航空

歷史時刻:啟用椅背娛樂系統

歷史性的一天:國泰客艙啟用椅背娛樂系統

國泰航空於1994年6月接收第18架波音747-400珍寶客機,這是公司的一個新的里程碑。這架從陳列室簇新運送過來的波音客機不但採用了全新的「翹首振翅」標誌,「她」還配備了一項之前17架同款客機所沒有的全新設施。

在新一代客機的商務客艙內,每張座椅的扶手位置均安裝了一部小型的個人電視屏幕,讓乘客可以隨意選擇六個頻道內的節目。這六條頻道有「不停播放的電影、雜誌式紀錄片及短片」等節目,其中包括「最精采的國語、粵語及日語電影」。

機上娛樂從此邁進一大步。以往乘客必需一同觀看掛在機艙牆身上的熒幕,並將有如聽診器的「耳機」接頭插到安裝於扶手內、聲音模糊不清的揚聲器上。將時間從1994年再向前推70年,Imperial Airlines在一架由一戰轟炸機改裝而成的客機安裝電影放映機,並在倫敦飛往巴黎的航程上放映改編自柯南道爾爵士的小說《The Lost World》的默片,將兩者相比,機上娛樂在這70年間的進步確實神速。

發展至今,許多航空公司已在航機上採用數碼自選娛樂系統。話雖如此,機上娛樂系統的發展並不算順利,過往業界曾採用過不切實際的系統。例如,有些美國航空公司在1960年代使用的機上放映系統,必須在機艙內的20部熒幕輪流投影同一部影片的聲音和影像。在某些飛機上,由第一個熒幕出現片頭字幕開始,直到最後一個熒幕出現同一畫面,中間可以相隔七分半鐘,因此首尾兩部熒幕之間的菲林距離可長達90米。這是航空公司讓機艙內所有乘客同時「追看」同一部影片的初步嘗試。

到了1996年,國泰航空在經濟客艙推出機上娛樂系統,經濟客艙的乘客和頭等及商務客艙的乘客一樣,都能欣賞到機上娛樂系統提供的各式節目。其推出時機可說是恰到好處,因為國泰亦於同一年推出從香港飛往紐約的超長途航班服務。

其後,影音數碼化的潮流不但令機上娛樂節目的質素大為改善,播放節目的器材體積和重量亦相應下降,這一點對航空公司尤其重要。這意味著目前國泰的機上娛樂系統可提供100多部電影、500多個電視節目、逾3,500首樂曲和音頻節目,能為乘客帶來更多娛樂選擇。此外,全新的空中巴士A350客機還設有無線上網設施,試問誰能夠預測20年後的機上娛樂系統會發展到什麼地步?

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Aviation

Time travels: The day seat-back entertainment arrived

The day seat-back entertainment arrived onboard. By PHIL HEARD

In June 1994, Cathay Pacific received its 18th Boeing 747-400 jumbo jet. It was a milestone of sorts, not least because of the new ‘brushwing’ livery. But this one came shiny from the showroom with a new feature that the previous 17 didn’t have.

In the armrest of every new-era business class seat was a small personal TV, giving passengers the option to watch six – count them – channels on the entertainment system, which featured ‘non-stop movies, magazine-style documentaries and video clips’ including ‘the best Mandarin, Cantonese and Japanese movies’.

It marked a move away from the shared bulkhead screens and hollow stethoscope-style ‘ear tubes’ that plugged into a muffled speaker in the armrest. It also showed just how far inflight entertainment had progressed in the 70 years since Imperial Airlines lugged a cinema projector onto a converted First World War bomber to screen a silent version of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s The Lost World on a flight from London to Paris.

To get to the on-demand systems of today, there were many stopping points along the way, some gloriously impractical. Take the reel system used by some American airlines in the 1960s. The film ran through the aircraft projecting sound and vision through 20 monitors in the cabin. On some aircraft the trail of film was 90 metres long, enabling an early – and literal – form of ‘catch up’ viewing, with the last monitor in the loop showing the opening credits seven and a half minutes after the first screen.

By 1996, it wasn’t just Cathay Pacific passengers at the front of the plane who could enjoy seat-back entertainment. That year, it was rolled out to Cathay Pacific’s economy cabin: timely, given that this year was also the inauguration of the ultra-long-haul Hong Kong to New York service.

Since then, the trend of digitisation has led to improving quality and a reduction in size and – crucially for airlines – weight of the entertainment equipment. It means that inflight entertainment options today include more than 100 movies, 500 TV shows and an audio library of more than 3,500 tracks. And with Wi-Fi connectivity on the new Airbus A350, who would be brave enough to predict what inflight entertainment will look like in 20 years?

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book