愛爾蘭

攝影師在都柏林的48小時

旅遊攝影師Mike Pickles初遊都柏林,以48小時感受當地融合傳統和現代的風情

第一天

如果你只有48小時,便應該選擇下榻於市中心,例如The Alex酒店。酒店共有103間客房,由Irish Studio工作室操刀的設計帶有中世紀及工業風格特色,並以愛爾蘭紡織設計師Aoife Mullane的藝術品作牆飾。The Alex自詡為「都柏林最時尚的酒店」,而Mike只曾在這裡住宿,因此也無從爭辯。

在都柏林,早餐可到距離The Alex只有15分鐘步程的The Rolling Donut,為一日之計打好基礎。這家甜圈店自70年代起已每天鮮製不同款式的甜圈以至素甜圈,甚受本地人歡迎。滿足口腹後,接著跨過Liffey河便是於1592年由伊利沙伯一世創立的三一學院,Mike和其他遊客一樣,到了學院瑰麗的圖書館參觀,這裡的木筒形拱頂壯麗奪目,是拍照的理想地點。館內共藏書20萬本,包括九世紀以豐富插圖聞名、抄寫了四卷聖經褔音的《Book of Kells》。

三一學院館內藏書包括《Book of Kells》。圖片: Mike Pickles
三一學院。圖片: Mike Pickles

滿足過精神食糧後,又到了午餐時間,Mike選擇到剛剛以裝飾藝術風格翻新的Café en Siene咖啡室,室內外均見矚目獨特的細節,包括斑斕的地板瓷磚,以及拱頂的玻璃和吊燈。

圖片: Mike Pickles

飯後沿著被氣派莊嚴的格魯吉亞建築圍繞的St Stephen’s Green公園走一圈,再到Drury街的商店瀏覽,選購近年復興的傳統愛爾蘭工藝品。其中The Irish Design Shop商店網羅了新一代藝匠的作品,琳瑯滿目,然後繼續到毗鄰的Industry & Co設計店,當中的名貴精品包括搪瓷、皮袋、羊毛氈等,令人愛不釋手。

如想來點深度遊,了解都柏林的發展和當地人以往的生活,可參加剛於2018年開幕的14 Henrietta移民博物館的導賞團。晚餐就到Variety Jones餐廳享用新舊交融的菜式,大廚以創新手法演繹傳統愛爾蘭佳餚,贏盡口碑。最後Mike到了伸出到海上的Howth Head岬角,欣賞這個城市的日落美景,以及遠處的Wicklow Mountains山脈,結束首天的行程。

第二天

早年帶領愛爾蘭起義對抗英國統治的領袖,有可能被幽禁於Kilmainham Gaol監獄,或是下場更悲慘的酷刑和處決。這座於1796至1924年間接收囚犯的監獄,現已開放給公眾參觀,旅客可於90分鐘的導賞團中反思當年的情況。Mike在早上第一時間到訪,可惜運氣不濟未能入內,因此敬請提早預約,以免向隅。

所餘時間不多,就到毗鄰監獄的愛爾蘭現代藝術博物館,沾染一點當代藝術氣質,緩和監獄的歷史教訓。只須沿著新鋪設的林蔭大道前行,便可直達博物館入口。

接著回到東面的都柏林格魯吉亞中心地帶,到訪Teeling Whiskey Distillery釀酒廠和/或健力士啤酒博物館。Jack和Stephen Teeling兩兄弟於2015年開設酒廠,是當地在125年間的首家全新釀酒廠,更推動了本土的威士忌潮流。後者更誠然是向這款愛爾蘭國飲致敬,遊人如鰂,一起感受這股黑色魅力。七層的博物館放滿各式各樣的展品,而導賞團的高潮是到頂樓的The Gravity Bar酒吧,一邊品味一杯健力士,一邊欣賞都柏林的迷人景致。

從健力士啤酒博物館悠悠漫行,可到另一個廣受當地人喜愛的Temple Bar酒吧區,在鋪上卵石的行人道,會迎頭遇到興高采烈地朝酒吧出發的人和街頭樂手。街頭表演藝人可說是都柏林一道特色流動風景,以沿著Grafton街的一帶最為熱鬧。

圖片: Mike Pickles
圖片: Mike Pickles

白天到酒吧遣興的劉伶,可能需要先吃一頓飽飽的。當地廚師Mark Moriarty表示,幸好都柏林的美食已大有進展,較昔日的傳統口味更吸引。他特別推介LocksForest & Marcy兩間餐廳,可以飽嚐令人垂涎的本地佳餚。

