國泰航空

志在飛躍:國泰航空全新品牌理念

國泰航空的全球品牌新理念,秉承國泰過去的卓越成就和服務,並且決心超越現狀,與你同行邁向未來

在70多年前,兩位前空軍飛行員Roy Farrell和Sydney de Kantzow創立了國泰航空,立志公司終有一天能由中國飛越太平洋,「國泰」這個名字,反映了創辦人的雄心壯志。在短短30年內,國泰航空不負眾望,為乘客提供由中國飛往美洲的服務,實現公司的理想。

自此,以香港為家的國泰航空由一家小型的地區航空公司,發展為領先全球的航空公司之一,不斷擴展環球網絡,為長途飛行旅程樹立新標準。時至今日,國泰航空擁有現代化的機隊,航空網絡覆蓋完備,舒適的機場貴賓室傲視同儕,並且不斷求進,開辦前所未有的新航線,連繫香港這個活力之都。

國泰航空行政總裁何杲說:「國泰航空的發展歷程反映我們致力創新,不斷求變,超越長途飛行的地理和技術界限,早著先機,開拓了不少新市場。」

國泰航空的確經常開闢新猷,創下業界多個第一,包括是首家開通香港到溫哥華航線的航空公司、首創不停站飛往倫敦、首度飛越北極區上空不停站直航紐約、率先在亞洲航線引入平躺座椅,以及於2001年成為全球首家可於網上辦理登機手續的航空公司。

何杲說:「一直以來,我們都秉承著一貫的經營理念,深信優質服務總能獲得顧客的肯定,而我們的獨特服務文化亦出類拔萃。」

現在,我們以新的品牌理念演繹這套經營哲學,帶動未來新路向。這個理念簡單直接,與兩位創辦人當年的信念一脈相承。它就是「志在飛躍」。言簡意賅,卻蘊藏了宏大的抱負。

志在飛躍,讓我們可以自豪地回顧過去,同時進一步將Farrell和de Kantzow於1946年許下的承諾和雄心壯志再次發揚光大。

國泰航空品牌主管Ruaraidh Smeaton解釋:「我們回顧歷史,希望帶出品牌以往的朝氣和自信,一些我們在過去十年可能不經意地錯失了的特質。我們要再次發揮品牌的特色,重新領導業界。國泰是出色的航空公司,但如何可以精益求精,做得更好?我們本著志在飛躍的精神,目標是成為全球最傑出服務品牌之一。」

請注意,我們不是「航空公司品牌」,而是「服務品牌」。這是重大的任務,由於網上零售和服務行業的演變,令顧客對服務有更高的期望,而我們在服務方面向來有良好的聲譽。航空業亦出現了翻天覆地的變化,各個市場領域的競爭日趨激烈,令航空公司要加倍努力,才能向世界展示其服務宗旨。

Smeaton說:「我們不但將乘客從甲地送到乙地,更要透過設想周到的服務,牽動他們的心,帶動乘客在人生的旅途上一路前行,協助他們與重要的地方、重視的人及難得的體驗連繫起來。這就是引領我們向前的目標。」

Smeaton指出,國泰航空的宗旨是「視每一段旅程為乘客最重要的旅程,讓他們充分享受旅途上一切美好的事物。」

這意味著機上和貴賓室會繼續提供個人化的優質服務,同時配合更完善的預訂機票、辦理登機手續和機場體驗。

行政總裁何杲解釋:「科技進步,加上資訊發達,一切都在重新繪寫『優質服務』的定義。要在競爭中突圍而出,我們必須積極求進,繼續發揮設想周到、盡心盡力的服務承諾,力爭上游。」

事實上,國泰航空在技術上和實際上都具備完美的條件。何杲補充:「我們擁有全球最年輕的機隊之一,機上配備全新的舒適座椅、多姿多采的機上娛樂無線網絡等,為我們優秀的團隊提供完美的平台,讓他們盡情發揮,展現非凡的服務。」

志在飛躍包含的品牌理念,可以歸納為以下的價值觀:設想周到、盡心盡力和積極求進。國泰航空正是通過這些理念,提供出類拔萃的服務。

Smeaton逐一加以闡釋:「設想周到表示我們會盡力了解乘客所需,設身處地為他們著想;積極求進則承襲了香港和我們服務的亞太區內的動感活力;盡心盡力則是以正面而堅定的態度解決疑難,藉此帶出信任和自信。簡而言之,就是全心全意為你服務。」

