藝術和文化

瓷藝城市: 現代化的中國陶瓷藝壇

景德鎮雖是中國瓷器古都,在藝壇上卻已一洗陳舊形象。年輕一輩正在孜孜學習傳統技藝,也給這個小鎮注入創意新風。撰文 陳慧珊 ,圖片 沈祺徠

過去十年,Jesse McLin因為要為其創立的香港新派陶瓷品牌Latitude22n物色上等餐具,成為景德鎮的常客。這個位於中國南部江西省的城市以生產上好的青花瓷聞名於世,即使在當今大量生產的年代,這裡仍能在市場穩佔一席之地,吸引人們前來委託當地技藝超凡的工匠製作瓷器精品。

來自美國的McLin道:「我是陶瓷藝術家,跟陶瓷工匠擁有共通語言,能夠明白和代入他們的思維。即使我在景德鎮跑了十年,還會有不少新發現:例如嶄新的製瓷技法,或者找到手藝超凡的師傅,不論是上釉師、製作大型瓷罐的師傅,抑或是手工精湛的瓷刻家,都讓我非常驚喜。」

景德鎮製作上等瓷器的歷史凡數百年,古代皇帝在此設立官窰,專門製作宮廷御用瓷器。這些稀世珍品在歐洲國家可輕易賣得高價,因此有「白色黃金」之譽。不過後來皇朝沒落,帝制告終,再加上1960年代文化大革命的洗禮,瓷鎮的工藝行業從此一蹶不振。

幸好時移世易,如今年輕一輩都為復興種種藝匠傳統而不遺餘力,部分年輕人更將目光移到景德鎮及其瓷藝,甚至移居當地展開新生活。20年前,當地陶藝家李見深毅然在景德鎮三寶村購入農地,在當時人煙罕至的地方興建自己的工作坊。及至2000年,他率先在中國推行首個藝術家駐場計劃,並邀請海外創作人前來這瓷器之都。三寶國際陶藝村從此誕生,在欣欣向榮的瓷器製作社群中屹立至今。

李見深的陶瓷工作坊外數百米有一座古老的水碓,用來將堅硬的瓷石碾碎成瓷土,並會傳來陣陣捶打聲。李見深表示曾有朋友將之形容為神州大地的心跳聲,更著他「讓這聲音永不止息」;這番話無疑打進了他的心坎裡,成為他在致力推動陶瓷文化時的座右銘。

他說:「身處在大自然中,我整副身心都投進了瓷藝的美麗世界,這種傳統工藝是中國文化中非常重要的一環。景德鎮的瓷器史教我深深著迷,而當年的工匠如何發現瓷石,單憑雙手將石頭打碎成瓷土,再利用天然木灰加工成灰釉製瓷等的技藝,對我來說依然是一個奇蹟。」

Marc Progin

李見深自言當初開始興建陶藝村時,村裡就連一條像樣的對外道路也沒有。直到五年前人們開始認識中國陶瓷工藝所蘊藏的龐大商機和價值時,地方官員才開始鋪設道路,著手美化該區。我們言談之際,正好有幾位工人在作坊外面的草地種植新樹。目前在三寶路上既可找到無數匠作坊、藝廊、工作室、咖啡館和旅館等,當然亦少不了新落成的三寶蓬藝術博物館。這座以夯土和玻璃建成的建築群極具氣派,恰如其分地向這個歷史悠久的瓷器重鎮致敬。

李見深表示:「讓景德鎮持續發展當然是好事,但我們身為藝術家,最重要是守著我們的根源,保存和欣賞前人留下來的工藝,並把它與當代思維結合起來,這樣我們才能得到最好的成果。」

另一個推動景德鎮再次成為文化樞紐的項目,是成功把舊工廠改造成藝術空間的陶溪川美術館。這座紅磚建築以前是陶瓷廠,內裡更設有窰房和生產線,但工廠在1990年代經濟危機期間被棄置。幸而得當地政府撥款逾4.5億人民幣,讓工廠得以保育活化,並改建作其他用途,令它搖身一變成為藝術社群聚落。現在這裡各式商店、餐館、文化中心和藝廊林立,吸引年輕一族來此聚腳,每逢周五晚上更有戶外市集,藝術家會在市集出售自己的作品,場面亦更為熱鬧。

