國泰航空

新任女機師Christina Ho飛越半邊天

國泰航空祝賀Christina Ho取得第二副機長的資格,並希望她的成就能啟發其他女性立志成為機師

曾經修讀藝術,後來成為機組人員的Christina Ho,對於自己毅然決定成為飛機師的一刻,她記憶猶新。那是一次休假,她利用員工福利坐上機長身後的位置,觀看機師操作飛機。「打動我的不僅是難得一見的駕駛艙控制台按鍵和窗外風景,還有機師們敬業樂業的工作態度,他們需要有在同一時間應付多項不同任務的能耐,以及與機組和地面人員溝通無間的默契。它充滿挑戰性,我感到自己非常勝任,它就是我夢寐以求的工作。」

國泰或國泰港龍的見習機師需親赴新西蘭的咸美頓或澳洲的阿德萊德,接受為期55星期的密集式訓練。當中牽涉嚴格的遴選過程和艱辛的訓練,雖然得花上可觀的時間和金錢,回報卻非常豐厚。考獲資格的實習生可獲國泰提供課程和生活費資助,相當於支出總額的一半。

Christina建議有志者需衡量自己的個性和能力是否適合這份工作。在正式闖一番新事業前,她曾在堪薩斯州的小型飛機場工作過,在飛行學校上飛行理論課,並在阿德萊德一嘗飛行體驗。

有朋友曾經對她的抉擇大潑冷水。 她說:「他們並不知道國泰會聘請女機師。」事實上,國泰航空不僅僱用女機師,更打算持續增聘。目前,全球航空業依然由男機師壟斷,女機師所佔的比例一直只有百分之五左右。對此,航務總經理Peter Clemmow表示:「國泰的男女機師比例大致相若。但我們計劃在2023年前將女機師比例提升至一成。」

Christina的成功例子,有望能啟發其他女性效法成為飛機師,開風氣之先。她說:「我不單希望啟發其他人立志當飛機師,更希望他們能勇於實現夢想。即使最終可能會失敗,但至少我嘗試過,總好過20年後悔恨自己沒有踏出決定性的一步,打破別人眼中的界限。」

想進一步了解國泰航空實習機師計劃,請點此瀏覽

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

New Pilot Christina Ho Soars Through the Glass Ceiling

Cathay Pacific celebrates newly qualified Second Officer Christina Ho and hopes her success will inspire a new generation of female pilots

Fine arts graduate and former cabin crew member Christina Ho remembers the exact moment she decided to become a pilot. On a personal holiday, she used her staff privilege to secure the cockpit jumpseat and saw the pilots in action: ‘Not just the fantasy of all those buttons and the view from the window, but how hard they work, how they multitask, communicate with each other and over the radio. And I thought, this is for me.’

Training as a Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon Cadet Pilot involves an intense 55-week residential course in Hamilton, New Zealand or Adelaide, Australia. It’s a challenging but rewarding commitment in terms of time and money: there’s a tough selection process and a lot of studying. Cathay Pacfic supports cadets with course and living costs, recovering 50 per cent once they have qualified.

Christina’s advice is to make sure you’re suited to the job. Before committing to a new career, she worked at an airfield in Kansas, took ground school lessons and completed test flights in Adelaide.

Some friends doubted her chances. ‘They didn’t know that Cathay Pacific took female pilots,’ she says. It does, and it wants more. The proportion of female pilots versus males remains stubbornly low – about five per cent worldwide. ‘At Cathay Pacific we reflect that global average,’ says General Manager of Flying, Peter Clemmow. ‘But we’re aiming to increase this to 10 per cent by 2023.’

The hope is that Christina inspires a new generation of female pilots and her success becomes the norm. ‘I don’t just want to inspire people to be a pilot, but to try the stuff they want to try,’ she says. ‘Even if I’d failed – I tried, and that’s better than saying 20 years later: “I didn’t try because people told me it would be hard.”’ 

For more information on the Cathay Pacific Cadet Pilot scheme click here

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book