家庭旅遊

多代同遊為何是亞洲最大旅遊趨勢

有人為了舒一口氣而獨自遠遊四海;但更多人樂於帶同一家幾口高堂兒女,浩浩蕩蕩度假去。以下三個中國家庭分享為何喜愛家族旅行及哪裡是理想的合家歡目的地

其中一個家庭故事是這樣的。63歲的左菲與丈夫錢慧來自北京,他們在2017年飛往斯里蘭卡度假,留下畢生難忘的美好印記。這對夫婦遊遍此島國各地,每天起床也細意欣賞旭日美景,蒐集各式貝殼,大啖海產美食,挽手漫步沙灘,寫意非常。

斯里蘭卡綠樹林蔭的海岸,與街道縱橫交錯的北京相距甚遠,而且旅程長達兩周,但這對退休公僕並無離鄉的別緒,因為同行的還有長女錢瑤,以及兩名尚在牙牙學語的外孫。

左菲稱:「我們在這趟斯里蘭卡之行好不愉快。外子與我全程了無掛慮,因為女兒已為我們打點一切。大夥兒起行除了能讓我們互相照應,亦可彼此同樂。」

家族旅行、幾代人浩浩蕩蕩地出國度假,於中國、亞洲以至世界各地日益盛行。旅遊產品預訂網站Agoda於2018年就全球家庭旅遊趨勢作出調查,發現66%的泰國人和54%的印尼人於過去一年全家旅遊時,有邀請祖父母隨行。另外,隨著國內的人均可動用收入上升(2019年為30,733人民幣,約34,270港幣‭)‬,較前一年多近百分之九,年輕的中產人士與日俱增。他們有能力外遊,所以會帶同以往無法負擔旅費的上一代同行,讓他們一圓異國旅遊夢。此舉是盡孝道也好,感激親恩也好,反正多代同遊的數字有增無減。

Illustration: Anton Yermolov

一家團聚

豪華旅遊網絡Virtuoso把多代同遊視為2020年最熱門的旅遊趨勢,而中國旅遊研究院一項調查亦反映,國內逾九成出遊人士喜歡與家人結伴同行。這種趨勢亦有蔓延全球的跡象,不過動機則截然不同了。另一旅遊產品預訂網站Expedia於2018年發表的報告指出,過往一年有54%九十年代中期出生的美國年輕旅客通常和家人同遊,他們當中有58%由父母支付所有旅費,難怪會帶著雙親外遊吧。

現今世代的人較以往更難維繫親情,也是舉家同遊的原因之一。由於中國迅速都市化,不少人需離鄉別井工作,而多代同遊則是他們樂聚天倫的良好契機。無獨有偶,家族旅遊在亞洲各地也‭形成熱潮。

原籍浙江省、現居成都的李超迅任職教育經理,三十而立的他經常與親戚遨遊全國。去年夏天有好幾個周末,他都帶同太太廖豐、初生兒子、父母、祖父母和岳父母到四川度假。他的父親於雲南省工作,祖父母則居於杭州,旅遊可謂他們闔家團聚的好機會。

妻子廖豐表示,由於同行的家人來自不同世代,每名成員的日常需要均需考慮周全。「超迅的祖父母已年過80,他們只能進食如杭州菜般清淡的食物,故無論是旅遊路線、酒店以至用餐也要預早為他們安排妥當。當我們去到歷史悠久的都江堰,其實很想品嚐以辣見稱的地道菜式,但只能請廚師『手下留情』。」

她續稱:「要策劃一切著實令人費煞思量,但只要看到長輩為一家團圓而滿心歡喜,這道『風景』已教我們喜出望外。這是舉家旅遊在觀光以外的深層意義。」

提到行程上的分工,廖豐說各家庭成員都有負責分擔不同的崗位。「外子和老爺負責所有交通安排,而奶奶和我只需照料小寶寶和吃喝玩樂即可。」

李超迅則指出,多代同遊往往所費不菲,舉例而言,周末到都江堰遊覽,人均消費承惠2,000多人民幣‭ (‬相當於2,220港元‭)‬,但他認為一切均物有所值。「經濟因素不在我們考慮之列,只要一家人玩得盡興,便無須計較酒店食宿豐儉與否。」

