福州

福州慢活時代

福建省首府福州擁有豐富的歷史文化,正於悠閒的生活節奏和現代化之間尋找完美的平衡

沿著卵石小徑信步而行,會看到既有明朝美學又富時尚風格的茶館、新潮的咖啡店和清朝大宅。大街上,一個小販把焦糖拉成以龍為造型的波板糖,精湛手藝惹來路人駐足觀賞;而在安泰河河畔,一名紫色鬈髮的老婦則在拉奏手風琴。轉到另一條小巷,室內市集就在大門後,當地設計師在市集出售五花八門的時尚工藝品,教人眼花繚亂。

VCG

你可花上數天在這個縱橫交錯的寧靜小區漫步,探索福州文化歷史重鎮三坊七巷的美景和風土人情,不過可能只流於走馬看花。福州是中國東南沿海福建省的省會,這地方以往只有士大夫聚居,旅客詢問處的導遊Alice Gou表示:「三坊七巷過去數年來脫胎換骨,自從政府在2015年把這裡納入全國重點文物保護單位後,便投入大量人力物力保育與修建,令這個地方恍如重生。」

這個面積達40公頃的偌大區域始建於晉朝(265至420年),其格局於唐朝(618至907年)形成,西有三坊,東有七巷,但這裡巧妙的建築風格及高雅的生活格調到了明清時期(1368至1911年)才臻完美。中國精英階層命人在此興建金碧輝煌的別墅,當中設有廣闊庭園及觀戲樓台,是當時文武官員、文人雅士流連忘返之所。綜觀近代歷史,中國20世紀著作豐饒的作家冰心和現代中國首名女建築師林徽因也曾定居於此。

圖片:鄒訓楷

現在,三坊七巷貫通福州古今。遊客可追隨古代文人足跡悠然散步,訪尋氣派不凡的故居原貌。不過一棟棟老建築之間,卻夾雜了極為新派的建築,福州數一數二的現場音樂表演場地Makers Live便是其中之一,在此獻技的本地及國際非主流樂隊經常吸引大批樂迷到場。

不少名人選擇在名稱帶有吉祥之意的福州定居,自然不乏原因。這裡生活節奏閒適,文藝歷史悠久,參天榕樹夾道,若到鼓山之顛俯瞰,可把當地被群山環抱的壯麗美景盡收眼底,而火山溫泉亦是當地的著名景點。此外,福州的佳餚美饌數之不盡,最馳名的要數佛跳牆,把鮑魚、干貝、海參及花膠放入濃郁味美的上湯,以文武火輪流煨燉而成。若要品嚐這道菜式,可到據稱是正宗佛跳牆的發源地聚春園。出生於上海、跟丈夫及初生寶寶同遊此地的Clare Plauborg表示:「我已在此嘗過三次佛跳牆了。」

Zou Xunkai

福州的光芒一直被人煙稠密的姊妹城市廈門所掩蓋,不過心思縝密的旅客會發現福州悠然自得的生活節奏更見吸引。Plauborg表示:「我們希望遠離繁囂,而福州距離上海只有數小時火車程而已,因此決定尋找較少遊客到訪的景點時,便想到福州和霞浦。」霞浦縣位於福州以北,以景色醉人的灘塗而聞名,也是海帶和紫菜之鄉。

與此同時,福州正在迅速發展。市內首條地鐵綫去年才剛通車,而設有22個站的新線路亦將於明年啟用。在鼓樓區一帶,採用全鋼結構的架空步道福州城市森林步道全長6.3公里,延綿金牛山,巧若靈蛇,氣勢磅礡,宏偉摩登的建築特色與市內名勝如出一轍。這座宏偉的現代建築,正正標誌著福州的未來發展方向。

Arthur Tam

這裡的科技產業亦同樣發展得如日中天,吸引外來人才進駐當地,Wyatt Akin來自美國,現在於福州的手機遊戲公司IGG任職市場部專員,他說:「大家有所不知,其實福州是個手機遊戲科技樞紐。」他邊說邊帶我參觀他那滿有Google風格的辦公室,那裡設有游泳池、健身室及電影放映室。對了,公司老闆為了增添玩味,竟還買來多塊柏林圍牆遺下的磚塊擺放在大門外。

Zou Xunkai

Akin在福州接受這份優差之前,曾在香港和廈門工作多年,他表示:「福州人教育水平良好,人才濟濟,因此優秀的藝術家與科技專才輩出,在這裡工作的好處,是可以有充裕的公餘時間,無須花上太多時間通勤,而且這裡的物價較上海和北京為低,你可在此真正享受生活。」這句話放諸古今皆準。難怪當地人有云:去福州,有福氣。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往福州的航班,每周有14班

Fuzhou

Savouring the Good Life in Fuzhou

Rich in heritage and culture, the capital of Fujian province in southeastern China is finding the balance between its laid-back soul and modernity

Down a stone-paved lane, there are teahouses designed in a chic, Ming-dynasty aesthetic flanked by hip coffee shops and luxurious Qing-dynasty villas. A man attracts a crowd as he sculpts caramelised sugar into a dragon lollipop along the main road, while an elderly woman with purple, permed hair plays the accordion by the Antai River. Down another alleyway, a door opens up to an indoor market, where local designers sell their modern, fashionable crafts and wares.

