滑雪和賞雪

尼泊爾的登山高手:了解雪巴人的工作

登山嚮導不單是珠穆朗瑪峰雪巴人的工作,更是他們的天生使命。作者Pasang Naru Sherpa分享他的見解

世上大部分人都認為「雪巴人」是一種職業,我們的工作就是提供嚮導、準備及攜帶大部分攀山裝備,協助登山者攀登珠穆朗瑪峰。1953年,新西蘭探險家Edmund Hillary遇到雪巴嚮導Tenzing Norgay,一起攀上珠峰,成為史上最先征服世界之巔的兩個人。雪巴人憑著專業在珠峰上屢創佳績,當中包括高達22次攻頂的個人紀錄,令世人歎為觀止。

事實上,雪巴人是一個族群,數千年來定居於尼泊爾東北部。我們擁有適應高海拔環境的基因,這造就我們成為著名的登山能手,許多雪巴人更成為嚮導,藉由帶領登山者攀登珠峰或喜瑪拉雅山脈來維持生計。有些研究已找出族人得天獨厚的生理特徵,例如在低氧的環境下,我們的血液循環比其他人好。

攀山時,雪巴嚮導必須在嚴峻的高海拔地帶,替客人背負重達35公斤的裝備。我們通常每年春天攀爬珠峰,並攻頂一次,每次可賺取4,000至5,000美元的酬勞。對大部分雪巴人而言,這是我們唯一的收入來源,因為要支撐家庭一年的生計,所以這筆錢絕不算多。

攀山最大的危機是患上高山症,患者會喪失活動能力,即使是雪巴人亦不能倖免。只要缺氧短短數分鐘,身體便會開始出現痛楚,令人動也不想動。每當我看到雪巴人發病,嘴裡叨念著家人時,心裡就很難受。因此我們最重要的職責是確保大家安全無虞,包括準備足夠的飲用水及氧氣瓶,保持良好溝通,時刻留意天氣狀況,謹慎使用裝備。

不過,這份工作亦帶來無限樂趣,例如每次登山都可以結識來自世界各地的新朋友。我永遠都不會厭倦登峰帶來的刺激感,而雪巴族的傳統、文化及專業亦令我感到自豪。說到底,身為雪巴人,我們經常服務他人,無論工作有多艱辛,我都希望助攀山者一臂之力,笑著陪伴他們向最高峰進發。

Pasang Nuru Sherpa是一名雪巴爬山嚮導

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Ski and snow

Mountain men of Nepal: What it’s like to be a Sherpa

Being a Sherpa on Mount Everest is more than a job. Words by PASANG NURU SHERPA, illustration by SR GARCIA

Most people around the world know the word Sherpa as an occupation: those tasked with helping mountaineers climb up Everest by guiding, preparing equipment and carrying much of the gear. When Kiwi explorer Edmund Hillary climbed Everest in 1953, he met with Sherpa Tenzing Norgay, and they became the first two people to ever summit the world’s tallest peak. Given the profession, it’s not surprising that Sherpas have broken all kinds of records on Everest, including for the highest number of times a person has reached the summit: 22.

But we Sherpas are also an ethnic group that has lived in northeastern Nepal for millennia. We’re genetically adapted to high altitudes, resulting in our reputation as good mountaineers and a tendency to take up the job of climbing guides, whether on Everest or other Himalayan mountains. Some studies have found physiological traits in Sherpas that provide advantages, such as better blood circulation than other populations when oxygen is low.

Being a Sherpa in the mountains means carrying up to 35 kilograms of clients’ gear and frequently being at extraordinary elevations. A Sherpa usually climbs and summits Everest once a year in spring, earning about US$4,000 to US$5,000 for the expedition. For many Sherpas, this is our only source of income, so it’s not a whole lot to support our families for the year.

The greatest risk is getting altitude sickness in the mountains, which incapacitates climbers. Sherpas aren’t immune to these dangers. If the body doesn’t get enough oxygen for just a few minutes, the pain sets in and you don’t even feel like moving. It’s harrowing to see a Sherpa feeling unwell and talking about his family and how much he misses them. So for us the most important thing is keeping everyone safe, and that involves having enough water and oxygen bottles, communicating well, keeping an eye on the weather and being careful with the equipment.

But there are great joys in the job, too, namely getting to meet new people from other parts of the world for each climb. And the sense of adventure never gets old. I’m also proud of our ethnic heritage, culture and profession. At the end of the day, service is part of being a Sherpa and, no matter how hard the job gets, I want to be there to help out climbers – with a smile – as they head towards the highest of goals.    

Pasang Nuru Sherpa is a climbing Sherpa

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book