華盛頓哥倫比亞特區

華盛頓的倒影: 活潑、有趣、玩樂和美式

Cathy Adams到了美國首都華盛頓一帶,嘗試在極短的時間內認識美國的文化、藝術和歷史,做個地道美國人

Greg Kahn

今年7月底,首都華盛頓波托馬克河岸的小型劇院Arena Stage上演音樂劇《霧水總統》。該劇改編自1993年的同名電影,講述長相酷似時任美國總統的普通教師,在機緣巧合下代替真正的總統履行職務。

劇情其實是在剖析美國的愛國主義,演出中途台上演員和台下觀眾甚至會大合唱國歌〈The Star-Spangled Banner〉。我也隨著眾人起立,雖然不懂得歌詞,但也跟其他人一同喃喃和唱。我心裡突然有個想法:「不得了!這是我在華盛頓最後一夜,但我已覺得自己像個美國人!」

華盛頓就是有這種感染力。這個美國首府到處都是聯邦政府的辦公大樓、紀念碑、紀念碑和紀念碑,有如一座活生生的博物館。圍繞華府四周的馬利蘭州、維珍尼亞州和Chesapeake Bay灣都是美國早期殖民者聚居的地方,美國歷史的長河在此緩緩流淌,比鄰近維珍尼亞州北部出產的美酒更濃郁更醇厚。

美國首任總統喬治華盛頓於1790年簽訂《首都選址法案》,定都華府時,這裡還只是波托馬克河上一片未開發的狹長土地,夾在北面的馬利蘭州和南面的維珍尼亞州之間。劃定範圍後,華盛頓從此大興土木,為新世界未來多個首府樹立典範。

Greg Kahn

華盛頓的位置佔盡地利,令它在歷史、民主和多元文化上自成一格,還有經常在Instagram上出現的櫻花盛放美景。華府亦不斷演變,現在不單是個一本正經的聯邦城市,也是個有型有格的時髦都會。這裡當然不乏活化重建項目(下文會詳談The Wharf碼頭區),亦有愈來愈多與大政府爭一日長短的私人產業。現在甚至發展出一種華盛頓新人類govster,或可稱之為「政界潮人」,是指一群在聯邦政府內工作、甚至有能力左右國家政務的人,但同時又享受城裡的時尚生活。

新的城市風格,自然會吸引一批全新類別的遊客,他們不但前來探索美國的歷史,也希望品嚐美食車供應的特色小食和人手調製的咖啡。而現在的華府可以讓你兩者兼得,玩得愜意。

到底如何可以「暫時」做個地道美國人?是到華盛頓本地原產的Five Guys連鎖店大吃漢堡包?還是把話題女王Kardashian的所有電視節目統統看一遍?

統統都不是。而是要像開國元老如華盛頓和傑佛遜總統等,從踏足國家廣場開始。整個國家公園從林肯紀念堂起,直到具有新古典主義風格的國會大廈,距離全長三公里,中間經過華盛頓紀念碑、幾座史密森尼學會旗下的博物館和美國最高決策人辦公的聯邦大樓。整個廣場都是行人專區,我本來可以安步當車的,但我卻參加了Bike and Roll DC旅行社的單車遊覽團,踏單車繞過林肯和傑佛遜紀念堂、白宮背後和潮汐湖四周。每到春季,潮汐湖的櫻花會盛放數星期,是賞櫻的熱點。

參觀史密森尼學會也是指定動作。這是一家創先河的機構,有「美國的閣樓」之稱。

Greg Kahn

機構設立了19座免費博物館和畫廊,還有一個動物園,供人參觀;遊覽的最佳路線,是從國家廣場內有如歌德式城堡的史密森尼學會大樓開始,大樓內設有遊客中心。即使你窮盡畢生的時間,也無法賞遍其中的藏品,所以最好先在遊客中心查詢一下。

史密森尼學會最新設立的博物館,是2016年開幕的國立非裔美國人歷史文化博物館,位於高169米的華盛頓紀念碑旁邊。博物館由英籍加納建築師David Adjaye負責設計,館內的展品從1400年代大西洋的黑奴買賣開始,直至奧巴馬就任美國總統,順時序記述非裔美國人的血淚史,同時展出他們的文化、音樂和藝術創作。

