柬埔寨

柬埔寨最好的海濱景致

柬埔寨南部海濱城市貢布及白馬市,昔日是國內精英階層的度假勝地,沉寂多年後,兩地逐漸回復昔日光采

柬埔寨南岸曾經歷盡滄桑,多舛的命途與國運大抵相同。在陷入1967至1975年間的內戰前,背靠波哥山的貢布盛產海鮮,當地人亦以漁業為生。時至今日,漁業式微,只餘深夜出海捕撈魷魚的小艇繼續作業,它們亮著綠光的燈籠,模仿柔和的月色,誘捕探頭張望的魷魚。市內雖然人口稠密,但卻沉寂得恍如與世隔絕。

Abandoned temple, Phnom Bokor Kampot Province, Cambodia
MinghaiYang / Getty Images

然而,貢布與毗鄰的海濱城鎮白馬市日益倚重旅遊業,有人前來尋幽探秘,也有居於金邊的外籍人士到此避靜。兩地距離首都約三小時車程,隨著遊客日增,外來商舖陸續進駐,為昔日中、法商人興建的歷史建築帶來一番新氣象。

來自比利時的Jef Moons表示:「柬埔寨優美的海岸線延綿數公里,尤以白馬市與貢布的沿海風光最旖旎迷人。」他悉心修復三棟建於1960年代、分別屬於白馬市市長、海關關長和王親貴冑的矚目府第,改建成豪華度假村Knai Bang Chatt。他續道:「1950年代,柬埔寨國王西哈努克,以及當地和法國的名流,均視白馬市為周末度假勝地。貢布同樣擁有秀麗河景及巍峨的波哥山,其舊城區則開遍大大小小的新派酒吧及餐廳。」

當中的河畔旅館連露天餐廳Rikitikitavi由穀倉改建而成,可飽覽迷人的河岸景致;毗鄰的西班牙小食酒吧Baraca則主打香辣炸馬鈴薯、填滿芝士的迷你意式烘烤三文治,以及海上直送鮮魷魚鍋,只以芫荽和聖羅勒調味。咖啡迷肯定在澳洲人開設的Cafe Espresso流連忘返,其濃郁細滑的flat white白咖啡不但能夠撫慰味蕾,配以牛油果蓉多士伴水煮蛋早餐更是一絕。至於追求浪漫晚餐的饕客不妨前往The Fish Market。餐廳坐落於1930年代的舊建築中,經修復後保留原有的裝飾藝術風格,並以本地漁獲入饌,就連調味的胡椒亦產自當地,其清蒸紅鯛更是一試難忘。

Christopher Wise

的而且確,不少人對貢布的印象皆離不開胡椒,就連當地馳名的炒蟹亦洋溢胡椒的辛香。風光如畫的La Plantation有機胡椒農場位於貢布市郊,佔地20公頃,至今已開業五年。與丈夫Guy Porré合力經營的Nathalie Chaboche表示:「自13世紀起,海南島的中國人已開始在貢布種植胡椒。」隨後於法國殖民時期,由於當地土壤及氣候俱佳,並臨近海洋,陽光充沛,種種有利條件令胡椒種植從未間斷,香味濃郁的貢布胡椒遂成為巴黎人的調味首選。Chaboche解釋:「貢布胡椒辛辣中帶甘甜,還有果香,餘韻無窮。」

Christopher Wise

Chaboche夫婦正帶領著當地胡椒產業重振聲威,現在來自貢布的胡椒,更成為了全球唯一獲歐盟原產地名稱保護制度認可的作物;換言之,除非是貢布的出產,否則其他產品在法律上一概不可稱為「貢布胡椒」。為進一步推廣貢布胡椒,他們會舉行免費導賞團,參觀者可一睹從種植以至收割的各個步驟,還可以試食,並乘坐水牛車橫渡湖泊,前往園內的其中一家餐廳午膳。這裡設有多家餐廳,分別位於數幢傳統高棉房屋內,全都經他們倆悉心保育。

