都市生活

香港地鐵車站的顏色故事

香港的地鐵車站各有鮮艷的顏色,原來源於政府的儉樸作風

香港政府於1972年表示原則上同意興建全新的地下鐵路系統,為這個當時急速增長的城市帶來首個集體運輸系統。不過政府並沒有在投資上大灑金錢,僅撥款50億港元來興建全長20公里的早期系統。

結果,香港的地下鐵路系統雖然極有效率,卻只有最基本的設施。港鐵首席建築師文若德說:「早年興建的車站在建築上幾乎毫無設計;一切都實用至上,沒有升降機、洗手間,也沒有直達地面的扶手電梯。」

Credit: Ben Marans

儘管政府勒緊荷包,港鐵首任總建築師Roland Paoletti當年卻早已成竹在胸,打算為新系統添上獨特性格。文若德說:「他就是那個將色彩帶進各個地鐵站的人。」

於是,地鐵沿線的車站從此披上繽紛鮮艷的顏色,而且每個站都各有特色。金鐘站是藍色,中環站是深紅色,尖沙咀站是黑色和黃色。Paoletti選用的物料是馬賽克瓷磚(又叫紙皮石),因為這種物料價廉,而且有大量現貨。他在大部分車站內採用簡單的色彩配搭,只有少數車站稍為花巧,例如彩虹站的柱子以彩虹色彩為飾,而鑽石山站內黑色的牆上零星散佈著點點銀光。

由於1970年代香港仍有不少人目不識丁,各個車站採用不同的顏色,可說是以非常划算的方式為整個系統帶來獨特的視覺識別功能,方便乘客以顏色來辨別車站。

Credit: Ben Marans

可是經過多年之後,這種識別功能開始減褪。建於1990及2000年代的車站,大多使用白和灰等素淨的色調,物料則換上硬膠板或鋁質嵌板。

文若德於2013年加入港鐵,其中一項首要任務就是研究系統的歷史傳統,也就是港鐵與全球數以百計地下鐵路系統有何分別。他說:「最後可以歸納為三大特色:用色鮮明、採用馬賽克瓷磚,以及運用中式書法。」

文若德剛加入港鐵時,多個新車站已展開建造工程,包括全新的南港島線及港島線西延沿線的車站。文若德盡可能在那些車站內加入彩色馬賽克瓷磚,例如西港島線的升降機槽。馬賽克瓷磚亦出現於多件全新的港鐵車站藝術品中,例如金鐘站內的《訊點》,由香港建築設計事務所plusClover的建築師創作,採用灰色及藍色瓷磚砌成摩斯密碼及QR二維碼圖案,藉此帶出該區的海軍歷史及與現代通訊的關係。

Credit: Ben Marans

隨著港鐵不斷擴充,乘客數目每年節節上升,文若德將車站採用的顏色略作修改,以配合人潮擁擠的環境。當金鐘站興建新接駁區連接南港島線及即將落成的沙中線時,文若德決定在車站最繁忙的部分使用白色和灰色,令空間增添平靜的感覺,同時讓乘客更容易找到方向指示牌。

不過,其他地方均會與原來的車站一樣,採用同樣繽紛的顏色。文若德表示,最主要的分別在於1970年代興建的車站以單一色調為主,而港鐵未來的車站則會採用多種不同的物料和顏色。他說:「我們將會以不同的顏色為日後落成的車站增添特色,在尊重傳統之餘,創造出適合21世紀的設計。我藉這種方式令港鐵繼續前行,這是一項不斷進行的工程。」

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

How Hong Kong’s MTR Stations Got Their Colours

The vibrant hues of Hong Kong’s MTR stations have their roots in an austere government

When the Hong Kong government gave the go-ahead to build a new Mass Transit Railway (MTR) system in 1972, it was the fast-growing city’s first public investment in rapid transit. But the government did not dig deep into its pockets. It allocated a comparatively puny HK$5 billion to build the initial 20-kilometre system.

The result was efficient but bare-bones. ‘There was almost no architecture in the early station designs,’ says MTR chief architect Andrew Mead. ‘It was very utilitarian. No lifts, no toilets, escalators that didn’t go all the way to the ground.’

Credit: Ben Marans

But the MTR’s first chief architect, Roland Paoletti, had a plan to give the new system some personality, despite the government’s tightly drawn purse strings. ‘It was his vision to bring colour into the stations,’ says Mead.

The result is a rainbow of distinctive stops: Admiralty is blue, Central is crimson, Tsim Sha Tsui black and yellow. Mosaic tiles were Paoletti’s medium of choice, as they were cheap and readily available. For the most part he stuck to a simple palette, with a few flights of fancy – like the rainbow-coloured pillars of Choi Hung (which means ‘rainbow’ in Cantonese) or the silver-flecked black walls of Diamond Hill.

The station colours were a cost-effective way to give the new system a distinctive visual identity, but they also served a practical purpose, as many people in Hong Kong were still illiterate in the 1970s.

Credit: Ben Marans

Over the years, though, that identity began to fade. MTR stations built in the 1990s and 2000s tended towards a neutral palette of whites and greys, with solid plastic or aluminium panels.

When Mead arrived at the MTR in 2013, one of the first things he did was to dig into the system’s heritage – the things that make it distinct from the hundreds of other metro systems around the world. ‘It boiled down to three things – the bold use of colour, the use of mosaics and the use of calligraphy,’ he says.

A number of new stations were already under construction when Mead arrived, including those of the new South Island and West Island line extensions. Mead added colourful mosaic tiles where he could, such as in the West Island line’s lift shafts. Mosaic also found its way into new artworks like Admiralty station’s Playcode by Hong Kong architects plusClover, which uses grey and blue tiles to create both Morse and QR codes that reference the naval heritage of the area and modern communication.

Credit: Ben Marans

As the MTR expands and its ridership grows with every passing year, Mead has tweaked some of the colours to adapt to this more crowded reality. When new connections were built in Admiralty station for the South Island line and the upcoming Shatin-to-Central link, Mead decided the busiest part of the station should be clad in white and grey to make the space calmer and make it easier to find the wayfinding signage.

Elsewhere, expect colours as vibrant as the original stations. The main difference, says Mead, is that future MTR stations will employ a mix of materials and colours, rather than the monochromatic approach employed in the 1970s. ‘Our future stations will be accented with colours to express their personality,’ he says. ‘It’s my way of moving us on, respecting our heritage and creating designs that are appropriate for the 21st century. It’s a work in progress.’

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book