開普敦

重新認識南非美饌

20多年前種族隔離制度廢除時,南非並無國菜可言。幸而,在全球飲食文化的影響下,加上有心人竭力保存各種地道菜式,令南非的飲食行業百花齊放。 撰文 MELISSA TWIGG

旅遊雜誌向來大費篇幅地歌頌開普敦的巍峨山脈、白沙海灘、色彩繽紛的建築和燦爛的陽光,而附近的Franschhoek和Stellenbosch 的醉人景致,以及當地由白人移民後裔經營的農場釀造的優質葡萄酒,更有大量專書介紹。那麼南非的美食又如何?嗯,只能說大量的肉食和加入過量甜味的蔬菜,並沒什麼值得一提。

在這個全球其中一個文化最多元的國家中,選擇高舉哪一張傳統旗幟並非易事。多年來,擁有11種官方語言的南非就對應該選什麼做國菜毫無頭緒。種族隔離制度可謂責無旁貸,南非一直由佔少數的白人統治,直至1994年為止。在這背景下,所有非白人傳統都被棄如敝屣。因此,主流餐廳都著重歐洲高級餐飲和經典南非白人菜式,當地的馬來人、印度人、祖魯族人、科薩族人和科伊桑人雖擁有多姿多采的飲食面貌,卻未能登堂入室。

更糟的是,南非遭多國制裁,國人根本無法向外地的餐飲潮流取經。當地廚師不但被禁止前往部分西方城市,更置身於一個毫無旅客問津的國家,完全無法增長提升廚藝。

Foliage, South Africa
Credit: Claire Gunn

Chris Erasmus在位於Franschhoek的得獎餐廳Foliage擔任總廚,他說:「種族隔離制度令我們無法出國,連想探索自己的文化傳統亦難如願。這一切都拜某些作出糟糕決策的笨蛋所賜,而我們亦因此全困在這裡,重覆烹煮著一模一樣的東西。我出身於馬姆斯伯里(一個位於西開普省的小鎮),當我還是個年輕廚師時,我感到諸多掣肘,覺得對自己國家和外頭世界的真實面貌全然不知。」

今天,Foliage已成為西開普省最享負盛名的餐廳之一,更是南非於過去23年發展的寫照,顧客望向開放式廚房,可看到廚師中有科薩族人、祖魯族人、白人移民後裔、有色人種(由眾多族裔組成的南非獨特群體)和英國人,他們全都將家傳食譜融入餐廳的時令餐單中。

Erasmus指出:「我們向科薩人同事學習牛奶發酵技術,從祖魯人同事身上認識燉豆食譜,也向有色人種朋友學習烹煮開普馬來菜式;凡此種種,都令餐廳的菜式精益求精,而我們還有許多同道中人。開普敦的廚師們終於開始擺脫歐洲和過往的殖民歷史,尋找屬於自己的身份,令這裡的飲食業逐漸百花齊放。15年前,南非的餐廳全都一式一樣,但現在已不可同日而語。」

South African Cuisine

Erasmus一直有學習科伊桑人的烹飪傳統和覓食技巧。科伊桑人是一個由依靠狩獵和採集維生的桑族、以及來自北開普省的科伊科伊人組成的民族,其遠祖留下的石壁畫,令世界為之著迷。他們的文化和傳統在毗鄰納米比亞邊境的沙漠地帶保存下來,現在更於開普敦的餐廳裡,藉著濱藜燉羊肉和蜂蜜酒布甸等菜式再生。

有趣的是,Erasmus認為跟他們情況最相近的國家是中國:「開普敦是香料之路的重要驛站,多個世紀以來,這裡的菜式都加入大量香料烹調。南非和中國同樣被世界漠視多年,令兩國變得較封閉。而且二者都甚為著重保存食物,使用大量鹽和糖,並突顯酸甜的味道。」

Foliage, South Africa
Credit: Claire Gunn
Pot Luck Club, South Africa

香料之路在塑造現代南非菜系的過程中扮演舉足輕重的角色,主要因為17和18世紀時,成千上萬的爪哇和南印度奴隸,被荷蘭東印度公司送到開普敦的農場工作。時至今日,他們的後代都說南非語,並且已經完全融入開普敦的有色人種社群,不過他們強大的烹飪傳統仍然留存。

任何前往開普敦的旅客都應該到訪Bo-Kaap區,一睹如寶石般色彩繽紛的房屋。除了拍下值得分享至社交媒體的照片之外,更應一試Biesmiellah和Bo-Kaap Kombuis等地道馬來餐廳,在獅頭山下品嚐印度香飯、肉批、印度咖哩角和香辣小吃。

在Paternoster、海濱購物城和Franschhoek三地經營人氣餐廳的廚師Reuben Riffel表示:「這是一個非常特別的地方。我來自一個有色人種小鎮,而社群對我們而言十分重要。世事多變,但Bo-Kaap一切依舊。雖然種族隔離法律摧毀了南非許多社群,但強逼遷徙也激發了留下來的人深化其傳統,而食物就成為了我們族群身份的重要代表。」