Samuel Beckett Bridge斜拉橋。圖片: Mike Pickles

48小時即將匆匆而過,你不妨跟隨Mike的足跡,輕鬆悠閒地沿著Liffey河到處蹓躂,細看優美的街景和接連的橋樑,直至來到建築師Santiago Calatrava設計的Samuel Beckett Bridge斜拉橋,他的靈感源自愛爾蘭豎琴的曲線和琴弦。最後徐徐折返下榻的The Alex好好休息,結束緊湊的都柏林之旅。

圖片: Mike Pickles

Ireland

A Photographer’s Tour of Dublin in 48 Hours

Travel photographer Mike Pickles spent 48 hours capturing Dublin's classic and contemporary mix as a first-time visitor

Day 1

When you’ve only got 48 hours, it pays to stay somewhere central, like The Alex. The 103-room hotel features mid-century and industrial design influences courtesy of Irish Studio, as well as wall art by Aoife Mullane. The Alex describes itself as “Dublin’s most stylish hotel” and, while it’s the only one Mike visited, he won’t quibble.

A good Dublin day begins at The Rolling Donut, a local favourite since the ‘70s for its creative variety of freshly made donuts (even vegan) – and a 15-minute walk from the Alex. Just back across the River Liffey is Trinity College, founded in 1592 by Queen Elizabeth I. Most visitors, Mike included, come to admire the library, an inspiring, barrel-vaulted space to photograph. The 200,000 volumes include the Book of Kells, a ninth-century manuscript of the four Gospels famous for its lavish illustrations.

Trinity College Library, which houses the Book of Kells. Photos: Mike Pickles
Trinity College. Credit: Mike Pickles

After the library comes lunch, which brought Mike to Café en Siene, a newly renovated art deco establishment with indoor and outdoor spaces full of eye-catching details, from the intricate floor tilework up to the arched ceiling’s glasswork and pendant lamps.

Credit: Mike Pickles

Take a loop around St. Stephen’s Green, surrounded by stately Georgian buildings, and continue on to Drury Street where shops highlight the revival of traditional Irish craftsmanship. A new generation of artisans’ works are for sale at The Irish Design Shop; continue browsing next door at Industry & Co., which stocks speckled enamelware, leather bags, lambswool blankets and other covetable items.

To appreciate how far Dublin has come, and how Dubliners once lived, join a guided tour of 14 Henrietta, a tenement museum that opened in 2018. For another old-meets-new experience, book dinner at Variety Jones restaurant, which has won raves for its inventive take on Irish cuisine. Cap off your first day, as Mike did, with an outing to Howth Head, a promontory jutting out into the sea that offers sunset views of the distant city and the Wicklow Mountains beyond.

Day 2

The leaders of Irish uprisings against English rule faced the possibility of incarceration or worse (torture, execution) at Kilmainham Gaol, a prison operating from 1796 to 1924. Now its doors open for thought-provoking 90-minute tours. Mike lucked out when he turned up first thing in the morning, but it’s wise to book in advance to ensure a spot.

The time-pressed can easily pair the gaol’s history lesson with a splash of contemporary art, thanks to the nearby Irish Museum of Modern Art, which has a grand tree-lined path leading to its entrance.

Make your way back east towards Dublin’s Georgian heart with stops at Teeling Whiskey Distillery and/or the Guinness Storehouse. When brothers Jack and Stephen Teeling opened the former in 2015, it was the city’s first new distillery in 125 years – and helped kick off a local whiskey-making trend. The latter is an admittedly touristy tribute to Ireland’s signature drink; exhibits sprawl over seven floors and the tour culminates with a pint of the black stuff and views of the city from The Gravity Bar.

The pedestrian cobbled streets of Temple Bar, another Dublin crowd pleaser, are walkable from the Guinness Storehouse. Expect to encounter lively bar-goers and buskers, a Dublin fixture (the biggest concentration is typically along nearby Grafton Street).

Credit: Mike Pickles
Credit: Mike Pickles

All that day drinking calls for a hearty meal or two, and the good news is that Dublin’s food scene has risen far above its humble traditions, according to native chef Mark Moriarty. Locks and Forest & Marcy are among his recommendations for the most exciting local places to eat.

Samuel Beckett Bridge. Credit: Mike Pickles

It’s been a whirlwind 48 hours, so you may be inclined to follow in Mike’s footsteps by meandering leisurely along the River Liffey. Take in the streetscapes and bridge after bridge until you reach architect Santiago Calatrava’s Samuel Beckett Bridge – inspired by the curve and strings of an Irish harp – and end up back at home base, the Alex, for the night.

Credit: Mike Pickles
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book