機上娛樂

尋找新世界

翠貝卡電影學院精選了多部紀錄短片,從人性化角度探討全球各地難民面對的困難

國泰航空與國泰港龍於機上放映由紐約翠貝卡電影學院精選的一系列國際紀錄短片。這個電影學院由影星Robert De Niro聯合創辦。這個名為「Migrant Souls: Home and Away」的系列近距離探討難民尋求新生所付出的努力,還有向他們施予援手的人。

在David Freid的《High Chaparral》中,一個瑞典人響應國家對敘利亞難民的門戶開放政策,把他的美國西部主題樂園變成冬季臨時難民營。一如未開發的西部曾經是美國拓殖者的庇護所,這個樂園成為逃避戰禍的新移民的避風港,而Freid亦細膩地將幽默與希望注入這個窩心的故事之中,短片會在機上放映至六月底。

《Renga for the West》是一部由美國蒙大拿州的難民導演組織Refugee Directors’ Cooperative統籌的電影項目,這部長40分鐘的短片由落腳於蒙大拿州的難民親自執導,把三個故事連結起來,揭示難民標籤以外的真實生活,告訴大家這些人不只是「難民」,他們也是懷著理想的音樂家、運動員和有所抱負的母親。

外地勞工都要努力適應新環境,《Searching for Wives》講述在新加坡一間照相館裡,來自印度的民工把自己的照片貼在牆上招親,希望找到情投意合的妻子。這是個引人入勝的新聞故事,呈現不同文化對婚姻制度的看法。

翠貝卡最近還推出「If/Then」拓展計劃,向紀錄短片導演提供資金及發行渠道的指導,讓他們能藉作品來表達遭受邊緣化的少數族群的觀點。芸芸作品之中,來自波蘭的《George and George On the Lake》最為出色,影片講述兩位莫逆之交,每年夏天都會一起在馬祖爾湖區駕駛帆船遊湖。電影以一種平靜、觀察式的風格拍攝,深情但不煽情地刻畫真正永恆的友誼。

想觀看更多電影?我們為你提供更多機上電影精選

Inflight entertainment

Migrant Souls: A Docuseries Spotlights Refugee Stories

A selection of documentary shorts from the Tribeca Film Institute brings a human perspective to refugee struggles around the world

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon are showcasing an international selection of short-form documentaries from New York City’s Tribeca Film Institute, which was co-founded by actor Robert De Niro. The selection, titled Migrant Souls: Home and Away,  gives a close-up look at the endeavours of refugees and those offering help. It’s available onboard through 30 June 2019.

In David Freid’s High Chaparral, a Swede contributes to his country’s open door policy towards Syrian refugees by transforming his American Wild West theme park into a temporary refugee camp for the winter. Just as the undeveloped West was once a refuge for colonists in the US, the park becomes a safe haven for new settlers escaping war. Freid subtly injects the heartwarming story with equal measures of humour and hope.

Renga for the West is a project organised by the Refugee Directors’ Cooperative in the US state of Montana. The 40-minute short ties together three stories self-filmed by new arrivals, revealing their daily lives and reminding us that beyond the label of refugees, they’re musicians, athletes and mothers with aspirations.

Migrant workers must similarly adapt to a new place, and Searching for Wives introduces a photo studio in Singapore that helps Indian migrant workers find wives by posting their portraits on a wall as a personal ad of sorts. The film is an intriguing journalistic work that shows how other cultures view the institution of marriage.

TFI, which prioritises creators whose points of view have been marginalised, also recently launched the If/Then Initiative, which offers mentorship on funding and distribution for directors of short documentaries. The standout project is Poland’s George and George on the Lake, the story of two lifelong friends who sail together on the Mazury lakes every summer. Shot in a quiet, observational style, the film is an affectionate but unsentimental portrayal of lasting friendship.

Get more recommendations for what to watch onboard right now