加德滿都

尼泊爾的野生遠征

要在尼泊爾鬱蔥的叢林一睹犀牛、老虎、野豹、野牛和野生大象五大巨無霸的雄姿,必須掌握箇中技巧

「你可以換上其他衣服嗎?」

清晨6時就被人質疑我的時裝品味,也未免太早了吧,我的導遊兼Barahi Jungle Lodge度假村自然學家Govinda Thanait馬上解釋說:「大部分動物雖然只能辨認數種顏色,但紅色和白色實在太顯眼了,牠們看到你時一定會拔腿跑掉,所以還是選穿自然色系的衣服較好。」長知識了,那唯有扔掉我的鮮紅色T恤吧。

我身處的哲雲皇家國家公園是尼泊爾12個國家公園之一,更可說是捕捉亞洲五大猛獸之一獨角犀牛身影的最佳地點,其餘四大猛獸:孟加拉虎、雲豹、野生大象和印度野牛亦經常在園內出沒。

在英國統治期間,很多獵人都愛到當地狩獵,導致區內的野生動物數量下跌。幸好情況自1960年代開始改變。當時由於區內成功杜絕瘧疾,令人口大幅上升,不少尼泊爾人和印度人移居至此,與當地原住民塔魯族毗鄰而居。那時候犀牛數量只餘95頭,其他野生動物的情況也不遑多讓,情況告急。

為保護當地的生態,政府採取雷厲風行的措施,首先宣布將當地劃為保育區,再把居民遷離園區,並聘請巡警制止偷獵行為。新政策為園外的村鎮造就不少商機:時至今日,公園兩個主要入口蘇拉哈和梅華里的酒店和度假屋林立,不但歡迎旅客入園歷險,它們還專注履行保護國家公園生態環境的道德和責任。

Barahi Jungle Lodge度假村位於梅華里,幅員超過12公頃,其度假小屋全部沿拉布蒂河而建,與國家公園名副其實只相隔幾步之遙。度假屋特別採用本地竹枝和可持續發展的木材建造,與四周的森林融為一體。

營運經理Subash Gurung表示:「我們的度假村獲得環保認證,致力推動本土發展。我們積極為本地社區創造就業機會,這裡的九成員工均為鄰近村鎮的居民,藉此改善本地民生。我們更教育他們保育森林,這樣有助推廣區內旅遊業,畢竟旅遊業現在已成為尼泊爾的主要收入來源之一。」

David Cayless / Photodisc / Getty Images

旅客遊歷哲雲皇家國家公園的體驗會因應到訪的季節而有所不同。在雨季來臨的夏天,河畔和娑羅樹森林均長滿高達兩米的綠草,放眼盡是一片綠油油的景致,最適合取景拍照。春季則是動物求偶期,在這個時候到訪,能看到最多野生動物。國家公園內還有各式各樣的活動讓旅客選擇,最舒適當然是先乘坐吉普車,在短時間內遊覽大部分地區。然而野生動物觀賞團最精采之處,是在兩位拿著手杖的導遊陪同下,拿著雙筒望遠鏡在森林徒步探險。我更從中學到當野生動物走近甚至試圖襲擊時,該作出什麼正確反應。

我們在茂密的草叢中向前行時,Govinda用輕鬆愉快的語調告訴我:「如果遇到熊,最重要是令自己看起來魁梧一點,而且盡你所能發出巨響,試圖嚇走牠們。假如有犀牛向你衝過來,牠們的動作不及人類敏捷,你因此可以嘗試馬上躲到大樹後。至於遇上老虎,一定要牢牢盯著牠們,並慢慢往後退,因為只要你一轉身背對著牠們,就會成為俎上肉。幸好牠們主要在晚間出沒,甚少在日間覓食,不過要是牠們真的在日間出現,通常就會蟄伏在這些長草中,伺機猛撲過來。」這番話真讓人「安心」!

iStockphoto / Getty Images

假如徒步旅程略嫌驚險,可以選擇騎大象遊園。過去數年,不少旅客意識到用作招待遊客的大象受到不人道對待,但哲雲皇家國家公園的大象不但享有優渥的待遇,甚至被當作神明來崇拜(大象正是印度教其中一位神明Ganesha)。

公園近期在動物保護方面也有良好的記錄:偷獵事件自2011年以來寥寥可數,與非洲國家令人沮喪的偷獵情況相比,確實為一個重大的成就。

去年,哲雲皇家國家公園的犀牛數量已逐漸回升至600頭左右。在破曉時分遊拉布蒂河,除了可看到多頭大犀牛帶著小犀牛沐浴或喝水外,甚至還可以一睹只吃魚類、現為瀕危物種的恆河鱷真身。當我們的小艇駛近一頭犀牛時,我頓時感覺自己像冒失的不速之客。我與牠四目交投,就在電光火石間,牠驀地從河水中抽身上岸,在我眼前解手,以宣示牠在這裡的主權。此情此景,那股氣勢(還有氣味),讓我畢生難忘。