遊客除了可乘坐電單車或篤篤從貢布前往白馬市外,也可選乘Crab Shuttle 觀光船,順道欣賞湖光山色。

Kampot, Cambodia
Cultura Exclusive/Gary Latham / Getty Images

一幢幢以獨特的現代主義風格興建的新高棉建築雖然已見破舊,卻是1950及60年代白馬市光輝歲月的存照。這種建築是當時柬埔寨著名建築師Vann Molyvann所發起設計運動的產物,從茂密的叢林探望,可見同類建築在市內比比皆是,印證當年的輝煌歷史。

至於Veranda Natural Resort度假村則是較新穎的地標。這裡設有24座由木材與石頭搭建的平房,並由高架行人步道連接,度假村的餐廳和泳池四周草木蒼翠,綠意盈盈。此外,靠近海濱的酒廊The Waterfront Beach Club & Lounge Bar則以獨特的印支風格演繹法國南部聖特羅佩的格調,為客人奉上混入金邊冧酒Samai的雞尾酒和其他精選佳釀。

東主Sam Andurand表示:「我希望創造反映本地特色、型格而舒適的獨特空間,並能跟周遭的自然環境相得益彰。每當我看到客人因路過的牛群、映入眼簾的漁船,或變幻無窮的夕陽而流露的表情,都會由衷感到喜悅。」

他的努力創新贏得不同客人的欣賞,各地旅客、金邊的外籍人士,以至一日遊的貢布居民都是他的客人,他道:「本地居民和其他東主到來放鬆身心,享受一刻悠閒時光,都是我樂見的景象!」

Sunset boat tours,  Kampot, Cambodia
John W Banagan / Getty Images

波哥山巍峨矗立,俯視山下市鎮,當地如火如荼的工程正好反映區內發展需求殷切。工程車緩緩駛過通往山頂的新水泥路,而工人則忙於修葺百年老舊的法式建築。柬埔寨建築公司Sokimex Group斥資10億美元巨款推動當地發展,相信更多現代化項目將相繼林立。

坐擁36間客房的Le Bokor Palace酒店,正正坐落於高山平原的邊陲,可飽覽迷人的海洋,在睽違40年後首度重開。縱使柬埔寨海岸的黃金歲月也許不再,新時代的後浪卻蠢蠢欲動,為當地送上更光輝的未來。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cambodia

Revival of Cambodia’s beach towns

Once holiday getaways for the Phnom Penh elite, Cambodia’s southern beach towns of Kampot and Kep are slowly reclaiming their lustre. Words by SIMON OSTHEIMER

The history of Cambodia’s southern coastline, like that of much of the country, is littered with stories of boom and bust. Prior to the civil war (1967-75), the fishing town of Kampot, sitting in the shadow of Bokor Mountain, was known for its bountiful hauls of seafood. Today, the industry is more subdued, with squid boats heading out to sea at night, recognisable by their green lanterns that draw the curious cephalopods to the surface by replicating the soft glow of the moon. While it’s a fairly well-populated town, the atmosphere is still sleepy and forgotten.

Cambodia
MinghaiYang / Getty Images

But Kampot, as well as nearby Kep, a coastal beach town, are increasingly reliant on adventurous travellers and Phnom Penh expats in search of the quiet life. With the growing visitors, the towns – about three hours from the capital by car – have welcomed new businesses into the historic buildings constructed by French and Chinese traders.

‘The kingdom has kilometres of beautiful coastline, but the Kep and Kampot region is the most inspiring,’ says Belgian native Jef Moons, who has lovingly restored three distinctive 1960s properties that are part of luxury boutique resort Knai Bang Chatt. Those former homes once belonged to a Kep governor, a head of the customs department and a relative of the king. ‘In the 1950s, Kep was the place King Sihanouk had his holiday retreat, and where the Phnom Penh jetset and French elite spent their weekends. Meanwhile, Kampot has the beautiful river and Bokor Mountain, as well as the Old Town area with plenty of new bars and restaurants.’

