餐飲美食

無酒精酒吧的興起

今年是美國禁酒令100周年,打算在新一年正月,或者下定決心全年戒除陋習的朋友,可光顧以下Gemma Soames介紹的另類健康酒吧

一個世紀前的1月份,美國愛泡酒吧的劉伶要面對無酒精的日子,始作俑者是狠下禁酒令的美國政府;今日,卻有酒吧自願「掛羊頭賣狗肉」,以健康飲料代替酒精,照顧愈來愈多想享受歡樂時光又免卻宿醉之苦的顧客。我們精選了幾間同類型的「偷閒加油站」,包括康普茶室以至珍珠奶茶吧,讓你一嘗沒有酒精的清醒歲月。

Soma特調飲品

台北

Credit: Courtesy images

珍珠奶茶近年風靡亞洲各地,但要深入這股熱潮的核心,就一定要到訪台灣,走進街頭巷尾林立的茶飲店,品嚐各有所長、煙韌彈牙的「波霸」珍珠奶茶,在台灣,珍珠被稱為「波霸」。如要試試新派珍珠奶茶,不妨考慮Soma特調飲品,其珍珠奶茶剛獲選為全台灣最好喝的奶茶。這間茶飲店現已衝出台灣,在美國加州阿蒂西亞開設第一間海外分店。

Credit: Courtesy images

Redemption Bar

倫敦

Credit: Courtesy images

被譽為倫敦最健康餐廳的Redemption Bar環境開揚寬敞,位於柯芬園心臟地帶,熱鬧氣氛媲美附近一帶的食肆,但讓食客「開懷大嚼而無損健康」的宗旨,卻使它脫穎而出。顧客可安坐在靠牆的絲絨長椅上,挑選一系列「絕不邪惡」的健康飲料,包括無酒精傳統馬天尼、無酒精氣泡酒或葡萄酒、無酒精啤酒、低醇大麻精釀淡啤酒,還有各款以植物調製的湯力水。餐牌上的菜式,亦多以純素、無糖和不含小麥為主。酒吧主人亦於諾丁山和Shoreditch區開設姊妹店,照顧倫敦一眾想保持清醒的泡吧客。

Getaway Bar

紐約

Credit: Courtesy images

酒吧Getaway藏身於布魯克林的潮人社區Greenpoint,在裝潢上是一間不折不扣的時尚雞尾酒吧,卻標榜滴酒不加。它由Sam Thonis和Regina Dellea於去年創辦,奉行嚴格零酒精的宗旨,經過發酵含微量酒精的康普茶因此亦不得其門而入。店內設有雅致的雲石吧檯,客人圍坐在高腳椅上,啜飲著用鍍鉻調酒器混調而成的無酒精雞尾酒。各款新派口味包括Paper Train(以檸檬汁、煙草糖漿、雲呢拿和San Pellegrino Chinotto苦橙汁汽水調製)及Smallbluff(以Seedlip Spice無酒精蒸餾酒、檸檬汁、茴香糖漿及西芹苦精調製),保證讓你不醉而歸。

Credit: Courtesy images

Teapulse

新加坡

Credit: Courtesy images

新加坡首間發酵茶飲店Teapulse在獅城僅此一家,它位於市中心商業區黃金地段,主打以康普茶沖調的養生飲品,據說有助改善腸胃和整體健康。此店提供法國玫瑰、柑橘薄荷和山楂洛神花茶等不同味道,豐富多元。你更可以自訂茶飲,挑選喜愛的茶膽(康普茶或發酵檸檬特飲),再自選味道、甜度和配料。這裡亦供應多款水果奶昔和意式鮮奶咖啡,全部保證以健康掛帥。

