國泰航空

廢物變燃油:國泰航空致力發展可持續燃料

國泰航空帶領同業物色可用的生物燃料

據估計,航空業的二氧化碳排放量佔全球總排放量的百分之二至四,業界現正積極應對,以緩和對全球暖化所造成的壓力。

國泰航空聯同全球大部分同業已經參加了條件嚴格的減排計劃,目標包括由2020年起落實碳排放上限,日後更將二氧化碳淨排放量大幅降至2005年水平的一半。要達到這一目標已不容易,加上航空旅行業不斷增長,令難度倍增。事實上,去年業界組織國際航空運輸協會調整了對未來20年航空客運量的預測,推斷至2035年,乘客總數將增加一倍。

有什麼方法可以將不可能的任務變成可能?隨著航空科技進步,取代退役客機的新一代客機可節省達百分之15至25的燃油。國泰航空生物燃料及排放交易經理周于權解釋道:「自1998年起,我們的耗油量按單位計減少了兩成半,主要靠引入新航機和在某些運作上作出改善措施。」

這些指施包括增加空中巴士A350客機的數目,以及當飛機在地面上於跑道至機場航運站滑行時,只開動一邊引擎。

不過周于權亦坦承,要收窄客運增長和碳減排之間日益增大的差距,「不能單靠航空科技」。其他方法包括碳交易,即企業從市場上購買碳信用 — — 基本上是投資社區和碳減排項目,以及購買從甘蔗等有機物中提煉出來的可持續航空燃料,取代傳統化石燃料。

Biofuel, Cathay Pacific, sustainability

國泰航空是其中一家率先投資於發展可持續航空燃料技術的航空公司,而非只是購買生物燃料。公司已決定於2020年起,分十年向美國公司Fulcrum BioEnergy購入110萬噸可持續航空燃料,數量足以應付目前百分之二的營運所需。該公司研發出以家居廢物轉化為燃料的方法,今年5月在內華達州雷諾市30公里以外的Sierra廠房,動工興建其首家生物燃料提煉廠。

原料中心現已落成,日後將處理原本運往堆填區的都市和家居廢物,從當中的有機物質中收集碳和氫氣,再轉化成經認證的航空級燃油和柴油,其碳含量將比化石燃料低八成。

工廠會將無法轉化成燃料的無機廢物分隔,連同可循環再造的金屬和塑料賣給回收商。

餘下的原料將經高壓蒸汽處理,造成一種帶有氫氣、一氧化碳和二氧化碳分子的合成氣體,再通過費托合成提煉過程,提煉成合成原油。這種合成原油會進一步被精煉成航空燃油及柴油,剩下較濃稠的沉積物則適合用作船隻燃料。有別於化石燃料,以上幾種生物燃料均不含硫和只含少量金屬。

廠房將於2020年正式運作和投入生產,屆時每年可處理175,000噸廢物,從中生產出30,000噸燃料。在燃料提煉廠工地動土儀式上,Fulcrum創辦人之一Jim Macias致辭時說:「這座廠房將改變廢物處理的方式,並對全球航空運輸的碳排放帶來改變。」

Biofuel, Cathay Pacific, sustainability

假如你認為對一家擁有200架客機的航空公司來說,百分之二似乎只是九牛一毛的話,不妨再想深一層:航空業界已經嚴以律己,不能在現已用作種植糧食的農地上種植替代燃料的原材料或破壞環境。此外,正如國泰航空美洲高級副總裁Philippe Lacamp指出,可持續航空燃料的成本往往高於傳統燃油,而應用新科技的成本尤其高昂。

他說:「Fulcrum是目前世界上一家極有作為的『轉廢為能』科技公司,賣點在於能將家居廢物轉化成航機用燃料,而廢物是不會耗盡的。以廢物為原料,意味著我們每用一加侖燃油將可減少八成碳足印。目前的挑戰是將科技變成可大規模生產的商業用途,故此國泰航空在研發初期的投資舉足輕重,而興建廠房更是踏出重大的一步。」

周于權補充說:「我們將生物燃料視為長遠的投資,而隨著產量增加,預期成本亦將會隨時間而下降,從而讓我們在減低整體碳排放方面有更多選擇。」

Biofuel, Cathay Pacific, aviation, sustainability

Fulcrum目前計劃在歐美等地進一步興建廠房,擴展營運規模勢將令價格下降,為碳減排作出更大貢獻。Lacamp補充說:「國泰航空是行內的龍頭,因此作出這項投資,同時感謝各位股東的大力支持,我們方才可以考慮長遠的發展。」

「我們樂於承擔責任,為減少航空業污染環境的一大源頭而努力。透過協助Fulcrum發展,我們期望能對航空界製造的碳足印產生實際影響,為大家提供更潔淨和低碳排放的燃料。此舉惠己利人,對公司和公司所服務的社群都帶來裨益。」

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

Rubbish in, fuel out: Cathay Pacific commits to sustainable fuel

Cathay Pacific is spearheading the airline industry’s search for a viable biofuel

It’s estimated that aviation is responsible for about two to four per cent of global CO2 emissions. Now the industry is responding to the pressure to mitigate its contribution to global warming.

