仰光

緬甸的古蹟保育

仰光於殖民時期的建築久經時間考驗,但它們還能抵受歲月的洪流多久?我們深入了解保育人士在保存這個城市的古貌上,如何贏得漂亮一仗

緬甸於1824年至1948年受英國統治,期間仰光成為亞洲最耀眼的殖民城市之一,當時人們把緬甸柚木結合傳統殖民時代風格的石構建築,建成一座座巍峨宏偉的大樓。其後緬甸鎖國半世紀,直至2012年才向世界重新開放。現在,這個國家的英文名稱由Burma改為Myanmar,遊客蜂擁而至,欣賞數十年來沒有變改的風景,但同一時間,大型發展工程卻如箭在弦。

英文名稱亦由Rangoon改為Yangon的仰光,正經歷現代化帶來的陣痛,街道面貌今非昔比。抬頭仰望,城市天際線充斥著高高的起重機,摩登的黃巴士逐漸淘汰三輪車,刺耳的打樁聲和鑽地工程的指示牌,預告了新式大樓及設有空調的商場即將落成。但走到市中心,便會發現充滿殖民色彩的建築仍隨處可見,有的保存完好,有的則日久失修。

John Borthwick / Lonely Planet Images / Getty Images

古蹟保育組織、發展商及業主正奮力趕上新時代的發展步伐,同時保存市內的文化瑰寶。一些酒店項目銳意在立新之餘保存、修復古蹟,背後用心可見一斑。

Strand酒店已在仰光屹立多時,早在1901年,這間酒店已開始招待世界各地的旅客和外國使節。酒店所在的Strand Road是毗鄰市內港口的大街。今年春季,這條街道將出現一個新地標:仰光瑰麗酒店。這幢豪華酒店設有106間客房,坐擁五間餐廳及酒吧,天台正在興建新泳池。租約中列明,租戶將這幢建築物改建為酒店的條款,包括全面的保育管理方案。

Christopher Wise

酒店原為法院大樓,亦是亞洲首幢多層鋼筋建築,挑高三層的柱廊宏偉挺拔。改建時,酒店盡量保留原有建築元素,大堂樓梯及雲石支柱只略有修葺,大致不變。內庭及會議室保留柚木地板等舊有特色,牆身則請來專業工匠以灰泥細緻修補,而非以油漆蓋過了事。

仰光瑰麗酒店董事總經理Ed Brea表示:「我們的業主耗費大量時間和資源在這個項目上,他們熱愛這幢建築,矢志不遺餘力保留建築物原貌。」

原址的保育工作並不限於大樓本身。一支商業搶救團隊花了三星期,在其中一個原有庭院進行挖掘,結果發現法院前身的建築遺址,地基下方更埋有一批陶罐。專家正於保育建築組織Yangon Heritage Trust鑒定這批陶罐,但已可肯定大概屬於15或16世紀的孟族王朝。

考古學家兼Yangon Heritage Trust項目經理Rupert Mann稱:「我們有機會藉此一窺歷史的一小部分。」他表示,仰光的歷史城區必須妥善保育,以免大型重建計劃破壞了殖民時期的獨特建築,而此時正是在仰光進行古蹟保育的黃金時機。隨著更多建築展開修葺及考古挖掘,Mann期望能有更令人驚喜的發現,他說:「在這個庭院發掘出文物,意味著整條街上或許有更多考古收穫。」

Lok Wong

事實上,Yangon Heritage Trust已針對保育及都市規劃,制定一套全面的長期策略,反觀當地市政府卻現在才慢慢著手配合。有關策略涵蓋120個大樓項目,包括為當地居民提供成效可觀、價錢合理的屋宇維修方案建議,以及為城中大型建築物制定翻新綱領。計劃亦旨在改善由仰光大金寺步行至波特濤塔的道路狀況,讓旅客可輕鬆走訪這兩座位於市中心兩邊的宗教勝地。其他目標包括改善排污系統、綠化公共空間,以及增加垃圾桶及公園長櫈等配套設施。計劃的大前提是在無須大規模拆卸或興建高樓大廈的情況下推行現代化。

