日本

風景如詩如畫的石川縣

帶你踏上夢幻之旅,探索石川縣及其首府金澤的工藝、景致和風味

河畔小鎮

金澤的犀川源自從遠處的日本阿爾卑斯山脈流下的豐沛山泉,泉水在綠草如茵的河岸間奔流。金澤是日本本州石川縣的首府,潺潺水聲隨處可聞,引人進入沉思冥想的境界。這個地方以雨、雪、工藝、黃金和美食而聞名。

這座城市從不讓人見到它繁忙的一面,廚師、工匠和釀酒師都躲在緊閉的門後,忙著創造出最上乘的傑作。就連東茶屋街熙來攘往的街道上,一排排古老的茶屋背後也隱藏著他們的秘密。

我在近江町市場吃了一件壽司充當早餐,但我身邊的人全都在大啖鋪滿刺身的魚生飯。當我們來到著名的壽司店Yamasan Sushi Honten時,門口竟然沒有人在排隊,真是出乎意料之外。我吃了一片當地特產的紅鱸魚生,它經火槍輕炙一下,入口可以嚐到鮮嫩的肉質中帶點油脂的香滑。走出店外時,見到外面已有20多個人在排隊。附近就是城中數一數二的咖啡店Curio Coffee,可惜那天是星期二,適逢咖啡店關門休業。可幸店主似乎看出我因為長途駕駛而疲累不堪,他走出店外,客氣地向我提供外賣。這杯熱咖啡帶著他的善意,令我倍感溫馨。這座城市張開雙臂,熱烈地歡迎我。

Max shen / Getty Imges

珍貴的器皿

在金澤,餐桌都有如博物館,桌上每個器皿都凝聚了世代相傳的知識與技藝。

從金澤向北開車兩小時,就來到形狀有如拇指的能登半島,這一帶的山上種了許多漆樹,全都經人悉心照料,以便慢慢收集珍貴的樹液,用於製作質地堅固的著名日本漆器。漆器是傳統日本器皿,已有數千年歷史,但現在懂得這項技藝的工匠已愈來愈少。這片向日本海延伸而出的土地上,聚居了不少來自日本各地的大師級工匠,這裡是日本少數幾個專門製作漆器的地區之一。

Eanchen / Getty Images/iStockphoto

我沿著能登里山高速公路向北快速駛出金澤,順著海岸線前往輪島市。我在那裡與幾位漆器工匠交談,他們依然使用多個世紀前的方式來製作漆器:簡單而重複的敲擊聲從昔日到現在絲毫未變,不斷在迴響。

石川縣輪島漆藝美術館是日本唯一一間完全以漆器為主題的美術館。

Nobutsugu Sato/Aflo

會唱歌的路

駕車途中,車底突然傳出歌聲。當時沒有開收音機,GPS也轉到靜音,然而,我卻可以清楚地聽到引擎聲中夾雜著不知從何處傳來的微弱音樂聲。

當天稍後,一個當地人格格笑著為我解開謎團。那是2015年在這一帶拍攝的大熱晨間電視劇集《幸福洋菓子》的主題曲。任何車輛經過這段路,就會啟動播放音樂的開關。能登以有趣的方式融會今昔。

山間的佳釀

我沿著海灣開車,尋找能登島海豚的蹤影。不過,一位能登酒莊的職員告訴我,她聽說海豚已經遷徙到富山了。

頂級日本葡萄酒現在已非可遇而不可求的稀罕之物,我有幸品嚐得到,其中以日本變種yamasauvignon(yama在日文的意思是山)葡萄釀製的酒最令人驚喜。這種葡萄由山川教授在山梨大學以產自日本山區的yamabudo(即山葡萄)和cabernet sauvignon兩個葡萄品種嫁接而成,真是與山有緣。

石川縣對yama葡萄酒推崇備至,深受飲家歡迎,因此2015年份特釀僅餘三瓶。這款美酒已經在法國橡木桶中陳釀17個月,我未能試飲,但又不想錯過,於是買了一瓶。現在只剩兩瓶了。

傳統的料亭

通往Tsuba Jin料亭(料亭是高級的傳統餐廳)的庭院,帶我踏上一段橫跨260年的歷史之旅。當老舊的木門滑開時,我聽到有人呼喚我的名字,迎接我進入寬闊而溫暖的室內。

