結伴同遊

意大利帕多瓦的若鄂多立克修士見聞錄

早於現代人飛越千萬里周遊列國之前,無拘無束的若鄂多立克修士花了12年時間穿梭亞洲多地,並把他的所見所聞寫成現今不能錯過的遊記

若鄂多立克修士需要在1318年4月接受面試,才能獲意大利帕多瓦的方濟各會委派出任傳教士和巡迴大使,他應該會碰上「請你先介紹自己」這個棘手的問題,並作答如下:

「我今年32歲,在意大利北部的烏甸尼皈依教會。我剛結束在巴爾幹半島和俄羅斯南部之旅,當地局勢迫使我中止向蒙古人傳道的工作。順帶一提,我父親曾經效力波希米亞的國王奧托卡二世。」

假如坐在一旁的人力資源經理在這時追問:「你期望自己在往後五年將有何發展?」你猜他能否準確回答?

從歷史事實的角度而言,接下來的十多年間,這位辛勤的修士多次出使異地,收集外交情報。在之前的一個世紀,蒙古人攻陷波蘭和匈牙利,西方陣營急欲與東方構築溝通橋樑,而鄂多立克就成為了這道橋樑的總工程師。

他先是橫越黑海到達安那托利亞,並拜訪了特拉布宗及埃爾祖魯姆‭ (‬即現今土耳其‭) ‬的方濟各教會,再從伊朗的大不里士出發,在中東一帶傳教至伊拉克的巴格達,最後抵達孟買附近的印度西岸城市塔那。他在當地收集了幾位殉教者的遺骨,並樂意將它們帶在身邊繼續旅程,直到於瓦賽附近找到合適的教堂將他們安葬為止。其後,他乘坐帆船經爪哇和婆羅洲抵達蘇門答臘,再出發前往廣州。

Credit: Lorenzo Sorato/Unsplash

鄂多立克並非孤身走天涯,至少在其中幾段旅程上,他有「修士好兄弟」愛爾蘭的詹姆斯陪伴在側。我完全理解與鄂多立克結伴同遊的吸引力:除了能認識新事物和滿足冒險精神,還能一舉成名。我彷彿看到他們穿梭於各個港口,一邊翻著看不懂的餐牌,一邊用拉丁語開「食字」玩笑的情景。

東遊結束後,他在家鄉安頓下來,並著手將所見所聞記錄下來。他擁有得天獨厚的觀察力,留意到中國人蓄長指甲的習慣和蘇門答臘的裸體風俗。紙幣的概念使他目瞪口呆,而任何與動物有關的事物他都能詳細描述。他在杭州一個「動物園」目睹數千頭猴子聽到鑼聲後圍在一起討食,並在黑海附近看見「有位男子帶著4,000多隻鷓鴣在身邊,情景就像小雞包圍母雞一樣。」

Illustrations: Lok Wong

但鄂多立克的作品不僅僅是奇聞軼事:他筆下透露出亞洲許多珍貴的秘密。胡椒、大黃、竹筍和西米等新奇的食物皆引起他的注意,還有風行亞洲的草藥。再者,他並非盲目信奉歐洲優越論,因此能大方承認中國的郵政系統遠勝任何西方國家。

縱使鄂多立克身處識字率不高的年代,他的遊記仍一紙風行,成為了修士必讀的東方探奇錄。同年代的作家爭相抄襲他的作品,但鄂多立克的遊記不乏稀奇古怪的故事,教後來的學者生疑。鄂多立克修士於1331年在比薩附近逝世,並獲風光大葬。歷史並沒有詳細記載愛爾蘭的詹姆斯的下落,但我樂意想像他在小鄉村的酒館中娓娓道出與鄂多立克同行的精采旅程,令酒客聽得如痴如醉:

「我不騙你,廣東人可是懂得訓練一種黑色雀鳥幫忙捉魚‭……‬」

里數競賽

鄂多立克與21世紀旅客大對決

路線

鄂多立克意大利波代諾內至中國杭州 (來回)

意大利米蘭出發,途經香港至中國杭州 (單程)

時間

鄂多立克~12年

15小時15分鐘

中途站

鄂多立克最少40個

只有1個

賺取的「亞洲萬里通」里數(經濟客艙)

鄂多立克46,200

14,600

(欲知你下次旅程能賺取多少「亞洲萬里通」里數,請點擊這裡)

每小時賺取的「亞洲萬里通」里數

鄂多立克0.44

957

(欲知你下次旅程能賺取多少「亞洲萬里通」里數,請點擊這裡)

途中娛樂

鄂多立克認識食人族、收集殉教者遺骨、謁見王侯將相 ……

逾1000小時的機上娛樂節目,包括電影、電視節目和音樂等

千奇百趣

鄂多立克花盡心思記述洋洋大觀,但他的所見所聞往往令人嘖嘖稱奇。

Illustrations: Lok Wong

中國福州的羊毛母雞

「這裡的公雞體型冠絕全世界,母雞身上沒有羽毛,而是如綿羊般長出羊毛,毛色潔白如雪。」

越南的巨龜

「我看見一頭烏龜,體型龐大得好比帕多瓦聖安多尼聖殿的拱頂,龜殼直徑至少有40英呎。」

Illustrations: Lok Wong

印度孟買的碩鼠

「這裡的奇珍異獸種類繁多‭……‬巨如白鴿的蝙蝠和碩大如狗的老鼠。正因如此,捕鼠任務必須交由獵犬負責。」

伊朗大不里士的鹽山

「這座城附近有座鹽山,蘊藏豐富的鹽礦,令全城的鹽巴供應源源不絕,所有人都可隨意取用,無須付出分毫。」

Illustrations: Lok Wong

婆羅洲的奇樹

「此地的樹木千奇百怪,有些長出麵粉或蜜糖,又有些產出葡萄美酒,甚至猛烈無比的劇毒。」

高加索山脈的肉蜜瓜

「據說此地長有碩大的蜜瓜,瓜熟蒂落時會爆開,內藏恍如羊羔的小獸,可謂鮮果與肉食兼得!」

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Travels with

Recounting the Many Miles and Tall Tales of Odoric of Pordenone

Way before mileage runs were a thing, the footloose friar Odoric spent 12 years crisscrossing Asia and turned his adventures into one of the first must-read travelogues

Had Friar Odoric of Pordenone submitted to a job interview in April 1318, before being despatched from Padua, Italy as a Franciscan missionary-cum-itinerant diplomat, here’s how he might have responded to that ticklish invitation: ‘Tell us about yourself’.

