暹粒

新暹粒:摩登,時尚,新潮

暹粒早以世界奇觀吳哥窟聞名天下,但現在這座古城還添上時尚酒店、新派菜式和型格精品店,充分展現這裡新舊交融的魅力。撰文 NICK WALTON

暹粒擁有一家名為「王小姐」的雞尾酒吧,相信這個名字會令你猜到酒吧的裝潢:髹成朱紅色的牆身、燈籠造型的燈具、木格子屏風和當代藝術畫作;這些都是中國風必備的元素,再加上精心調配的雞尾酒,以及周遭的時尚氛圍,的確很容易讓人誤以為這裡是紐約、巴黎或者香港。然而這裡是暹粒,一座因吳哥窟而廣為人知的柬埔寨城市,卻沒多少人會認為它能與「時尚之都」一詞拉上關係。

暹粒是通往全球最大廟宇古蹟吳哥窟的門戶,多年來一直吸引遊客前來觀光,每年到訪此地的遊客超過100萬。不過直到十年前,暹粒仍然只屬喜愛冒險的遊客和背包客的天堂,又或是少數富豪尋幽探秘的樂園。

王小姐雞尾酒吧的老闆Dean Williams來自新西蘭,他於2009年在暹粒開設了這間酒吧後,帶領當地的時尚生活圈蓬勃發展。他說:「酒吧開幕時,它是整條街上唯一的商舖。我的朋友還說,在住宅區的陰暗小巷開酒吧,根本就是腦袋有問題。但時至今日,這條街不但已開設了15家商店,還有夜市和大排檔,而且不遠處更是熱鬧的酒吧街。」

Siem Reap, Eric Raisina Couture
Cedric Arnold

暹粒的變化猶如滄海桑田。時至今日,這裡提供琳瑯滿目的購物、世界級美食、時尚酒店及夜生活體驗,迎合慕名而來的旅客的需要。

吳哥安納塔拉度假村總經理Sarah Moya表示:「以往旅客多數只停留暹粒一至兩天,目的只是參觀12世紀著名寺廟古蹟吳哥窟,但現在這裡已演變為新舊交融的旅遊熱點。在令人驚艷的法國殖民時期建築之間,時尚酒吧和餐廳鱗次櫛比,當代藝術社群亦開始嶄露頭角,到處散發著迷人魅力,令遊客樂而忘返。暹粒無疑變得愈來愈入時,值得你多留幾天。」

吳哥安納塔拉度假村是有份塑造當地時尚新貌的其中一員,最近更投入數百萬美元重新裝修。酒店套房以柚木裝潢,並擺放多尊在暹粒常見的Apsara天女舞者砂岩石像。此外度假村亦備有一個奢華的水療中心、多家頂級餐廳,以及一隊酒店專屬的篤篤車隊,載著潮人旅客,暢遊大街小巷。

Siem Reap feature, Anantara Angkor Resort
Cedric Arnold

另一家同樣經過翻新的度假村聖塔瑪尼吳哥窟酒店位於綠樹成蔭的法國區,規模小巧,只有62間設計簡約時尚的客房,以及十間亮麗悅目的全新別墅。別墅由酒店御用的著名設計師Bill Bensley操刀,因而名為「Bensley Collection」,每幢均設有私人庭園,並提供專屬管家服務。

Bensley表示:「暹粒最新的酒店專為千禧世代的年輕旅客而設,他們無不喜歡到處遊歷和體驗不同文化。其實我們一直留意著暹粒的發展,見證這裡的成長和演變。雖然寺廟古蹟將繼續是暹粒的主要賣點,但它已變得多姿多采,適合全新類型的酒店在此大展拳腳。」

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Bensley的新作可謂不愁寂寞。位於市郊的Phum Baitang Resort度假村是暹粒另一座新酒店,設有45座別墅客房,旨在模仿傳統的柬埔寨村莊。而位於市中心的Belmond La Residence d’Angkor度假村則已改頭換面;至於瑰麗酒店集團更宣佈將在2019年在這裡開設一家豪華新酒店。

的Belmond La Residence d’Angkor度假村則已改頭換面;至於瑰麗酒店集團更宣佈將在2019年在這裡開設一家豪華新酒店。 一眾與時並進的餐廳也反映出旅遊市場的轉變。吳哥安納塔拉度假村內的餐廳Chi Restaurant專門為食客提供「新派高棉菜」,而新開張的Spoons不僅烹調高級版柬埔寨街頭美食,還設有廚藝班,培訓當地村民成為廚師。

