健康與養生

Pure Yoga創辦人Patrick Creelman教授機上伸展動作

這些簡單的伸展運動不會佔用很多空間

飛行前後最適合做什麼瑜伽動作?

能夠伸展脊骨及胸腔的動作有助紓緩繃緊的背肌。另一組動作是面部朝下伏於地上,伸展手臂及雙腿,同時提升胸口。如想紓緩雙腿、腳踝或膝蓋腫脹,則可將雙腳高舉至心臟以上的位置。

有什麼伸展動作適合經濟艙的乘客?

不用佔據太多空間的簡單伸展動作,如將雙臂舉高至頭上數次,然後輕輕將身軀向兩邊扭動。若想伸展下半身,則要離開座位四處走動,並站起來做彎腰壓腿的動作。

乘搭飛機時,適宜在機艙站立及走動多少次?

即使是短暫的走動,已可大幅縮短著陸後所需的復原速度。我習慣在短途航班每小時站立一下,長途航班則每兩至三小時起身走動。就算只是走到洗手間的短短路程或是靠牆做幾回伸展動作,也可紓緩身體的不適。

坐飛機時動也不動有何壞處?

在機艙座位上久坐不動,完全不作走動,愈坐得久,身體肌肉愈發萎縮,更會變得精神呆滯。即使只是稍作活動伸展十分鐘,已可緩解疲勞之苦、肌肉繃緊和消化不良等,更能清醒頭腦。

舒適飛行小心得

Illustrations: Bay Leung
  • 到訪玉衡堂商務貴賓室的「瑜逸閣」,那是香港國際機場首個專屬瑜伽和冥想所用的空間,讓你在展開旅程前充分舒展身軀,靜心養神。

  • 穿著舒適及具彈性的衣物,既舒適亦可保持清爽。若果你於下機後需立即參加會議,可帶備更換的衣物。

  • 戴上旅遊頸枕,可讓頭部以最自然的姿勢入睡,避免頸肩疼痛。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Health and wellness

The Best Inflight Stretches According to Pure Yoga’s Patrick Creelman

Simple stretches and exercises that don’t require much space on your next flight

What’s the perfect pre- and post-flight yoga routine?

Exercises that twist the spine and rib cage are perfect for countering stiff back muscles. Another excellent move is to lie on the floor face down, then lift your chest off the floor while stretching your arms and legs. Finally, combat swelling in the feet, ankles or knees by adopting a pose with your feet raised above the heart.

What are good in-flight stretches for Economy Class?

Simple stretches that don’t require much space. Raise your arms over your head a few times and gently twist your core from side to side. For the lower body: lift your legs and hips off the seat, walk around, and bend over while standing up.

How many times should you stand up and move around in-flight?

A little walk can dramatically reduce our recovery time back on earth. I tend to stand up every hour on short-haul flights, every two to three hours for long-haul. Even a short walk to the bathroom and a few stretches against the wall is beneficial.

Why is sitting for the whole journey a bad idea?

The more sedentary we are – sitting still and not moving – the more the body atrophies and the mind becomes dull. Even just 10 minutes of gentle exercise can reduce the suffering of fatigue, stiffness and poor digestion, while improving mental clarity.

Tips for a Comfortable Flight

Illustrations: Bay Leung
  • Visit The Sanctuary by Pure Yoga at The Pier Business Class lounge – the first dedicated yoga and meditation space at Hong Kong International Airport. It provides the perfect place to stretch, relax and rejuvenate body and mind before flight.

  • Dress in comfortable, stretchy fabrics for the plane. If you have to go straight to a meeting, bring a change of clothes. This will also help to keep you feeling fresh.

  • Sleep with your head in a neutral position to guard against a stiff neck – travel pillows help.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book