若想深入研究美國的藝術史,史密森尼美國藝術博物館是個好去處,然後穿過氣氛熱鬧的有蓋中庭,順道前往國家肖像廊參觀。藝術博物館收藏了20世紀羅斯福推行新政時期的藝術品,藏品數量屬全國數一數二;這些作品與羅斯福於大蕭條後實施的經濟政策呼應,由此可見,華盛頓的一事一物均與政治息息相關。此外,館內亦收藏了Edward Hopper、Georgia O’Keeffe和Willem de Kooning等美國藝術家的畫作。不過大多數參觀者前來,主要都是為了欣賞歷任總統的肖像,例如有略顯呆鈍的喬治布殊、以抽象手法表現的克林頓,以及安坐於夏威夷花叢中的奧巴馬肖像(這幅畫像前總有一條長長的人龍)。

至此我已參觀過所有遊客必到的景點,現在就來當個充滿都市時尚氣息的政界潮人。市中心可說是政界潮人雲集的大本營,這裡有City Center DC購物中心等多用途項目,明年初這裡會出現首家Conrad酒店。我們會到以南部烹飪為靈感的Succotash餐廳,品嚐淋上楓糖漿的雞肉窩夫餅;或者到剛開幕的Eaton DC酒店偷得浮生半日閒,與華府的藝術家、記者和社運人士閒話交流。這家酒店是香港酒店品牌逸東的旗艦物業。

Greg Kahn

The Wharf碼頭區是華盛頓最新的海濱區,從國家廣場步行20分鐘即可抵達,或者可以乘坐免費穿梭巴士前往。這片長1.5公里的臨海地段上,有多家戶外露天餐廳(例如風靡全市的墨西哥式餐廳Mi Vida,那裡的炸芝士及瑪格麗特雞尾酒是公餘的上佳點心)和酒吧(例如位於碼頭旁的Cantina Bambina),還有集咖啡室和意式雪糕店於一身的Dolcezza Gelato。

無可否認,The Wharf碼頭區的確為華府帶來新面貌。以往這裡是潮濕的沼澤地帶,市政府漁市場現在仍然屹立於此,是美國最古老的同類市場。The Wharf碼頭區的更新工程為這一帶注入生氣,也令有型有格的華盛頓錦上添花。碼頭區推動新的基建發展(例如前往Old Town Alexandria舊城區的水上的士航程現在只需20分鐘),同時讓在附近國家廣場上班的公務員於下班後有個好去處,不再局限於在國會山莊一帶消遣。

如果我決意要成為地道的美國政界潮人,首先要在Adams Morgan區找一間昂貴的公寓。隨著Line Hotel酒店最近開幕,這區頓時備受注目。酒店由典雅的舊教堂改建而成,其中一家餐廳由以農場直送佳餚馳名的名廚Spike Gjerde主理,採用「超級本地」食材烹飪美食奉客。除此以外,我也不時要到古色古香的喬治城去購物。

華府只有228年歷史,可是喬治華盛頓紀念大道上的橡樹,年紀可能比首都還要大。如果你打算趁這次旅程進一步認識美國的歷史,就應該沿著波托馬克河下游出發,深入探索更久遠的年代。

Greg Kahn

維珍尼亞州的Old Town Alexandria舊城是一個小社區,距離華府不遠,站在河邊瞇起眼睛,就可以望見國會大廈。這個小城建於1749年,是喬治華盛頓的家鄉,他當年經常光顧位於Fairfax街的一家藥店,自1933年起獲得妥善保育,至今依然存在。我可以想像他在Captain’s Row路上信步而行,走過排列整齊、五彩繽紛的房屋,以及經過King Street街的精品店。但我猜他可能對位於河畔樓高三層的Torpedo Factory藝術中心不甚感興趣,長居Alexandria的Lisa Schumaier就在這裡以香口膠黏貼的方式創作出戲仿《最後的晚餐》的作品,其實頗值得參觀。

