商務旅行

新核心地段: 印度加爾各答New Town

探討加爾各答的市郊如何成為印度的嶄新頂級商業區

加爾各答是印度東部最大的城市,亦是區內的商業樞紐,而位於市郊的新市鎮New Town則是近年冒起的商業區。除了傳統的核心商業區,加爾各答還有發展完善的科技樞紐Sector Five,而原為紓緩加爾各答其他地區的交通問題而興建的New Town,則逐漸發展為第二個科技中心,以應付對空間的需求。IBM和惠普等大型科技公司現時均在New Town設有分部。

該區還預留了金融和法律機構的專用空間,成為印度首個透過「新市鎮仲裁和金融樞紐」形式提供相關服務的商業區。這個尚待發展的區域佔地超過40公頃,至今已獲超過22家本地銀行斥資購地,亦計劃興建一所區域商業法院,屆時將吸引法律界專才進駐,處理商業仲裁事務。
New Town目前有多個興建中的綜合住宅大樓項目和設有保安圍欄的高級社區。此外,University of Engineering & Management工程及管理大學等多間印度大學最近也在當地設立分校,而威士汀及諾富特等酒店已在此為商務旅客服務。

新市鎮的發展空間充裕。根據仲量聯行於去年發表的一份報告,區內仍有三分之一的物業單位空置,因此與國內其他地方相比,該區的商住物業售價仍是數一數二廉宜。

Uniworld City

這項大型綜合住宅項目現時仍在施工,並計劃成為區內另一個外圍設有保安圍欄的高級市郊住宅區。

Biswa Bangla 會議中心

快將竣工的會議中心,配備設有3,000座位的會議廳,將成為舉行大型活動的主要場地。

科技園

此園區配備最先進的辦公設施,吸引了沃達豐等公司進駐。其綜合大樓雲集商店、餐廳和娛樂場所,並毗鄰諾富特加爾各達酒店和公寓。

環保園

這座公園幅員遼闊,設有多個主題區域,包括Tropical Tree Garden熱帶園林和Artist’s Cottage藝術家小屋等,公園中央更有湖泊和小島,吸引遊人到訪。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Serious business

A rising business hub in India: New Town, Kolkata

JUSTIN HEIFETZ reports on how a district on the outskirts of Kolkata has gained a reputation as India's leading business hub

New Town is an emerging business district on the outskirts of Kolkata, the commercial hub and largest city of eastern India. While Kolkata has its traditional CBD, it also has an established IT hub called Sector Five. New Town, built mostly to alleviate traffic congestion in other parts of Kolkata, is slowly becoming a second IT centre, offering much needed space. Major technology companies like IBM and Hewlett-Packard are now operating out of New Town.

The area is also India’s first-ever business district that has space dedicated solely to financial and legal services, in the form of the New Town Arbitration and Financial Hub. The zone, still to be developed, sprawls over 40 hectares, and so far more than 22 domestic banks have purchased plots there. A regional commercial court is in the works topull in the legal sector and handle business arbitration.

High-rise residential complexes and upscale gated communities are being built in New Town. Some Indian universities have recently set up satellite campuses there, including the University of Engineering & Management. Major hotel brands like Westin and Novotel are already there to accommodate business visitors.

And the district has plenty of room to grow. A report from Jones Lang LaSalle last year found that one in three property units there are still unoccupied. This has made New Town’s commercial and residential property some of the cheapest in India

New Business Hub in Kolkata, India

Uniworld City

This large residential complex, now being built, is envisioned as one of the district’s high-end, gated suburbs.

Biswa Bangla Convention Centre 

Now almost complete, this convention centre will include a 3,000-seat auditorium and host major events.

New Business Hub in Kolkata, India

DLF IT Park

This campus with state-of-the-art office facilities has attracted companies such as Vodafone. Located near Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences, the complex also houses retail, dining and entertainment venues.

Eco Park

This massive park features numerous themed areas, such as Tropical Tree Garden and Artist’s Cottage, with a lake and an island to visit at its centre.

Cathay Dragon flies to Kolkata from Hong Kong six times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book