香港特別行政區

一位香港南亞人的心聲

本月適逢排燈節,第三代印裔港人Pavan Shamdasani藉此反思自己在這個城市的位置

何謂香港人?我這個居港印度人多年來一直反覆思索著答案。

大家可能不知道,香港能夠發展為國際金融中心,印度人其實功不可沒。除了「麼地」和「律敦治」等名字外,滙豐銀行、香港大學、天星小輪及半島酒店等不乏印度人為開山元老,也是香港舉足輕重的命脈。

Hari and Padma Harilela. Credit: Michel Setboun/Getty Images

根據政府統計數字,香港現時約有85,000名南亞裔人士,約佔整體人口的百分之一,亦是繼菲律賓及印尼傭工後,城中第三大的移民族群,數字不容小覷,但偏偏乏人關注。

我的家族在1960年代移居香港,其時正值「印度淘金熱」,夏利萊等大亨紛紛在港建立起商業王國。當時,我的祖父因從事進口生意而發迹,部分原因是獲得夏利萊的訂單。但家父就沒有這種運氣了,他在重慶大廈開設的電子產品店,受1987年的股災拖累而關門大吉。

我對香港的早年記憶,均圍繞重慶大廈裡的聲音和情境:那股咖喱角翻熱後散發的羶味,夾雜著塵封的貨架上過期香料滲出的霉味;各種方言此起彼落,還有似乎未經領牌食肆的雜工,鼓起如簧之舌在拉客。這幢大廈後來被王家衛的電影《重慶森林》描繪為九反之地,形象深入民心。

時間在重慶大廈彷彿完全靜止下來,這裡至今仍保留著我兒時記憶中的面貌。若我換上一件舊衛衣,幾天不刮鬍子,自可輕易混在大廈的人群當中,因為大家的打扮都像初來埗到的新移民。

Credit: Moses Ng

但香港的印度人社區還有另一種面貌。自本地金融業騰飛之初,印度的望族已在此地安家立業,構建出獨一無二的次文化。第三、四、五代除了接受英式教育,還深受印度傳統文化的薰陶,形成奇妙的混合體。他們在半山過著與世無爭的生活,只與小圈子的同鄉打交道,每過一代,他們對「落葉歸根」的念頭就愈發模糊。

可是,真正的「根」到底在何方?答案顯然不是印度,我們大多並無歸去之意,亦不情願踏足當地。另一方面,也有許多人捨棄香港,選擇到新加坡和吉隆坡等稅率同樣偏低、但對印度人更友善的地方,剩下我等熱愛香港之輩,成為被嫌棄的異類,忍受偶爾出現的種族歧視。

Credit: Moses Ng

以我的背景,能擁有不錯的際遇和工作實屬萬幸。不過,作為自認的「香港人」,我總是感到為難和洩氣,哪怕只是一句「你原籍何處?」,也足夠令人厭煩。

我並非在香港出生,但人生大部分時間也在這片土地上度過,因此一直自視為香港人。某程度上,我的經歷呼應了祖父母和雙親那份莫名飄泊的感覺,雖然身處在文化上截然不同的地方,卻保留著祖籍印度的自豪。

徘徊在瞬息萬變的當下和對往昔不斷褪色的追憶之間,心之所在,就是你家。居港的印度人縱然被史冊遺忘,或迷失在族群聚集的「重慶森林」中,甚至隱居於自己的堡壘內;但他們在社會、經濟和文化層面,都是香港的重要一員,特別是印度文化,更彰顯出香港作為文化大熔爐的地位。

Credit: Photo 12/Alamy Stock Photo

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Hong Kong SAR

Reflections on Being South Asian in Hong Kong

In the month of Diwali, a third-generation Indian Hongkonger considers his place as part of the other one percent: South Asians in the city

What defines a Hongkonger? As an ethnic Indian living in the city, I’ve often asked myself that question over the years. 

Most aren’t aware, but Indians played a significant role in the development of Hong Kong into a global financial capital. Names like Mody and Ruttonjee, alongside (at least partly) Indian-founded institutions such as HSBC, HKU, Star Ferry and The Peninsula have become major backbones of society. 

Hari and Padma Harilela. Credit: Michel Setboun/Getty Images

Today, South Asians number around 85,000 in Hong Kong according to government census statistics. That’s about 1 per cent of the total population and the third highest group of immigrants after the city’s Filipino and Indonesian domestic helper workforce. It’s a number not to be ignored, though many do. 

My family first came to Hong Kong in the 1960s, during the ‘Indian gold rush’, when people like tycoon Hari Harilela built his empire. My grandfather found great success here as an importer, partly through dealings with Harilela. My father? Not so much – 1987’s ‘Black Monday’ wiped out his electronics shop in Chungking Mansions.

My early recollections of Hong Kong are the sights and sounds of this building, later immortalised as a den of iniquity in Wong Kar-wai’s Chungking Express. The smells of reheated samosas and stale spices sitting on dusty shop shelves, the cacophony of a dozen dialects all spoken at once, the calls of touts trying to entice you into semi-legal restaurants.

If there was ever a place where time stood still, it’s here in Chungking. It all feels much the same as it did when I was a kid. And if I don an old hoodie and don’t shave for a couple days, I easily blend in, seemingly fresh off the boat like any other.

Credit: Moses Ng

But there’s the other side, too, the upper echelon of Indian society in Hong Kong, those who’ve been here since its early financial-glory days and carved out a distinct sub-culture. Third, fourth, fifth-generation, a bizarre blend of British educations and traditional Indian culture, living shielded lives in hilly suburbs and socialising only with each other. Each subsequent generation a little less aware of what it’s like ‘back home’.

But where is home? It’s certainly not India, with few of us having any intention of visiting, let alone going back. For many, it’s not Hong Kong either – choosing more Indian-friendly destinations like Singapore and Kuala Lumpur, where taxes are equally as low. Which leaves the rest of us, the ones who’ve embraced the city – warts, casual racism and all.

Credit: Moses Ng

I’m thankful that my own life and career in the city have been fairly fortunate, considering my background. But there’s always that feeling of discomfort and discontent as a self-defined ‘Hongkonger’ – even if it is just the petty annoyance of, ‘No, but where are you really from?’

I wasn’t born in Hong Kong, but I’ve spent most of my life here and I’ll always consider myself a Hongkonger. In a way, my experience mirrors that strangely adrift sensation my parents and grandparents felt: proud Indians despite culturally disparate surroundings.

Home is a mindset, between the rapidly changing present and the nostalgic, ever-fading past. Indians here might be forgotten – in the history books, lost in their building ghettos, hidden in their ivory towers – but socially, economically and, most importantly, culturally, we’re an essential part of the multicultural melting pot that is Hong Kong.

Credit: Photo 12/Alamy Stock Photo
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book