這些價值,Roy Farrell和Sydney de Kantzow想必亦會認同;即使當年的國泰只是擁有一架飛機的小公司,但卻同時擁有理想:一個志在飛躍的理想。

志在飛躍新風格

現在,無論是我們的廣告還是顧客通訊,除了採用典雅的全新排版設計外,更在國泰航空深具代表的「翹首振翅」標誌後面,加上俗稱「飛機雲」的凝結尾。這個設計元素,概括了品牌的新抱負。品牌主管Ruaraidh Smeaton說:「這個簡單的美術設計,令『翹首振翅』標誌更有生氣,帶出動感和主旨。」

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

Move Beyond: Cathay Pacific’s New Brand Concept

Cathay Pacific’s new global brand concept harnesses its strong heritage and service to create a bold direction for the future

More than 70 years ago, former Air Force pilots Roy Farrell and Sydney de Kantzow founded an airline with a mission to cross the Pacific Ocean. The ambition was embedded in the name – Cathay Pacific – and in 30 years, that goal was achieved, with services from China to the Americas.

In the years since, Cathay Pacific has evolved from a small regional carrier to one of the world’s great airlines, growing an extensive global network and redefining the long-haul travel experience. Today, the airline has a modern, connected fleet, airport lounges that have set standards in comfort, and continues to pioneer new routes linked to its vibrant home of Hong Kong.

‘The story of that evolution is characterised by innovation and ambition – pushing the physical and technical boundaries of long-haul flying, to being the first to enter new markets,’ says Cathay Pacific’s Chief Executive Officer Rupert Hogg.

And indeed, it has always been an airline to set the agenda. It was the first to fly from Hong Kong to Vancouver; the first to fly non-stop to London; the first to fly over the North Pole non-stop to New York. It introduced the first lie-flat seats to Asia and, in 2001, it was the first airline in the world to offer online check-in.

‘Through it all, there has been an enduring thread that defines us; a belief that great service will always be valued, that our style of service is what makes us different and better,’ says Hogg.

Now that philosophy has found new expression in a single statement for the future – two words, which can be traced back to the airline’s founders themselves: Move Beyond. Two words, one lofty ambition.

Move Beyond is an opportunity to look back with pride at the past and channel the assurance and panache shown by Farrell and de Kantzow back in 1946.

‘By looking back at history, we wanted something that brought some of the swagger and confidence of the brand that might have slipped over the past decade or so,’ explains Cathay Pacific’s Head of Brand Ruaraidh Smeaton. ‘We wanted a brand purpose that would put us back on the front foot – we are a great airline, but how do we get even better than that? With Move Beyond, our aim is to be one of the world’s greatest service brands.’

Note – not ‘airline brand’ but ‘service brand’. It’s a big call, but for an airline with a long-standing reputation for excellence regarding its service, it’s an acknowledgement that the online retail world and the service industry have heightened consumer expectations. The aviation world has changed, too, with increased competition across all market sectors, which makes it harder still for an airline to tell the world what it stands for.

‘We do more than move people from A to B,’ says Smeaton. ‘We aim to move them emotionally with our thoughtful service, and we move them forward in life through our ability to connect people with meaningful places, people and experiences. This is the North Star we will all point towards.’

The aim, says Smeaton, is ‘to treat every journey as our customers’ most important journey, setting them up for what lies ahead.’

This means that personal, premium service will continue onboard and in the lounges – but these will run in tandem with ever-improving booking, check-in and airport experiences.

CEO Rupert Hogg explains: ‘Technology and access to information have transformed what great service means. To compete, we must be progressive, while maintaining the thoughtful, can-do spirit, which epitomises Cathay Pacific.’

In technical and practical terms, Cathay Pacific is perfectly placed to do this. ‘We have one of the youngest fleets in the world – filled with new seats, inflight entertainment, Wi-Fi and more,’ adds Hogg. ‘This provides the perfect platform for our special service and outstanding team to shine.’

And that service will be channelled through the values that underpin the Move Beyond brand – ‘thoughtful’, ‘can-do’ and ‘progressive’.

‘Thoughtful means that we will go to great lengths to understand our customers and treat them the way we would like to be treated,’ explains Smeaton. ‘Progressive is inspired by our Hong Kong home and the dynamism of the Asia-Pacific region we serve. The can-do spirit is about inspiring trust and confidence by solving problems with positivity and determination – in short, putting our heart and soul into supporting you.’

They’re values that Roy Farrell and Sydney de Kantzow would have approved of, even when Cathay Pacific was nothing more than a name; than an airplane; than a mission: to Move Beyond.

The Language of Move Beyond

A vapour trail now follows the iconic Cathay Pacific brushwing as it crosses over advertisements and customer communications, along with new and elegant typography. This design element encapsulates the brand’s newfound ambition. ‘It’s a simple graphic device that brings our brushwing logo to life and adds a sense of dynamism, movement and purpose,’ says Head of Brand Ruaraidh Smeaton.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book