吉隆坡

重塑馬來西亞的飲食界

帶領吉隆坡高級餐飲邁進新時代的年輕大廚

一道道精緻的佳餚魚貫上桌,令我們按捺不住心中的喜悅。

侍應上菜時,耐心地為我們介紹每一道菜餚:頭盤為地道馬來西亞小食karipap(咖哩角),造型卻改成包裹著香濃咖哩芝士的馬鈴薯脆筒,上面灑上少許金箔和咖哩葉;接著是用真空低溫烹調的雞肉,產自馬來西亞西部、鄰近怡保的小鎮美羅,肉質鮮嫩,再佐以馬來西亞東部文冬薑磨製的青醬;甜品並非慣見的糖炸香蕉,而是呈玫瑰造型的香蕉脆餅,它以一球煉奶雪糕墊底,再灑上花生碎和芝麻。

此時,雞尾酒Kopi-O-Tonic隆重登場,它冒出陣陣帶有斑蘭葉香的輕煙。這款雞尾酒以氈酒混合咖啡,特別為了在那個周末舉行的East Imperial Gin Jubilee氈酒節活動而調製。

我們正置身在新派休閒美食酒吧Beta中,品嚐共十道菜餚的馬來西亞嚐味套餐。餐廳位於吉隆坡市中心,只選用馬來西亞各州各地的農產品入饌。我接觸馬拉菜的主要方式是光顧當地小販,因此在這裡竟然品嚐到路邊熟食攤檔的風味,讓我喜出望外。

如此出乎意料的效果,正是Beta行政主廚譚志庭的初衷,他表示:「馬來西亞人普遍認為,如果沒有鵝肝、松露,或者布雷斯雞等昂貴的法國雞,就不算是高級餐飲。我最喜歡聽到客人說他們從沒想過我們能烹調到既與別不同又充滿馬來西亞特色、並勾起他們兒時回憶的菜式。」

要改變固有的思維並不容易,但與譚志庭志同道合的大廚和美食家,仍然堅持利用馬來西亞豐富的食材,為吉隆坡餐飲業開闢出美食新境界。

在2009年開設食評網站Eat Drink KL的Sean Yoong指出,近十年他看到不少本土餐廳勇於嘗試創新。他說:「吉隆坡正躋身於新派美食之都的行列,成為注重創意和本土意識的一員。不論是用有趣的方式重新演繹經典菜式,還是利用本地食材炮製意想不到的嶄新菜式,都贏得食客的讚賞。」

Sean口中的新派菜絕不嘩眾取寵,而是純粹以廚藝和創意烹調上乘的馬來西亞食材。餐廳Dewakan的主廚張民國在吉隆坡享負盛名,被譽為新派馬來西亞高級餐飲的先驅。他經常出入菜市場和農莊,與本土農戶合作,創造色香味美的佳餚。他的新菜單上有一道大蝦配自製芫荽咸檸醬,佐以溫熱的楊桃湯汁,再灑上清香的泰國青檸葉油,而通常以清炒方法烹調的樹仔菜,則在甜點雪葩中現身。

張民國道:「我們的菜式著重以突破常規的創意,處理馬來西亞獨有的地道食材。其實並非每位光顧的食客都明白我們的用意,而持續不斷地創新亦不容易,但不要緊,我們仍會繼續努力。」

來自日本的大廚堀內雅史去年在Alila Bangsar酒店開設法國餐廳Entier,他表示餐廳開業的主要原因是馬來西亞的農產品。我們談到Entier一道自創的小荳蔻朱古力甜品,選用了彭亨州一個農戶特別為餐廳調製的單一來源朱古力,而親切健談的他亦表示:「我向來選用馬來西亞的新鮮食材煮菜,於是我心想,何不乾脆搬到那裡去呢?」

堀內雅史在品嚐過不少朱古力後,才選定現今這個完美的朱古力配方,而家禽和蔬菜亦由他親自到農場精心挑選,過程絕不馬虎。此外,椰菜花、大蔥以及裝飾用的花卉均來自不同的供應商;焗雞腿用的雞隻來自吉隆坡南部柔佛的農場,至於烤全雞的來源則為「商業秘密」。

他曾於倫敦米芝蓮二星餐廳L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon擔任副廚師五年,原本打算引入法國鴨,但在機緣巧合下,遇上在怡保美羅的路邊鴨販,當他嚐到當地鴨子獨有的味道和肉質時,最終決定改用本地鴨。

此外,吉隆坡的酒吧亦創製出不少傳統雞尾酒的變奏,而且它們不只是摻合斑蘭或棕櫚糖如此了無新意。我在主打氈酒的酒吧Pahit,嚐過加入經真空低溫烹調過的大樹菠蘿和青檸的氈酒湯力。至於位處吉隆坡四季酒店的Bar Trigona,更是令人期待的酒吧新貴。其名字取自無針蜜蜂Trigona,因為雞尾酒加入了來自森美蘭一家小農莊的蜂蜜,農莊距離酒店約45分鐘車程。我點選的雞尾酒Trigona Old Fashioned並無加入一般的糖漿,而是改用一小塊蜂巢,為Cynar苦味酒、波本威士忌和苦啤酒滲進微微的辛香,而加上雪松木裝飾後,更帶有煙熏的氣息。

首席調酒師Ashish Sharma亦不忘加入當地食材調酒,包括彭亨出產的薑黃以及馬來西亞東南部萬宜有機農場的新鮮水果。未來他計劃帶領一班調酒師,到訪馬來西亞各地的農莊及供應商,尋覓合適的農產品來調配雞尾酒。

吉隆坡現代飲食革命才剛開始,一眾饗客準備嗜新嚐鮮吧。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往吉隆坡的航班,每周有28班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Reinventing Malaysia’s Food Scene

Meet the new generation of chefs taking Kuala Lumpur's fine dining in a thoroughly modern direction

We can’t contain our fascination as plate after elegant plate appear before us.

