日本

電影之旅: 電影迷的鎌倉之旅

馬樂民前往電影《Destiny: The Tale of Kamakura》裡的日本海邊城市自在漫遊

日本奇幻電影《Destiny:TheTaleof Kamakura》的男主角一色正和形容鎌倉是一個「吸引各種神秘力量」的海邊小城。然而,你絕不會在現實中的鎌倉看到電影裡出現的河童或青蛙男,只會見到一個位於東京以南55公里的迷人海邊城市。

Taro Hama/e-kamakura/Getty Images

這部電影改編自漫畫家西岸良平的長篇連載漫畫,故事以鎌倉為背景,講述小說家一色正和(堺雅人飾)憑著對超自然力量的知識,破解各種非比尋常的罪案。電影同時著眼於他與妻子亞紀子(高畑充希飾)的關係,年輕單純的亞紀子嫁到鎌倉後,以好奇的眼光探索小鎮的神秘面貌。

一色正和在本片的家,其實是在東京練馬區的東寶片場內搭建而成,但電影在開場時,透過主角夫婦駕車進城,帶領觀眾來了一趟鎌倉精華遊,包括以下這些著名景點。

淨智寺

Yannick luthy / Alamy / Argusphoto

從北鎌倉車站步行十分鐘就來到淨智寺,寺院入口有小水池和石橋,你絕不會錯過。在電影開場時,一色正和駕車經過這裡,然後映入眼簾的就是掛著「近在所寶」匾額的牌樓。參觀過寺院之後,不妨到附近的Nichirin麵包店買幾個新鮮麵包,或是去豐島屋買一盒鴿子形狀的牛油曲奇,這是鎌倉的名物,也曾在片中出現。

和田塚車站

©2017 “DESTINY: The Tale of Kamakura” Film Partners

一色正和是超自然事物的專家,經常接受警方委託偵查神秘奇案。有一次,他接到一宗密室謀殺案,請他調查兇手如何能夠不經大門從家裡逃走。經過觀察之後,他發現江之島電鐵的路軌非常靠近民居,兇手可以從臥室窗戶跳上電車。一色正和就是在鎌倉市的和田塚車站想出這套破案的理論。

©2017 “DESTINY: The Tale of Kamakura” Film Partners

國道134號線

Kevin Ma

國道134號高速公路沿海岸而建,是鎌倉自駕遊必經的路段。位於鎌倉高校前站附近的平交道路口,除了在本片出現之外,亦可在多部電影及音樂錄像中見到,更是人氣動畫系列《男兒當入樽》的片頭歌曲中一個場景,因此成為城中的熱門景點,吸引許多人特地前來朝聖兼自拍留念。

鎌倉大佛

Kevin Ma

一色正和亦曾駕車駛經高德院,鎌倉大佛就在那裡。大佛以青銅鑄造,於1252年落成,現已成為區內一個廣受歡迎的地標。觀眾在片中見到大佛從寺廟的圍牆上方露出來,其實是利用電腦合成製造出來的效果;在現實裡大佛位於高德院的庭園內,若不進入寺院,是無法從牆外見到的。

鎌倉距離東京90分鐘車程,國泰航空設有從香港飛往東京的航班,每周有63班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Japan

Movie itinerary: A film fan’s tour of Kamakura

KEVIN MA wanders through the Japanese coastal city that stars in Destiny: The Tale of Kamakura

In the Japanese fantasy film Destiny: The Tale of Kamakura, the titular seaside town is described as a ‘magnet for mystical energy’ by Masakazu, the lead character. You won’t find any of the film’s water imps or frog monsters in the real Kamakura, but you will find a charming seaside town 55 kilometres south of Tokyo.

Red-colored winter morning Mt. Fuji in Japan
Taro Hama/e-kamakura/Getty Images

Based on the long-running comic book series by Ryohei Saigan, also set in Kamakura, Destiny follows the adventures of novelist Masakazu (played by Masato Sakai), who uses his knowledge of the supernatural to solve unusual crimes. The film also focuses on his relationship with his wife, Akiko, who discovers the supernatural side of the city with equal measures of naivety and wonder.

Masakazu’s home was actually built in Toho Studios in Tokyo’s Nerima district, but the film opens with a best-of-Kamakura tour as it shows him and Akiko arriving in the town in their car. This is where the Destiny tour should start.

Jochi Temple

Jochi-ji, Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan
Yannick luthy / Alamy / Argusphoto

A 10 minute walk from Kita-Kamakura Station is Jochi Temple. Its recognisable entrance – with a pond, a stone bridge and the phrase ‘the treasure you’re looking for is next to you’ above the gate – features in the opening driving sequence. After visiting the temple, stop by the Nichirin bakery for fresh bread; and Toshimaya for a box of Hato Sable, a popular buttery, dove-shaped biscuit that’s made the shop a Kamakura institution (it also features in the movie).

Wadazuka Station

DESTINY: The Tale of Kamakura
©2017 “DESTINY: The Tale of Kamakura” Film Partners

An expert in the supernatural, Masakazu is often recruited by police to solve odd mysteries. In one part, Masakazu investigates how a murderer is able to escape his home without going through the front door. He figures out that the Enoshima railway tracks run so close to people’s homes that the murderer can hop on the train from his bedroom window. Kamakura’s Wadazuka Station is where Masakazu sees his theory in action.

©2017 “DESTINY: The Tale of Kamakura” Film Partners

Highway 134

Highway 134, movie
Kevin Ma

It’s not a true Kamakura drive without cruising down Highway 134, which runs along the coast. The intersection near Kamakurakoko-Mae Station has become a popular spot for selfies because of its appearance in numerous movies (including Destiny) and music videos, as well as the opening credits of beloved anime series Slam Dunk.

Great Buddha of Kamakura

Great Buddha of Kamakura
Kevin Ma

Masakazu’s drive also passes by the side of Kotoku-in Temple, which houses the Great Buddha of Kamakura. The bronze statue dates back to 1252, and has become one of the region’s most popular landmarks. The film uses CGI tricks to make the Buddha appear to stand above the temple’s walls – but in the real world, it’s impossible to see the statue without entering the temple grounds.

Kamakura is 90 minutes from Tokyo, to which Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong 63 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book