從Alexandria沿喬治華盛頓紀念大道快步走十分鐘,便來到美國首任總統華盛頓的故居維農山莊。這座寬廣的莊園佔地200公頃,莊園的路徑風光優美,被視為國家公園;木建的大宅經過私人組織仔細修復,保留了樸實的風格,與現代的摩天大樓(例如特朗普大廈)可謂南轅北轍。

然後我穿過阿靈頓、五角大廈和羅斯福島等市郊地區,重新回到華盛頓市內。我在The Wharf碼頭區享用晚餐,碼頭上泊著遊艇,遊艇後面就是徐徐下沉的夕陽,這裡還可以見到飛機降落在Ronald Reagan National Airport機場上。華盛頓朝氣蓬勃,活潑而且玩味十足,說明即使是最為人熟悉的美國名城,不時也會來一個大變身,以新面目示人。


有關美國首都區域的詳情,請瀏覽capitalregionusa.org;查詢首都華盛頓的詳情,請瀏覽washington.org;Old TownAlexandria舊城區詳情請瀏覽visitalexandriava.com;巴爾的摩詳情請瀏覽baltimore.org

Greg Kahn

華盛頓的酒鄉

毗鄰華盛頓的維珍尼亞州勞登郡既是酒鄉,亦是美國最富裕的郡,原來亦與開國元勳息息相關。

早於1800年代初,傑佛遜總統嘗試在勞登郡種植他從法國蒐集得來的數個葡萄品種,雖然樹苗未能茁壯成長,但栽植葡萄樹的想法卻落地生根。維珍尼亞州現時有300家酒莊,其中約40家位於波托馬克河另一邊的勞登郡,屬於白堊土質,主要種植chardonnay、cabernetfranc及viognier幾種葡萄。當地的葡萄酒業仍算是新興事業,即使歷史最悠久的酒莊亦不滿50年。

勞登郡共有數十家酒莊,其中的Sunset Hills酒莊是由經過阿米許族翻新的德國穀倉改建而成,由Floridians Mike和Diane Canney主理,非常有氣派。顧名思義,酒莊可以欣賞到優美的日落景致。此外,勞登郡亦有不少有趣吸引的啤酒廠,例如Leesburg的Crooked Run就是其中一家。
visitloudoun.org

Greg Kahn

住宿推介

華盛頓:文華東方酒店

從國家廣場漫步五分鐘,就來到這間位於華盛頓海濱罕有豪華建築內的酒店。酒店剛完成裝修,客房現以米白和藍綠兩色為主,最近更推出睡前閱讀計劃,讓住客可把酒店精選的書籍帶回家慢慢細閱,這個計劃是向喜愛閱讀的傑佛遜致意。 mandarinoriental.com/washington

Old Town Alexandria舊城區:Hotel Indigo酒店

酒店剛於即將全面翻新的港灣區開業,以航海為裝潢佈置的主題,可飽覽波托馬克河的景色,而且地點便捷,毗鄰舊城區,只要片刻即可抵達King Street街。 hotelindigooldtownalexandria.com

巴爾的摩:The Lord Baltimore酒店

巴爾的摩距離首都市中心66公里,這裡不但是美國國歌的誕生地,也是作家愛倫坡的故鄉,以及電視劇《The Wire》的拍攝場地。每當提到巴爾的摩,總會有人形容它為「有型有格」和「充滿街坊風味」等;當地昔日靠與英國進行煙草貿易而興旺起來,現時碼頭一帶依然是最繁華的地區。The Lord Baltimore酒店位於巴爾的摩市中心,客房豪華舒適,天台的酒吧最適合在炎熱的夏夜乘涼,整座建築更被列入國家歷史古蹟名錄。
lordbaltimorehotel.com

國泰航空於9月15日推出由香港飛往美國首都華盛頓的航班,每周有四班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Washington

Reflections on Washington DC: A most American city

CATHY ADAMS goes to Washington DC and beyond for a crash-course in US culture, art and history – and tries to live like a local. Photography by GREG KAHN

At the end of July, a musical called Dave opened at Arena Stage, a small arts venue on the Potomac river in Washington DC. An adaption of the 1993 film, Dave follows an ordinary teacher who looks so much like the US president that he ends up standing in for him.