孟加拉虎同樣獲得眷顧,尼泊爾的孟加拉虎數目在過去十年穩步回升。除了本地人外,國際組織亦不遺餘力地保育當地野生動物。荷李活巨星Leonardo DiCaprio是保育老虎的先鋒,他所成立的同名基金會是野生動物保育組織,致力保育老虎,目標是將當地的孟加拉虎數量,由今天大概200頭,在2020年增加至400頭。

Wildnerdpix / iStockphoto / Getty Images

不過要在尼泊爾的國家公園一睹老虎的雄姿,始終需要一點運氣。Govinda說:「要看到獵豹較容易,因為牠們日常愛在樹上休息,反而老虎可以隨處安睡,因此難以偵測牠們的行蹤。加上老虎是夜行動物,而國家公園在晚間禁止遊客進入,這樣就更難看到牠們了。這裡亦不准舉辦晚間導賞團,這是為了防範偷獵者假裝成旅客,摸黑進來狩獵動物;我們不欲冒上這種風險。」

未能一睹老虎的風采有否失望?也許有一點吧,不過我在旅程中有幸捕捉到其他野生動物的蹤影,例如野豬、不同品種的鹿、猴子和巨蜥。此外,公園內還棲息著超過564種雀鳥,是觀鳥的絕佳地方。

尼泊爾的確是個充滿驚喜的國家。我在度假村就巧遇了當地電影巨星兼前尼泊爾小姐Shristi Shrestha,她正好到這裡拍攝音樂錄像。她站在充滿大自然奇蹟的國家公園前,渾身散發自豪的光采,向我細說尼泊爾人的善良和熱情:「我們的國家不是很富裕,但我們知足常樂。能擁有這些自然瑰寶,可見尼泊爾是個得天獨厚的國家。」

需要專人替你安排行程?

Jacada Travel是屢獲殊榮的高級旅行社,專門為旅客設計稱心體驗和環保旅程。公司的市場部總監何偉菱說:「我們積極投資發展能支持當地社群和保育工作的優質旅程。此外,我們全力防止旅客造訪會對野生動物構成傷害的設施,所有與我們合作的導遊和度假屋都經精心挑選,確保我們安排的旅程不但能為當地社群來帶正面影響,同時為旅客締造珍貴回憶。」Jacada Travel在香港、倫敦、開普頓及聖地牙哥均設有辦事處,詳情請瀏覽 jacadatravel.com

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往加德滿都的航班,每周有五班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Kathmandu

Safari in Nepal: Chitwan National Park’s rise from hunting ground to wildlife sanctuary

Rhinos, tigers, leopards, bison and wild elephants roam the lush jungles of Nepal. You just have to know how to find them

‘Do you have something else you can wear?’

It is 6am, slightly too early to be judged on my fashion sense. But Govinda Thanait, my guide and a naturalist of the Barahi Jungle Lodge, explains, ‘Most of the animals can’t see very many colours, but red and white really stand out to them, so they’ll see you and run away. It’s best to stick with neutral colours.’ Fair enough. My red T-shirt would need to be discarded.

I’m at the Chitwan National Park, one of 12 national parks in Nepal and arguably the best place to spot one-horned rhinos, with frequent sightings also of Bengal tigers, clouded leopards, wild elephants and gaur (Indian bison). These are Asia’s Big Five.

During British rule, the park was a hotspot for hunters, resulting in a decline in the number of wild animals. But things changed in the 1960s, when the area’s population started to grow dramatically thanks to the eradication of malaria. People from across Nepal and India soon settled here, alongside the indigenous Tharu communities. At that point, the rhino count was down to only 95, and the rest of the wildlife didn’t fare much better.

The government took drastic measures, declaring it a reserve, moving residents out of the park and hiring patrol teams to stop poaching. And communities on the fringes of the national park saw opportunity: nowadays there are countless hotels and lodges near the park’s two main entrances, Sauraha and Meghauli. Many of them focus on ethical and responsible practices that support the park’s protection.