Credit: Cedric Arnold

不過在芸芸餐廳之中,Malis Restaurant 可謂最能體現暹粒變化萬千的餐飲文化。它是當地最多人談論的熱門餐廳,沒有茅草建築的質樸感,反倒散發著如倫敦蘇豪區般的入時氣息。如你希望一嚐最出色的高棉菜,這裡絕對是不二之選。餐廳的菜式包括柬埔寨草藥碎辣木湯、煙燻河魚配青芒果、椰香咖喱貢布螃蟹,以及用辣椒和魚露調味的Bang Kang小龍蝦。

暹粒的新發展主要集中在兩條典雅的大道上。第一條是Malis Restaurant身處的Pokambor大道,那裡矗立著宏偉的殖民地建築暹粒郵局,以及壯麗迷人的古老寺廟Wat Preah Prom Rath。另一條則是Charles de Gaulle Avenue大道,沿途有高級酒店Raffles Hotel、皇家花園Royal Gardens和吳哥國家博物館。這些樹影婆娑的街道,分支出一條條迂迴曲折的迷宮小路。高級時裝店、前衛的藝廊與時尚的咖啡廳比鄰而居,附近還有新式融合菜餐廳和雅致住宅,置身其中,不難感受到暹粒往昔與未來交錯的魅力。

Siem Reap, Malis restaurant
Cedric Arnold

除了不少國際品牌如浪琴錶、Salvatore Ferragamo和T Galleria by DFS選擇在這個城市開業外,還有不少柬埔寨的本土品牌在此建基立業,當中Kokoon是一家集土產香料、家品及珠寶的商店。另外還有當地銀匠Ly Pisith開設的銀器店Garden of Desire,跟當地一眾本地工藝品商店爭妍鬥麗。

Dean Williams說:「這裡的精品酒店琳瑯滿目,例如度假酒店Viroth’s Resort,它的設計取材自1960年代矚目的新高棉建築;另外也有經悉心活化的高級度假村Sala Lodges,可謂各有千秋,不過在零售方面,發展就顯得較為緩慢了。」儘管如此,他仍然十分欣賞Artisans Angkor藝術學院。Artisans Angkor是當地的社企,專門聘請農村的村民製作傳統高棉工藝品。他續道:「過去幾年,售賣各式商品的零售商紛紛在Kandal Village開店,那裡是一條小街,家品店、服裝店和咖啡館跟餐廳為鄰,好不熱鬧。」

的確,看著暹粒街上的遊人,除了手拿旅遊書、腳踏舒適的鞋子和全身曬得通紅的背包客外,還可見拿著名牌手袋、蹬著幼跟高跟鞋的新一代遊客,他們現已成為探索這片古老土地的生力軍。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Siem Reap

The new Siem Reap: Modern, sophisticated, stylish

It’s long had Angkor Wat. But now Siem Reap has stylish hotels, progressive cuisine and sexy boutiques to go with its ancient wonder of the world. Words by NICK WALTON

There’s a cocktail bar in Siem Reap called Miss Wong. You might have guessed by the name, but it’s got a kitschy Chinese theme incorporating crimson painted walls, lantern light fixtures, latticework wood partitions and contemporary paintings. With its crafted cocktails and buzzy vibe, it could be New York, Paris or Hong Kong. But this is Siem Reap, the Cambodian city better known as the gateway to Angkor Wat than a centre of sophistication.

Siem Reap has long attracted tourism, thanks to its historic edifices – Angkor Wat, the largest religious monument in the world, gets more than a million visitors a year – but until the past decade, it was still an adventurer’s destination. Apart from a small number of the very wealthy seeking exoticism, Siem Reap mostly attracted backpackers.

‘When I opened Miss Wong Cocktail Bar, it was the only commercial premises in the lane and my friends thought I was mad to open in a dark alleyway that was completely residential,’ says New Zealander Dean Williams, a pioneer in the city’s burgeoning lifestyle scene when he opened the bar in 2009. ‘Now there are 15-plus businesses in the street, a night market with dozens of stalls, and we’re a stone’s throw from the throng of Pub Street.’

