音樂

與馮添枝探討亞洲音樂市場

在香港亞洲流行音樂節舉行前夕,國際唱片業協會(香港會)的總裁馮添枝分享如何聯合亞洲市場

IFPI是音樂產業的代表。亞洲的音樂產業與世界其他地方有什麼不同之處?

其中一個分別是亞洲擁有龐大的卡拉OK市場。亞洲每個地區都有各自的主流曲風及語言,這方面有別於美國,與歐洲則較為相似。如果將這些地區市場整合,市場規模將十分龐大,而且音樂類型非常多元化。香港曾經長時間雄霸亞洲娛樂事業,對外輸出音樂、電影及電視節目,直至20年前互聯網冒起時才改變。

音樂產業如何應對串流播放的迅速發展?

由於有太多未經授權的內容,音樂產業在合法銷售方面遭受了重大打擊,但業界採取了有效的應對方法,將經營重點轉移至藝人管理及現場娛樂方面。事實上,串流播放驅使樂迷去看演唱會,現場欣賞他們喜愛的音樂。這些活動其實由唱片業在背後帶動,因此說唱片業已死實在大錯特錯。

娛樂產業在未來幾年會如何演變?

香港各大唱片公司現正積極涉足不同娛樂範疇,包括電影和模特兒經紀業務。這種商業模式,有助他們在藝人與娛樂產品上的投資獲得回報。也有愈來愈多藝人選擇自立門戶,成立自家品牌,以圖在市場上分一杯羹。互聯網成為他們發表作品的主要渠道,因此全球藝人選擇直接在網絡打歌,已屬大勢所趨。

IFPI將於本月在香港主辦第九屆亞洲流行音樂節。這次活動有什麽目標?

為應對娛樂產業的變遷,我們必須將亞洲娛樂市場視作單一市場。秉持著這信念,今年亞洲流行音樂節將同場展示不同市場的音樂文化。是次活動為娛樂業界提供交流平台,安排知名歌星表演(如韓國男團B1A4),並舉辦亞洲超級新星大賽,吸引與會地區歌手參加,包括香港、中國內地、日本、南韓、中國台灣、新加坡、馬來西亞、泰國和去年新加入的越南。

亞洲超級新星大賽採取什麼賽制?

每個地區都會派一位歌手出賽,而評審則不能投選自己所屬地區的選手。這是一場公平公正的比賽,連我們亦無法控制賽果。觀眾一直都十分喜愛所有參賽歌手,亦對他們的歌藝十分欣賞,無分地域界限。比賽參考了歐洲歌唱大賽的模式,雖然歐洲大賽要到1974年第18屆才發掘出一隊ABBA,我希望亞洲流行音樂節的發展能比這更迅速。

香港作為亞洲流行音樂節的東道主有什麼優勢?

香港畢竟是亞洲最自由的市場之一,因此我們選擇以這裡作基地。此外,我們背靠中國內地,隨著南中國大灣區的發展愈受注目,中國元素就顯得更加重要了。

國泰航空是今年香港亞洲流行音樂節的官方航空伙伴,音樂節定於3月22日舉行。公眾可經各大途徑免費索取門票。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Music

Q&A with Ricky Fung on the Asian Music Market

Ahead of the Hong Kong Asian-Pop Music Festival, the CEO of music industry organisation IFPI (Hong Kong group) reflects on uniting the Asian market

The International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) represents the music industry. How is the industry unique in Asia?

One way it’s unique is its very big karaoke market. Each region has its own repertoire and languages – it’s more like Europe in that sense, rather than the US – and if we put them together we have a formidable market size and diverse music. For a long time, Hong Kong was the kingpin of Asian entertainment, exporting music, film and TV shows – until 20 years ago, when the internet emerged.

Hong Kong music industry

How is the industry adapting to the proliferation of streaming?

With so much unauthorised content available, the industry has suffered a lot in terms of legitimate sales. But it’s adapted by focusing more on artist management and live entertainment. Streaming has actually propelled the music audience to go to concerts to experience the music they love in a live environment. The recording industry drives all of these activities; it is wrong to say the record business has died.

What evolution will we see in the coming years?

One trend among Hong Kong’s major record companies is that they now oversee every aspect of entertainment, even movies and modelling agencies. This business model helps them monetise their investments in artists and repertoire. We are also seeing a wave of independent artists forming their own labels to fight for a piece of the market. The internet has made channels available to them to expose their music, so the world over we are seeing artists going direct to internet. We’ll continue to see more of this.

hong kong music industry

This month IFPI is organising the ninth Asian-Pop Music Festival in Hong Kong. What are the goals of the event?

To respond to the changes in the industry, we must look at the Asian market as one market. Born of this belief, the AMF showcases the music cultures of different markets in one annual event. There’s a networking forum for players in the market, performances by established stars (such as B1A4) and also the Supernova song contest, with singers coming from our participating regions – Hong Kong, mainland China, Japan, South Korea, Chinese Taiwan, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand and last year’s newly added Vietnam.

How does the Supernova contest work?

Each region puts forth a singer for the contest, and the judges cannot cast votes for the contestant from their own region. It is a fair contest; even we have no control over the outcome. Without fail, the audience always love the contestants and are surprised at their artistry and abilities, wherever they’re from. The contest is based on Eurovision, which took 18 editions to discover ABBA, in 1974. I hope AMF can grow faster than Eurovision did.

hong kong music industry

What advantages does Hong Kong have as host of AMF?

We use Hong Kong as a base because it is, after all, one of Asia’s freest markets. And behind us is mainland China, which is a prominent factor as we increasingly talk about the strategic importance of southern China’s Greater Bay Area.

Cathay Pacific is the official flyer of 2019’s Hong Kong Asian-Pop Music Festival, held 22 March. Tickets are available to the public for free through various channels.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book