札幌

夏日札幌: 不僅是滑雪人士的度假勝地

如果你以為新雪谷只有滑雪一項活動的話,那就大錯特錯了。這個東瀛滑雪之鄉有望成為亞洲最熱門的夏日度假勝地。撰文 KRISTIAN LUND

在亞洲高級滑雪勝地新雪谷,吊車正緩緩登山,但眼前卻無半分積雪。這是一個炎夏艷陽天,登山者已將滑雪裝備換上爬山單車,在山頂恭候他們的,是滿地泥濘的陡峭坡道。

瑞士公司Allegra Tourismus在新雪谷發展爬山單車設施,其總監Claude Balsiger表示:「由於新雪谷在冬季滑雪和其他運動已辦得有聲有色,因此把這種模式搬到夏季進行實在輕而易舉。爬山單車旅遊在澳洲、新西蘭、北美和阿爾卑斯山早已發展成熟,但在亞洲卻未成氣候。我們期望新雪谷能於五年內成為亞洲最出色的爬山單車度假勝地。」

Imagenavi / Getty Images

回首過去,這只是短短廿載之間的變遷。20年前,日本仍未是享譽全球的滑雪度假勝地,更遑論爬山單車運動。過去十年,一張張美得懾人的照片和短片透過社交媒體傳遍世界各地,令滑雪界旋即注意到日本其實是一個雪國,這點何以一直鮮為人知著實令人摸不著頭腦,可能是因為日本人自己都沒有意識到,當地的天然資源,對於求雪若渴的外國滑雪迷而言是何等吸引。

現在,當亞洲的雪地運動愛好者慶幸前往世界級滑雪場只需數小時飛行航程時,新雪谷已將吸引旅客的賣點,延伸至綠意盎然的季節。滑雪季節於5月上旬結束後,較矮的山峰被茂盛的植被覆蓋,馳騁其上的滑雪板換成爬山單車和攀山靴。新雪谷搖身變成戶外歷奇活動天堂,原本在冬季供人享用的奢華住宿設施亦可派上用場。

在當地經營旅遊活動代理機構Explore Niseko的Greg Hough表示:「這裡在冬季吸引無數顧客,但對我而言,夏季的潛力才是新雪谷和整個北海道教人喜出望外的地方。」他指出,當地夏季旅遊過去十年穩步發展,活動種類亦與日俱增。

只要想像雪地為滑雪人士帶來的享受,自然明白為什麼爬山單車手會如此期待夏季的來臨。山上滿佈俯衝而下的斜坡和越野單車徑,乘搭於夏季高峰期極受歡迎的吊車即可直達,而毅力十足的旅客更可徒步前往。

兩年前,當地政府官員到瑞士實地考察後,在新雪谷某個小型滑雪山峰上,興建一條現代爬山單車徑小試牛刀。爬山單車徑的設計迎合不同技術程度,照顧初哥以至職業單車手的需要。這些蜿蜒的路徑並非從陡峭的山峰上筆直地俯衝而下,而是設計成起伏有致而且遍佈急彎的緩坡,將踩腳踏和煞車的需要降至最低,讓單車手按其喜好和技術,自行決定下山速度。試驗成功後,當地政府於去年夏季增設兩條全新的爬山單車徑,其中一條位於度假村的主坡,另一條則蜿蜒地穿過地勢較平坦的茂密樹林。

不過,爬山單車絕非唯一賣點。冰雪融化後,多種可在暖陽之下享受的戶外樂趣隨即在新雪谷登場。率先可於春季進行的活動是激流泛舟:厚達15米的冬雪融化後,雪水總得有個歸宿,只需在4月親臨尻別川,就會知道冬雪已化作湍湍奔流的河水。洶湧的流水造就春季激流泛舟,而當水流於夏季趨於平靜後,就提供所有年齡的旅客也能輕鬆應付的划艇體驗。

這裡也是各式戶外親子活動的場所。新雪谷近年興起樹梢漫步,遊人在以高架平台搭建成的路徑在樹梢間行走。現有路徑分兩條,其中一條規模冠絕全日本,100個平台全部離地四至八米,以木橋、繩索和障礙物連繫,而另外一條路線則設有一段長達四公里的鋼索,屬全國之最。此外,區內還有長途遠足路線,穿越林蔭夾道的山徑後,可登上安努普利山或羊蹄山,這兩座山的雪原於冬季廣受滑雪人士歡迎,而在夏季則成為登山者攻頂的目標。