The show is a study in American patriotism: there’s even a performance of The Star-Spangled Banner midway through, sung by both cast members and the audience. I stood up and mumbled along, even though I didn’t know the words. A thought popped into my head: ‘It’s my last night in DC and I feel American, baby!’

DC does that to you. The US capital is a living museum, filled with federal government buildings and monuments, monuments, monuments. The area that surrounds it – Maryland, Virginia and Chesapeake Bay – houses some of the US’ earliest colonial settlements. American history flows here more smoothly than the wine from neighbouring northern Virginia.

When DC was founded, with first president George Washington’s signature on the Residence Act in 1790, it was just a slender parcel of undeveloped land on the Potomac that sat on the boundary between the North (Maryland upwards) and the South (Virginia downwards). Setting the template for future New World capitals, it was built from scratch.

Location is important. It’s what lends DC its unique flavour: of history, democracy, diversity and, if you look at Instagram, cherry blossoms. It’s also a city in flux. No longer just-a-federal-city, it’s now a kinda-cool city. There are the requisite regeneration projects (The Wharf: more on that later) and a growing private sector to rival big government. And there’s a name for the new breed of Washingtonian: the govsters.

This new type of city breeds a new type of tourist – one not just looking for American history, but wanting to snack on food truck fare and barista-made coffee. And in DC, they can meet happily in the middle.

How do I become – temporarily – American? Eat at Five Guys (DC’s original burger chain)? Immerse myself in the Kardashian oeuvre?

No. You have to start, as founding fathers Washington, Jefferson et al did, on the National Mall. The three-kilometre-long national park, which runs from the Lincoln Memorial to the neoclassical Capitol, passes the Washington Monument and some of the Smithsonian museums and federal buildings housing America’s decision-makers. I could have walked (it’s fully pedestrianised), but instead I joined a bike tour with Bike and Roll DC, which peddled us past the Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials, the back of the White House and around the Tidal Basin, the epicentre of cherry blossom mania for a few fleeting weeks in spring.

Then you have to visit the Smithsonian Institution – a pioneering establishment fondly known as ‘America’s attic’.

The Institution, which runs 19 free museums and galleries (plus a zoo) in DC, is best approached from the gothic Castle on the Mall – inside is a visitor centre.
You may need more than one lifetime to see everything.

The newest Smithsonian museum is the National Museum of African American History and Culture – in the shadow of the 169-metre-high Washington Monument – which opened in 2016. Designed by British-Ghanaian architect David Adjaye, the museum traces a direct timeline from the start of the Atlantic slave trade in the 1400s to the Obama presidency, with exhibitions on African American culture, music and art.

To deep-dive into American art history, visit the Smithsonian American Art Museum, joined to the National Portrait Gallery through a lively covered courtyard. It has one of the country’s largest collections of 20th century New Deal art (riffing on Franklin D Roosevelt’s post-Depression economic plan – see how everything in DC intersects with politics?), with work by Edward Hopper, Georgia O’Keeffe and Willem de Kooning. But it’s the presidential portraits that people are here for. There’s a slightly dopey George W Bush, an abstract Bill Clinton and (with a long queue) a Hawaiian-flower-surrounded Barack Obama.

Okay. I have the basics covered. Now to become a modern, urban govster. Downtown is Govster Central – new mixed-use developments like CityCenterDC, which welcomes the capital’s first Conrad next year. We’ll lunch on maple syrup-drizzled chicken and waffles at Southern-inspired restaurant Succotash; or hang out at Eaton DC – the flagship property of the Hong Kong hospitality brand, which opens this month – to mingle with some of the city’s artists, journalists and activists.

The Wharf is the new waterfront district just 20 minutes’ walk (or a short ride on the free shuttle bus) from the Mall. The 1.5-kilometre-long stretch is studded with alfresco restaurants (like Mi Vida, a storming Mexican whose fried cheese and margaritas are the ideal post-work snack), bars (dockside Cantina Bambina) and a coffee-and-gelato shop (Dolcezza Gelato).

