藝術和文化

王室遊蹤: 沾染英國王室的氣息

即使你並未獲邀出席哈里王子與梅根馬可於本月舉行的大婚典禮,不要緊,讓ELEANOR O’KANE告訴你何處可以沾染一點英國王室的尊貴氣息

英國王室經常出沒的地區沿著一條經過倫敦希斯路機場的高速公路伸延,由西倫敦直至告羅士打郡。

肯辛頓與切爾西皇家自治市位於西倫敦,既有Harrods這種豪華百貨店,也有多家時尚餐廳和會所(Mahiki新店剛在這裡開幕,這間夜店兼酒吧因哈里王子鍾情店裡以百寶箱盛載的雞尾酒而聲名大噪),以及格調優雅的大街,向來深受英國王室成員喜愛,不時會見到他們的蹤影。

經過西倫敦櫛比鱗次的排屋,就來到位於倫敦邊緣的王家伯克郡。這裡是溫莎城堡及雅士谷賽馬場的所在地,馬場每年6月都會舉行一連五日的王家雅士谷賽馬日。繼續向西行至告羅士打郡,鄉郊氣息亦愈趨濃厚,這裡是王室騎馬、打獵和打馬球的勝地。

倫敦市The Goring酒店

GIUGLIO Gil / AFP

這間位於貝爾格萊維亞區的高雅酒店與白金漢宮相距咫尺,數十年來一直受到王室成員的青睞。劍橋公爵夫人下嫁威廉王子前,就在洋溢裝飾藝術風格的豪華王家套房內,度過平民身份的最後一夜。當晚,白金漢宮的慶祝活動結束後,意猶未盡的賓客前來酒店,繼續大開餘興派對。想享受王者氣派的體驗,不妨在這裡享用下午茶,或一嚐著名的Eggs Drumkilbo,這款以龍蝦和蛋製作的菜式,是已故王太后的至愛。thegoring.com

倫敦市Bunga Bunga餐廳

Amer Ghazzal / Alamy / Argusphoto

在這間裝潢花俏的餐廳/夜店/海灘式酒吧中,你可以品嚐意大利薄餅、大唱卡拉OK和捕捉名人的身影。哈里王子、比亞特麗斯郡主、尤金妮郡主,以至曾經跟餐廳老闆Charlie Gilkes約會的劍橋公爵夫人妹妹Pippa Middleton,都是這裡的忠實擁躉。只要熟習了BungaBunga舞(請參考菜牌上的簡易圖解),便可在這座樓高三層、充滿玩味的意大利主題餐廳內大搖大擺,通行無阻,說不定還可欣賞到模仿貓王及變裝皇后的表演。bungabunga-london.com

倫敦市肯辛頓宮

London. Aerial view of Kensington Palace
Jason Hawkes / Getty Images

這座建於17世紀詹姆士時代的行宮,坐落於海德公園旁邊,幾百年來成為多對王室伉儷新婚後定居的宅邸,亦是威廉王子及哈里王子童年時的家園。而劍橋公爵及公爵夫人曾經居住的諾丁漢別墅,將成為哈里王子和梅根正式開展婚姻生活的地方。不妨前往宮內的King’s State Apartments參觀,體驗富麗堂皇的宮廷生活。如果你是時裝達人,那就不可錯過展出多件經典戴妃服飾的《Diana:HerFashionStory》展覽。hrp.org.uk/kensington-palace

伯克郡溫莎城堡

溫莎城堡是女王伊利沙伯二世度周末的行宮,亦是世上最古老的城堡,自征服者威廉於11世紀興建以來,已經歷過39代王朝。這裡吸引最多人前來參觀的,是一座於1920年代為瑪麗王后設計的玩偶屋,屋裡佈滿以1:12的比例製作的珍品,巧奪天工,令人歎為觀止。5月19日,全球目光將投放於哈里王子舉行婚禮的聖喬治教堂,這座教堂是英國的哥德式建築傑作,也是十位英國君主,包括亨利八世的長眠之所,極具歷史意義。royalcollection.org.uk/visit/windsorcastle

告羅士打郡Highgrove花園

Chris Jackson / AFP

花園位於告羅士打郡一幢喬治亞風格的莊園內,查理斯王子花了30多年時間,運用自維多利亞時代流傳下來的技術及英式園藝傳統,將這個花園修葺得美輪美奐。遊客可參加專家導賞的花園導賞團,於靜謐的環境中細賞美景。遊園後,可到附設的商店內選購Highgrove花園出產的氈酒,以及由查理斯王子飼養的蜜蜂所釀造的蜂蜜。highgrovegardens.com

告羅士打郡Gatcombe公園

Adrian Sherratt / Alamy / Argusphoto

王室跟馬匹的關係,就像英國的夏季總少不了一壺Pimm’s雞尾酒一樣。安妮長公主和女兒莎拉菲臘斯都是馬術高手,你可以在她們的鄉村別墅欣賞享負盛名的夏日馬術盛會:英國馬術三項賽。參與賽事的全是頂尖騎師及馬匹,在盛裝舞步賽、場地障礙賽及越野賽中一較高下。記得穿上花呢外套及綠色長筒防水靴,與一眾名流士紳一起觀賽。festivalofbritisheventing.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Royal London: Best spots for a regal experience

If you haven’t been invited to Prince Harry and Meghan Markle’s wedding this month, ELEANOR O’KANE reveals where to get your British blue blood fix

England’s royal lands stretch from West London to Gloucestershire, along a motorway that runs past London’s main airport, Heathrow.