NAC Adventures

毗鄰的海濱城鎮余市,距離新雪谷僅30分鐘車程,多家果園於全年不同時間出產不同種類的水果。夏季是士多啤梨、櫻桃、李子和蜜桃收成的季節,旅客可入場採摘水果。向來以生產威士忌著稱的余市,亦是新興的葡萄酒之鄉,旅客可參加導賞團參觀釀酒廠。來享受美饌的老饕也不會失望;北海道擁有幅員遼闊的農田,又被未受污染的海岸環抱,海鮮種類非常豐富,是全國聞名的美食天堂。因此,除了冒險精神之外,於春夏季到訪新雪谷的旅客,也應該保持良好食欲。

Air Rabbit / Getty Images

最後,這個地區林木茂盛,中間有多個湖泊作點綴,宏偉的羊蹄山拔地而起,庇蔭著阡陌交錯、黃黃綠綠的農田,為一切活動和奢華住宿提供如詩如畫的背景。Hough表示:「這裡可進行的戶外活動數之不盡,讓旅客享有無窮樂趣,不過這裡的自然風光也是極其吸引的賣點,絕對是一個隱世天堂。」

推介景點

住宿

Hilton Niseko Village

這家位於新雪谷的高級酒店全年營業,設有高爾夫球場、購物村和溫泉浴場,還有可讓孩子釋放活力的歷奇公園。 hilton.com

AYA Niseko

這家全新酒店位於Hirafu最大的村莊裡,毗鄰日本最大型的樹梢漫步路徑,多間客房均設有廚房。ayaniseko.com

美食

Kamimura

這家米芝蓮星級法國嚐味餐廳,利用本地農產品和海鮮精心炮製佳餚,菜式賣相精緻,旅客不妨豪爽地大快朵頤。kamimura-niseko.com

阿武茶

這家熱鬧的居酒屋供應所有最受歡迎的日本菜式,包括招牌菜北海道海鮮壽喜燒,以及時令特色菜。abucha.net

玩樂

歷奇公園

旅客可在巨型充氣遊樂設施上跳躍、攀爬和滑行,踏上高架平台在樹梢漫步,沿著全日本最長的鋼索呼嘯而過,享受騎馬樂趣和其他精采活動。niseko-village.com

高橋牧場牛奶工房

新雪谷的高橋牧場牛奶工房在夏天極受遊客歡迎,網羅多家商店、食肆和雪糕店。其芝士撻更是不容錯過。 niseko-takahashi.jp/milkkobo 

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Sapporo

Niseko in summer: Not just for skiers

Thought Niseko was just about snow? Wrong. Japan’s famed ski resort town might just be asia’s hottest new summer destination. Words by KRISTIAN LUND

The gondola lifts are churning uphill in Niseko, Asia’s premier ski destination – but there’s not a patch of snow in sight. It’s a hot summer day. And those journeying uphill are not carrying skis or snowboards, but mountain bikes. At the top, challenging downhill dirt paths await.

‘Since Niseko has already got a name in winter for ski and action sports, it’s easy to transfer that lifestyle to summer,’ says Claude Balsiger, director of Allegra Tourismus, the Swiss company that developed Niseko’s mountain biking infrastructure. ‘Australia, New Zealand, North America and the Alps, they’re already far ahead in mountain bike tourism. But in Asia there’s still not much around. Niseko could be known as Asia’s most successful mountain bike resort within five years.’

Nikes, Mount Yotei and wheat field
Imagenavi / Getty Images

But let’s back up. Just 20 years ago, Japan would not have entered many conversations about ski holidays, let alone mountain biking. Over the past decade, turbo-charged by barely believable images and videos beamed around the world via social media, it has come to the skiing world’s attention that Japan gets a lot of snow. How it remained a secret for so long is a bit of a mystery, but it might have something to do with the fact the Japanese themselves didn’t realise what a sought-after natural resource they had to offer to increasingly snow-starved skiers from other parts of the world.

While skiers and snowboarders in Asia can now rejoice that there are world-class slopes just a short flight away, Niseko offers something else to get excited about: its green season. When skiing wraps up in early May, the lower elevations are taken over by dense green vegetation, and skis and snowboards are replaced by mountain bikes and hiking boots. Niseko transforms into an outdoor adventure hotspot, complete with all the luxury accommodation available in the winter.