The server patiently explains each course as it’s placed on the table. The popular Malaysian karipap (curry puff) snack comes in the form of crispy potato cylinders encircling dollops of curry mascarpone and topped with dainty goldleaf and curry leaves. Next up is a tender sous-vide chicken from Bidor – a town near Ipoh, in the country’s west – paired with a pesto that incorporates spicy ginger from Bentong in Malaysia’s east. And in place of the much-loved sweet fried banana dessert is an elegant, rose-shaped banana cracker perched on a scoop of condensed-milk ice cream, with a sprinkling of crushed peanut and sesame on top.

Beta Garden, Kuala Lumpur

All this while our Kopi-O-Tonic cocktails – a gin and coffee infusion specially created for the East Imperial Gin Jubilee event that weekend – were puffing out pandan-scented smoke.

We were working our way through the 10-course Tour of Malaysia degustation menu at Beta, a contemporary-chic restobar in the centre of Kuala Lumpur. The sampling showcase of produce from across Malaysia was thoroughly indigenous – and it was delightfully surprising, given my exposure to local fare had been mostly in hawker form.

And upending expectations is exactly what Beta’s executive chef Raymond Tham hopes to achieve. ‘The Malaysian mindset is if you don’t serve foie gras, truffle or expensive French chicken like poulet de Bresse, you’re not fine dining,’ he says. ‘I love it when customers tell us they didn’t know that we could come up with something so different with something very Malaysian, where the flavours bring back childhood memories.’

It’s hard to change mindsets, but chefs like Tham are determined to bring a whole new depth and breadth to tables in Kuala Lumpur with the rich bounty of Malaysia’s terroir.

Sean Yoong, who has run food review website Eat Drink KL since 2009, says he’s seen a lot more experimentation in the local dining scene over the past decade. ‘KL is joining the ranks of cities that care about culinary creativity coupled with a sense of conscientiousness,’ he says. ‘Diners appreciate chefs who come up with inventive, inspiring fare, whether it’s playful reinterpretations of classic local recipes or clever new creations that make surprising use of local produce.’

The dishes in this new fine-dining scene don’t rely on shock-and-awe gimmicks, but on top-quality Malaysian ingredients combined with skill and inventiveness. Chef Darren Teoh of Dewakan, widely acknowledged as the pioneer of modern Malaysian fine dining in the capital, scours wet markets, forages farmland and works with small local producers to create textured dishes brimming with flavours. On his new menu are prawns brushed with a homemade paste of coriander stem and salted lime skin, and placed in a broth of warm starfruit juice with fragrant kaffir lime leaf oil. The often stir-fried sayur manis sweet leaf is used in sorbet.

‘Our cuisine is focused on non-linear thinking on the unique indigenous ingredients from Malaysia’, says Teoh. ‘Not everyone who walks through our doors gets what it is that we do. That’s all right, even though it does make it a challenge to continue to push the curve.’

Entier, Kuala Lumpur

For Japanese chef Masashi Horiuchi, Malaysia’s produce was the deciding factor in him opening French nose-to-tail restaurant Entier in Alila Bangsar last year. ‘I was already getting fresh produce from Malaysia, so I thought why not move here to where it is?’ says the affable Horiuchi, as we chatted over a chocolate and cardamom dessert made from single-origin chocolate custom-produced for Entier by a farm in Pahang, a state in eastern Malaysia.

The chocolate was chosen after many samplings by Horiuchi to find the perfect flavour profile. Poultry and vegetable varieties are also carefully selected, with personal farm visits by the chef. Cauliflowers, leeks and decorative flowers are all from separate producers; so are the chickens used for the oven-baked leg dish (a farm in Johor, south of Kuala Lumpur) and roasted whole chicken (‘It’s a secret’).

Having spent five years as sous chef at two-Michelin-starred L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon in London, Horiuchi was ready to ship in French ducks until a chance encounter with a roadside stall selling ducks from Bidor. The chef chose to go local for the fowl’s taste and texture.

Cocktail bars are creating local varieties of traditional classics, and it’s not all pandan and palm sugar either. At gin-focused bar Pahit, I had a gin and tonic made with sous-vide jackfruit and lime. And there’s exciting newcomer Bar Trigona, located in the Four Seasons Kuala Lumpur. It is named after Trigona stingless bees, with cocktails incorporating honey from a small Negeri Sembilan farm located 45 minutes southeast of the city. In place of muddled sugar in my Trigona Old Fashioned is a piece of honeycomb, lending a slightly tangy note to the cynar, bourbon and bitters, with smoky whiffs from a garnish of cedarwood.

Head bartender Ashish Sharma includes turmeric from Pahang and fresh fruit from a southeastern Bangi organic farm into the drinks. Plans include bringing groups of bartenders on foraging trips to meet local farmers and source produce.

Prep your taste buds: the modern dining revolution in Kuala Lumpur has just begun.

Bar Trigona, Kuala Lumpur

Cathay Pacific flies to Kuala Lumpur from Hong Kong 28 times a week