shape of a thumbs up. On a clear day, you can walk the four-kilometre loop and see practically forever: downtown, the I-90 floating bridge, Mercer Island and Mount Rainier. Bald eagles live within the park, thick with old-growth Douglas firs, red cedars and madrones.

Seward Park has become a beloved refuge for my friend JD, who moved to Seattle about a year ago. When I asked for recommendations, she rattled off favourites in Columbia City, an off-the-tourist-radar neighbourhood in south Seattle. She compared it to Brooklyn, raving about La Medusa’s Sicilian comfort food, Empire Espresso’s coffee and weekend waffle bar, the craft cocktails at Lottie’s Lounge and the Royal Room’s live music.

Not long ago, this was a provincial place, infamous for the ‘Seattle freeze’, as in the chilly reception that tended to greet outsiders. So I was heartened to sense that JD has already developed the opinionated loyalties that come with belonging. Maybe that’s the upside of Seattle’s boom – a warming of the climate that benefits locals and visitors alike.   

Cathay Pacific launches a four-times-weekly route to Seattle from Hong Kong on 31 March 2019