Tsubajin

我坐在室內,四周是美麗的繪畫,眼前是穿過小鎮的河流,風景十分秀麗。旁邊還有一系列引人入勝的入口,引領人的視線從桌子對角望出去,穿過三道門外,看到外面的花園角落,左邊有一棵枝葉茂密的松樹,樹皮看上去有如片片盔甲,旁邊有一塊外表光滑的石頭,在雨中發出光澤。右邊是一個花園燈籠,外面仍包著一層冬季用來防雪的稻草,就像個有石心的稻草人。

他們告訴我,被尊為「俳聖」的詩人松尾芭蕉就曾在這裡用餐。

當Hitomi一邊鞠躬一邊進入房間時,她身上那套淡綠色的絲質和服將我帶回現在。她為我端上十道菜套餐中的第一道菜。看起來精緻、美麗而吸引。她指示我開始用餐前的儀式:將一個木製的小清酒杯翻起,這個酒杯觸感溫潤,杯口寬而底淺,杯內是紅色的,注入專為餐廳釀製的清酒後,從杯中呷一小口。

Annhfhung/moment RF/Getty Images

獨自坐在寬敞而溫暖的房間中央,望著花園,帶給我很久沒有感受過的寧靜感。但這是一種糅合了放鬆和警覺的奇異感覺。

有一刻,一滴水從老松樹上掉下來,落在下面的石頭上,迸出小水珠。這個突然、稍縱即逝的瞬間,令我專心注視著遠處小水珠上反射出來的光。這並非偶然。房內每個元素都是為了提高用餐者的感官及意識而安排,讓他們深深地沉浸於此時此刻的氛圍中。我一面這樣想,一面以湯匙舀起鮮魚牛蒡湯,再倒進一個小碗內,這時不知何故我突然分神,看見樹後出現一對寬闊有力的翅膀緩緩舞動,然後一隻貌似老鷹的禽鳥飛向天空,離開我的視線。

有人告訴我那隻猛禽的名字是Nush,至少餐廳的工作人員這麼叫牠。然後我再次專注於餐桌上的佳餚:一碟蔬菜天婦羅和魚,加上紫色的蘿蔔泥,當地人稱為「能登娘」。正如餐廳員工所說,當我把檸檬汁擠在蘿蔔泥上面時,原本的淺紫色變得更鮮艷。這是一頓簡單的晚餐,但是我希望永遠不會吃完。

自從走進Tsuba Jin料亭之後,除了開門的人,我只見到Hitomi一個人;她由始至終面帶親切的笑容,充滿耐性地回答我無盡的問題,告訴我各種事物的名字和細節。這種體貼周到的服務,加上整個空間空盪盪地似乎沒有其他客人的感覺非常特別。離開料亭時,Hitomi送我走到小徑上,目送我離去,每當我轉身回望時,都會看到她在向我揮手和深深鞠躬。

Tsuba Jin提醒我,最特別的時刻往往是在緊閉的門扉後發生,遠離人群,不必大肆張揚,就能觸動我們內心深處最微妙的感情,令精心佈置的環境更顯優美,令人更嚮往。

更多石川縣熱門景點

金澤城

這座城堡建於16世紀,在江戶時代是前田家族的根據地。雖然原來的建築曾多次遭火災焚毀,但當年的石川門和用作倉庫的三十間長屋卻得以保存下來。金澤城位於市中心,對面是另一個著名景點:兼六園。

兼六園

By cowardlion / Shutterstock

被譽為日本最美的三大名園之一,佔地11公頃,擁有修剪整齊的草坪、波光粼粼的水池、優美的小橋和茶屋,是金澤必遊的景點之一。由於園內遍植各種開花的樹木,因此四季風景各有特色,例如3月櫻花盛開,夏天則處處綠意盈盈,而秋天則有橙紅的楓葉。

金澤21世紀美術館

展品以1980年代之後創作的裝置藝術、錄影和混合媒介作品為焦點。整座建築採取圓形設計,不設主要的入口,鼓勵參觀者從不同方向走入建築物內,以不同角度欣賞藝
術品。

Left: Courtesy of Kanazawa City/JNTO; Right: MIKIKO HARA/amanaimagesRF

長町武家屋敷跡

昔日武士們居住的地方,今天成為了保存完好的風景區,這裡有多條運河、蜿蜒的小巷和舊建築。不妨造訪加賀藩十二百石野村家,它是經修復的武士住家,裡面保留了傳家之寶、多件古董和文物。

