寧波

可能是華東最寧靜的城市

吃不消上海和杭州的喧鬧浮華?寧波讓你遠離繁盛街道和遊客人潮,覓得一個渴望已久的喘息空間

要數華東名城,上海想必佔據首位,隨後或許是南京、杭州和蘇州吧,不過這些城市都不是古代海上絲綢之路的起點。

這份榮譽只屬於寧波。2,000多年來,寧波都是中國東部一個主要轉口港,更是東海之上舉足輕重的港口城市。早於宋朝(公元960年至1279年),已見阿拉伯和猶太商人定居於此;而16世紀時,市內亦一度出現頗具規模的葡萄牙人聚居地,直至政府不堪葡萄牙海盜肆虐而把他們驅逐為止。此外,寧波在歷史上亦曾經有一段長時期,是唯一正式開放予朝鮮和日本的中國港口,成為三個國家之間商業及文化交流的門戶。

credit: Guo Hui / Imaginechina

然而今天的寧波,在鄰近城市的耀目光芒之下卻顯得相形見絀。誠然,它既不及上海璀璨輝煌,又沒有如杭州西湖般被歷代騷人墨客賦詩入畫的不朽地標。那麼,它究竟有何吸引之處?

首先,寧波肯定是華東最為恬靜的大城市。這裡擁有760萬人口,仍然是世上最繁忙的港口之一,更在涵蓋杭州灣的三角洲發展區中扮演日益重要的角色。如此說來可能有點奇怪,但在喧鬧背後,它的確散發著某種寧謐的氛圍。

其實早在唐朝(公元618年至907年)寧波已是佛教禪宗的重鎮,這或許解釋了箇中因由。眾多古剎仍然留存至今,遍佈於城市周邊的山峰上,而當中最大型、歷史最悠久的則是天童寺。該寺建於公元300年,被視為日本禪宗曹洞宗流派的搖籃,而環抱寺廟的竹林,更令該地成為熱門的遠足勝地。

credit: Yin Fujun / Imaginechina

這份恬靜的氛圍一直伸延至寧波風光最優美的東錢湖。偌大的東錢湖湖水極其清澈,根據當地居民所言,每逢春夏風平浪靜、湖水最為清澈的時候,他們會直接飲用湖水。質樸的東錢湖不似杭州知名的西湖般被大群遊客淹沒,令其風光更顯秀麗宜人:翠綠的山巒、老漁村和現代單車徑點綴湖色,形狀奇詭的石頭和垂柳遍佈步道,猶如一幅經典中國水墨畫活現眼前。秀色如斯,難怪寧波是中國山水畫和詩歌的發源地。

至於外型時尚的寧波柏悅酒店就盤踞湖邊,翠綠的花園修葺整齊,獨立別墅設計簡約但設備奢華,加上保存完好的歷史建築,吸引來自上海、蘇州和杭州的旅客前來歡度周末,富有的當地人更視之為舒緩身心的俱樂部。

酒店的「茶苑」前身為一座上500年歷史的祠堂,賓客可在其露天庭院裡享用優質茶品和新鮮即製的寧波湯圓。這種聞名全國的甜點,乃由廚師即席使用臼磨糯米粉,以健康適量的豬油烹調,令其口感極為順滑。此外,酒店的餐廳也提供柔嫩多汁的東錢湖鮮蝦。這些小巧的河蝦肉質清甜,必會令一眾饕客讚歎不已。

Credit: Quanjing

至於酒吧「紅」更是教人印象難忘,它由一所擁有700年歷史的寺廟重建而成,其時髦的亮漆室內裝潢由東京室內設計公司Super Potato操刀。逢星期四和周末,酒吧均設有崑曲表演,這種現存最古老的中國戲曲,被聯合國教科文組織列為非物質文化遺產,而到了午夜時分,酒吧則改由唱片騎師坐鎮。這種新舊娛樂的交替,某程度上也象徵著寧波的往昔和未來。

這正正是寧波給予遊人的印象。就如中國不少城市一樣,寧波既擁抱自身歷史,更開始展望將來,而宏偉的寧波博物館可謂是新舊並存的最佳寫照。這幢建築物出自王澍手筆,他於2012年成為首位獲頒普利茲克建築獎的中國公民。從遠處眺望,其奪目的幾何設計既洋溢現代氣息,復又呼應當地的航海歷史,以及自然山谷、洞穴和湖泊景致。步近細看,更能清楚看到他對傳統細節傾注的心血:建築物外牆飾有數百萬塊磚瓦,全部來自當地的古老房屋和城牆,部分更遠溯至1,300多年前的唐朝。至於博物館內則是一個豐富的寧波歷史知識寶庫,它以一個有趣的角度,闡述這個城市數百年來與日本的密切關係,非常精采。

credit: Nathan Willock/VIEW/Newscom

城內部分歷史最輝煌的地區,也正經歷連番發展。寧波老外灘比上海外灘租界歷史可謂更為久遠,恢宏的英國和荷蘭殖民建築群,亦已演變成一眾酒吧和卡拉OK俱樂部,雖有不搭調之感,但仍不至於像更為聲名遠播的上海外灘那樣,潮人酒吧雲集,堆砌出大都會紙醉金迷的浮華氣息。南塘老街則是以傳統街道建築見稱的旅遊區,網羅眾多知名小吃,包括臭豆腐、寧波糯米湯圓,以及直接從鄰近東海捕獲的烤海鮮等,雖然南塘老街的建築不斷改建翻新,顯得堂皇耀眼,幸好古風依舊,不減昔日的雅樸風采。
隨著政府承諾進一步發展,寧波也在杭州灣三角洲之中擔當更為重要的戰略角色,教人更珍惜其禪宗之鄉的歷史身份。

Credit: Jia Zheng / Imaginechina

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往寧波的航班,每周有14班.