Foliage, South Africa
Credit: Claire Gunn

隨著西方食評家終於將姍姍來遲的注意力投向南非,當地好幾家餐廳相繼贏得國際美譽。The Test Kitchen自從2014年開始,每年都在全球50大最佳餐廳中榜上有名,而其總廚Luke Dale-Roberts深信南非將於十年之內,躍升為可與日本和意大利匹敵的美食天堂。

他指出:「這裡可謂萬事俱備,我們有優質的農產品、可供開設優雅餐廳的空間和風景、才華出眾的廚師,以及一系列多元而獨特的美食傳統。此外,我們也逐漸建立自信,不再抄襲歐洲,而能夠欣賞自己的獨特個性。」

Boschendal, South Africa

住宿

Babylonstoren 酒店

這個由白人移民後裔開設的葡萄酒和水果農場搖身一變,成為開普敦最怡人的景點之一,無論是一日遊或留宿皆讓人盡興。遍植李樹、繡球花和仙人掌的庭園,本身就已是一個美麗的景點。

babylonstoren.com

Babylonstoren, South Africa

The Mount Nelson 酒店

The Mount Nelson是開普敦的馳名建築,髹上粉紅色的外牆向昔日年代致敬,內裡以木地板和吊扇裝飾,長長的走廊陽台可供品嚐下午茶。

belmond.com

Mount Nelson Belmond
Credit: Mark Williams

更多美食

Boschendal

Franschhoek山谷以風景秀麗著稱,而Boschendal則是當地最迷人的酒莊,17世紀建成的大屋被綠油油的橡樹和湖泊環抱,更為客人提供豐盛的戶外草坪野餐。

boschendal.com

Boschendal, South Africa

Pot Luck Club

Pot Luck Club盤踞於一幢舊貨倉的六樓,主打各式小吃,包括牛柳伴咖啡朱古力汁,以及桃駁李杏仁撻配麥芽爆谷雪糕。

thepotluckclub.co.za

Pot Luck Club, South Africa

活動

Bree Street 街道

Bree Street街道的起點就在桌山下,你可從街頭直走到鄰近海濱購物城的街尾,途中可閒逛家具店、時裝店和咖啡廳,也可以找到知名的西班牙小吃餐廳、小龍蝦酒吧和以色列美食。

Youngblood Art Gallery, Cape Town
Credit: M.Sobreira / Alamy Stock Photo / Argus photo

Local gin & tonic 本地氈湯力

推介位於美麗的玫瑰庭園的Gin Bar,還有Mother’s Ruin,這兩家酒吧均主打南非釀製的氈酒。南非氈酒都帶有開普敦土生細葉灌木「凡波斯」的味道。

Mother's Ruin Gin Bar, Cape Town
Credit: Suretha Rous / Alamy Stock Photo / Argus photo

國泰航空設有由香港飛往約翰內斯堡的航班,每周有七班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Cape Town

What is South African food?

When apartheid ended over two decades ago, South Africa had no real idea what its national cuisine was. But international influences have combined with an effort to preserve the numerous local cuisines, resulting in a dynamic food scene. Words: MELISSA TWIGG

Travel magazines have long waxed lyrical about Cape Town’s craggy mountains, white sandy beaches, colourful architecture and brilliant sunshine, while entire books have been devoted to the beauty of nearby Franschhoek and Stellenbosch and the superb wine produced in their Cape Dutch farms. But the food? Well, let’s just say that the meat-focused meals and overly sweetened vegetables weren’t anything to write home about.

The problem with being from one of the most culturally diverse nations on earth is that it is rather difficult to choose which tradition to celebrate. And for years, South Africa, a country of 11 official languages, had no idea what its national cuisine was. Apartheid must shoulder a lot of the blame for this. Up until 1994, South Africa operated under minority rule, which meant that any non-white tradition was deemed irrelevant. So the rich world of Cape Malay, Indian, Zulu, Xhosa and Khoisan cooking was swept aside in mainstream restaurants for a focus on European fine dining and classic Afrikaans recipes.

And to make matters worse, as members of a pariah nation, South Africans were unable to draw on the necessary inspiration from international culinary trends. Banned from travelling to a number of Western cities and based in a country that was firmly off any sort of tourist trail, local chefs had no way of expanding their knowledge.

Foliage, South Africa
Credit: Claire Gunn

‘Apartheid meant that none of us could go abroad or even explore our own heritage, so we were all stuck here cooking the same things over and over because of some idiots who made terrible decisions,’ says Chris Erasmus, the head chef at the award-winning Franschhoek-based Foliage Restaurant. ‘I grew up in Malmesbury [a small town in the Western Cape] and during my younger years as a chef I felt trapped, like I was missing out on the reality of my own country and the rest of the world.’

Today, Foliage is one of the most critically acclaimed restaurants in the Western Cape and a wonderful illustration of exactly
how far South Africa has come in the past 
23 years. Diners can look into the open kitchen, which is staffed by chefs who are Xhosa, Zulu, Afrikaans, Coloured – denoting a distinct South African racial group made up of numerous ethnic backgrounds – and English, all of whom incorporate family recipes into the seasonal menu.