DC owes much to The Wharf. The regeneration gave a new lease of life to this previously swampy strip, which is still home to the Municipal Fish Market, the oldest of its kind in the US. The Wharf amped DC’s cool factor. It forced new infrastructure (a fast water taxi to Old Town Alexandria takes just 20 minutes). And it has given government workers of the nearby Mall somewhere other than Capitol Hill to hang after work.

If I’m serious about being an all-American govster I’ll need to get an expensive condo in the Adams Morgan district, recently anchored by the opening of the Line Hotel, in a converted church with a restaurant from famed farm-to-fork chef Spike Gjerde, who cooks ‘hyper local’ stuff. I’ll also need to shop in historic Georgetown.

But DC is only 228 years old. Some oak trees on the George Washington Memorial Parkway are probably older than that. If you want to learn more about American history during your trip, we need to go further back in time – and further down the Potomac river.

Old Town, a neighbourhood within Alexandria, Virginia, is within sight of the Capitol building. Founded in 1749, it’s George Washington’s hometown – the apothecary he used is still there on Fairfax Street, and it’s not hard to imagine him strolling Captain’s Row and the rainbow-coloured row homes and boutiques of King Street. (It’s less easy to imagine President Washington snooping round the three levels of the riverfront Torpedo Factory art centre – where long-time Alexandria resident Lisa Schumaier makes chewing gum Last Suppers – but worth a visit regardless.)

From Alexandria, it’s a 10-minute zip down the George Washington Memorial Parkway to Mount Vernon, the sprawling 200-hectare plantation that the first president of the United States made his home. The road is so landscaped it’s considered a national park; while the humble wooden mansion (delicately restored in private hands) is about as far from Trump Tower as you could imagine.

And back through the suburbs – Arlington, the Pentagon, Theodore Roosevelt Island – into DC proper. I’m having dinner down on The Wharf. The sun is setting behind the yachts moored here; planes are descending into Ronald Reagan National Airport. DC is lively, fun, playful – and a reminder that even the most recognisable and storied of American cities can occasionally reinvent themselves.


For more on visiting Capital Region USA, go to capitalregionusa.org. For more on Washington DC, washington.org; for Old Town Alexandria, visitalexandriava.com; for Baltimore, baltimore.org

DC WINE COUNTRY

Even DC’s nearby wine country, in Loudoun County (America’s richest county), Virginia, has links to the founding fathers.

At the start of the 1800s, Thomas Jefferson tried to plant several grape varieties that he’d magpied from France. They didn’t last, although the idea did: and today the chalky soil of Loudoun, just across the Potomac River, has around 40 of Virginia’s 300 vineyards, growing mainly chardonnay, cabernet franc and viognier. The wine industry here is young, with the oldest vineyards not more than 50 years old.

There are plenty of vineyards to choose from in Loudoun (plus loads of interesting breweries, like Leesburg’s Crooked Run), but one of the most atmospheric wineries is Sunset Hills, in an Amish-renovated German barn, run by Floridians Mike and Diane Canney. Rather unsurprisingly, as the name suggests, there’s a beautiful view of the sunset.
visitloudoun.org

WHERE TO STAY

Washington: Mandarin Oriental

Recently renovated rooms in shades of cream and teal sit inside one of DC’s few luxury riverfront properties, a five-minute stroll from the Mall. The Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC has just launched a Bedside Reading programme, allowing guests to take home a selection of books. Why? Because Jefferson loved to read.
mandarinoriental.com/washington

Old Town Alexandria: Hotel Indigo

Newly opened on the soon-to-be-spruced-up marina, Hotel Indigo has Potomac river views and maritime-themed furnishings. Handily located for Old Town and just moments from King Street.
hotelindigooldtownalexandria.com

Baltimore: The Lord Baltimore

Sixty-six kilometres from downtown DC, Baltimore is the birthplace of the national anthem, and the home of Edgar Allan Poe and TV’s The Wire. Baltimore – the kind of place where you need to use adjectives like ‘edgy’ and ‘authentic’ – grew up around its tobacco trade with England, and today its best bits are still found around the harbour. The Lord Baltimore has a central Downtown location, plush rooms and a rooftop bar for summer nights, and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
lordbaltimorehotel.com

Cathay Pacific launches a four-times-weekly flight to Washington DC from Hong Kong on 15 September

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book