國泰航空

國泰航空首架波音777-300客機

Phil Heard指出,國泰航空於20年前接收首架波音777-300客機之後,此機種自此成為公司機隊的主力

雙引擎的波音777飛機是國泰航空亞洲區及長途客機機隊的主力機種,事實上你現在乘搭的可能就是此機種的飛機。

1990年代,有八家航空公司為777飛機的設計提供意見,國泰是其中一家。透過此難得的機會,國泰航空藉此對飛機的特性提出具體改進要求,以符合公司的需要。

相關要求包括:一個與747珍寶客機的橫切面相似的機艙、最少可容納325名乘客的空間、一個鑲上「玻璃」的現代駕駛艙及線傳飛控系統(駕駛艙可以透過電子脈衝訊號來操控機翼及機尾的運作),以及最重要的一點,必須能夠降低營運開支。

Points in Time, first Boeing 777-300, Cathay Pacific

結果,波音公司推出了一款歷來最成功的廣體客機。與早期的「經典」四引擎波音747客機相比,雙引擎777客機可節省三成三的燃料,維修費用亦更低。

集以上優點於一身的777客機,遂成為航空業界炙手可熱的搶手貨,直至目前為止,波音公司已經製造了超過1,500架。經首次修改後的777-200於1995年交付予聯合航空。三年後,國泰航空接收了首架777-300客機,基本上此型號是200型的「延伸」版。

777-300的長度比200型長十米,長度比當時最巨型的波音747-400珍寶客機還要長三米,這代表著300型於當年面世時是世上最長的飛機。額外的長度可容納更多的座位並運載更多貨物,為公司帶來額外收入。

1998年5月21日,國泰航空於西雅圖附近的Boeing Field機場舉行的一項特別儀式中接收了首架777-300客機(註冊編號B-HNH)。兩日後,39位乘客(包括傳媒記者及時任主席的薩秉達)隨新客機飛回香港。

在航機投入服務之前,國泰舉行開放日並邀請1,000位員工及本地居民參觀駕駛艙與客艙。在當年,座位上的個人電視屏幕是一項既新穎又吸引的設施。隨後,B-HNH於6月1日作商業性首航,目的地是大阪。今天這架客機內設有兩個客艙,分別是有42個座位的商務艙及356個座位的經濟艙。

這是一個有始有終的完整故事。國泰後來購入波音777-200的原型機(即B-HNL客機)並將之投入服務,這架飛機在服務18年後於今年退役。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

Points in Time: Cathay Pacific’s first Boeing 777-300

Two decades ago, Cathay Pacific received its first Boeing 777-300. It’s been the backbone of the airline ever since, says PHIL HEARD

The twin-engined Boeing 777 aircraft has become the bedrock of the Cathay Pacific regional and long-haul fleet – in fact, you could be flying in one right now.

In the 1990s, Cathay Pacific was one of eight airlines to provide input for the 777 at the design stage, which gave it a unique opportunity to specify and refine the aircraft’s features to suit its needs.

Among the requests were a cabin cross-section similar to the 747 Jumbo Jet, capacity for at least 325 passengers, a modern ‘glass’ cockpit, fly-by-wire (where the flight deck controls send electrical impulses to the mechanics that operate the control surfaces on the wings and tail) and, crucially, lower operating costs.

Points in Time, first Boeing 777-300, Cathay Pacific

The result was one of the most successful wide-body aircraft ever built. The 777’s twin engines translated into a 33 per cent fuel saving against the early generation four-engined Boeing 747 ‘classics’ and lower maintenance costs, too.

This combination made the 777 a popular commodity in the aviation industry. To date, more than 1,500 aircraft have been manufactured. The first iteration, the 777-200, was delivered to United Airlines in 1995. Cathay Pacific’s place in the record books was to follow three years later, when it received the first 777-300, which was essentially the ‘stretch’ version of the -200.

The 777-300 was 10 metres longer than the -200, making it the longest aircraft in the world at the time of its debut, surpassing the Boeing 747-400 Jumbo – by far the biggest airliner at the time – by three metres. The extra length brought extra seats and extra cargo capability, which meant extra revenue.

Registered B-HNH, the first 777-300 was handed over to Cathay Pacific in a special ceremony at Boeing Field, near Seattle, on 21 May 1998. Two days later, 39 passengers – including members of the press and the then chairman, Peter Sutch, – flew her home to Hong Kong on the delivery flight.

Before entering service, the aircraft was the centrepiece of an open day for 1,000 employees and local residents who got to explore the flight deck and the cabins. Every seat had a personal TV, which was a new and exciting development at the time. Following the event, B-HNH made her inaugural commercial flight to Osaka on 1 June. Today, she operates two cabins with 42 seats in Business and 356 in Economy.

This is a story of firsts and lasts. Cathay Pacific went on to own and operate the original prototype Boeing 777-200 – B-HNL, which retires this year after 18 years of service.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book