廖豐補充道:「平日在家,超迅的父母總把儲蓄掛在口邊,但當人在外地,他們便會將此原則拋諸腦後,反正錢財只是身外物。」

撇開預算問題,李超迅坦言一家人少不免會在旅途中有所爭拗,但從不會因此影響感情。他說:「當我在數月後回首,腦海只會剩下甜蜜的旅遊回憶,吵架等瑣事何足掛齒。」

Illustration: Anton Yermolov

如願以償

歸根究底,家族旅行的意義,始終在於為每位家庭成員製造難忘回憶,讓幾代人日後可聚在一起細訴往事。

任職語文教師的張嫣今年42歲,她於位處東海岸的青島出生,但已在北京定居近20年。多年來,她與丈夫、兒子和父母在全國遊山玩水,曾到訪廈門和北戴河等地。

兩年前,張嫣攜同全家到香港觀光一周,她72歲的母親對此行程深感滿意。一行人暢遊山頂和維港,但最令他們念念不忘的,始終是城中的美食。張嫣笑言:「鮮蝦雲吞是我們的最愛,即使每天三餐都吃也無任歡迎。」

「家母對這段旅程期盼已久。昔日國家經濟環境不佳,她年少時生活艱苦,故此如今更加期望到繁榮的地方旅遊。」

「這種心態與我等年輕一輩有別,像我們這些於現代社會成長的人,反而嚮往到郊外遊玩,欣賞自然風光。其實我想到內蒙古旅遊,但母親應該不感興趣。」

而舉家同遊中國東北海濱度假城鎮北戴河後,張嫣的家姑也圓旅遊夢了。踏入杖朝之年的她於四川這個內陸省份成長,以往從未見過大海,北戴河之旅使她眼界大開。

張嫣憶述:「當她站到海邊,看到浪潮湧來,便顯得有點膽怯,於是我那個到過青島沙灘的兒子便挽起她的手,叫祖母不用怕,領著她在沙灘漫步。」

家族旅行的成員多,收獲也是倍數之多。「這次經歷令她沒齒難忘。她回到四川老家後,隨即跟所有朋友分享自己到過海邊。」‭ ‬

文中所有人名均為化名。

以上家庭所選目的地

霍頓平原國家公園‭ ‬

Credit: Shutterstock

這個國家公園位於斯里蘭卡中央高地,四野皆為蒼翠草原和雲霧繚繞的密林,物種繁多。當中的著名地標,是高達880米的陡峭懸崖World’s End,但由於這裡經常藏身雲裡霧中,如欲一睹其神秘面目,出門請早。

都江堰水利系統

Credit: Shutterstock

這項位於成都西部的宏偉系統,始建於公元前256年左右,至今仍運作良好,為50個城市供水和排洪,被視為水利工程史上偉大的遠古壯舉。此工程自然令人眼界大開,順道遊覽四川的藹藹山巒,更是大快人心。

北戴河

Credit: Shutterstock

這個位於河北省的海濱度假城鎮,海岸線延綿22.5公里,壯麗迷人。這裡環抱渤海,孕育出多片廣袤濕地,因而成為候鳥‭ (‬和觀鳥發燒友‭) ‬的聚腳熱點。‭ ‬

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Family travel

Why Multi-generational Getaways Are Asia’s Biggest Travel Trend

Some go on holiday to escape, but many are embracing the trend of bringing the kids and grandparents. Three Chinese families share why and where they’ve taken a multi-generational trip

When 63-year-old Zuo Fei and her husband Qian Hui flew to Sri Lanka for a holiday in 2017, it turned into the trip of a lifetime. Travelling from coast to coast across the island, the Beijingers revelled in the sunrise each morning, gathered armfuls of seashells, gorged on seafood and strolled hand in hand along the beaches.

The lush coasts of Sri Lanka were far removed from the sprawling streets of the Chinese capital. Yet the retired civil servants didn’t have to look far for a reminder of home during their two-week holiday – they were joined by their eldest daughter Qian Yao and two pre-school grandchildren.

‘We had a great time travelling together in Sri Lanka,’ says Zuo. ‘My daughter organised everything, so my husband and I didn’t have to worry about anything. Travelling together meant we could all take care of one another while sharing the experience.’

Supersized family holidays – otherwise known as multi-generational, or 3G travel – are becoming increasingly popular in China, Asia and beyond. According to Agoda’s Family Travel Trends 2018 report, 66 and 54 per cent of travellers surveyed from Thailand and Indonesia respectively had taken trips with their grandparents the year before. As China’s average disposable income per capita rises – RMB30,733 (HK$34,270) in 2019, up almost 9 per cent from the previous year – members of its growing young middle class are able to afford the trips that their parents could not. And they’re taking them along for the ride. Call it obligation, call it thanks, call it filial piety – regardless, it’s on the rise.