‘We get milk fermenting techniques from our Xhosa colleagues and bean-stew recipes from our Zulu ones and Cape Malay dishes from our Coloured friends – and our food is the better for it,’ says Erasmus. ‘But we’re not alone. The restaurant scene here in Cape Town is getting really diverse as chefs are finally starting to find an identity separate from Europe and our colonial past. Fifteen years ago, South African restaurants were all the same, but not any more.’

South African Cuisine

Erasmus himself has been studying the culinary traditions and the foraging techniques of the Khoisan people, a group made up of San hunter-gatherers and the Khoikhoi of the Northern Cape. Famous for creating some of the most compelling rock art in the world, their culture and traditions have survived in the desert lands near the Namibian border and are now being recreated in Cape Town restaurants in dishes such as saltbush lamb stew and honey mead pudding.

But interestingly, the country Erasmus draws the closest parallels to is China. ‘Cape Town was a key stop on the Spice Route, and heavily spiced recipes have been a part of community cooking for centuries,’ he says. ‘Like China, both our countries were ignored by the rest of the world for a long time, which meant they became quite inward-looking. They also both have a strong focus on preserving food and use lots of salt and sugars, playing off the idea of sweet and sour flavours.’

Foliage, South Africa
Credit: Claire Gunn
Pot Luck Club, South Africa

The Spice Route has played an integral part in making South African cuisine what it is today, not least because during the 17th and 18th centuries, the Dutch East India Company imported thousands of Javanese and South Indian slaves to work on Cape farms. Today their descendants speak Afrikaans and have fully integrated into the Cape Town Coloured community but their strong culinary traditions live on.

And any visitor to Cape Town should visit the beautiful jewel-like houses of Bo-Kaap – and not just to get an Instagram-worthy picture, but for the authentic Malay restaurants such a Biesmiellah and Bo-Kaap Kombuis, which serve biryani, bobotie, samosas and chilli bites under the shadow of Lion’s Head mountain.

‘It is an incredibly special place,’ says chef Reuben Riffel, who runs hugely popular restaurants of his own in Paternoster, the Waterfront and Franschhoek. ‘I come from a small Coloured town and community is so important to us. Naturally things change, but in Bo-Kaap it has stayed the same. While Apartheid laws destroyed so many communities across South Africa, the forced relocations encouraged those who stayed to deepen their traditions, and food became an especially powerful reminder of who we were.’

Foliage, South Africa
Credit: Claire Gunn

And as Western food critics finally turn their long overdue attention to Africa, a number of these restaurants are winning international acclaim. Luke Dale-Roberts is head chef of The Test Kitchen, which has appeared annually on the World’s 50 Best Restaurants list since 2014, and he is a firm believer that South Africa is set to become a culinary destination to rival Japan and Italy within the next decade.

‘We have everything here: incredible produce, the space and the landscape to create beautiful restaurants, talented chefs and a diverse, unique range of gastronomic traditions,’ he says. ‘And slowly we’re getting the confidence to stop copying Europe and instead start celebrating just how unique we are.’

Boschendal, South Africa

Stay

Babylonstoren

This Cape Dutch wine and fruit farm has been transformed into one of the loveliest places in Cape Town to spend the day or night. The grounds are an attraction in their own right, filled with plum trees, hydrangeas and cacti.

babylonstoren.com

Babylonstoren, South Africa

The Mount Nelson 

The Mount Nelson is a Cape Town institution and a pretty-in-pink tribute to a past era, featuring wooden floors, ceiling fans and a long veranda to have afternoon tea on.

belmond.com

Mount Nelson Belmond
Credit: Mark Williams

Eat

Boschendal

The Franschhoek Valley is famously photogenic, and Boschendal, with its 17th-century main house, shady oak trees, lakes and generous outdoor picnics on the lawns, is the prettiest of the local wine farms.

boschendal.com

Boschendal, South Africa

Pot Luck Club

Sitting on the sixth floor of a silo building, the Pot Luck Club focuses on small plates like beef fillet with chocolate and coffee sauce, or a nectarine almond tart served with malted-popcorn ice cream.

thepotluckclub.co.za

Pot Luck Club, South Africa

Do

Bree Street

Walk all the way from the top of Bree Street, which starts under Table Mountain, down to the bottom, which ends near the Waterfront, and pop into the furniture shops, fashion boutiques and coffee bars.  You’ll also find acclaimed tapas restaurants, crayfish bars and Israeli food.

Youngblood Art Gallery, Cape Town
Credit: M.Sobreira / Alamy Stock Photo / Argus photo

Local gin & tonic‭ ‬

Head to the Gin Bar, located in a beautiful courtyard scattered with roses, or Mother’s Ruin, both focusing on South African-made gin, which is flavoured with fynbos, a fine-leafed shrub indigenous to the Cape.

Mother's Ruin Gin Bar, Cape Town
Credit: Suretha Rous / Alamy Stock Photo / Argus photo

Cathay Pacific flies to Johannesburg from Hong Kong seven times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book