藝術與文化

盡情暢遊香港創意藝術及美食中心PMQ元創方的完全指南

這座古蹟建築的前身是已婚警察宿舍,現已變身為創意中心PMQ元創方,匯聚多家設計精品店、咖啡室等,並有豐富活動供人參加

在這裡,你可以訂購一件與說唱歌手50 Cent身上類似的手繪真皮外套,然後參加首飾製作工作坊,再享受一頓由亞洲頂級名廚烹調的精美法國菜。

這個地方,就是位於香港島蘇豪區中心的創意空間PMQ元創方。「PMQ」是英文「Police Married Quarters」的縮寫,即已婚警察宿舍,亦即建築物以前的用途。現在這座建築物已被列作三級歷史建築,經過活化翻新後,變身成為創意及設計中心。

Credit: Moses Ng

有100多個香港創意單位以PMQ元創方為家,當中有已為人認識的品牌,亦有剛起步的新秀;此外,這裡亦經常舉行不同類型的文化活動,吸引大量訪客前來。以下是PMQ元創方的完全指南,為你介紹這個地方的歷史與特色,讓你在其中盡情盡興地暢遊。

PMQ元創方的歷史及改建過程

PMQ元創方於2014年開幕,不過它的歷史可以追溯至1862年。當年香港政府於歌賦街設立首間官立學校中央書院,為公眾提供西式教育。到了1889年,這家官立學校遷到鴨巴甸街及荷李活道交界,並改名維多利亞書院。書院外型典雅的校舍於二次大戰時嚴重受損,只有地基仍然保留,到了1951年,就在這原址上興建已婚警察宿舍,為已婚警察及其家人提供住所,直至2000年才關閉。數年後,荷李活道已婚警察宿舍成為八個「保育中環」項目其中一項,由此展開活化過程。(附近的大館是另一個非常成功的古蹟項目。)

今時今日,數以千計的訪客在PMQ元創方的走廊和庭院內遊逛,一面感受其中的歷史氛圍,同時欣賞參觀其中展現的創意與藝術產品。

Credit: Moses Ng

想深入了解PMQ元創方的歷史,可參加免費提供的導賞團。導賞團提供粵語及英語講解,參觀路線包括七個歷史地點,有維多利亞書院地基的遺址、前警察會所等,而最有趣的是一個展覽,在一個原來的宿舍單位內重現昔日警察家庭的家居佈置,讓人想像當年最多有十個人居住於單位內的「緊湊」情況,體會宿舍的生活面貌。

導賞遊有個特別令人驚喜的地點,就是PMQ元創方的天台花園。花園的一邊種了參天的翠竹,環境優雅,是戶外午餐的理想地點,或者俯瞰街上行人往來,讓你在此享受寧靜悠閒的時光。

PMQ元創方獨立小店

PMQ元創方最吸引人之處,當然是逾100位獨立設計師進駐其中開設的工作室和精品店,他們創作的產品形形色色,各具特色。SAPH的店名由店主Tang氏家族四位成員的名字縮寫而成,是一家手繪皮具店,起初以快閃店的形式創業,於2017年遷入PMQ元創方開店(B座3樓H305室, +852 9039-3787)。Simon Tang以巧手為皮鞋、皮袋甚至家具精心繪出與別不同的色彩和圖案;每件物品均以皮革吸收的顏料一筆一筆仔細繪畫,乾透後顏色不會脫落。說唱歌手50 Cent曾在此選購了一件按他的要求繪製的真皮外套。不過你不必是名人,亦能負擔得起這些特別為客人繪製的運動鞋或精緻皮鞋,而且保證不會在別處見到相同的款式。

Credit: Moses Ng

Obellery是一家首飾工作坊,Hugo Yeung在此以淡水珍珠及貴金屬為顧客設計出美麗優雅的首飾,款式靈感來自幾何圖案(B座4樓H403室,+852 2155 4198)。他將原木塊豎起來,當作工作檯,將金、銀以及其他物料錘打出各種形狀,製成首飾,其中最受顧客歡迎的,是度身訂製的結婚戒子。顧客還可以參加首飾製作班,一嘗自製飾物的樂趣,吸引不少熱衷此道及初學者前來。

Credit: Moses Ng

走下石砌的樓梯井,穿過一道連結多個警察宿舍單位的走廊,就來到另一個創意空間Blind by JW,由Jessica Lau與Walter Kong共同開設(B座 3樓 H306室, +852 6199 6962)。店內充滿各種時尚而具創意的物品,例如色彩斑爛的窗簾,或者印上巴黎、香港或倫敦地圖的典雅圍巾。圖案設計還附有QR二維碼,讓你掃瞄身上的圍巾,了解當地的主要景點和地標。