Illustration: Anton Yermolov

A Family Reunion

Luxury travel network Virtuoso has named multi-generational travel as its top trend for 2020, while a survey by the China Tourism Academy indicated that 90 per cent of Chinese tourists preferred travelling with their families. It’s happening halfway across the world, too – perhaps for other reasons. In a 2018 Expedia survey, 54 per cent of American Gen Z travellers said they usually travel with family – and 58 per cent of the respondents said their parents had paid all expenses for a trip in the last year.

Another reason: family bonding is harder than it used to be. China’s rapid urbanisation has taken many workers away from their hometowns and families. Multi-generational travel has become a way to reconnect and spend quality time together.

Education manager Li Chaoxun, who is from Zhejiang province but now lives in Chengdu, often travels with his extended family around China. Last summer, the 30-year-old spent his weekends touring Sichuan with his wife Liao Feng, infant son, parents, grandparents and parents-in-law. With Li’s father working in Yunnan province and his grandparents living in Hangzhou, it was a family reunion of sorts.

With so many generations together, you have to consider the needs of every traveller, Liao says. ‘My grandparents-in-law are over 80 years old, so we had to plan everything in advance: the route, hotel and food. They can only eat lighter food like they’re used to eating in Hangzhou. When we went to Dujiangyan [an ancient irrigation system], we wanted to try the local cuisine but since all the dishes were spicy, we had to ask the chef to tone it down.

‘Organising everything is really quite tiring,’ she continues. ‘But, when we see how really pleased our grandparents are at everyone being together, we’re happy, too. It’s about more than just sightseeing.’

Travelling with different family members means dividing up responsibilities, Liao says. ‘My husband and his father plan all the logistics. My mother-in-law and I only need to take care of the baby, eat and have fun.’

Li points out that multi-generational travel often comes at a high price, with a weekend trip to Dujiangyan costing more than RMB2,000 (HK$2,220) per person. But it’s worth it, he says.

‘We don’t worry about how much we spend. Whether we’re at a fancy or cheap hotel or restaurant, it doesn’t matter, as long as we are all having a good time.’

His wife adds: ‘At home, his parents remind us to save money, but when we go out, they don’t care: anything goes.’

Money aside, Li admits that bickering is bound to occur between family members, though it’s never a big deal. ‘Looking back months later, it’s not the fights I remember, but the good times,’ he says.

Illustration: Anton Yermolov

Dreams Come True

Ultimately, multi-generational travel is about creating memories that will last across the generations.

Zhang Yan, 42, was born in Qingdao on the east coast, but has lived in Beijing for almost 20 years. A language teacher, she has travelled the country with her husband, son and parents extensively over the years, visiting places like Xiamen and Beidaihe.

Two years ago the Zhangs visited Hong Kong, much to the delight of her 72-year-old mother. During the week-long trip, the family took in Victoria Peak and the harbour, though it was the food that stood out. ‘We loved eating shrimp wonton – we could have eaten them and nothing else all day, every day,’ Zhang says with a laugh.

‘My mum had really wanted to go. Back when she was growing up, life was hard; China hadn’t developed yet. So now she likes to visit places with a modern feel.

‘I think this differs from us younger generations, who grew up in modern society – we prefer to visit scenic areas and the countryside. I’d like to visit Inner Mongolia, but I don’t think my mum would be interested.’

For Zhang’s mother-in-law it was a family trip to Beidaihe, a coastal resort town in northeastern China, that proved life-changing. Growing up in landlocked Sichuan province, the 80-year-old had never seen the ocean before.

‘Standing at the water’s edge, she was a little frightened as she watched the tide come up,’ Zhang recalls. ‘So my son, who’d visited the beach at Qingdao before, took her hand. He said “Don’t be afraid”, and showed her how to walk along the beach.

‘It left a deep impression. When she went back to her hometown in Sichuan, she told all her friends she’d been to the sea.’

Names have been changed.

Where They Went: 3 Multi-gen Getaways

Horton Plains National Park‭ ‬

Credit: Shutterstock

Located in the central highlands of Sri Lanka, this biodiversity-rich park is covered by grasslands and cloud forest. A highlight is World’s End, a steep cliff that plunges 880 metres into the valley below. Visit early, as the precipice is often shrouded in mist.

Dujiangyan Irrigation System

Credit: Shutterstock

Constructed around 256 BC, this system west of Chengdu still functions today, helping to drain off floodwaters and distribute water across 50 cities. It’s viewed as an historic achievement in the development of water management. And with the lush mountains of Sichuan around it, it’s more than just an engineering marvel.

Beidaihe

Credit: Shutterstock

A coastal resort town in Hebei province, known for its inviting 22.5-kilometre coastline. The area, which hugs the shores of the Bohai sea, is home to extensive wetlands, making it a hotspot for migrating birds – and birdwatchers.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book