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Ningbo

Possibly eastern China’s calmest city

Done Shanghai and Hangzhou? Ningbo offers a welcome respite from the cosmopolitan streets and tourist crowds. Words by JOHANNES PONG

Name the first cities that come to mind when you think of eastern China. Shanghai is probably first on your list. Nanjing might be up there, too. And perhaps Hangzhou and Suzhou. None of these, however, was the historical starting point of the Silk Road of the Sea.

That honour goes to Ningbo. For over 2,000 years, Ningbo was a major entrepôt, the dominant port city on the East China Sea. Arab and Jewish merchants were based in the city as far back as the Song dynasty (960-1279). There was a sizeable Portuguese settlement briefly in the 1500s, before they were forced out for pirate raids on ships. And for long stretches of history, it was also the only Chinese port officially open to Korea and Japan, a gateway transmitting goods and cultural riches between the countries.

Ningbo, China

Today, however, it’s frequently outshone by its neighbours. Granted, it doesn’t have the glitz of Shanghai, nor does it have a landmark like Hangzhou’s West Lake, forever immortalised in poetry. So what does it have?

For starters, it must be the calmest major city in eastern China. That may sound strange for a place with 7.6 million people, one that still boasts one of the busiest ports in the world and is an increasingly important part of the development triangle that spans Hangzhou Bay. But there’s still a certain peace that pervades Ningbo.

Maybe it’s because of its legacy as a centre of Zen Buddhism during the Tang dynasty (618-907). The temples remain, dotting the surrounding mountains. One of the largest and oldest is Tiantong Temple, established in 300 AD and considered the cradle of the Soto sect of Japanese Zen. The surrounding bamboo forest forms a popular hiking area.

Ningbo, China

The calm extends farther, most notably to the city’s most beautiful feature, Dongqian Lake. It’s a sprawling, notably clean body of water; residents say they drink straight from Dongqian when the winds are calm and the water is clear during spring and summer. The pristine lake is much more picturesque and pleasant than Hangzhou’s famous West Lake nowadays, simply because it doesn’t have the hordes of tourists. It is fringed with green hills, quaint fishing villages and modern cycling tracks. Walking paths are clad with weird rocks and weeping willows, calling to mind a classical Chinese ink wash painting. With this kind of scenery, it’s no wonder that Ningbo was also the birthplace of Chinese landscape painting and poetry.

Ningbo, China

The stylish Park Hyatt Ningbo Resort and Spa sits right on the lakeshore. The resort’s lush, well-manicured grounds with simple but sumptuous free-standing villas and beautifully preserved historical buildings are a balm for weekend travellers from Shanghai, Suzhou and Hangzhou, or the well-heeled locals who use the premises as club members.

In the alfresco courtyard of the Tea House, formerly a 500-year-old ancestral hall, guests sip on fine loose-leaf teas and snack on freshly made Ningbo dumplings, famous throughout China. They are made on the spot with rice flour ground by mortar and a healthy dollop of lard, which gives them an eminently velvety texture. The hotel’s dining venues also serve soft, succulent prawns caught from the lake; foodies will be surprised by how much sweetness and unadulterated umami these freshwater critters pack in their little bodies.

Even more impressive is Red, a 700-year-old temple remade into the hotel bar complete with sleek lacquered interiors by Tokyo design firm Super Potato. Kunqu – the oldest existing form of Chinese opera and a UNESCO intangible cultural heritage – is performed on stage every Thursday and at the weekend, before the DJ comes on at midnight. The hotel, in some ways, represents both Ningbo’s past and future.

Ningbo, China

It’s a theme that emerges as you explore Ningbo – a city, like many in China, aware of its heritage while just starting to embrace the future. And no landmark embodies the old/new dichotomy quite like the spectacular Ningbo Museum. It was designed by Wang Shu, who became the first Chinese citizen to win the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2012. Look at it from a distance and the building appears unashamedly modern: an arresting, geometrically hypnotic design that nods to the region’s maritime history and natural valleys, caves and lakes all at the same time. But get closer, and Wang’s devotion to tradition becomes clearer in the detail. The exterior is decorated with millions of tiles and bricks from old Ningbo houses and the ancient city walls, some of which date back some 1,300 years to the Tang. And then inside the museum is a treasure trove of knowledge on Ningbo history, with an interesting look at the city’s intimate links with Japan over the centuries.

Ningbo Historical Museum, China

Across the city, some of Ningbo’s most significant historic areas are seeing plenty of development as well. The Old Bund, which pre-dates Shanghai’s waterfront concession, has seen its clutch of British and Dutch colonial buildings transformed into an odd collection of bars and karaoke clubs – still a far cry from the hipster speakeasies and cosmopolitan glamour of Shanghai’s more famous Bund. And even Nantang Old Street, a touristy precinct celebrated for its traditional street architecture and famous snacks (stinky tofu, Ningbo glutinous rice dumplings and grilled seafood straight from the East China Sea among them), is seeing its buildings replaced with shinier, newer versions, yet still designed in the old style.

As the promise of increased development comes to Ningbo, and the city takes up an even more important strategic position within the Hangzhou Bay triangle, it also faces the challenge of remaining true to its long-held identity: as the home of Zen.

Ningbo, China

Cathay Dragon flies to Ningbo from Hong Kong 14 times a week.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book