Credit: Moses Ng

寄寓The HK Room出售多種獨特而具創意的禮品,設計旨在發揚「香港智慧與趣味」(A座 4樓 S405室,+852 2546 3178)。店內除出售家具、配飾、手袋以及首飾之外,還提供課程,讓你充分發揮內在的設計巧思。

PMQ元創方餐廳

Credit: Moses Ng

香港是個以美食聞名的城市,因此特色餐廳亦是PMQ元創方吸引遊人前往的賣點。其中法式餐廳Louise由著名設計師傅厚民負責設計,佈置得極其雅致(鴨巴甸街35號地下, +852 2866 0300);菜單以法式窩心食物作主打,由2019年亞洲50最佳大廚之一法國大廚Julien Royer負責,他的燒雞別具滋味,是餐廳名菜之一。

Credit: Moses Ng

有個可愛名字的喵一下是台式餐廳,以古舊家具及特色小擺設佈置,供應簡便台式美食及飲品(B座地下 HG01室 – HG05室, +852 2818 5438)天然酵母麵包店以天然酵母菌配合傳統方法,製作美味手工麵包及糕餅,新鮮烘焙的麵包糕點散發誘人香氣,令路過的人情不自禁走進店內(B座 1樓 H105室 – H107室, +852 2559 0889)

PMQ元創坊內還有蛋糕工坊、茶室、清酒專門店、烹飪班及一些氣氛悠閒的餐廳如料理農務, 堅持以可持續發展理念經營,為客人奉上健康而令人垂涎的有機中式美食(A座地下 SG09室 – SG14室, +852 2858 8238)

Credit: Moses Ng

PMQ原創方特色活動

除了各式店鋪和餐廳外,PMQ元創方全年都會舉行豐富的活動和節目,你可以在這裡查看活動日程表。在形形式式的活動和節目中,重頭戲是每年一度的設計活動de Tour,藉著展覽、工作坊及特別活動,展示創意新秀的才華。此外,還有各類市集、導賞團和演出等,以及以氈酒作主打的活動Ginsanity,氈酒迷不可錯過。

PMQ
Credit: Moses Ng

PMQ元創方亦歡迎小朋友前來。這裡有多個地方都可令小孩和家長樂在其中:ABC Cooking Studio為小廚師提供親自下廚的烹飪班,讓他們炮製各種充滿奇思妙想的美食如獅面意式薄餅或刺蝟形麵包卷等(B座1樓 H110-112室, +852 2915 1022)。若喜歡畫圖畫,可以到Oscary Art去,這是一個塑膠彩繪畫室,裡面提供「art jam」即興繪畫班,讓小朋友盡情發揮創意(A座5樓 S511室,+ 852 9588 1514);畫室提供由513 Paint Shop (A座5樓 S513室, +852 2155 2282)供應的顏料,環保而安全,家長大可放心。

Credit: Moses Ng

若你是前來觀光的遊客,記住前住PMQ元創方的服務中心,索取一份免費的導遊指南,裡面附有多張折扣券,可用於PMQ元創方內的店鋪及餐廳,令你在這個充滿創意與設計巧思的香港歷史古蹟盡情遊覽之餘,亦可享受各種優惠。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

The Complete Guide to PMQ: Hong Kong’s Creative Arts and Dining Hub

A heritage building once used as the Police Married Quarters, PMQ has been reborn as a creative hub, with designers’ shops, cafes and a packed calendar of special events

There aren’t many venues where you can order a hand-painted leather jacket as worn by rapper 50 Cent, join a jewellery-making workshop and indulge in French cuisine from a chef crowned as the very best in Asia.

Then again, there’s nowhere quite like the creative space of PMQ in the heart of SoHo district on Hong Kong Island. Those three letters stand for ‘Police Married Quarters’, a revitalisation project that has transformed a Grade 3 heritage building into a centre for creativity and design.

Credit: Moses Ng

More than 100 Hong Kong creatives, both established and emerging, have made their home in PMQ, which has also become a destination for marquee cultural events. We’ve highlighted the site’s history and highlights below in our guide to Hong Kong’s PMQ.

PMQ History and Redevelopment

Although PMQ opened in 2014, its history goes way back to 1862. That was when Hong Kong’s first government school opened to offer Western education to the public. In 1889 it became Victoria College, an elegant building that was destroyed in World War II, but whose foundations still survive under the Police Married Quarters that were built in 1951. They provided apartments for married police and their families until 2000. Less than a decade later PMQ was named one of eight ‘Conserving Central’ projects and the revitalisation began. (Another successful heritage project is nearby Tai Kwun.)

Today, thousands of local and international visitors wander PMQ’s atmospheric hallways and courtyard, soaking in the heritage while also admiring the creative and artistic talent on offer.