到目前為止,最矚目的是酒店的改造工程,然而並非每一間酒店皆能堅守殖民時期的美學風格。Excelsior Yangon酒店雖妥善保留了昔日殖民建築的美麗外觀,成為市中心內最古意盎然的大樓,但內部設計卻極盡摩登,大堂鋪上型格地磚,客房色調鮮明亮麗。由於這裡曾是一間英國貿易公司,其後更成為商務部的辦公室,因此酒店的圖書館保留了一台當年的打字機,咖啡室也放置了一座古老的倫敦大鐘。經理Philippe Arnaud表示:「我們想為酒店創造獨特的個性,同時在裝潢方面製造令人驚艷的元素。」

前緬甸鐵路公司總部的改建工程亦進行得如火如荼,這座建於1954年的紅磚大廈將蛻變為仰光半島酒店,預計於2021年開幕,成為新銳的多用途發展項目的一部分。

除豪華酒店外,仰光亦有其他保育項目並駕齊驅,其中一個備受注視的是緬甸秘書處大樓的翻新工程,這幢赭紅色大樓是英國殖民時期緬甸官員的辦公樓。1947年,發起脫英獨立運動的昂山將軍(現政府領袖昂山素姬的父親)在此遭到暗殺,令這個地方為世人所知。數十年來,這建築物僅在昂山將軍的忌日才對外開放。目前緬甸秘書處大樓正在進行修建,完工後將設有一間博物館及各式商舖。

Francois Carlet-Soulages / NOI Pictures

前緬甸旅遊局總部同樣萬象更新,這座地標建築擁有獨特的塔樓,位處蘇雷塔對面的黃金地段,其重建工程由查理斯王子發起的慈善組織Turquoise Mountain負責統籌,計劃將建築物改建為一個附設仰光城市比例模型、咖啡館、展覽空間和公共屋頂花園的城市規劃中心。

對於Yangon Heritage Trust等倡議保護仰光古蹟大樓的組織而言,最感自豪的,莫過於看著破舊的大廈重拾昔日光輝。Mann揚言:「仰光將在30年內踏上青雲路,會有許多商業機構爭相在此地落戶,原因是仰光將成為東南亞最後一個保育得宜的城市,而非只是一味走向現代化。」

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往仰光的航班,每周有八班

Yangon

Preserving Myanmar’s Colonial Heritage

Yangon’s colonial buildings have survived the test of time – but for how much longer? We look at how preservationists are winning a battle to keep the city’s past intact

British rule in Burma from 1824 to 1948 saw the creation of one of Asia’s colonial jewel cities, Rangoon. During this period, grand buildings sprung up using a mixture of Burma’s teak combined with traditional colonial-style stone. The country later entered five decades of isolation, until reopening its doors to the world in 2012. Visitors flooded in to explore this country, now named Myanmar, that was much unchanged over decades – but likely on the edge of major development.

As the city, now called Yangon, is subject to the throes of modernisation, change is afoot on its streets. Cranes dot the skyline, new yellow buses are replacing trishaws and the cacophony of hammering and drilling signals the imminent arrival of new apartment blocks and air-conditioned shopping malls. But downtown, signs of its colonial past can still be found on nearly every corner in various states of restoration and disrepair.

Former HQ Burma Railway Company
John Borthwick / Lonely Planet Images / Getty Images

Heritage groups, developers and property owners are working behind the scenes to move with the times while keeping the city’s heritage alive. Some of the most illustrious examples of conscientious restoration and preservation have been part of hotel projects.

Yangon has long had The Strand hotel, which since 1901 has welcomed tourists and foreign officials alike on Strand Road, a boulevard wrapping an entire block abutting the city’s port. The road gets a new addition, Rosewood Yangon, in spring of this year. The 106-room luxury hotel will include five restaurants and bars, with a new swimming pool still to be built on the roof. Conditions to restore and convert the building into a hotel were laid out as part of the lease, and they included a comprehensive conservation management plan.