In West London, the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea has always been a favourite of Britain’s most famous family, thanks to its posh shopping (Harrods), chic restaurants and clubs (including an outpost of Mahiki, once famous for serving a treasure chest cocktail that Prince Harry was partial to) and elegant streets.

Further from the tight terraced houses of West London is the Royal County of Berkshire on the fringes on the city, home to Windsor Castle and Ascot Racecourse, which hosts Royal Ascot over five days in June. The royal lands get more rural still when you continue west to Gloucestershire, with its regal links to horses, hunting and polo.

The Goring, London

Royal-Wedding-2
GIUGLIO Gil / AFP

This posh Belgravia hotel around the corner from Buckingham Palace has been a favourite with the royals for decades. The Duchess of Cambridge spent her last night as a commoner in the sumptuous art deco Royal Suite before marrying William. Many of the die-hard revellers piled back to the hotel for an after-party when celebrations at Buckingham Palace came to a close. For a more regal experience, visit for afternoon tea or try the famous Eggs Drumkilbo, a concoction of lobster and eggs once favoured by the Queen Mother. thegoring.com

Bunga Bunga, London

Battersea London,UK. 6th June 2016. The owners of Bunga Bunga an Italian themed bar in Battersea London have painted the building exterior with a bold red, white and green colour scheme the national colours of Italy for the 2016 European championship to
Amer Ghazzal / Alamy / Argusphoto

Go for the pizzas and karaoke, stay for the celebrity spotting at this kitsch restaurant/nightclub/beach bar. Harry and Princesses Beatrice and Eugenie are big fans; as is the Duchess of Cambridge’s sister, Pippa Middleton, who used to date owner Charlie Gilkes. Once you master the Bunga Bunga dance (check the menu for a simple diagram) sashay your way across all three storeys of this Italian-themed funhouse, where you’re as likely to be entertained by an Elvis impersonator as a drag queen. bungabunga-london.com

Kensington Palace, London

London. Aerial view of Kensington Palace
Jason Hawkes / Getty Images

This 17th century Jacobean retreat on the fringes of Hyde Park has lodged many a newly married royal couple in luxury over the centuries – it was also William and Harry’s childhood home. Nottingham Cottage, the former home of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, is where newlyweds Harry and Meghan will officially begin married life. Take a tour of the King’s State Apartments to experience the courtly lifestyle in all its eye-popping glory. If you’re a dedicated follower of fashion, don’t miss Diana: Her Fashion Story, a dazzling exhibition of the late princess’s most iconic garments. hrp.org.uk/kensington-palace

Windsor Castle, Berkshire

royal wedding

The Queen’s weekend retreat and the oldest castle in the world, Windsor has housed 39 monarchs since it was built by William the Conqueror in the 11th century. One of the biggest draws for visitors is the Dolls’ House, a miniature marvel designed in the 1920s for Queen Mary and filled with exquisite pieces crafted on a scale of 1:12. On 19 May, all eyes will be on St George’s Chapel for Harry and Meghan’s big day. The gothic masterpiece is also the final resting place for 10 kings of England, including Henry VIII. royalcollection.org.uk/visit/windsorcastle

Highgrove, Gloucestershire

The Prince Of Wales Launches The Coronation Meadows Initiative
Chris Jackson / AFP

For more than 30 years, Prince Charles has been transforming the gardens of this Georgian estate in Gloucestershire, taking inspiration from Victorian techniques and English horticultural heritage. Drink in the tranquillity on a garden tour with an expert guide and stock up on bottles of Highgrove gin and jars of honey produced by the prince’s very own bees. highgrovegardens.com

Gatcombe Park, Gloucestershire

GATCOMBE PARK THE COUNTRY HOME OF PRINCESS ANNE THE PRINCESS ROYAL NEAR MINCHINHAMPTON GLOUCESTERSHIRE UK. Image shot 1999. Exact date unknown.
Adrian Sherratt / Alamy / Argusphoto

The royal family and horses go together like an English summer day and a jug of Pimm’s. Anne, the Princess Royal, and her daughter Zara Phillips are skilled riders and at their shared country estate you can watch one of the summer’s most prestigious equestrian events. At the Festival of British Eventing, top riders and horses compete in dressage, show jumping and cross-country, so grab your tweed and a pair of green wellies to join the well-heeled crowds.  festivalofbritisheventing.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book