印尼

印尼豈止峇里?5個不容錯過的印尼島嶼

峇里島主要旅遊區的街道比肩接踵,印尼東面一帶則仍然野趣盎然。遊人上可登高欣賞壯麗的火山口湖,下可徜徉在怡人的白沙碧海,靜靜感受它傾「島」眾生的魅力

先此聲明,我們對峇里島的愛無庸置疑。燒乳豬、水明漾沿岸陽光明媚的豪華海灘俱樂部、烏魯瓦圖懸崖上巍然矗立的古廟,以及烏布被叢林簇擁的度假樂園和饒富藝趣的精品店……試問誰何抗拒?

根據最新統計,印尼共有17,000多個島嶼,現時全國每年的訪客達1,500萬人,當中近四成均以峇里為目的地。不過,印尼的海島度假天堂又豈囿於峇里?是時候放眼其他島嶼。我們已在峇里以東探路,為你精選各適其適的度假小島。

天倫樂之選

龍目島

Credit: Jeremy Bishop/Unsplash

舉家出遊,如欲避開努沙杜瓦的喧囂,可前往交通便利的龍目島,感受恬靜慢活的情調。龍目島在峇里海以東50公里外,鋒芒一直被後者掩蓋,但它的人氣愈來愈高,上天下海盡是醉人風光,更是世界一流的潛水勝地,並且吸引更多滑浪愛好者前往。

無數酒店已在最先開發的主要旅遊區Senggigi海灘一帶相繼進駐。2019年6月,Oberoi酒店在Medana海灣較幽靜的東北面海岸重開,精挑細選的印尼藝術品遍佈度假村,饒富格調。一家大小可以在棕櫚樹圍繞的泳池樂聚天倫;部分別墅更設有大型私家泳池,一家人可在石牆庭院內的寬敞空間樂上半天。

島上的林賈尼火山擁有景致壯麗的火山口湖,更可飽覽鄰近的吉利群島美景,因而是熱門的登山地點,旅程長短由人。除此之外,你可在位於Oberoi酒店的Padi潛水中心報名下海,亦可租借撐臂船來趟跳島之旅。

立即出發

從峇里乘坐定時班次的公共渡輪約四小時可達;或從峇里乘坐飛機前往,航程約需半小時多。

精益求精之選

吉利群島

Credit: Uber Scuba Gili/Unsplash

就在龍目島西北部的吉利群島,旗下三個島嶼雖然小巧玲瓏,但卻盡攬峇里的各種優點。

若只嚮往在沙灘度過浪漫時光,你可直奔Gili Meno,島上西岸人跡較少,沙灘清幽靜謐,恍如遺世獨立的淨土,實屬「打卡」勝地;而面積最大的Gili Trawangan島則設有熱鬧興旺的海濱咖啡室,又會舉行氣氛一流的派對,論夜店姿采,足可與庫塔和水明漾的海灘酒吧和夜店分庭抗禮。

與上述兩島三足鼎立的是居中的Gili Air。別小看它面積最小,當中的海灘酒吧、人氣日盛的瑜伽勝地和美不勝收的潛水熱點,統統極具時尚活力,連對岸龍目島和林賈尼火山的風光亦可一覽無遺。吉利群島的最大賣點,是各島僅相距15分鐘船程,方便你任意遊走其中,逐一登陸探索。

立即出發

從峇里乘坐渡輪或飛機前往龍目島,再乘坐定時班次的渡輪前往吉利群島。

海上冒險之選

科莫多島

Credit: Rizknas/Unsplash

科莫多國家公園擁有29個島嶼,但三米長的當紅主角科莫多巨蜥,只棲息於約莫五個島上,因此,多達千多條巨蜥出沒的科莫多島,是一窺這種珍奇動物的最佳地點。科莫多島實際上還包括林卡、帕達爾和幾個小島,所以要暢通無阻地感受最地道的風情,最好是在船上留宿。