對於陶溪川帶動了景德鎮的整體氛圍,景德鎮陶邑文化發展有限公司副總經理剛好引以為榮,她表示:「年輕人是我們的未來,因此我們希望前來一圓陶瓷夢的年輕人能留在這裡發展。其實創建陶溪川的目的,就是要扶助這些喜愛陶瓷藝術的年輕一代。這裡不但能匯聚人才,更吸引五湖四海的藝術家前來到訪,而我也注意到愈來愈多人明白這個地方的意義。」

政府現已計劃在未來的五年之內,把更多廢棄的陶瓷廠改建成藝術空間。這些全新空間用途廣泛,可作藝術家工作室、酒店、大學、劇院、體育場地、辦公室和住宅公寓等。這可謂北京789藝術區的「景德鎮新編」,只是規模來得更龐大、規劃甚至更為完善;再加上最近接連的全國高鐵網絡,景德鎮已蓄勢待發,進入轉型新階段。

必訪名單

觀光

三寶國際陶藝村

三寶路四家里

駐場計劃歡迎海外藝術家來此學習瓷藝,村內並設有鎮上數一數二的餐館。

三寶蓬藝術中心

位於三寶陶藝村內,靜謐的現代建築巧妙融合自然元素,如水道上的踏腳石和天然採光的藝廊。

陶溪川美術館

新廠西路150號

雖然鎮上工藝大都與陶瓷有關,但這個前身為瓷器廠的多用途空間展示不同媒介的藝術品。

景德鎮古窯民俗博覽區

古窯路

這間聞名遐邇的博物館展示宋、元和清窰,並有工匠現場示範傳統造瓷手藝。

鬼市

曙光路古玩市場

在包羅萬有的老瓷器和瓷片中掏寶撿漏,賣家每逢周一凌晨四時左右開始擺賣。

餐飲

一夕

三寶路110號

這間私房菜餐廳裝潢漂亮,食客可在此享用以本地農產品炮製的佳餚,最好事先致電訂檯(+86 180 0798 5062)。

江南樹懶酒吧

新廠東路139號

陶瓷藝術家的聚腳地,供應自家製手工啤酒。

住宿

景德鎮遊遊家

三寶路112號

這間包早餐旅店由一對年輕夫婦開設,房間舒適之餘,在門口的咖啡店更可享用即沖單品咖啡。

瓷里瓷外客棧

三寶路122號

這家包早餐客棧室內設計簡約,充滿禪意,讓你身心平靜舒暢。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往武漢的航班,每周有11班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Porcelain city: The modernisation of China’s ceramic centre

It’s the ancient hub of Chinese ceramics, but Jingdezhen’s art scene today is anything but stuffy, with a young generation eager to learn the old ways while breathing fresh creativity into the city. Words MARIANE CHAN, Photos QILAI SHEN

Jesse McLin has been visiting Jingdezhen over the past 10 years to source high-quality tableware for Latitude22n, his hip Hong Kong-based ceramic brand. Jingdezhen is a town in the southern Chinese province of Jiangxi known for fine blue and white porcelain – a style called qinghua – and in the current era of mass production is still a place to commission pieces crafted individually and with extraordinary skill.

‘As a ceramicist, I find a common language with everyone else making these items,’ says McLin, who is originally from the US. ‘I can understand and relate to them. There’s also discovery: even after 10 years I am still surprised by new methods or finding someone with amazing skills, whether it’s ceramic painters, makers of big pots or someone who can carve extremely well.’

Pottery Workshopno- Jingdezhen

Jingdezhen has centuries of history making fine porcelain. Back in the day, emperors had porcelain from Jingdezhen brought to the courts. The goods were also known as ‘white gold’ due to the extremely high prices they commanded in trade activity with European countries. But after the end of dynasties and the Cultural Revolution, which started in the 1960s, this town’s craft waned.

Yet today, as the younger generations are rekindling everything artisanal, some of them have turned their focus on Jingdezhen and its ceramics, even heading to the town to forge new lives. Two decades ago, local ceramics artist Jackson Li decided to purchase a piece of farmland in the city’s Sanbao village and build a studio in the then-deserted area. Later, in 2000, he introduced the first artist residency programme in China, opening doors for foreign creatives to come to the land of porcelain. The Sanbao Ceramic Art Institute was born and today stands amid a thriving porcelain-making community.