近江町市場

近300年來,這個繁華的有蓋街區一直是金澤最大的食品市場。

Yamasan Sushi Honten壽司店

位於金澤火車站附近,店內設有40個座位,壽司及刺身均十分出色,價廉物美。 石川縣金澤市下近江町68,+81-76-221-0055

 國泰航空於2019年4月3日推出飛往小松市的季節性航線,從小松市駕車一小時即可抵達金澤。金澤的夏天炎熱潮濕,冬天寒冷多雪,故此最好在春天或秋天造訪。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Japan

The Poetic Beauty of Ishikawa, Japan

Takes a dreamlike journey to discover the crafts, sights and tastes of Ishikawa prefecture and its capital, Kanazawa

A river and a town

Kanazawa’s Sai river flows fast between grassy banks with the full force of plentiful mountain water rushing from distant peaks of the Japanese Alps. Its meditative sounds are everywhere in the capital of Ishikawa prefecture on Japan’s central island of Honshu. It’s a place known for snow and rain, artisans, gold and cuisine.

The city’s busy heart is not on public display. Hidden behind closed doors, chefs, artisans and brewers push their creative limits. Even in the busy streets of Higashi Chaya, the rows of old Chaya teahouses hide their secrets.

Breakfast was a single piece of sushi at Omi-cho Market. Everyone around me was stuffing themselves from overflowing bowls of sashimi on rice. Incredibly, we arrived at Yamasan Sushi Honten to find no line in front of the popular sushi restaurant. A single slice of the local speciality, nodoguro (blackthroat seaperch), with a single delicate brush of the blowtorch, was buttery and tender with a delicate fattiness. We passed 20 people queuing on the way out. Nearby, Curio Coffee, the city’s best, was closed for the day (beware Tuesdays). Luckily, the owner seemed to sense my withdrawal resulting from my long drive. He generously came out to offer takeaways. Feeling grateful for the kindness, the caffeine warmed from within. The city was welcoming me with open arms.

Max shen / Getty Imges

The precious vessels

In Kanazawa, dining tables resemble museums, where each dish contains countless generations of knowledge and technique.

Two hours’ drive north from Kanazawa, in the mountains of the thumb-shaped Noto peninsula, urushi trees are cultivated and carefully tended for slow tapping of the precious sap used to make the stone-hard lacquerware for which Japan is so famous. Thousands of years old, the skills essential for creating traditional vessels for Japanese cuisine are now passed on to fewer and fewer artisans. This land jutting out into the Sea of Japan is home to master craftsmen from across the nation. It’s one of few places left devoted to the craft of lacquerware.

Eanchen / Getty Images/iStockphoto

I sped north out of Kanazawa along the Noto Satoyama Highway, following the coastline to the small town of Wajima. There, I spoke to artisans using the same tools as in centuries past: the simple, repetitive, tap-tap sounds unchanged, echoing into the present from bygone eras.

The Wajima Museum of Urushi Art is the only one in Japan completely devoted to the art of lacquer.

Nobutsugu Sato/Aflo

The singing road

On the way, a song suddenly blasted through the car floor. The radio was off and the GPS silent, yet muted music was clearly audible over the engine, right there in the middle of nowhere.

Later that day, a giggling local solved the mystery. It was the theme song from Mare, a popular 2015 morning TV asadora (‘morning drama’) filmed along the strip. It blares up out of the road, triggered by any passing car. Noto is an interesting mishmash of past and present.

Juice of the mountains

I drove along the bay seeking the Notojima dolphins. At Noto Winery, a staffer told me she’d heard the dolphins had moved to Toyama.

First-class Japanese wines are no longer as elusive. The tasting highlight was a Japanese varietal, yama (mountain) sauvignon. The grape was cloned from Japan’s native yama budo grape and cabernet sauvignon at Yamanashi University, by Professor Yamakawa (whose surname is itself a first-class example of nominative determinism).

The yama revels in Ishikawa. But there were only three bottles left of the special 2015 vintage, aged in French oak for 17 months. I wasn’t able to taste it but, not wanting to miss out, I bought one. Only two left now.