只需乘坐提供豪華船宿、別具傳統色彩的菲尼斯遊艇Rascal,便會有團隊為旅客全程導賞。為期多日的行程不只探訪大名鼎鼎的科莫多巨蜥,還會登上蒼翠山林,以及與鬼蝠魟和海龜深海同游,時而於粉色沙灘在午間悠閒野餐,時而在夜間浪漫觀星。船上共有五間寬敞的客房,十名員工將隨時候命,確保你的旅程事事稱心。

立即出發

從峇里轉飛至科莫多國際機場只需一小時多,機場鄰近弗洛雷斯島西陲的Labuan Bajo村莊,你可在此前往港口,登上Rascal遊艇。

長假之選

弗洛雷斯島

Credit: Shutterstock

弗洛雷斯島各處彷彿不曾經歷歲月的洗禮。1511年,登島的葡萄牙人贈以「花朵」之美名,其後荷蘭人亦到訪此地。島上面積廣達13,540平方公里,較峇里大出一倍以上,當地的生態同樣包羅萬有,要一次過登上中部克里穆圖火山欣賞斑斕絢麗的火山口湖;馳騁於弗洛雷斯高速公路,沿途飽覽水牛耕田等絕美風光;以及到多個古老村落尋幽探秘,譬如一睹Wae Rebo村莊僅存的錐形茅草屋,便至少需逗留此島數星期。

位於西邊的Labuan Bajo以往風頭一直不及峇里,但隨著近年大興旅遊業,這條沉寂多時的漁村現已變成登島的必經之地,以及轉抵科莫多國家公園的跳板。五星級酒店Inaya Bay Komodo是現時最新登場的海濱度假勝地,距離近「水」樓台的海鮮市場和Wae Rana海灘只是咫尺之遙。

立即出發

從峇里乘飛機抵埗約需80分鐘,有巴士定時來往Labuan Bajo村莊和Maumere等城市。你亦可預訂包車服務,司機往往還可同時充當你的導遊。

文化大自然三合一之選

松巴島

Credit: Umbu Tokung/Unsplash

欲知峇里百年前的模樣,踏足松巴島即可。這個偏遠島嶼位於峇里東南面400公里之外,傳統文化和歷史風貌至今未變,而且還有國內數一數二的壯觀瀑布 —— 東有Lapopu,北有Tanggedu。

這條高踞山頂的村莊,依然保留圍繞祖墳而建的uma房子,是松巴島傳統部落的矩形塔頂房屋。若在2至3月的種稻季節到訪,更可親睹傳統Pasola「戰爭」盛會,數以百計策馬奔騰的男子手執長矛互攻,藉以祈求來季豐收。

經常躋身全球最佳度假村行列的Nihi Sumba,絕對是當地的豪華住宿之選。此外,主打養生概念的Alamayah度假村,亦於本月在松巴島西南岸的
海濱村莊Kerewe正式迎賓。

立即出發

從峇里乘坐飛機前往松巴島Tambolaka機場需50分鐘。最省時的路線是在Tambolaka抵埗,並在Waingapu機場回程。

峇里是你2020年的必訪勝地?三大原因令你心往神馳

峇里的遊玩好去處同樣值得你駐足,以下新猷更不容錯過

Credit: Bay Leung

全新酒店

島上的頂級酒店早已星羅棋佈,今年更有多間業內巨擘強勢進駐,包括金巴蘭灣的Raffles Bali、沙努爾海灘的Andaz Bali、烏布的W Bali和努沙杜瓦的Kimpton Bali。

全新美食

繼落戶水明漾的時尚酒店Katamama後,Potato Head酒店集團的最新餐飲品牌Tanaman,於全新開幕的Potato Head Studios華麗登場,主打的蔬食料理大玩島上惹味名菜的變奏,炮製出蘑菇沙嗲和巴東大樹菠蘿等創意菜式。

