音樂

亞洲音樂節的掘起

亞洲的音樂節不僅是音樂盛會,更是一種獨特的旅遊體驗。撰文 PAUL KAY

多年來,亞洲的現場音樂表演鮮能引起全球注目,畢竟區內音樂節為數不多,能夠吸引海外樂迷的更是寥寥可數,但隨著大量選址富特色及融入地道文化的音樂節湧現,聲勢已經不可同日而語。

Wonderfruit

其中例子得數Wonderfruit。這個音樂節於距離曼谷兩小時車程的遼闊草地上舉行,四周林蔭茂密,經常被拿來跟美國內華達州赫赫有名的Burning Man節慶相比。為期四天的Wonderfruit音樂節以環保為主題,各類音樂、藝術及意想不到的活動應有盡有。雖然24小時的音樂表演是音樂節的主軸,但養生同樣是主辦單位重視的課題,因此每日都設有瑜伽和冥想時段,還有鑼浴治療環節等。其他重點節目亦包括了由作家、社運人士及創科人士主持的專題演講,形式類似TED Talks講座;珠寶、木工,以至園藝及金工等工作坊,以及在親子專區舉行的兒童活動,可謂包羅萬有。

Wonderfruit主辦人之一Pranitan Phornprapha(暱稱「Pete」)直言:「我們並非只靠重頭表演單位作招徠,反而把自己定位為吸引海外樂迷光臨的慶典。」他表示音樂節近半數參加者並非泰國本地人,儘管亞洲人士佔大部分,但歐美的捧場客亦正與日俱增,彰顯這個節慶和亞洲在全球同類活動中,地位漸見提升。

其實除了Wonderfruit音樂節外,其他音樂節如泰國的Big Mountain、馬來西亞的Urbanscapes及Good Vibes、越南的Quest及Equation、菲律賓的Malasimbo及Wanderland、台灣的有機派對及中國的長城跑音樂節均為後起之秀,不只顛覆了樂迷對亞洲音樂會的印象,而且在日本由來已久的富士搖滾音樂祭及Summer Sonic音樂節以外,增添了更多選擇。

宇宙大使☆スター/Uchutaishi Star

香港的Clockenflap音樂節雖然以盛大的表演陣容為賣點,但無疑也是在亞洲捲起新一輪音樂節熱潮的先驅之一。首屆的Clockenflap音樂節於2008年低調地舉行,當時只有1,500人出席,而且為期僅一天。時至今日,這個音樂及藝術節已發展成一個為期三天的盛會,每天更吸引25,000人進場,逾百場精采演出網羅本地、亞洲區及世界其他地方的頂尖音樂人。Clockenflap音樂節的音樂總監Justin Sweeting表示,能夠展示香港的獨特個性,是這個音樂節好評如潮的主要原因。

他補充道:「香港充份體現了Clockenflap音樂節的品牌、風格,以及我們希望呈現的元素。我們不斷尋求以表演環節帶出這個城市最美好的一面,因此我一直希望演出陣容能夠匯集多元文化和不同音樂風格,中西合璧,展現最新潮流之餘,亦為曾開風氣之先、現在仍寶刀未老的資深音樂人提供舞台。」

強調香港特色的確有助Clockenflap吸納海外樂迷支持,畢竟音樂節場地正正位於香港核心地段中環海濱活動空間,景色壯麗,而且距離機場僅30分鐘車程。Sweeting指,現時音樂節的來賓中,有四分一為海外人士。

Chris Lusher

他續稱:「這班來賓都是來自對舉辦或欣賞音樂節富有經驗的地方,因此每當我們公佈表演陣容時,日本、新加坡及台灣等地樂迷的回應,反映出他們清楚明白表演者的份量。」

說到這裡,不得不提富士搖滾音樂祭。這項盛典於日本風光明媚的樹林舉行,設有多個舞台,在此登場的不乏世上數一數二的音樂單位,每年吸引逾10萬樂迷現身支持,難怪獲廣泛譽為亞洲現代音樂節的鼻祖。雖然參加者八成半為日本人,但音樂祭亦備受海外粉絲熱烈追捧,不少更年復一年重遊舊地,欣賞場地的獨特景色,以及獨有的東瀛風情。音樂祭同樣與時並進,增添音樂以外的活動。

音樂祭推廣人Johnnie Moylett表示:「音樂風格千變萬化,音樂節亦理應如是。隨著時代轉變,富士搖滾音樂祭亦變成一種生活體驗。每年我們都會嘗試加入新環節,並拓展其他範疇,藉以推陳出新,吸引觀眾到訪。近年我們亦引進親子元素,令盛典增添天倫之樂。」

Terrence Angsioco

對於菲律賓音樂迷Diego Mapa來說,亞洲舉行的音樂節與日俱增,提供了更多可以在數小時旅程之內便能欣賞到出色現場音樂的機會。他說:「我是音樂狂迷,音樂節對我來說非常物超所值,因為我只需付出一個費用,便能欣賞到不同音樂單位的表演,如果要個別看他們的表演的話,花費肯定更多。」

在北京居住的Philipp Grefer經常出席亞洲不同地方的音樂節,他對以上意見深表贊同,並補充說:「令人興奮的是,這個地區舉辦的音樂節愈來愈多,形成一股強勁的音樂力量。」

亞洲音樂盛事冒起,除了是樂迷的喜訊外,亦為區內音樂人帶來更多用武之地,讓他們可以在更大的舞台向來自世界各地的人獻技。Sweeting稱:「音樂節對發展當地音樂風氣舉足輕重,是不可或缺的一環。亞洲區內必須有更多大名鼎鼎、別具特色及品牌風格的音樂慶典,讓人切實感受當地特色。」

門票連機票及酒店套餐於國泰假期有售,詳情請登入cathaypacific.com

Sarawak Tourism Board

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Music

The rise of the Asian music festival

Asia’s festivals have become more than music events – they’re travel experiences in their own right. Words by PAUL KAY

For many years, the Asian live music scene barely registered on the global consciousness, with few festivals happening around the region and even fewer having the calibre to attract overseas fans. But that’s all changed, with a raft of festivals that offer distinctive locations and infusions of local culture.