The ryotei

The courtyard leading to Tsuba Jin ryotei (a traditional restaurant) starts a journey into 260 years of living history. As the old wooden doors slide apart, I hear my name welcoming me into the warm, open interior.

Kanazawa
Tsubajin

I found myself seated, surrounded by fine art with a scenic view down over the river and out across the town. There’s also an intrigue of entrances, layered to lead the eye diagonally forward from the table outward through three doorways to a garden corner where a pine tree with bark resembling plate armour stands flanked by a smooth ornamental stone glistening in the rain on the left. To the right, a garden lantern still wrapped up for winter protection resembles a straw man with a heart of stone.

I’m told this is the very room where the poet Basho, master of the haiku, dined.

Hitomi’s pale aqua silk kimono eases me back to the present as she bows, entering the room. The first course of 10 has arrived. It’s playful, delicate and beautiful. I’m asked to turn over a small wooden nihonshu (sake) cup – warm, red, wide and shallow – into which sake specially made for the restaurant is poured for a ceremonial sip to begin the meal.

Annhfhung/moment RF/Getty Images

Sitting alone in the centre of this large, warm room looking out into the garden brings a wash of tranquillity I’ve not felt in a long time. But it’s an odd mixture of relaxed alertness.

At one point, a single drop of water falls from the old pine, exploding into droplets on the stone below. It’s a sudden, fleeting instant of intense focus on the light reflecting off the distant tiny ball of liquid. It is also no accident. Every element of the chamber feels designed to heighten the diner’s senses and perceptions as they bathe deeply in the atmosphere of the here and now. Reflecting on this idea as I spoon simmered fish and burdock root soup into a miniature bowl, for some reason I suddenly lift my concentration to see powerful broad wings beating slowly as the distinctive form of an eagle rises from behind trees and up out of my view.

I’m told the bird of prey’s name is Nush, at least among the restaurant staff. Then I must focus on the table again: a dish of deep-fried vegetables and fish crowned with grated purple radish, known locally as Noto musume, or daughter of Noto. The light purple of the radish intensifies in brightness as I squeeze lemon over it, as advised. It’s a simple meal that I never want to end.

Since I’ve been in Tsuba Jin, I’ve only seen Hitomi, who endures my endless questions about names and details with smiling warmth, and the doorman. There is something particularly special about such attentive, empty-seeming space. Leaving the ryotei, Hitomi follows me onto the footpath, waving and bowing deeply each time I turn around.

Tsuba Jin reminds me that the most special moments often happen behind closed doors, far away from crowds, and with little fanfare, drawing out the sensitivities within ourselves to create feelings of beauty that make the artful environment sublime.

More Ishikawa highlights

Kanazawa castle

Originally built in the 16th century, this castle was the seat for the Maeda clan during the Edo period. The original structure burnt down several times, though the Shikawa Gate and Sanjikken Nagaya (samurai warehouse) have survived. Located in the centre of town, it lies opposite another great attraction: the Kenroku-en garden.

Kenroku-en garden

By cowardlion / Shutterstock

Hailed as one of the three most beautiful gardens in Japan, this 11-hectare site of manicured lawns, sparkling ponds, elegant bridges and teahouses is one of Kanazawa’s top sites. The scenery changes year round thanks to a variety of flowering trees – pink cherry blossoms in March give way to verdant summer leaves and the burnt oranges of maples in autumn.

21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art

A celebration of art produced since the 1980s, with a focus on installations, video and mixed-media. It’s purposefully designed without a main entrance, discouraging patrons from approaching the circular building  – and its art – from one single direction. 

Left: Courtesy of Kanazawa City/JNTO; Right: MIKIKO HARA/amanaimagesRF

Nagamachi district

This scenic area dotted with canals, winding lanes and heritage architecture is the well-preserved former samurai district. Check out Nomura Samurai House, a restored samurai residence with heirlooms, antiques and artefacts. 

Omicho Market

This bustling network of covered streets has been Kanazawa’s largest food market for almost 300 years.

Yamasan Sushi Honten

A 40-seater restaurant close to Kanazawa station, with good prices and excellent plates of sushi and sashimi. 68 Shimoōmichō, Kanazawa-shi, +81-76-221-0055

Cathay Pacific launches a seasonal service to Komatsu, an hour’s drive from Kanazawa, on 3 April 2019. With hot, humid summers and cold, snowy winters, spring and autumn are the best times to visit.