全新體驗

論暢遊峇里,南部的海灘和烏布的水稻梯田固然是熱門名勝,但身為昔日首府的北部港口城市Singaraja同樣魅力無窮,殖民時代的荷蘭建築、純淨清幽的海灘、潺潺瀑布、僻靜隱世的溫泉和原始森林,無不承載島上的璀璨歷史。

出遊季節

峇里及其以東大部分島嶼在5至9月天氣乾爽,而7至8月風勢較為 強烈,可捲起驚濤駭浪,因此請留意天氣變化。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Indonesia

There’s More to Indonesia Than Bali – and These 5 Islands Prove It

Skip Bali’s clogged roads and head east for islands full of wildlife, volcano crater lakes and white sand beaches you can have all to yourself

Let’s get one thing straight: we adore Bali. Babi guling (roast suckling pig); bougie beach clubs strung along Seminyak’s sunkissed coastline; Uluwatu’s ancient, dramatic cliffside temples; and Ubud’s forested retreats and arty boutiques – what’s not to love?

At last count there are some 17,000 islands in Indonesia, and Bali currently soaks up about 40 per cent of the country’s 15 million annual visitors. But Indonesia isn’t exactly short on island paradises: it’s time to show some of those other islands a bit more attention. We’ve set our compass due east of Bali and cherry-picked one for every kind of traveller.

Best for Family Getaways

Lombok

Indonesian islands family getaway Lombok
Credit: Jeremy Bishop/Unsplash

Lombok’s low-key vibe and ease of access – just 50 kilometres across the Bali Sea – are perfect for families looking to get away from the Nusa Dua crowds. The island has long lived in the shadow of its showier neighbour, but people are now waking up to its stunning trails, beaches, world-class diving and growing surf scene.

The area has welcomed a steady stream of new hotels spreading south and north of Senggigi, the main tourist area. In June 2019, The Oberoi reopened along the shores of the quieter northeastern Medana Bay. The resort is dotted with an array of well-curated Indonesian art, and families will appreciate the series of palm-fringed pools, as well as spacious villas located in walled courtyards – some with large private pools.

Mount Rinjani, popular for day hikes or multi-day treks to its crater lake, looms in the background, while views stretch out to the nearby Gili islands. A Padi dive centre is available onsite at the hotel, or charter an outrigger to go island-hopping.

Get There

Public ferries leave regularly from Bali, taking about four hours; or fly from Bali in about 30 minutes.

Best for Picky Travellers

The Gili Islands

scuba diving on Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Credit: Uber Scuba Gili/Unsplash

Located just northwest of Lombok, the Gilis are what you get if you take the best bits of Bali and divide them up into three tiny islands.

If you just want beaches and romance, you make a beeline for Gili Meno, with its Insta-worthy views, quieter beaches and desert island vibes on the less populated western shore. Meanwhile, Gili Trawangan – the largest island – boasts buzzy seaside cafes and lively parties that rival the hedonistic beach bars and clubs of Bali’s Kuta and Seminyak.

Filling the ‘Goldilocks’ space between the two is Gili Air, the smallest of the trio. Here, you get a hippie vibe in its beach bars, a growing yoga scene and stunning dive sites – plus views of Lombok and Mount Rinjani across the water. Best of all, it takes just 15 minutes to skip between the Gilis, so it’s easy to mix and match and spread a holiday across all three islands.

Get There

Take the ferry or plane from Bali to Lombok; regular ferries run to the Gili islands.

Best for Aquatic Adventure

Komodo

Padar Island, Komodo in Indonesia
Credit: Rizknas/Unsplash

Out of the 29 islands in Komodo National Park, only five are home to the famed three-metre-long Komodo dragons – and Komodo, with about a thousand of them, is where to go to guarantee the best experience. Komodo is really also Rinca, Padar and a few smaller islands – which is why staying on a liveaboard gives you the best access to and experience of the area. 