Niseko

‘Winter is what drew attention to this part of the world, but for me the potential of summer is what is really exciting about Niseko and the rest of Hokkaido,’ says Greg Hough, owner of Explore Niseko, an activity booking agency. Hough says summer tourism has slowly but surely picked up over the past decade, and the range of activities is ever increasing.

When you consider the enjoyment that the snow-covered terrain brings to skiers, it’s easy to understand why mountain bikers get excited on the opposite side of the year. Downhill and cross-country trails criss-cross the mountain and can be accessed via a hardy set of legs or the gondolas, which are fired up in peak summer.

Two years ago, local government officials, having visited Switzerland for research, piloted the construction of a modern mountain bike flow trail on a small ski hill. Flow trails are designed to suit a wide range of skill levels from relative beginners right through to pros. Rather than heading straight down steep mountains, these winding tracks offer a gentle gradient featuring bumps and banked turns, allowing riders to cruise down or attack to their desire and skill level, with minimum pedalling and braking necessary. Following the successful pilot, last summer two new flow trails were built: one on the resort’s main slope, and another winding through lush forest on relatively flat terrain.

Niseko, Hilton Niseko Village

But it’s not just mountain biking. Niseko is filled with outdoor fun in the sun after the snow melts. In fact, the first activity to get under way in spring is rafting: 15 metres of winter snowfall needs to go somewhere, and a look at the swollen, rushing Shiribetsu River in April reveals exactly where. The run-off creates whitewater rapids in spring, before subsiding in summer to offer a gentle rafting experience for all ages.

Outdoor family activities abound here. Tree-trekking – which uses elevated adventure courses – has taken off in Niseko in recent years. There are now two courses, one being Japan’s biggest with 100 platforms, all four to eight metres off the ground and connected by bridges, ropes and obstacles. The other incorporates a four-kilometre zipline – the longest in the country. Meanwhile, there are also long treks through the area’s wooded trails up Mount Annupuri or Mount Yotei – legendary among skiers for their snowfields in winter but part of many hikers’ summer goals.

Courtesy of NAC Adventures

In the nearby coastal town of Yoichi, just a 30-minute drive away, visitors can experience fruit picking in orchards that offer varying produce at different times of the year. Summer is harvest season for strawberries, cherries, plums and peaches. Yoichi, long known for its whisky production, is also home to a promising wine industry, with winery tours available. And those seeking outstanding meals won’t be disappointed. Covered by tracts of farmland and surrounded by pristine coastline offering an abundance of fresh seafood, Hokkaido is known across the country as the food bowl of Japan. So, as well as a sense of adventure, visitors to Niseko in the green season are advised to also bring a healthy appetite.

Air Rabbit / Getty Images

Finally, underlying all the activities and luxuries on offer is the sheer beauty of this heavily forested region dotted with lakes. Mount Yotei looms majestically over farmland laid out in squares of yellows and greens. ‘There is an endless list of outdoor activities to keep visitors entertained, but the area’s natural assets are a draw card in themselves,’ says Hough. ‘It really is an undiscovered paradise.’

Hit List

Stay

Hilton Niseko Village

This is Niseko’s premier all-season hotel with a golf course, a shopping village, hot spring baths and an adventure park to help the kids work off some energy. hilton.com

AYA Niseko

Many units of this new hotel are equipped with kitchens. It’s located in the main village of Hirafu alongside Japan’s biggest tree-trekking course. ayaniseko.com

Eat

Kamimura

Splash out at this Michelin-starred French degustation restaurant, which offers exquisitely prepared and presented dishes made with local produce and seafood. kamimura-niseko.com

A-Bu-Cha

This lively izakaya restaurant serves all your Japanese favourites – the sukiyaki with Hokkaido seafood is a highlight – as well as seasonal specialities. abucha.net

Play

Pure Adventure Park

Jump, climb and slide on giant inflatables, walk between trees on elevated platforms, fly along Japan’s longest zipline, go horse riding and more. niseko-village.com

Milk Kobo

Niseko’s top summer tourist attraction, Milk Kobo is a dairy farm with shops, eateries and an ice-creamery. Its cheese tart is a must-try. niseko-takahashi.jp/milkkobo 

Cathay Pacific flies to Sapporo from Hong Kong five times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book