‘I’m 32, took my vows at Udine in northern Italy, and I’m just back from the Balkans and southern Russia where I had my work cut out preaching to the Mongols. Oh, and my father used to work for King Ottokar of Bohemia.’

But could he have provided an accurate response to that HR manager standby: ‘Where do you see yourself in five years’ time?’

In point of fact, the next dozen years saw the footloose friar trot haphazardly across the globe on a mission to put out diplomatic feelers; the previous century, Mongol hordes had laid waste to Poland and Hungary – some bridge-building was in order, and Odo was designated chief engineer.

He began by crossing the Black Sea to Anatolia – dropping in on Franciscan houses in Trabzon and Erzurum (modern-day Turkey) – before preaching his way around the Middle East from Tabriz (Iran) to Baghdad (Iraq), and arriving on the west coast of India at Thane, near Mumbai. Here he picked up the remains of some martyred colleagues, which he happily lugged about the country on his travels, until he found a suitable resting place at a church near Vasai. He later set sail in a junk for Sumatra, via Java and Borneo, before arriving at the Chinese port of Guangzhou.

Credit: Lorenzo Sorato/Unsplash

He didn’t travel alone. At least part of the way, he was accompanied by his BFF (Best Friar Forever), who went by the singular moniker of Brother James of Ireland. I can well understand the attraction of accompanying Odo: fresh horizons, a lust for adventure, a soupçon of fame, to be sure. I can just visualise the pair skipping from port to port, rolling eyes at unfamiliar menus and swapping puns in Latin.

Back home, he settled down to put everything he’d seen and done on parchment. He had the gift of pithy observation, noting the Chinese habit of growing fingernails long and the prevalence of nudity in Sumatra. He was gobsmacked by the concept of paper money. And anything to do with animals got several paragraphs. At a zoo in Hangzhou he witnessed thousands of monkeys summoned by gong at feeding time, and near the Black Sea observed ‘a certain man taking about with him more than 4,000 partridges gathered about him like chickens about a hen.’

Illustrations: Lok Wong

But Odo’s reportage went beyond mere anecdotes: he could see that Asia had many valuable secrets to impart. Pepper, rhubarb, bamboo and sago – all new foodstuffs as far as he was concerned – caught his attention, as did the widespread use of herbal medicine. And he was no blinkered Eurocentric, freely admitting that China’s postal system was far superior to anything that existed in the West.

As far as was possible at a time of limited literacy, Odoric’s travelogue topped the charts – a friar’s must-read eye-view of the ‘exotic Orient’. Contemporary authors plagiarised his text shamelessly, though later critics have raised eyebrows at some of his fanciful tales.

Friar Odoric died near Pisa in 1331 with a full-scale funeral organised. What happened to Brother James, history does not relate: but I like to think of him keeping fellow drinkers spellbound with tales of his riproaring adventures alongside Odoric in some rural shebeen: ‘Honest now, around Canton they train these black birds to catch fish…’

Mileage Run: Odoric vs Today’s Traveller

Route

Odoric: Pordenone, Italy – Hangzhou, China (return)

You: Milan, Italy – Hangzhou, China via Hong Kong (one-way)

Duration

Odoric: Around 12 years

You: 15 hours, 15 minutes

Stopovers

Odoric: At least 40

You: Just one

Asia Miles (Economy)

Odoric: 46,200

You: 14,600

(click here to learn more about how you can earn Asia Miles on your next flight)

Asia Miles Per Hour

Odoric: 0.44

You: 957

(click here to learn more about how you can earn Asia Miles on your next flight)

Entertainment

Odoric: Meeting cannibals, carrying martyr bones, visiting Maharajahs and Khans…

You: 1,000+ hours of inflight entertainment including movies, TV and music

Stranger Than Fiction

Odoric told of the spectacular things he’d seen: but sometimes his reports took on a more dubious nature.

Illustrations: Lok Wong

Woolly Hens in Fuzhou, China

‘Here be seen the biggest cocks in the world, and all their hens are as white as snow, having wool instead of feathers, like sheep’

Giant Tortoises in Vietnam

‘I saw a tortoise as big as the dome of St Anthony’s at Padua – at least 40 foot in diameter’

Illustrations: Lok Wong

Giant Rats in Mumbai, India

‘Here be found sundry beasts… bats as big as pigeons, and rats as big as dogs. And for this reason, rats are caught by dogs’

Salty Hills in Tabriz, Iran

‘Near that city is a mountain of salt, which furnisheth great store of salt for the whole place. And of this salt, taketh every man as much as he listeth, and payeth nothing’

Illustrations: Lok Wong

Talented Trees in Borneo

‘Here be found trees that produce flour, and some that produce honey, others that produce wine, and others a poison the most deadly that existeth’

Meaty Melons in the Caucasus

‘It is said here grow very large melons. And when these be ripe, they burst, and a little beast is found inside like a small lamb, so that they have both melons and meat!’

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book