Credit: Moses Ng

A good way to get a feel for PMQ is to join one of the free guided tours – in Cantonese and English – that cover seven historical spots. These include a look at the foundations and remnants of Victoria College, a visit to the former police clubhouse and, most interestingly, an interpretative exhibition showing exactly what domestic married life was like in the original apartments where up to 10 people would share a space that you could generously describe as ‘compact’.

One particular surprise on the tour for this long-time local resident was to discover PMQ’s rooftop garden. Towering bamboo on one side makes it an elegant little al fresco escape, the perfect spot to eat lunch or watch the crowds milling below.

PMQ Indie Shops

Of course, the main attractions at PMQ are the workshops and boutiques of more than 100 independent designers across a range of disciplines. SAPH – an acronym made from the four first names of the Tang family owners – is a hand-painted leather business which started as a pop-up but moved to PMQ in 2017 (Unit H305, 3/F, Block B; +852 9039-3787).

Whether it’s shoes, bags or even furniture, Simon Tang offers distinctive creations, painting each piece painstakingly by hand with absorbent ink that doesn’t wash off. 50 Cent bought a custom jacket here, but you don’t need to be a celebrity to be able to afford these custom sneakers or dress shoes – and you can guarantee you’ll never see the same elsewhere.

Credit: Moses Ng

Obellery is a jewellery workshop where Hugo Yeung crafts beautiful and elegant custom pieces with freshwater pearls and precious metals, often using geometrical-inspired designs (Unit H403, 4/F, Block B; +852 2155 4198). Upended huge wooden logs serve as his spot to hammer out gold, silver and more, with bespoke wedding rings a popular ask from customers. They can also join the fun at his jewellery-making classes that attract a mix of enthusiasts and beginners.

Credit: Moses Ng

Down a stone stairwell and along a corridor which once served to connect the families of police officers living in the flats sits another innovative space, Blind by JW, owned by Jessica Lau and Walter Kong (Unit H306, 3/F, Block B; +852 6199 6962). Their shop is filled with smart, innovative ideas such as intricately coloured window blinds but most of all elegant scarves which feature street maps of Paris, Hong Kong and London. They add QR codes to the designs, meaning you can scan what you’re wearing to learn about major sights and landmarks.

Credit: Moses Ng

The HK Room is another spot worth your time thanks to a mix of unique gifts which seek to capture the sense of ‘Hong Kong wisdom and fun’ (Unit S405, 4/F, Block A; +852 2546 3178). That means everything from furniture to accessories, bags to jewellery, plus courses to let you channel your inner design maven.

PMQ Restaurants

Credit: Moses Ng

In one of the world’s greatest food cities, it’s no surprise that restaurants are another draw at PMQ. Hong Kong hotspots include Louise, a sublimely elegant space designed by André Fu, where French chef Julien Royer – named the best in the region by Asia’s 50 Best in 2019 – oversees French comfort food (G/F, 35 Aberdeen Street; +852 2866 0300). His take on roast chicken is an instant classic.

Credit: Moses Ng

The cutely named Garden Meow cafe serves up simple Taiwanese eats and drinks in a setting decked out with vintage furniture and memorabilia (Unit HG01-HG05, G/F, Block B; +852 2818 5438). Levain Bakerylevain is French for sourdough – uses traditional bread-making methods to craft delicious artisan loaves and pastries, giving off aromas that lure in many a passerby (Unit H105 – H107, 1/F, Block B; +852 2559 0889).

PMQ also features cake studios, teahouses, a sake specialist, cooking classes and casual cafes like Sohofama, popular for its healthy and organic Chinese comfort food with a firm emphasis on sustainability (Unit SG09-SG14, G/F, Block A; +852 2858 8238).

Credit: Moses Ng

PMQ Special Events

In addition to all the outlets and venues outlined, PMQ hosts a packed calendar of events throughout the year, which can be checked here. Chief amongst them include their flagship annual design event deTour that showcases emerging young creative talent through exhibitions, workshops and events. There are also markets and tours, performances and the wonderfully named Ginsanity which really needs no explanation.

PMQ Art Workshops in Hong Kong
Credit: Moses Ng

Kids are always welcome at PMQ. Hong Kong youngsters and parents alike will find a number of places sure to keep them happy and occupied. ABC Cooking Studio caters to the littlest cooks with hands-on lessons in making whimsical creations like pizza with a lion’s face or hedgehog rolls (H110-112, 1/F, Block B; +852 2915 1022). Oscary Art offers a walk-in ‘art jam,’ an acrylic painting workshop (S511, 5/F, Block A; 852 9588 1514), and they can also paint and create to their hearts’ content with environmentally safe house paint from 513 Paint Shop (S513, 5/F, Block A; +852 2155 2282).

Credit: Moses Ng

One point to note is that if you’re visiting as a tourist, swing by the PMQ Info Centre to pick up a free guide with discount coupons redeemable across PMQ – and providing even more reason to check out the space that has redefined creativity and design in the heart of Hong Kong.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book