Cambodia

Those places include Rikitikitavi, a former rice barn converted into a riverside guesthouse and terrace restaurant with magnificent river views. Close by is tapas eatery Baraca where you can enjoy patatas bravas, mini paninis with brie and ‘holy squid’, a sumptuous bowl of fresh squid from the docks flavoured with cilantro and holy basil. Coffee addicts swear by the flat white at Australian-owned Cafe Espresso, not to mention the smashed avocado toast and poached egg breakfast, while those seeking a romantic setting for dinner head to The Fish Market, which sits in a restored 1930s art deco building and serves a menu of locally sourced seafood (try the steamed red snapper), often adorned with local pepper.

Christopher Wise

Indeed, for many, Kampot is most strongly associated with its pepper. Found in its famous fried crab dish, it benefits from the area’s soil, climate, proximity to the ocean and strong sun. ‘Chinese from Hainan island began developing pepper plantations in the region of Kampot the 13th century,’ says Nathalie Chaboche, co-owner along with her husband, Guy Porré, of La Plantation, a five-year-old organic pepper farm occupying a picturesque 20 hectares just outside of Kampot. Pepper cultivation continued throughout the French protectorate era, when the flavour-packed Kampot peppers became the spice of choice in top Parisian kitchens. ‘Kampot peppers are special, as they develop a relatively sweet, pungent taste, fruity aromas and keep flavour long in the mouth,’ says Chaboche.

Christopher Wise

Today, the couple are at the vanguard of  revitalising this once prominent industry, which produces the only pepper in the world to have been given protected geographical indication status by the European Union – meaning you can’t legally call something Kampot pepper unless it was grown here. They help to spread the word by offering free guided tours of their plantation, where you can see the intriguing process from planting to harvesting. Visitors can have a tasting, go on a buffalo cart ride right into the lake, then enjoy lunch at one of the on-site restaurants, housed in several traditional Khmer homes that the couple have saved and restored.

Visitors can get from Kampot to Kep via scooter or tuk-tuk, but the Crab Shuttle offers a scenic boat journey.

Cambodia
Cultura Exclusive/Gary Latham / Getty Images

The remains of Kep’s 1950s and ‘60s heyday are an assemblage of ruined modernist homes built in the distinctive style known as New Khmer, a design movement led by prominent Cambodian architect Vann Molyvann. They can be seen all over town peeking through the jungle, a reminder of a glamorous past.

Newer developments include Veranda Natural Resort, which brings the charm with its two dozen bungalows constructed of wood and stone, connected by elevated walkways. Sitting amid lush vegetation, the complex includes a restaurant and a pool. Meanwhile, seaside beachfront lounge The Waterfront Beach Club & Lounge Bar evokes a distinctly Indochine take on St. Tropez, with a superb drinks menu that includes cocktails using Phnom Penh-made rum Samai.

Cambodia

‘I wanted to create a unique space that was authentic, relaxing and cool,’ says Waterfront owner Sam Andurand. ‘I hope the attraction is the combination of what I have created to complement the natural space within which it sits. I love seeing the response of my customers when a small herd of cows wander past, or when the fishing boats go by, or watching the sunset shift in shape and colour.’

His efforts in creating something unique attract a broad range of guests, from tourists to Phnom Penh expats to day-trippers from Kampot. ‘Local residents and other business owners come here to relax, which I love.’

Cambodia
John W Banagan / Getty Images

Bokor Mountain looms tall over the towns, and the construction happening on it represents the eagerness to develop the area. Construction vehicles slowly traverse the newly paved road up the hill, where workers are busily renovating century-old French buildings and adding many more modern landmarks as part of an ambitious US$1 billion development project by the Cambodian Sokimex Group.

The 36-room Le Bokor Palace hotel, perched right on the edge of the plateau and with stunning ocean views, is once again welcoming guests for the first time in 40 years. The Cambodian coast’s glory days might have passed, but it seems a new era is on the horizon. 

Cathay Dragon flies to Phnom Penh from Hong Kong 14 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book