Cathay Pacific, with most of the world’s airlines, has signed up to very tough carbon reduction plans. These include a cap on CO2 emissions from 2020, and a reduction of 50 per cent in net emissions against 2005 levels. That’s challenging in its own right, but more so given air travel is set to grow. Last year, industry association IATA revised its 20-year forecast to predict a doubling of passenger numbers by 2035.

So what can be done? For one thing, new-generation aircraft can offer 15-25 per cent fuel savings against the aircraft they replace, as Cathay Pacific biofuels and emissions and trading manager Yee Chow explains: ‘We have reduced fuel use on a unit basis by 25 per cent since 1998 – mainly through the introduction of new aircraft and some operational improvements.’

These include the growing Airbus A350 fleet, and single-engine taxiing – that is, not using both engines on the ground between the runway and terminal.

But Chow concedes that the widening gap between growth and a reduction in emissions ‘cannot be closed by aircraft technology alone’. Among the other options are carbon trading, which is when companies buy carbon credits on the open market – essentially investments in community and carbon reduction projects – and sustainable aviation fuel (SAF). These alternatives to fossil fuels are derived from organic matter such as sugar cane.

Cathay Pacific, biofuel, aviation

Cathay Pacific is one of the first airlines to invest in the technology behind SAFs, rather than simply buying batches of biofuel. It has committed to buying 1.1 million tonnes of SAF over 10 years – enough for about two per cent of Cathay Pacific’s current operations – from 2020 from US-based Fulcrum BioEnergy, which will create fuel from household waste. In May, Fulcrum BioEnergy broke ground on its first biorefinery at its Sierra plant, 30 kilometres outside Reno, Nevada.

The feedstock centre, which has already been built, will process municipal and household waste otherwise bound for landfill, harvesting carbon and hydrogen from the organic portion to be converted into certified jet and diesel fuel, with a carbon content 80 per cent lower than fossil fuels.

Inorganic waste which can’t be converted to fuel is separated, along with recyclable metals and plastics, and sold on.

The remaining feedstock is then put into contact with high pressure steam to create a ‘syngas’ made up molecules of hydrogen, carbon monoxide and CO2. This gas is then refined into a liquid fuel using the Fischer-Tropsch process. The resulting syncrude can then be further refined into jet fuel, diesel and a thicker residue suitable for fuelling ships. Unlike fossil fuels, these are sulphur-free and contain very few metals.

When the facility is up and running in 2020, it will be able to convert 175,000 tonnes of waste into 30,000 tonnes of fuel each year. Speaking at the ground-breaking ceremony for the refinery, Jim Macias, Fulcrum co-founder, said: ‘This plant is going to change the way rubbish is disposed of and change the emissions of air transportation globally.’

Cathay Pacific, biofuel, aviation

And if two per cent doesn’t sound much for an airline group with 200 aircraft, consider this: among the stringent requirements aviation has set itself, alternative feedstocks for fuels may not take the place of established food crops on existing land, nor harm the environment. Additionally, the cost of SAFs tends to be greater than conventional fuel, and especially in the case of new technology, as Cathay Pacific senior vice-president Americas Philippe Lacamp explains.

‘Fulcrum is one of the most promising waste-to-fuel technologies in the world today,’ he says. ‘The attraction is that it makes jet fuel out of household rubbish, which is something we are unlikely to run out of. Using this as a feedstock means that our carbon footprint is reduced by 80 per cent for every gallon we use. The challenge now is to get technology to a commercial scale and that is why Cathay Pacific’s early support has been so important and why it is such a big step to have construction of the plant.’

Chow adds: ‘We see biofuel as a long-term play so the cost is expected to come down over time as production increases and it will allow us to have additional options in reducing our overall carbon exposure.’

Cathay Pacific, biofuel

Fulcrum has plans for further plants in the US and Europe, and the scaling up of operations will lower the price – and do more to reduce emissions. Lacamp adds: ‘Cathay Pacific made this investment because we are industry leaders and thanks to our very supportive shareholders, we are able to think long term.

‘We take our responsibility for reducing one of the major environmental impacts of aviation seriously. We look forward to helping Fulcrum make a real impact on the airline industry’s carbon footprint and provide us with cleaner burning, lower-emission fuels. That’s good for us and good for the communities in which we operate.’

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book