Fuzhou
VCG

You can spend days meandering through this serene maze only to scrape the surface of the beauty and community that exist within Three Lanes and Seven Alleys (Sanfang Qixiang) – the cultural and heritage hub of Fuzhou, capital of Fujian province on China’s southeastern coast. The alleyways were once home to upper-class, influential figures, and today are seeing a new lease of life. ‘In the past few years, this area has changed dramatically,’ says Alice Gou, a guide from the tourist information centre. ‘After the government recognised it as an important heritage site in 2015, a lot of effort and money has been put into its preservation and restoration. It has been given a new life.’

The sprawling, 40-hectare district was first built during the Jin dynasty (265-420), then further developed in the Tang dynasty (618-907), when it was arranged in its layout with three lanes on the west side of the complex and seven alleys on the east side. But it wasn’t until the Ming and Qing dynasties (1368-1911) that Three Lanes and Seven Alleys reached the peak of architectural excellence and bourgeois lifestyle, when decadent villas were built with expansive courtyards and opera pavilions for China’s elite. The area attracted ancient sages, commanders, justices, poets and scholars. In more recent history, Bing Xin, one of the most prolific Chinese writers of the 20th century, and Phyllis Lin, known as the first female architect of modern China, lived here.

Zou Xunkai

Today, Three Lanes and Seven Alleys bridges both old and new Fuzhou. Visitors can leisurely walk in the footsteps of the literati and admire their handsome former homes, many in their original form. But amid the heritage buildings, you’ll find very modern establishments like Makers Live, one of Fuzhou’s best live music venues, which hosts domestic and international indie bands that usually draw huge crowds.

There are good reasons so many notable figures chose to settle in Fuzhou, also known as The Auspicious Settlement. The city is known for its laid-back vibes, intellectual history, streets lined with banyan trees, stunning mountainous landscapes as viewed from the top of Drum Hill (Gu Shan), volcanic hot springs and delicious cuisine, the most famous dish being ‘Buddha jumps over the wall’, a rich, double-boiled seafood broth generously filled with abalone, conpoy, sea cucumber and fish maw. You can savour it at Ju Chun Yuan Restaurant, where the dish is said to have originated. ‘I’ve already had it three times,’ says Shanghai native Clare Plauborg, who travelled here with her husband and newborn.

Fuzhou
Zou Xunkai

Fuzhou has long flown under the radar, eclipsed by its more glamorous neighbour Xiamen. But travellers who look a little farther are attracted to Fuzhou’s slow-paced charms. ‘We wanted to get away from the crowds,’ says Plauborg. ‘Fuzhou is just a few hours from Shanghai and when we were researching places to visit that were lesser known and less spoilt, Fuzhou and Xiapu both came up.’ Xiapu is a town just north of Fuzhou known for its picturesque mudflats, which have been converted to seaweed and kelp farms.

At the same time, Fuzhou is rapidly developing. The city’s first metro line opened just last year, with the second line scheduled to open in 2019 with 22 stations. In the Gulou District, an impressive elevated steel pedestrian walkway system called the Fu Forest Trail spans 6.3 kilometres and weaves through Jinniu Mountain like an aerial serpent. It’s an impressive, modern architectural feature that signals what’s to come for the city.

Fuzhou
Arthur Tam

Meanwhile, the tech industry is booming, attracting outside talent. ‘People don’t really know that Fuzhou is a tech hub for mobile gaming,’ says Wyatt Akin, a US expat who works as a marketing specialist for IGG gaming, as he gives me a tour of his Google-esque office, equipped with a pool, gym and movie room. Inexplicably, it also features slabs from the actual Berlin Wall placed outside the front door.

Fuzhou
Zou Xunkai

Akin had been working in Hong Kong and Xiamen for a few years before getting a generous offer to move to Fuzhou. ‘People in Fuzhou are very well-educated, so there is a strong labour pool, smart artists and programmers,’ Akin says. ‘And what’s great about working here is you can achieve work-life balance. It’s cheaper than Shanghai and Beijing, and you don’t have to spend all day commuting. You can live well here.’

This was true centuries ago and apparently now too. Maybe it’s true what they say about Fuzhou: when you come here, you’ll be blessed with good fortune. 

Cathay Dragon flies to Fuzhou from Hong Kong 14 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book