The Virgin Mary

都柏林

Credit: Courtesy images

都柏林也許不是講求養生的夜遊首選目的地,但市內已出現第一間無酒精酒吧,矢志顛覆愛爾蘭的飲酒文化。The Virgin Mary位於一間舊家具店內,環境一如典型的愛爾蘭酒館,氣氛舒適,設有皮革梳化和木面吧檯,而且酒保友善好客。酒吧供應「人畜無害」版本的經典雞尾酒,包括辛辣的Virgin Mary和無酒精氈湯力,以至取代黑啤的冰凍咖啡,後者直接從黑啤常用的水龍頭注入酒杯中,確保泡沫幼細,口感順滑。

Credit: Courtesy images
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

The Rise of Booze-free Bars

On the 100th anniversary of Prohibition, Gemma Soames highlights bars that are voluntarily going booze free. They're healthy alternatives for Dry January – and all year long

One hundred years ago this month, bar-goers in the US woke up to alcohol-free establishments as the government introduced the unpopular National Prohibition Act. Today, however, watering holes are voluntarily kicking alcohol out and ushering in a range of healthy alternatives to cater to a growing crowd who seek good times – without the threat of a hangover. From kombucha cafés to bubble tea spots, here’s a selection of places where you can have a dry old time.

Soma Tea & Mocktail

Taipei

Credit: Courtesy images

It’s the drink craze that’s taken Asia by storm, but if you want to get to the juicy heart of the bubble tea phenomenon, you need to head to Taiwan, where shops on every corner serve up cups of distinctive, bouncy tapioca (or boba) balls in milky black tea. For a modern take, try Soma Tea & Mocktail; their drinks were named the best boba in Taiwan earlier this year and their first international outpost just landed in Artesia, California.

Credit: Courtesy images

Redemption Bar

London

Credit: Courtesy images

Billed as London’s healthiest restaurant, Redemption Bar is a buzzy, airy space in the heart of Covent Garden that looks every bit as lively as the eateries next door: only here they promise to help you ‘spoil yourself, without spoiling yourself’. Settle into velvet banquettes to enjoy a guilt-free menu that includes a zero per cent take on the classic martini, non-alcoholic prosecco and wine, booze-free beers, CBD lagers and botanical tonics. Vegan, sugar-free and wheat-free food dominates the menu, too. With sister spots in Notting Hill and Shoreditch, this joint has your sober London bar crawl sorted.

Getaway Bar

New York

Credit: Courtesy images

Head to the hip enclave of Greenpoint in Brooklyn to find Getaway, a hip space with all the hallmarks of a stylish cocktail spot – just without any of the alcohol. Opened by Sam Thonis and Regina Dellea last year, this is a strict zero per cent alcohol zone – not even fermented kombucha makes it through the door. A sophisticated marble bar counter is lined with bar stools and chrome cocktail shakers ready to mix up a list of inventive virgin cocktails. Whether you choose a Paper Train (lemon juice, tobacco syrup, vanilla and San Pellegrino Chinotto) or a Smallbluff (Seedlip Spice, lemon juice, fennel shrub and celery bitters), you’re guaranteed to leave clear-headed.

Credit: Courtesy images

Teapulse

Singapore

Credit: Courtesy images

Singapore’s first and only fermented tea bar, Teapulse is a bright and breezy café in the heart of the city dedicated to kombucha-based drinks intended to improve your gut health and overall wellbeing. The fact that they come in flavours like French Rose, Citrus Mint and Hibiscus Hawthorn is a bonus. Head there to choose your customised drink, picking your base (kombucha or fermented lemonade), flavour, sweetness and topping. You’ll also find smoothies and lattes – of the healthy variety, of course.

The Virgin Mary

Dublin

Credit: Courtesy images

Dublin may not spring to mind as the place to head for an boozeless night out, but the city’s first zero-alcohol bar aims to turn Irish drinking culture on its head. Located in an old furniture shop, The Virgin Mary has everything you’d expect from an Irish tavern: cosy atmosphere, leather-seated snugs, wooden-topped bar and friendly bartenders. The cocktail menu features all the old favourites with an innocent twist, from a spicy Virgin Mary to an alcohol-free G&T and even a Guinness substitute – chilled coffee poured from a stout tap to deliver that frothy top and velvety body. 

Credit: Courtesy images
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book