The luxury liveaboard phinisi yacht Rascal and its team can arrange guided tours to see Komodo dragons as part of a multi-day itinerary that also includes hikes up forested hills, diving with manta rays and turtles, and laidback afternoons picnicking on pink-sand beaches and stargazing at night. There are five spacious rooms onboard, and 10 staff to keep you fully refreshed. 

Get There

Flights from Bali to Komodo International Airport, near the town of Labuan Bajo at the western end of Flores, take just over an hour. Then make your way to the port to board the Rascal. 

Best for Long Stays

Flores

multi-coloured craters of Kelimutu in central Flores in Indonesia
Credit: Shutterstock

In many ways, Flores is the island that time forgot. The Portuguese landed here in 1511 and gave it its name, meaning ‘flowers’, and they were followed by the Dutch. At 13,540 square kilometres – more than twice the size of Bali – Flores is incredibly diverse in its landscapes. Plan to stay at least a couple of weeks to trek up the multi-coloured craters of Kelimutu in central Flores, cruise through stunning landscapes where buffalo plough the fields along the Trans-Flores Highway, and discover traditional villages including the cone-shaped thatched houses of Wae Rebo (hero image).

Labuan Bajo in the west has long lagged behind Bali, but the once sleepy fishing village has woken up to tourism in recent years, and now serves as the gateway to the island and the springboard to Komodo National Park. The Inaya Bay Komodo is the newest hotel to grace the shores of the harbour. Here, you get five-star accommodation just minutes from fresh seafood markets and the Wae Rana beach.

Get There

Fly from Bali in about 80 minutes. Regular buses run between Labuan Bajo and other cities like Maumere. You can also hire a driver, who can often also act as a guide.

Best for Heritage, Tradition and Waterfalls

Sumba

Sumba, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Credit: Umbu Tokung/Unsplash

If you’ve ever wondered what Bali might have looked like 100 years ago – it’s probably a lot like Sumba today. This remote island 400 kilometres southeast of Bali still clings to its traditions and history, and it’s home to some of Indonesia’s most breathtaking waterfalls – including Lapopu in the east and Tanggedu in the north. 

Here you can visit the hilltop villages with traditional Sumbanese uma clan houses built around ancestral tombs. And if you’re here during rice-planting season in February and March, you can catch Pasola, a traditional spear-fighting competition between hundreds of horsemen to wish for a successful harvest.

For a luxe stay check out Nihi Sumba, which regularly features on lists of the world’s best resorts. Meanwhile, the wellness-focused Alamayah resort in the beachside village of Kerewe on Sumba’s southwestern coast opens this month.  

Get There

Fly from Bali to Tambolaka airport in 50 minutes. To maximise your time, consider flying into Tambolaka and out of Waingapu.

3 Reasons Not to Skip Bali in 2020

Bali is still worth your time: check out these brand new sights the next time you’re there

Bali hotel, food
Credit: Bay Leung

New Hotels

Bali has no shortage of top-tier hotels, and the island is set to welcome a raft of big brands this year, including Raffles Bali (Jimbaran Bay), Andaz Bali (Sanur), W Bali (Ubud) and Kimpton Bali (Nusa Dua).

New Eats

Tanaman is the latest restaurant from the group behind the uber-stylish Seminyak properties like Katamama. Located in the new Potato Head Studios, the restaurant’s plant-based cuisine recreates the rich flavours of the island’s best dishes with fresh produce: think mushroom sate and jackfruit rendang.

Bali where and when to visit

New Experiences

Tourists tend to stick to Bali’s southern beaches or Ubud’s terraced rice paddies. But the northern port city of Singaraja was once the capital before Denpasar, and offers a peek into the island’s past: Dutch colonial architecture, unspoiled beaches, cascading waterfalls, secluded hot springs and virgin forests.

When to Go

May to September is the dry season for Bali and many of the islands east of it. But July and August can bring strong winds that cause rough seas, so keep an eye on the weather.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book