There’s a pounding sound coming from a few hundred metres from the studio: it’s produced by an ancient water-powered hammer mill used to break stone into clay. Li says a friend once described it as a heartbeat of China and to ‘never let it stop’. He keeps this in mind as he endeavours to revive and sustain the porcelain culture.

‘Within these natural surroundings, I find myself immersed in the beauty of this traditional craft, which is such a strong part of China’s culture,’ says Li. ‘I’m fascinated by the history of porcelain here. It’s still a miracle to me how the craftspeople here find the stone, crush it by hand and make it into clay, and how they developed glazes from natural wood ashes to create ceramics.’

Latitude 22N- Jingdezhen
Marc Progin

Li says that when he first started building the art village there were not even paved roads to get into the area. But in the past five years, as people started to realise the opportunities and value in Chinese ceramic arts, local officials started to beautify the area with newly paved roads. As we speak, there are a few workers planting new trees in the grass just outside the studio. Today there are numerous studios, galleries, workshops, cafes and hostels along Sanbao Road. And then there’s the latest jewel: the Sanbaopeng Art Museum, a striking complex of rammed-earth and glass that pays homage to the town’s history surrounding porcelain.

‘It is definitely a good thing for Jingdezhen to move forward, but as artists it is important to always remember to stick to our roots, preserving and appreciating our crafts from the past and combining them with modern thinking,’ says Li. ‘This is how we get the best outcome.’

Another project bringing Jingdezhen back as a cultural hub is the Taoxichuan Ceramic Art Avenue, an art space converted from old factories. These red-brick buildings were, in fact, porcelain factories, consisting of kiln rooms and production lines, but were abandoned in the 1990s during the economic crisis. Now it is being preserved and put to different uses, thanks to government support in the form of over RMB 450 million, turning it into an art community bustling with shops, restaurants, cultural centres and galleries. It is packed with young crowds, especially on Friday evenings, when artists put their creations out for sale at an outdoor market.

Gang Hao, deputy manager of Jingdezhen Town Cultural Development, says she is proud of how Taoxichuan has influenced the overall atmosphere of Jingdezhen. ‘Young people are our future; we hope those who have come to pursue their ceramics dreams here will stay,’ she says. ‘That’s why when we created Taoxichuan our plans were to focus on these younger generations. This is a place that can bring people together; it attracts people from all over. I’ve also noticed that more people now appreciate what this place represents.’

It is already in the government’s plan that many more former porcelain factories will be converted into art spaces in the next five years. The new spaces will have widely varying uses, including as artist’s studios, hotels, universities, theatres, sports grounds, offices and residential apartments. It is the city’s version of Beijing’s 798 Art District, but much bigger and arguably better. And with its recent connection to China’s high-speed rail network, it is for sure entering a new phase of transformation.

Hit List

See

Sanbao Ceramic Art Institute

4th Jiali, Sanbao Road

A residency programme welcomes artists from overseas to learn the art of porcelain. The institute also houses one of the best restaurants in town.

Sanbaopeng Art Museum

Located in Sanbao village, this tranquil, modern structure incorporates stepping stones over water paths and natural light in the galleries.

Taoxichuan Ceramic Art Avenue

150 Xinchang West Road

Most of the town’s art is ceramics-related, but this space converted from a former porcelain factory showcases different media.

Ancient Kiln Folk Customs Museum

Guyao Road

This respected museum displays kilns from Qing, Yuan and Song dynasties. There are also craftsmen demonstrating the traditional ways of making porcelain.

Antiques Market

Guwan Shichang, Shuguang Road

Search through all kinds of old porcelain items and fragments. Sellers begin to appear at about 4am every Monday.

Eat

Yixi

110 Sanbao Road

Enjoy dishes made from local produce in this beautiful space. It’s a private kitchen, so call ahead (+86 180 0798 5062).

Bar Southern Sloth

139 Xinchang East Road

This is a ceramic artist hang-out spot, and it serves its house-brewed craft beer.

Stay

Yo Yo House

112 Sanbao Road

Enjoy comfortable rooms in this B&B style hotel opened by a young couple. Single origin pours of coffee are available in the cafe at the entrance.

Ciliciwai Inn

122 Sanbao Road

You’ll feel calm and refreshed at this B&B with minimalist, zen interiors.

Cathay Dragon flies to Wuhan from Hong Kong 11 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book