Wonderfruit near Pattaya, Thailand
Wonderfruit

Case in point: Wonderfruit. Held on a jungle-fringed expanse of land two hours’ drive from Bangkok, the festival has drawn frequent comparisons to the legendary Burning Man festival in Nevada in the US. The four-day festival presents a varied programme of music, arts and offbeat experiences underpinned by an eco-friendly ethos. Although the music programming, which runs 24 hours a day, lies at the heart of the Wonderfruit experience, the organisers also place a significant focus on wellness (from daily yoga and meditation sessions to gong baths); TED-style talks by authors, activists and innovators; hands-on workshops on everything from jewellery-making and woodcarving to horticulture and blacksmithing; and kids’ activities in a dedicated family zone.

‘We’re not the type of festival where people come for the main headliner,’ says Wonderfruit co-founder Pranitan ‘Pete’ Phornprapha. ‘We definitely see ourselves as an international destination festival.’ About half of Wonderfruit’s attendees fly in from outside Thailand, says Phornprapha; the majority are from elsewhere in the region, but a growing contingent from the US and Europe highlights the festival’s – and Asia’s – burgeoning reputation in this sphere.

Apart from Wonderfruit, Big Mountain in Thailand, Urbanscapes and Good Vibes in Malaysia, Quest and Equation in Vietnam, Malasimbo and Wanderland in the Philippines, Organik in Taiwan, and Great Wall Run in China are among the new breed of festivals transforming the perception of live music in Asia and providing alternatives to long-established Japanese events such as Fuji Rock and Summer Sonic.

Clockenflap-Japan’s Fuji Rock
宇宙大使☆スター/Uchutaishi Star

Although more of a lineup-driven music festival, Hong Kong’s Clockenflap is undoubtedly one of the pioneers of this new wave of Asian festivals. Starting out in 2008 as a low-key, one-day festival with 1,500 attendees, it has grown into a three-day event that attracts about 25,000 people each day and showcases over 100 top local, regional and international acts each year. According to Clockenflap music director Justin Sweeting, creating an event that reflects the personality of Hong Kong has been vital to the festival’s success.

‘The city plays such a central role in our brand and our character and the elements we like to represent,’ he says. ‘On the programming front, we’ve always looked to mirror the best aspects of the city – I’ve always wanted the lineup to be this kind of multicultural, multi-genre, East-meets-West programme that showcases new trends but also older, established artists who were pioneering in their day and are still doing relevant things.’

Playing to Hong Kong’s strengths has undoubtedly contributed to Clockenflap’s appeal to overseas visitors: the festival takes place at Central Harbourfront, a dramatic location in the heart of the city that’s also a convenient 30-minute journey from the airport. Sweeting says 25 percent of attendees now arrive from outside Hong Kong.

Clockenflap at Hong Kong’s Central Harbourfront
Chris Lusher

‘Often these audiences are coming from places that have far more of a legacy or appreciation of festivals,’ says Sweeting. ‘So when we announce our lineup, the feedback we get from places like Japan, Singapore, Taiwan and so on is that they really understand the value of our offering.

And then there’s Fuji Rock. Attracting more than 100,000 fans each year and hosting some of the world’s biggest acts on multiple stages set amid scenic Japanese woodland, this is widely hailed as the godfather of modern Asian music festivals. While about 85 percent of attendees come from within Japan, Fuji has forged a cult following among overseas fans, many of whom return year after year to enjoy the festival’s unique setting and distinctly Japanese vibe. Fuji, too, has been moving with the times and adding to its non-music offerings.

‘Music changes all the time and so should the festival experience,’ says Johnnie Moylett, promoter for the festival. ‘Fuji Rock has become more of a lifestyle experience – we try to add new sections every year and expand other areas to entertain the audience with new attractions. We have been conscious recently to make the festival a little more family-oriented.’

Clockenflap, Malasimbo
Terrence Angsioco

For Philippines-based fan Diego Mapa, the growing number of music festivals in Asia presents more opportunities to see quality live music within a few hours’ travel. ‘It’s a good investment for me as a music fanatic,’ he says. ‘I get to see all these acts for a fee that would cost more if I saw them individually.’

Beijing-based Philipp Grefer, who regularly travels to music festivals elsewhere in Asia, agrees, adding: ‘What is exciting is that there are more and more festivals coming up in the region. There is a great energy at the moment.’

As well as being good news for fans, the rise of festivals in Asia is also a boon for the region’s music artists, offering greater opportunities to hone their talents playing to international crowds on bigger stages. ‘Festivals play a really critical role in the development of a scene – they’re a really important piece of the puzzle,’ says Sweeting. ‘So having more festivals around the region that are reliable, that have their own character, their own brand and something that feels authentic to their location – that’s really important.’

Packages including festival tickets, flights and hotels are available from Cathay Pacific Holidays at cathaypacific.com

Rainforest World Music Festival in Borneo;
Sarawak Tourism Board

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book