國泰航空

機師解話:重飛程序知多少

有些飛機快要著陸時反而向上飛,為何會發生此情況?機長Peter Hudson解釋惡劣天氣和航空交通擠塞做成的影響

航機即將著陸,低矮的倉庫、四周的圍欄和飛機庫漸漸進入眼簾,但就在跑道在望一刻,飛機突然一聲咆哮,竟奮力向上飛,乘客乘勢向後靠——這就是重飛現象。

重飛在技術上稱為「錯過著陸」。導致這個安全措施出現的原因有許多,只要機師或航空管制人員認為形勢對降落不利,便啟動這項程序,飛至合適的高度來試試應否再度著陸。

為什麼需要重飛?其中一項因素是受天氣影響。如果機師到了「決定高度」還不能清楚看到跑道,就必須等暴風雨稍退或濃霧散去才能降落。

另一原因是空中交通出現擠塞。機長Peter‭ ‬Hudson解釋:「當兩架準備著陸的飛機相隔的安全距離低於標準,空管人員便要安排其中一架飛機暫時離開。其他類似情況是如果飛機遲遲未能離開跑道,下一架飛機便要重飛。」

Hudson又表示:「重飛是標準的飛行程序,我們每90天左右便會利用模擬駕駛艙進行重飛訓練。因此在需要重飛的時候,我們都很清楚知道該怎樣處理。這只是比較常見的『不尋常』事件。」

重飛是要早作準備的程序。在飛行期間,機組人員會預早檢查飛行管理電腦有否為重飛所需而設定導航,機師亦會討論必要時如何改用人手操作或交給電腦操作。

保持航機繼續飛行是首要任務。Hudson續道:「我們一般會將動力開到最大;在航程尾聲,飛機會因為剩下的燃油不多而變輕,可以迅速提升飛行速度和高度。接下來就要確保飛行方向和高度正確,並收起起落架和襟翼,減低阻力。然後聯絡航空管制中心,重新安排降落。」

大部分乘客可能從未遇過重飛,世界各地的大型機場平均每日只有一次重飛事件。日後如果你感到飛機在著陸前突然重新攀升,便會明白所為何事。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

A Pilot Explains the Art of the Go-Around

Captain Peter Hudson explains how inclement weather and air traffic congestion can result on a 'go-around' for some planes coming in to land

Seconds from touchdown, you see low-level warehouses, perimeter fencing and plane hangars. But just before the runway appears, you hear the engines roar to full throttle and find yourself soaring upwards in a powerful climb. You’ve just experienced a go-around.

There are lots of reasons for this manoeuvre. Also known as ‘missed approaches’, they happen when either the pilots or air traffic control (ATC) decide conditions are unsuitable for landing. The plane is then given full thrust to climb to a safe altitude before trying again.

Why does it happen? One reason is weather. If the pilots cannot see the runway at the altitude known as the ‘decision height’, they will go around until a rain squall or fog clears.

Another reason is congested air traffic. ‘When the distance between two landing aircraft goes below a certain distance, one aircraft is taken out of
the landing sequence by ATC to maintain safe separation,’ explains Captain Peter Hudson. ‘Linked to that, if an aircraft takes too long to clear the runway, we will go around’.

‘A go-around is a standard procedure and we prepare for it as part of our recurring training in the simulator roughly every 90 days, so when it does happen, we know exactly what to do’, says Captain Hudson. ‘They’re one of the more common uncommon events that happen.’

It is a pre-planned process. During the cruise, the flight crew spend time checking that the navigation required for missed approaches is programmed into the flight management computers ahead of time, and pilots discuss how they are going to get in – and out – if necessary.

First priority is to get the aircraft moving. ‘We will generally use maximum thrust, and because the aircraft is fuel-light at the end of a journey, it gathers speed and height very quickly,’ says Captain Hudson. ‘Then we make sure we are navigating the right way and flying to the right altitude before we start to get rid of the drag by retracting the undercarriage and the flaps. Then we start talking with air traffic control to work out how we get back in the landing sequence.’

Most flyers will never experience a go-around – the world’s major airports report an average of one a day. But if you get a strong sense that you’re taking off as you come into land, now you know why.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book