Yangon Division Office Complex (originally New Law Courts), Yangon, Myanmar.
Christopher Wise

Originally a Law Courts building, the structure, Asia’s first multi-storey steel-framed building, is grand with its three-storey colonnades. Architectural details were kept whenever possible, with the lobby staircase and marble pillars remaining nearly untouched, just lightly restored. The judges’ chambers and meeting room still have features such as the original teak flooring. A plaster specialist was brought in to repair walls instead of painting over various details.

‘It has been a labour of love, commitment and patience in terms of time and investment for our owners,’ says Ed Brea, managing director of Rosewood Yangon.

The site’s preservation hasn’t stopped with the building alone. A commercial salvage team was given three weeks to excavate one of the original courtyards. Among the finds were part of the building that stood there even before it became Law Courts, and further down were a series of pots. Specialists are currently examining the pots at Yangon Heritage Trust, but already they have ascertained that these remnants are likely from the 15th or 16th century, during Mon rule.

‘This was a chance to grab a tiny snapshot of the past,’ says Rupert Mann, archaeologist and programmes manager of Yangon Heritage Trust. It’s an exciting time for working on heritage buildings in Yangon, he says, with the historical downtown requiring preservation, and before large-scale redevelopment plots have obscured the one-of-a-kind colonial structures. Mann hopes that as more buildings are renovated and excavated, there will be more exciting finds. ‘What we found here in the courtyard means we might be able to find others on this street.’

Lok Wong

In fact, the Yangon Heritage Trust has devised a holistic, long-term strategy for preservation and urban planning, which the local council is slowly warming to. The strategy involves 120 building projects and ranges from advising local residents on restoring their own properties affordably and with proper techniques, to renovation plans for larger buildings downtown. The plan also aims to improve walkability from Shwedagon Pagoda to Buthadaung Pagoda – both revered religious sites, which sit on opposite sides of downtown. Other goals include improving drainage, greening public spaces, and adding amenities like rubbish bins and park benches. The overall theme: modernisation without large-scale demolition or high-rise development.

So far, hotels have been some of the most prominent projects, but not all of them have clung to a colonial aesthetic. While the Excelsior Yangon is recognisable as a colonial building from the outside – its exterior has been beautifully restored to become of the most striking structures downtown – it takes an utterly modern, design-driven approach for its interiors, with stylish floor tiles in the lobby and bright colours in the guest rooms. Referencing its former use as the offices of a British trading company and then the Ministry of Commerce, the hotel keeps a typewriter from the building’s previous life in the library and an old London clock in the cafe. ‘We wanted to bring some personality and have something of a wow effect with the decor,’ says manager Philippe Arnaud.

Yangon Excelsior

Construction is now under way to convert the former headquarters of the Myanmar Railway Company, a red-brick building dating back to 1954, into The Peninsula Yangon. It is estimated to open in 2021 amid a modern mixed-use complex.

But there are plenty of preservation projects not centred around luxury hotels. One of the most closely watched projects is the Secretariat Building revamp. This ochre red colonial building was purpose-built for the administrative seat of British Burma. It’s infamous for the 1947 assassination of General Aung San – the father of current leader Aung San Suu Kyi – who led the movement for independence from British rule. For decades, this building was only opened to the public on the day commemorating his death.

Yangon, Myanmar
Francois Carlet-Soulages / NOI Pictures

The Secretariat building is now under restoration. When it reopens, it will house a museum and commercial spaces. Another landmark building gaining new life is the former Tourism Burma Building, with its unique towers and prime location opposite Sule Pagoda. Turquoise Mountain, the charity under Prince Charles, is overseeing the restoration. The plan is to convert the building to include an urban planning centre containing a scale model of Yangon, a cafe, an exhibition space and a public roof garden.

For groups that have been advocating for protection of heritage buildings in Yangon, such as the Yangon Heritage Trust, it’s been a rewarding experience to see dilapidated buildings restored to their former glory. ‘In 30 years Yangon will be a really exciting place,’ says Mann. ‘Businesses will want to set up here because it is the last city in Southeast Asia to have the chance to be preserved instead of just rocketing ahead with modernisation.’ 

Cathay Dragon flies to Yangon from Hong Kong eight times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book