結伴同遊

向發現南極大陸的俄羅斯海軍上將致敬

讓我們穿梭時空回到200年前,跟首位發現南極大陸的俄羅斯海軍貝林斯豪森一起乘風破浪

被俄羅斯同儕暱稱為「Faddey」的俄國海軍上將貝林斯豪森,是個走在時代之先的人物。這位成就斐然的海員和探險家曾參與俄羅斯首次環球航行壯舉,更在200年前的本月發現了南極洲,並完成測繪部分南冰洋地圖。

貝林斯豪森生於愛沙尼亞一個波羅的海德意志貴族家庭,這樣的背景讓他跨越國族分界,於1788年以十歲之齡入讀俄羅斯帝國海軍學院。即使他可能飽受思鄉之苦,對軍中糧食配給制多有不滿,兼且被同學惡意欺凌,亦無阻他學業猛進,在水文地理學和航海天文學等各方面成績優異。

Credit: Interfoto/Alamy Stock Photo.

貝林斯豪森在18歲正式畢業,順理成章踏上了「Nadezhda」號三桅帆船,於1803年展開環球探險旅程。雖然當時各國大肆進行軍事擴張,是次旅程卻並非旨在掠奪的莽舉;相反,船上紀律嚴明,船員伙食良好、衛生整潔,而且一律禁止欺負或以武力恫嚇各地土著,這些現在被視為理所當然的人道主義原則,對貝林斯豪森往後的人生大有裨益。

他在第二次重要航海任務中打響名堂,當時被委任為「東方」號船長,指揮這艘配備28門大砲的帆船遠征南極地帶。我對刺骨的寒風、洶湧的波濤或洗擦甲板的差事一點也不熱衷,但若能在1820年1月27日身在「東方」號,親證此文的主角從俄羅斯出發七個月後,首次看到南極洲海岸的一刻,我可是樂意之至。他險勝了同期出發、隸屬英國皇家海軍的Edward Bransfield船長,比後者早兩天抵達南極大陸。諷刺的是,貝林斯豪森當刻渾然不知自己締造了歷史,以為眼前只是一座冰山,直到後來才知道這是歷史性重大發現。

Credit: David Lichtneker/Alamy Stock Photo.

之後,「東方」號繼續前往澳洲補給物資,再開往新西蘭,在夏洛特女王峽灣停泊。負責是次航海任務的主要船員均須撰寫日誌,我有緣踏上「東方」號,也想自動請纓,當個卑微的抄寫員。貝林斯豪森和船上官兵與當地的毛利人相處融洽,他們互相交換禮物,受到長老設宴款待,更婉拒了長老熱情奉送的「臨時妻妾」。船員向土著送贈鬱金香、胡蘿蔔和南瓜種子,欣賞毛利的傳統戰舞,對當地的動植物物種歎為觀止,更大量搜集當地的民族誌資料。探險隊八月回到俄羅斯時,憑藉這些研究成果,獲得朝野一致嘉許。以貝林斯豪森為首的新西蘭之旅和平告終,是歷史上難得一見的文化交流旅程。

貝林斯豪森雖在望五之年才成家立室,但終其一生,他大部分時間均以海為家。他後來參與了1828至1829年間的俄土戰爭,成為民族英雄,進而在扼守聖彼德堡通路的Kronstadt島(又譯為王冠城)上出任軍政府總督。

Credit: Igor Golovnov/Alamy Stock Photo

雖然貝林斯豪森的名字算不上如雷貫耳,但世界上仍有不少海島以他來命名,包括位於俄羅斯的Faddey Islands群島,以至南大西洋上的貝林斯豪森島,甚而遠至月球背面的一個火山口,都有他的大名。如果他出生於一個或兩個世紀後,相信一定是個完成太空任務後,在紅場上受到萬民喝采的英雄;不過在本質上,他依然會是那個博學多才、敢於創造時代的先鋒。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Travels with

Paying Tribute to the Russian Naval Officer Who Discovered Antarctica

Let's travel back 200 years to join the voyages of Fabian Gottlieb von Bellingshausen, who discovered Antarctica during the first Russian circumnavigation of the globe

Admiral Fabian Gottlieb von Bellingshausen – Faddey to his Russian-speaking friends – was a man way ahead of his time. An accomplished seaman and explorer, he took part in the first Russian circumnavigation of the globe, discovered Antarctica (200 years ago this month), and mapped parts of the Southern Ocean.

Bellingshausen was born in Estonia, into the sort of aristocratic Baltic-German family that transcends nationality, and was packed off to the Russian Imperial Naval Academy at the age of 10 in 1788. If he was homesick, dismayed by the rations or dunked in the lavatory by his peers, it doesn’t seem to have impeded his progress: he came top of the class in hydrography, nautical astronomy and much else besides.

Credit: Interfoto/Alamy Stock Photo.

Graduating at the age of 18, he was a natural choice to join the three-masted sloop Nadezhda for a round-the-world expedition that set sail in 1803. Despite the bellicose spirit of the times, the voyage was no buccaneering escapade. The crew were bound by a strict code of conduct: eat well, keep scrupulously clean, no hanky-panky with the natives and no gunboat diplomacy – common-sense humanitarian principles that stood Bellingshausen in good stead for the rest of his life.

He made his name with his second major voyage, when he was charged with exploring as far south as possible on the 28-gun sloop Vostok. I’m no fan of freezing temperatures, tempestuous seas or swabbing the deck, but I would have relished standing alongside our hero on 27 January 1820 when he first sighted the Antarctic coast, seven months after setting sail from Russia. He’d managed to get there just two days before Captain Edward Bransfield of the British Royal Navy, who was engaged on a similar quest. Somewhat ironically, there were no whoops of joy: Bellingshausen thought he’d only spotted a pack of icebergs and didn’t realise his monumental discovery until later.

Credit: David Lichtneker/Alamy Stock Photo.

The Vostok sailed on to Australia for supplies, and then New Zealand, where she dropped anchor at Queen Charlotte Sound. Key members of the expedition had been ordered to keep a journal, and I’d gladly have volunteered my services as supernumerary scribe. Bellingshausen and his fellow officers befriended the Maori on shore, exchanged gifts, feasted with the chiefs, delicately declined offers of ‘temporary wives’, handed out turnip, carrot and pumpkin seeds, applauded the haka, were awestruck by the flora and fauna and gathered huge quantities of ethnographica, which were widely admired when the expedition returned to Russia that August. As a peaceful cultural interchange, Admiral von B’s New Zealand sojourn is a rare episode in history.

Bellingshausen’s life was almost totally bound up with the sea, although he did get married in his late 40s. He later campaigned in the Russo-Turkish war of 1828-29, ending up a national hero and military governor of Kronstadt – the island that guards the approaches to St Petersburg.

Credit: Igor Golovnov/Alamy Stock Photo

And while his name doesn’t exactly trip off the tongue, it’s commemorated in various islands around the globe, from Russia’s Faddey Islands to Bellingshausen Island in the South Atlantic Ocean ­– and even a crater on far side of the moon. Had he been born a century or two later, it doesn’t stretch the imagination too greatly to picture him surrounded by cheering crowds in Red Square – a triumphant cosmonaut recently returned to Earth, still very much the epitome of a Renaissance Man.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book