Siem Reap, Eric Raisina Couture
Cedric Arnold

So much has changed. Today, the city is increasingly catering to a broad spectrum of travellers seeking shopping, world-class cuisine, stylishly modern hotels and nightlife.

‘For years Siem Reap was considered a one- or two-night destination, with tourists coming to visit the spectacular 12th-century temple complex,’ says Sarah Moya, general manager of the Anantara Angkor Resort. ‘Nowadays a longer stay is charmingly rewarded with an old and new world mashup, from trendy bars and restaurants to an emerging contemporary art scene amid the striking colonial-era French architecture. Siem Reap is definitely becoming in vogue and worth your while to linger longer.’

Anantara Angkor Resort is part of the city’s chic new persona. It recently emerged from a multi-million-dollar refurbishment, with suites decorated with teak wood and sandstone statues of Apsara dancers – a common motif in the city – a luxurious spa, superb restaurants and a fleet of Anantara tuk-tuks that whisk its mostly fashionable guests through the city streets.

Siem Reap, Anantara Angkor Resort
Cedric Arnold

Another newly renovated resort is Shinta Mani Angkor in the city’s leafy French Quarter. It’s boutique, with just 62 sexy, minimalist rooms, and 10 glorious new villas, called the Bensley Collection. Named after the hotel’s famed designer Bill Bensley, these villas come with private gardens and butler service.

‘Siem Reap’s newest hotels cater to its new culture-loving and adventurous millennial visitor,’ says Bensley. ‘We’ve kept an eye on Siem Reap for some time and really watched the city grow and evolve. The temples will always be a major drawcard, but the city offers so much more now, making it an ideal setting for this new level of hotels.’

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Bensley’s new projects are in good company. Just outside the city, Phum Baitang Resort offers 45 villas designed to mimic a traditional Cambodian village, while the coveted Belmond La Residence d’Angkor in the city centre has been given a dramatic facelift. Rosewood recently announced it would open a luxurious new hotel here in 2019.

The evolving food scene reflects this changing market. The Anantara’s Chi Restaurant does ‘progressive Khmer’ cuisine, while newcomer Spoons, with its elevated Cambodian street food, also trains would-be chefs from local villages.

Credit: Cedric Arnold

But it’s Malis Restaurant that epitomises Siem Reap’s changing culinary scene. It’s the city’s most talked about spot, less thatch and rustic charm, and more Soho in London. It’s the place to go if you’re looking for a Khmer culinary experience, with dishes like the moringa soup laced with local medicinal herbs; smoked river fish with green mango; kampot rock crab curry with coconut milk; and Bang Kang river lobster marinated with prahok and chilli.

Much of the new development in Siem Reap is centred around two long, elegant boulevards. The first is Pokambor, home to Malis as well as the stunning colonial architecture of the Siem Reap Post Office and the ancient beauty of Wat Preah Prom Rath. The other is Charles de Gaulle Avenue, where you’ll find the Raffles Hotel, the Royal Gardens and the Angkor National Museum. On these leafy streets and on the maze of alleys branching off them like winding tributaries, it’s easiest to see Siem Reap’s past and its future. Here luxury fashion boutiques and bold art galleries can be found beside chic cafes, fusion restaurants and refined homes.

Siem Reap, Malis restaurant
Cedric Arnold

Apart from international brands such as Longines, Salvatore Ferragamo and T Galleria by DFS, there are Cambodian businesses, including Kokoon – the place for local spices, homewares and jewellery – and silversmith Ly Pisith’s Garden of Desire boutique, among other shops specialising in local crafts.

‘Compared with the proliferation of stylish boutique hotels – such as the stunning 1960s New Khmer Architecture-inspired Viroth’s Resort and the lovingly restored houses that make up Sala Lodges – the retail scene has been slower to mature,’ says Williams. But he is a fan of Artisans Angkor, a social enterprise that employs people in rural areas to create products with traditional Khmer craftsmanship. ‘And in the past few years, a vibrant group of retailers has opened boutiques in Kandal Village, a small street of shop owners selling homewares and clothing that’s peppered with cafes and restaurants.’

Indeed, while people-watching in Siem Reap, it’s hard not to notice that among the sunburnt backpackers with their guide books and sensible shoes, the designer handbags and stylish stilettos are coming into vogue as a new generation of travellers arrive to explore this ancient land.

Cathay Dragon flies to Siem Reap from Hong Kong four times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book