Barahi Jungle Lodge, Nepal

‘Our eco-certified lodge aims to promote locality,’ says Subash Gurung, operation manager at Barahi Jungle Lodge, a property spread over 12 hectares at Meghauli. The lodge is located right on the banks of the Rapti River, literally a stone’s throw from the national park, and its use of local bamboo and sustainable wood in its architecture helps it blend seamlessly with the jungle. ‘Ninety percent of our staff is from the surrounding villages; therefore we actively generate jobs in the community and improve their way of living. We also teach the locals to conserve our forests, as by doing so we can promote tourism in the area, which is one of the main sources of income in Nepal.’

Forest, Chitwan National Park, Nepal
David Cayless / Photodisc / Getty Images

Chitwan National Park offers contrasting experiences depending on when you travel. During the summer monsoon season, you get sweeping views of verdant green, with grass growing up to two metres on the riverbanks and the Sal Forest, providing lush photo ops. But spring brings out the animals, as it’s mating season. There are plenty of activities to choose from, but it’s best to start with a jeep tour, which covers a vast area in a short time. The real fun begins when you start trekking in the jungle. Armed with only binoculars and accompanied by two guides with walking sticks, I get the low down on how to behave when approached – or charged – by animals.

‘When you encounter a bear, it’s important to make yourself appear larger and be as noisy as possible, to try to scare it away,’ Govinda says happily, while trekking through dense grass. ‘As for rhinos, when they charge at you, try to duck behind a large tree quickly as they’re not as mobile as humans. With tigers, it’s essential you lock eyes with them and slowly back away. Turn your back against them and you’re lunch. Luckily they’re mostly nocturnal, so they rarely attack during daytime; although if they do, they’ll be hiding in tall grass like this and pounce.’ Such comforting words.

Wild common Leopard in Nepali's jungle
iStockphoto / Getty Images

If trekking on foot is too much to handle, an elephant safari can be requested as well. Over the past few years, travellers have become more aware of the mistreatment of elephants used for tourism. But in Chitwan they’re treated exceptionally well and even revered as gods (the Hindu god Ganesha is an elephant).

The park has also had a good recent track record in terms of animal protection: incidents of poaching have been few and far between since 2011, reflecting a significant success, especially when compared with the dismaying poaching numbers in African countries.

Chitwan National Park, Nepal

As of last year, the number of rhinos in Chitwan National Park has grown to about 600. Take the river cruise down the Rapti at dawn and you’ll witness many rhinos bathing and drinking water with their young, along with the also critically endangered gharial, a type of crocodile that only feeds on fish. I felt like I was intruding when the boat got a little too close to a rhino for my comfort. A staring contest ensued, and before I knew it, it hauled itself out of the river and proceeded to mark its territory right in front of me. It was a majestic sight (and smell) to behold.

Bengal tigers have been getting a lot of love, too, with their population in Nepal growing steadily in the past decade. Apart from local efforts, international groups have helped greatly. The Leonardo DiCaprio Foundation, a wildlife conservation group founded by the star and vocal advocate of tiger protection, aims to help the big cat’s population reach 400 by 2020, from about 200 today.

Nepal
Wildnerdpix / iStockphoto / Getty Images

Yet at most national parks in Nepal, you have to be really lucky to set your eyes on tigers. ‘While leopards are easier to spot as they sleep on trees during the day, tigers are more unpredictable as they snooze anywhere they like. Therefore it’s definitely harder to track them,’ says Govinda. ‘Their being nocturnal also increases the difficulty, as the national park closes at night. Night tours are banned here, as we do not want to risk letting in poachers disguised as tourists under darkness.’

Was I disappointed about not spotting tigers? Maybe, but I did get a good look at many of the park’s other residents such as wild boar, various types of deer, monkeys and monitor lizards. Birdwatching is also a huge draw: the park is home to at least 564 species.

Chitwan National Park, Nepal

Indeed, Nepal is full of surprises. At the lodge, I run into Shristi Shrestha, a movie star and former Miss Nepal who was there shooting a music video. She beams with pride, telling me how kind and energetic Nepal’s people are. ‘Even though we are not economically strong, we are content,’ she says, standing amid the natural marvels just beside us. ‘We’re a very blessed country to have all this at our doorstep.’   ‭ ‬

Need help organising your trip?

Jacada Travel is an award-winning luxury tour operator that specialises in bespoke experiences and responsible travel. ‘We strive to invest in high-quality trips that support local communities and conservation efforts,’ says Celina Ho, Jacada’s head of marketing and partnership. ‘We also actively discourage people from visiting establishments that could be detrimental to wildlife; therefore we hand-pick our guides and lodges to ensure we bring a positive impact to the communities, while creating precious memories for the travellers.’ The company has offices in Hong Kong, London, Cape Town and Santiago. Visit jacadatravel.com

Cathay Dragon flies to Kathmandu from Hong Kong five times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book