加德滿都

在尼泊爾奇特旺國家公園可以看到的5種珍貴動物

亞洲本身亦有頗多巨型動物生長,而且全都可以在尼泊爾的奇特旺國家公園內看到,撰文:Anshel Ma

尼泊爾的奇特旺國家公園佔地超過900平方公里,裡面有熱帶叢林、草原、湖泊及河流,昔日是供王室狩獵的地方。不過這片土地現在已成為動物的庇護所,而且於1984年已被列為聯合國教科文組織世界遺產。

公園內的動物種類繁多,包羅世上體型最大及最小的陸上哺乳類動物(大象與非洲小香鼠),必定令熱愛動物及大自然的人樂在其中。以下是公園內五種我們最喜歡的動物。

1. 獨角犀牛

獨角犀牛通常於南亞及東南亞一帶生長,由於偷獵及棲息地減少,這種動物一度瀕臨絕種。其後由於政府推出干預措施,打擊偷獵行為,同時致力保育,目前大約有600頭獨角犀牛在公園內棲息。這種瀕危動物可在公園內的草原和娑羅雙樹樹林內找到,也可於黎明時分前往拉布蒂河一帶,觀看牠們沐浴和飲水。

2. 孟加拉虎

目前公園內有大約200頭孟加拉虎,有關方面已採取措施,希望於2020年底將孟加拉虎的數目增加一倍左右。這種巨型貓科動物喜歡離群索居,因此很難發現牠們的蹤影。加上老虎都是晝伏夜出的動物,晚上獵食時才是牠們最活躍的時候,而國家公園晚上是不開放的,令人更難見到牠們一面。不過,如果你運氣好的話,日間還是有機會見到孟加拉虎,可是牠們這時通常都是在睡覺。

3. 雲豹

雲豹是一種野貓,原產於喜馬拉雅山腳下,東南亞及中國南部亦可找到。雲豹被國際自然保護聯盟紅色名錄列為「易危物種」,目前懷疑只剩下不足10,000頭,加上由於可供牠們棲息的地方日益減少,因此數目正不斷下降,情況令人擔憂。牠們也是晝伏夜出的動物,在奇旺特國家公園內亦不易見到牠們的蹤跡;不過牠們喜歡於樹上睡覺,所以記得帶備望遠鏡,說不定會有所發現。

4. 大象

奇特旺國家公園內的雌性大象通常都已被馴化,牠們協助管理人巡邏公園,深入汽車無法駛進去的叢林內,將偷獵動物的人趕走。交配季節期間,野生的雄象會前來象廄與雌象交配,然後再回到叢林去。野生的大象非常罕見,不過當地有不少大象庇護所及與大象相關的活動,例如與大象一起散步、為大象沐浴,甚至還有為大象準備小食等,很容易就找到與大象相處的機會。

5. 印度野牛

Avijan Saha / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

印度野牛一年有大部時間會待在公園的南部,要前往那個地區並不太方便。不過當春天來臨,山火熄滅後,綠草重新長出的時候,野牛就會來到草原上吃草。全球的野牛品種中,以印度野牛的數目最多,由1997年的188頭增加至2016年的368頭。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往加德滿都的航班,每周有五班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Kathmandu

Nepal’s big 5: The animals to spot in Chitwan National Park

Asia has its very own big game animals – and they’re all available to see in Nepal’s Chitwan National Park

Nepal’s Chitwan National Park found its calling as a hunting ground for the country’s royal rulers. These days, the more than 900 square kilometers of tropical forest, grasslands, lakes and rivers is more animal friendly, and was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984.

As home to the world’s biggest and smallest land mammals (elephant and pygmy shrew), there’s a huge variety of sights for nature lovers. Here are 5 of our favourite.

1. One-horned rhino

Chitwan National Park

Commonly found in South and South East Asia, the one-horned rhino faced near extinction when the Chitwan National Park opened up for settlement, leading to poaching and diminished habitat. After government interventions and conservation efforts, there are now roughly 600 one-horned rhinos in the park. This endangered species can be found in the grasslands and the Sal forests in the park, and can be seen bathing and drinking water along the Rapti River at dawn.

2. Royal Bengal tiger

Chitwan National Park

Though steps are being taken to double the population of Royal Bengal tigers by the end of 2020, there are only around 200 of these solitary big cats in the park today, making them extremely tough to spot. Plus, tigers are nocturnal and most mobile at night when they’re hunting, and the National Park closes at night. Still, they can be spotted during the day, if you’re lucky, mostly sleeping.

3. Clouded leopard

Nepal, Leopard

The clouded leopard is a wild cat originally from the Himalayan foothills around Southeast Asia and southern China. Listed as ‘vulnerable species’ on the IUCN Red List, the total population is suspected to be fewer than 10,000, and sadly decreasing due to lack of habitat. Nocturnal as well, they are hard to spot in the Chitwan National Park, however they do tend to sleep in trees so keep your binoculars ready.

4. Elephant

Chitwan National Park

The female elephants in Chitwan National Park are usually domesticated, and are used to help scare off poachers during patrols deep inside the jungle where vehicles can’t reach. During mating season, wild bull elephants head to the various compounds to mate with the females before heading back to the jungle. It’s rare to spot a wild elephant but there are countless elephant sanctuaries and private tours that provide activities such as walking with elephants, elephant bathing, and even making snacks for the elephants.

5. Gaur

Wild Gaur
Avijan Saha / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Gaurs, or Indian bison, spend most of the year in the less accessible areas in the south of the park. But when the bush fires ease off in spring and lush grasses start growing, they descend to the grasslands to graze. Chitwan’s population of gaur – the world’s largest wild cattle species – increased from 188 to 368 animals from 1997 to 2016.

Cathay Dragon flies to Kathmandu from Hong Kong five times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book